User Score
8.6

Universal acclaim- based on 345 Ratings

User score distribution:
  1. Negative: 16 out of 345

Review this album

  1. Your Score
    0 out of 10
    Rate this:
    • 10
    • 9
    • 8
    • 7
    • 6
    • 5
    • 4
    • 3
    • 2
    • 1
    • 0
    • 0
  1. Submit
  2. Check Spelling
  1. MarkL
    Jul 5, 2006
    10
    I hadn't paid much attention to Muse in the past, but this is just incredible. The first 3 tracks are an amazing opening to an album that doesn't stop giving, reaching its peak at Knights of Cydonia. Surely they can't improve on this.
  2. HansG
    Sep 5, 2006
    10
    Muse gets better with every album.Best album of 2006!
  3. borgy
    Jul 10, 2006
    10
    This could possibly be their best album, It's spacey, Every song sounds completely different... Muse have just gotten better and better i didnt even think they could top "Absolution".
  4. StewartP
    Jul 10, 2006
    10
    As spoken by the musican himself, Matthew Bellamy, this is their best album to date. Of course the previous albums are classics, but so will this album a few years down the road. Muse have only grown and the shows in the album with Matt's matureing voice, diverse guitar antics, Dom's inriched drumming, and Chris's killer bass. heres to the greatest live band of our generation.
  5. DomG
    Jul 10, 2006
    10
    Absolutely brilliant album. Cannot stop listening to it, the best of 2006.
  6. ThomasB
    Jul 10, 2006
    10
    Muse's best album to date, featuring some of Matt Bellamy's best musical ideas.
  7. PatH
    Jul 16, 2006
    10
    It just keeps getting better and better
  8. FelipeP
    Jul 10, 2006
    10
    Fantastic Album! Muse come back with threir most pretencious ans acessible album for everyboy. Fantastic group, beautiful songs. Knigts of Cydonia is Probally one of the best tracks of Muse. They are on the way!
  9. Dec 20, 2012
    10
    Electronic. Dazzling. Haunting. Beautiful. Bombastic. Impressive. Pop. Words spring to mind when describing the wonder that is Muse's fourth studio album, Black Holes & Revelations. A fearless direction, incorporating electronics, progressive rock, R'n'B, and more ridiculous elements to craft a masterpiece of modern music. An album so impressive, so magical, and so addictive. Muse are theElectronic. Dazzling. Haunting. Beautiful. Bombastic. Impressive. Pop. Words spring to mind when describing the wonder that is Muse's fourth studio album, Black Holes & Revelations. A fearless direction, incorporating electronics, progressive rock, R'n'B, and more ridiculous elements to craft a masterpiece of modern music. An album so impressive, so magical, and so addictive. Muse are the masters of modern rock, clearly shaped by this album.

    Though not my favourite Muse album, this is one hell of a piece, with brilliant solos, gritty solos, mesmerizing vocals, and catchy melodies. Though that doesn't necessarily make a good album, Muse have succeeded. From the flow of Take A Bow (an incredible electronic piece) into Starlight and Supermassive Black Hole (two songs so massive they have become the most recognized Muse hits of all time), and into the heights of masterpieces of Map of the Problematique and Invincible, this is strong, and hard hitting, and the definition of Muse. Though Soldier's Poem ruins the flow after the brilliant and monstrous Map of the Problematique (an epic piece, by far considered one of Muse's greatest works), Invincible surely makes up for it, bombarding us with powerful solos and haunting lyrics. The pace picks up again with the heavy and intentionally heavy Assasin and Exo-Politics (both prominent in their conspiracy-lead Bellamy lyrics) into the relaxing City of Delusion (though using strong progressions and lyrics so powerful, you'll never want it to end).

    Hoodoo and Knights of Cydonia follow, two flawless pieces of music, lyrics so powerful and current, progressions so intriguing, guitar solos and piano experiments prominent throughout, they close a perfect album. Though the overall track listing isn't brilliantly placed, Black Holes & Revelations is a triumph, and one of Muse's greatest albums. Ever.

    Overall Score: 10/10
    Expand
  10. SamH
    Jan 6, 2007
    10
    Its The Best Album I've Ever Heared
  11. GraemeS.
    Jun 21, 2007
    10
    I only really got into Muse when Absolution was released, and, even though I never thought I would say this, this album is better than Absolution. Classical rock at its best.
  12. AlexW.
    Feb 25, 2008
    10
    Excellent album. Map of the Problematique is probably my favorite track.
  13. PhineasG
    Oct 2, 2006
    10
    I would have given them an 8 before I saw them live. But after seeing them play, there's no way you can give them anything but a 10. They're crazy, but they're brilliant. I admit this albulm encompasses a lot of sounds, maybe too many, but it works because it's all so earnest and passionate (and not to mention half joking). But you can't really feel all that until I would have given them an 8 before I saw them live. But after seeing them play, there's no way you can give them anything but a 10. They're crazy, but they're brilliant. I admit this albulm encompasses a lot of sounds, maybe too many, but it works because it's all so earnest and passionate (and not to mention half joking). But you can't really feel all that until you see them live, so go see muse live! Expand
  14. GeorgeF
    Jul 10, 2006
    10
    It's their most complete record. It's not perfect, but almost, and therefore it's one of the best records I've listened this year by far. It's epic, it's funny, it's catchy and it's sophisticated. Outstanding.
  15. RobertJ
    Jul 11, 2006
    10
    Think what it must have been like when say Seargent Pepper, Dark Side of The Moon or Led Zep 4 were first released and you were in at the birth of that rare thing, a classic album. I was there for The Joshua Tree and Definetly Mayve and this is proably the third such classic album Iv'e been priveledged enough to be in at the start for. Well this is one of those masterpieces which Think what it must have been like when say Seargent Pepper, Dark Side of The Moon or Led Zep 4 were first released and you were in at the birth of that rare thing, a classic album. I was there for The Joshua Tree and Definetly Mayve and this is proably the third such classic album Iv'e been priveledged enough to be in at the start for. Well this is one of those masterpieces which will join that company of those other unreputed classics. It really is that good. Iv'e never noticed Muse before or been a fan but this is simply breathtaking. A must buy. Expand
  16. StephenC
    Jul 10, 2006
    10
    This album is truly fantastic, and stands out as Muse's finest work yet. It actually feels like a "very best of", simply because of the huge range of sounds and styles encompassed onto one flawless disc. There's the classic Muse we all know and adore, underlined in the multi-staged "Invincible" with a huge tapping solo, but there's definitely a new direction in tracks like This album is truly fantastic, and stands out as Muse's finest work yet. It actually feels like a "very best of", simply because of the huge range of sounds and styles encompassed onto one flawless disc. There's the classic Muse we all know and adore, underlined in the multi-staged "Invincible" with a huge tapping solo, but there's definitely a new direction in tracks like "Hoodoo" and "City Of Delusion" - Flamenco space rock the order of the day! From the melodic acoustics of the quite magnificent "Soldiers Poem" to the epic horse-back rampage that is "Knights Of Cydonia", Muse have done it again. This will please the die hard Muse fans, but is diverse and stunning enough to attract a whole new following. Top bombing. Collapse
  17. LizR
    Jul 10, 2006
    10
    I have been following Muse's career since Showbiz, and I am thrilled beyond words with Black Holes and Revelations. They are stunning musicians and this album is a keen and unusual creative leap. Muse is the rare group that combines passion with superb musicianship, and catchy hooks. Their time changes are worthy of Led Zeppelin, and their feedback worthy of Sonic Youth. This is the I have been following Muse's career since Showbiz, and I am thrilled beyond words with Black Holes and Revelations. They are stunning musicians and this album is a keen and unusual creative leap. Muse is the rare group that combines passion with superb musicianship, and catchy hooks. Their time changes are worthy of Led Zeppelin, and their feedback worthy of Sonic Youth. This is the best record I have heard all year. Expand
  18. Mark
    Jul 15, 2006
    10
    Wow!!! I definately didn't expect Muse to put out the best album of the year. I absolutely love Absolution, but this far exceeds that album in size and scope. Every song fits in perfectly where it was placed. Every note is played with such intensity and meaning. The fact that this album rocks so hard and with so much meaning absolutely blows me away. The crushing crescendo that is Wow!!! I definately didn't expect Muse to put out the best album of the year. I absolutely love Absolution, but this far exceeds that album in size and scope. Every song fits in perfectly where it was placed. Every note is played with such intensity and meaning. The fact that this album rocks so hard and with so much meaning absolutely blows me away. The crushing crescendo that is Knights of Cydonia is absolutely without a doubt the best song I've heard so far this century. Definately pick this one up. Hell, pick up a copy for a friend too. Expand
  19. [Anonymous]
    Jul 16, 2006
    10
    Utterly amazing. Muse consistantly exceeds expectations from albuk to the next, delivering the same calibre of spectacular musicianship and songsmithing that they always have.
  20. TobyF
    Jul 17, 2006
    10
    Even my non-Muse fan friends were humming the tunes after 1 listen.
  21. RonanH
    Jul 10, 2006
    10
    Don't pay any heed to what Pitchfork says. The best album Muse have ever made. And also one of the albums of the year. Every song is a highlight.
  22. MattD.
    Jul 18, 2006
    9
    Gloriously grandiose, and unlike any album I've ever heard!
  23. markc
    Jul 23, 2006
    10
    surely one of the best british rock albums ever
  24. LuisC
    Jul 23, 2006
    10
    album of the year. prog, eclectic, powerfull, perfect!!!!!!!
  25. PitchforkaretheworstsiteontheentireWeb
    Jul 27, 2006
    10
    And what music has Pitchfork's critic produced lately that we can have a snide little listen to then? Really, Pitchfork reviewers, if you can't even acknowledge that this album is bursting with different styles and ideas, you're stone deaf. The sign of a worthless critic (oxymoron, I know) is one who's willing to destructively criticise without anything to back up And what music has Pitchfork's critic produced lately that we can have a snide little listen to then? Really, Pitchfork reviewers, if you can't even acknowledge that this album is bursting with different styles and ideas, you're stone deaf. The sign of a worthless critic (oxymoron, I know) is one who's willing to destructively criticise without anything to back up their opinions other than "because I don't like it". Expand
  26. LakeT
    Jul 5, 2006
    10
    Words can't describe how good this album is. Flawless, full of energy. Likely to be the best album of the year and one of the best of this century.
  27. alanusmeritocracy
    Aug 26, 2006
    10
    a brilliant exciting album, best this year, cant wait to see this band and hear these tracks live.
  28. HjyytzS
    Aug 31, 2006
    10
    The BEST Muse album!!
  29. AlexP
    Sep 13, 2006
    10
    boring? am i reading that right? this is an amazing mix of space-funk-rock-something that left me amazed from start to finish.... kinghts of cydonia is an epic piece of technical mastery, possibly the best song ive heard this year... i could go on i'm sure, i'll leave it simply that this is amazing and entertaining throughout, bar none...
  30. AlbertoG
    Jan 2, 2007
    10
    One of the best albums of 2006
  31. AllenW.
    Jun 25, 2007
    10
    A simply outstanding album that blew me away
  32. AliB
    Jun 30, 2007
    10
    MUSE have done great in taking a new direction but keeping their sound. like all previous albums of this band, it's a masterpiece. Assassin, Knights of Cydonia, Take a Bow, etc. are all classics.
  33. Oct 5, 2010
    9
    Muse strikes me as a combination of Radiohead, ELO, and Rush. Just saw them at Staples Center for the first time and was blown away. But going home and hearing this album solidified my admiration of this band. Great stuff.
  34. chrisc
    Aug 15, 2009
    10
    One of my favorite albums of all time. 33? I'm simply speechless that someone could listen to this and rate it that low? WTF do you want? More country music? More eyeliner punk/pop? More bow-wow-wow or whatever the Fk?
  35. RoryD
    Aug 22, 2009
    4
    The album is all huff and puff, but will never blow the house down. The lack of decent lyrics is covered over by fancy guitar work and crashes and bangs. Soldiers Song is by far the worst Muse song on record, and the albums only saving grace is when they turn the lunacy up for Knights of Cydonia, actually a great song. Muse ,disappointingly, are now just a formerly great band commiting The album is all huff and puff, but will never blow the house down. The lack of decent lyrics is covered over by fancy guitar work and crashes and bangs. Soldiers Song is by far the worst Muse song on record, and the albums only saving grace is when they turn the lunacy up for Knights of Cydonia, actually a great song. Muse ,disappointingly, are now just a formerly great band commiting latter-day sins. Expand
  36. OndraL.
    Jul 10, 2006
    0
    this is the piece of shit
  37. rottencabbage
    Aug 31, 2006
    0
    Utter rubbish, like the rest of their catalogue. It's bombastic, pretentious, and completely uninspired (never mind Matthew Bellamy being amongst the nation's most asinine lyricists, with drivel vomiting forth from his Thom Yorke/Jeff Buckley-wannabe maw). Wait, that's how every Muse album sounds, isn't it?
  38. DonoL.
    Sep 25, 2007
    0
    This is the worst most pathetic album i have ever heard.
  39. MartinF
    Jul 14, 2006
    1
    Such a disappointment. Gentlemen you should have done better!
  40. DaisyB
    Jul 20, 2006
    5
    This album is Muse's worst.. im not one for political music especially not from people who dont even live in the country they're bitching about the leader of. Nontheless.. there are a few good tracks.. Map of Problematique is amazing and im beginning to think thats the reason i bought the album. Knights of Cydonia is pretty good. Asassin is good as well.. And am i the only one This album is Muse's worst.. im not one for political music especially not from people who dont even live in the country they're bitching about the leader of. Nontheless.. there are a few good tracks.. Map of Problematique is amazing and im beginning to think thats the reason i bought the album. Knights of Cydonia is pretty good. Asassin is good as well.. And am i the only one who noticed a similarity in one of the songs (i cant think of the name) to Audioslave's "Like A Stone"? anyway, i hope the next album is amazing. I was expecting much more from my favorite band, but after releasing three masterpieces, i suppose you should have a bad one for balance. Expand
  41. EthanP
    Sep 9, 2006
    1
    "Pretentious, bombastic theatrics" would've been interesting. This is more "boring."
  42. DavidC.
    Sep 13, 2009
    3
    The sad part is, Muse used to sound much better when they were a Radiohead clone outfit. For all their want of original ideas, Showbiz was good for its use of a tried and tested formula. Since then, they have given us wave after wave of dreary metallic cock rock. They know how to please a crowd and fairplay to them... it's why their fans love them as a live act. But for all their The sad part is, Muse used to sound much better when they were a Radiohead clone outfit. For all their want of original ideas, Showbiz was good for its use of a tried and tested formula. Since then, they have given us wave after wave of dreary metallic cock rock. They know how to please a crowd and fairplay to them... it's why their fans love them as a live act. But for all their theatrical affectations, their music is just not much fun. If you tried to imagine Queen without the irresistible pop melodies and more kitsch, then you're about halfway there. Still, if Metallica or Dream Theatre is your sort of thing, then I'm no one to stop you listening to them. Expand
  43. GuyH
    Oct 16, 2006
    0
    The first track is laughable - it sounds like the theme to 'Flash Gordon' (only cheesier) and we are supposed to take this band seriously. They keep re-hashing the same melodies over and over again. They are talented musicians but should forget songs and vocals (the singing is dire) and write experimental instrumental music that challenges them - they are not playing to their The first track is laughable - it sounds like the theme to 'Flash Gordon' (only cheesier) and we are supposed to take this band seriously. They keep re-hashing the same melodies over and over again. They are talented musicians but should forget songs and vocals (the singing is dire) and write experimental instrumental music that challenges them - they are not playing to their artistic strengths (although fair play - they are making some cash so probably couldn't care less!!!) Expand
  44. Systool
    Jul 10, 2006
    5
    A very deceiving album... I rather appreciate the first three albums of the band, but this one just doesn't work : too much emphasis, no solid structures, not any unforgettable song... Sorry, guys, this album sucks
  45. BrandonD
    Jul 11, 2006
    0
    I think it would be far more accurate to say that anyone who likes Muse has terrible taste in music. These critics aren't harsh enough. Muse is super-cheesy, over-the-top but not endearingly so, and they come off like what they are, mid-90's Bends-era Radiohead ripoffs with delusions of grandeur and the technical talent (which is the only nice thingI can say about them) to back I think it would be far more accurate to say that anyone who likes Muse has terrible taste in music. These critics aren't harsh enough. Muse is super-cheesy, over-the-top but not endearingly so, and they come off like what they are, mid-90's Bends-era Radiohead ripoffs with delusions of grandeur and the technical talent (which is the only nice thingI can say about them) to back up their lame dreams. You might as well admit you like Creed and Nickelback while you're rockin' to Muse, it's practically the same. Even Coldplay's lame-duck non-rock has more nuance than this. Expand
  46. ParanoidAndroid
    Jul 11, 2006
    2
    The worst LP of muse. Actually muse are very interesting in the money and make song more popular possible.
  47. DavidS
    Aug 17, 2006
    9
    I've never been a fan of Muse. I've always considered them a Radiohead ripoff. My girlfriend pleaded with me to take a listen to this cd, and wow! It's nothing like their previous efforts. It oozes originality and creativity! Every song is gorgeous, layered and full of hooks. I guess I'll be eating crow for a while. I can't wait to catch them live at V Festival! I've never been a fan of Muse. I've always considered them a Radiohead ripoff. My girlfriend pleaded with me to take a listen to this cd, and wow! It's nothing like their previous efforts. It oozes originality and creativity! Every song is gorgeous, layered and full of hooks. I guess I'll be eating crow for a while. I can't wait to catch them live at V Festival! Muse, you've converted me! Expand
  48. Marc
    Jun 28, 2008
    5
    Paraphrasing Matt Bellamy in 'Supermassive Black Hole': Muse are kings of the superficial.
  49. DaveR
    Sep 26, 2006
    5
    It has it's highlights, but it goes away from the unity and powerful emotion that made "Absolution" such a solid album and moves towards a discombobulated techno-savvy mess. This is not to say that the album was a failure, but that it does not feel like an album. Highlights include: "Map of the Problematique" and "City of Delusions"
  50. Kvan
    Jul 13, 2006
    7
    Muse's newest album fails to live up to its two predecessors. However, that isn't saying that its not a good album. It's starts off fairly week with the first track, Take A Bow. Gets going with the next three tracks, but then sputters with Soldiers Poem and Invincible. By the end of the disk, Muse pulls out all the stops with Knights of Cyndonia. Overall this album has more Muse's newest album fails to live up to its two predecessors. However, that isn't saying that its not a good album. It's starts off fairly week with the first track, Take A Bow. Gets going with the next three tracks, but then sputters with Soldiers Poem and Invincible. By the end of the disk, Muse pulls out all the stops with Knights of Cyndonia. Overall this album has more hits than misses. But the duality of this album is highly annoying, hense the 7/10. Expand
  51. AndrewV
    Jul 18, 2006
    9
    wanted to give 9.5 this album is absolutely astonishing. from the moment the first note is heard to the epic last track (one of my favs by the way) i have chills. The only thing is that it ends too soon, thus the 9.5
  52. I.Lynch
    Jul 4, 2006
    8
    This is a pretty good album but I am a little disapointed. I was expecting more of a rock album than a prog album. But this record basically shows you the best and worst about Muse. They've made some amazing songs (Starlight, Knights of Cydonia) and some fairly average ones (Hoodoo, Take a bow). It doesnt come together as an album quite like Absolution did,but it still deserves a This is a pretty good album but I am a little disapointed. I was expecting more of a rock album than a prog album. But this record basically shows you the best and worst about Muse. They've made some amazing songs (Starlight, Knights of Cydonia) and some fairly average ones (Hoodoo, Take a bow). It doesnt come together as an album quite like Absolution did,but it still deserves a place in Muse's awsome catalouge. Expand
  53. MatthewC
    Jul 5, 2006
    9
    Amazing! their best album. Assassin is my fav muse song of all time!
  54. MarvAlbert
    Sep 20, 2006
    9
    Muse always amazes me. The first track sets the tone of the album perfectly as you go through the ups and downs and different moods of the rest of the tracks. I usually hate any efx but Muse uses them to perfection. If you havn't already get "Absolution" it's also incredible!!!
  55. MarioP
    Jan 15, 2007
    8
    I'm a big and longtime fan of Muse, having bought every album of theirs at its release. Absolution is and remains their unparalled masterpiece, but this one, despite some cheesy keyboards and FX (such in Starlight and Map of the Problematique), is a very solid and even great album nonetheless. A lot of variety and the usual knack for songs structure and instruments interactions. I I'm a big and longtime fan of Muse, having bought every album of theirs at its release. Absolution is and remains their unparalled masterpiece, but this one, despite some cheesy keyboards and FX (such in Starlight and Map of the Problematique), is a very solid and even great album nonetheless. A lot of variety and the usual knack for songs structure and instruments interactions. I dislike Take a Bow and Map of the Problematique, but the rest of the album more than makes up for 'em. Highlights for me are City of Delusion, Assassin and Supermassive Blackhole. Well done Muse, yet again. Expand
  56. SeamusS
    Mar 30, 2007
    6
    With an album as big, layered and slightly over produced as this, it's easy to hate. However, Muse manages to pull just slightly ahead of pretentious by making it fun in a Tongue And Cheek way. There are emotional moments no doubt but they're more comparable to a rollercoster than an epiphany. In all it's fun smart/dumb music that, all the while immediately harmless, With an album as big, layered and slightly over produced as this, it's easy to hate. However, Muse manages to pull just slightly ahead of pretentious by making it fun in a Tongue And Cheek way. There are emotional moments no doubt but they're more comparable to a rollercoster than an epiphany. In all it's fun smart/dumb music that, all the while immediately harmless, remains absolutely dangerous to the middle-schoolers and young high school kids that will grow up thinking they know good music because of a band that understands how to work a multi-tracking mixing board and a few effects peddles. Expand
  57. KateB.
    Jul 7, 2007
    9
    I love this album, I just wish sometimes it would be a little more subtle. Other than that, I think it is brilliant, and would recommend it to anyone!
  58. StefanS
    Oct 15, 2006
    7
    I am a huge fan of Muse, having been blown away by Absolution. However, from my point of view, this album does not live up to their last effort. Take a Bow and Starlight are two fantastic tracks. But tracks like Supermassive Black Hole sounded a bit lame to me. Nice beat, but there's better and more original dance-songs. All in all, one should experience the record, especially if I am a huge fan of Muse, having been blown away by Absolution. However, from my point of view, this album does not live up to their last effort. Take a Bow and Starlight are two fantastic tracks. But tracks like Supermassive Black Hole sounded a bit lame to me. Nice beat, but there's better and more original dance-songs. All in all, one should experience the record, especially if you're a Muse fan. But otherwise, go and listen to their previous effort for a more bombastic and enjoyable effort. Expand
  59. AndyH
    Jun 30, 2006
    9
    Don't judge it straightaway. Besides some obvious standouts it didn't blow me away until the third listen. If you like Muse, you'll love this. They are going to be awesome live!!!
  60. OobahJoobah
    Jul 11, 2006
    9
    The music on this album is of a high quality, and the only thing stopping it getting a 10 from me are the lyrics, which are pretty dire. however, matt has always written pretty dire lyrics, and if you're clever you just choose to ignore them. But even then, muse can be commended to a certain extent for their lyrics. For despite being poetically disabled, muse come out with some of The music on this album is of a high quality, and the only thing stopping it getting a 10 from me are the lyrics, which are pretty dire. however, matt has always written pretty dire lyrics, and if you're clever you just choose to ignore them. But even then, muse can be commended to a certain extent for their lyrics. For despite being poetically disabled, muse come out with some of the most audacious statements...showing that they truly have no fear. However, i want their next record to be wholly instrumental, because in the case of muse, the music speaks louder and says more than anything matt has ever written. Expand
  61. mioR
    Jul 10, 2006
    9
    Amazing, but not utterly amazing. Muse have done it again, they'e put out yet ANOTHER epic and beautiful album. Black Holes and Revelations gets a 9 for me, but its not better than OoS and Absolution
  62. Alix
    Jul 11, 2006
    10
    This album is an amazing piece of museness! Every song is unique and completely loveable! It's a perfect example of why I tell people they should bow down before muse! XD
  63. scottyy
    Jul 12, 2006
    7
    not bad but couldv'e been a whole lot better..Thought Absolution was hard to top in such short notice but I believe they have yet to make their best album which is saying alot..Sooner or later every band comes full circle and back to their roots (abstract) art punk prog rock; to make their masterpiece...
  64. ethanc
    Jul 12, 2006
    9
    a great album from start to end rivaled only by absolution
  65. NickP
    Jul 12, 2006
    7
    The album is distinctively Muse, but it sounds overdeveloped. It is as if the band attempted to make the ablum too great by micro managing the melodies. The result is a series of complexly orchistrated songs that nowhere near rival the previous three albums.Have been a hardcore Muse fan and while the album will be listened to, it is still dissappointing. Badly wanted and expected to give The album is distinctively Muse, but it sounds overdeveloped. It is as if the band attempted to make the ablum too great by micro managing the melodies. The result is a series of complexly orchistrated songs that nowhere near rival the previous three albums.Have been a hardcore Muse fan and while the album will be listened to, it is still dissappointing. Badly wanted and expected to give the album a 10... Expand
  66. JohnM
    Jul 10, 2006
    8
    One of favourite bands. Rocked Shepherds Bush last week. Interesting album. Great melodies. Good beat. Some pretty shoddy lyrics. But who cares? The Muse train has just left the station and probably left a good number of the fair-weather fans on the platform.
  67. DavidW
    Jul 14, 2006
    4
    Black holes and revelations is easily Muse's weakest album. There are maybe four good songs (Starlight, Knights, Supermassive, Problematique) and the rest is the kind of pointless filler we simply don't expect from Muse.
  68. AndyM
    Jul 10, 2006
    9
    I felt Muse had reached the end of the road with Absolution. Whatever the merits of that argument, this is a stunning blow to those critics who have dismissed them as Indie music's answer to The Scissor Sisters. Six or seven truly standout tracks, each utterly different to the other. Quite amazing.
  69. PaulF
    Jul 10, 2006
    9
    After listening to their hugely dissapointing third album (absolution), I didn't have high expectations for this one. How I was wrong. This is definatley miles better than absolution and sits right up there with origin of symmetry. BH&R has you gripped from the fantastic stadium filler 'Take a Bow' to the fantastic 'Knights of Cydonia' (the guitar riff at the end After listening to their hugely dissapointing third album (absolution), I didn't have high expectations for this one. How I was wrong. This is definatley miles better than absolution and sits right up there with origin of symmetry. BH&R has you gripped from the fantastic stadium filler 'Take a Bow' to the fantastic 'Knights of Cydonia' (the guitar riff at the end of this song is particularly worth a mention). It's so good to hear them back to their best. Expand
  70. StevenW
    Jul 10, 2006
    8
    Has anyone noticed the fact that Matthew's lyrics are getting worse? Compared to Origin Of Symmetry, their masterpiece in my opinion, the lyrics are a bit shallow. Still, it's a great cd and Muse show that they are still capable of surprising us with stunning songs.
  71. Matt
    Jul 21, 2006
    8
    Definetly a grower... Has more consistency than Origin and more orignality than Absolution in places. Might even be better hmmm have to see what i think after 30 - 40 listens!!
  72. lukyh
    Jul 31, 2006
    10
    This should be the album of the year!!! provided that U do not take it too seriously. Thank God thay have changed their direction a bit...
  73. ElvenL
    Jul 31, 2006
    10
    The Best Muse Album. In My Fave 5 Albums List
  74. EarlyStorm
    Aug 25, 2006
    9
    This band is exciting - this Cd is exciting. I love it!
  75. Babbleflaff
    Aug 31, 2006
    9
    Love the Album. One question annoys me though. Why the hell do they always get compared to Radiohead :| It's just annoying now.
  76. MiguelL
    Sep 6, 2006
    8
    Who can sound like Prince, Queen, Bowie, System of a Down, Radiohead, without loosing identity? ... MUSE
  77. MC
    Mar 2, 2007
    8
    As my first Muse album, Black Holes impressed me. It moves along very swiftly. I get the feeling it is supposed to be played at max volume to enjoy it fully. And as daggy as Knights of Cydonia is, it is just a little bit special, isn't it?
  78. EmilyH
    May 25, 2007
    7
    Something entierly different by a band that are used to producing "different" music. Alot softer and produced from previous masterpieces. "Knights of Cydonia" is the most accentric pieces of rock to spawn from a indie/emo-suffocating 2006. "Starlight" and "Invincble" merging on a more radio-friendly pop-rock side. Not bad but previous albums were better. Muse re-invent themselves Something entierly different by a band that are used to producing "different" music. Alot softer and produced from previous masterpieces. "Knights of Cydonia" is the most accentric pieces of rock to spawn from a indie/emo-suffocating 2006. "Starlight" and "Invincble" merging on a more radio-friendly pop-rock side. Not bad but previous albums were better. Muse re-invent themselves everytime so prepare yourselves for something more in years to come. Expand
  79. KevinN.
    Jun 8, 2007
    10
    This album is, quite simply, a masterpiece. The music is stadium-sized album rock which consistently delivers. What stands out are the memorable pop melodies coupled with ominous lyrics. Tie that in with the impeccable fasetto of Bellamy, the Queen-like superharmonies, the tight, headbanging guitars, and an undercurrent of electro-goth, and you have an album where every song stands out. This album is, quite simply, a masterpiece. The music is stadium-sized album rock which consistently delivers. What stands out are the memorable pop melodies coupled with ominous lyrics. Tie that in with the impeccable fasetto of Bellamy, the Queen-like superharmonies, the tight, headbanging guitars, and an undercurrent of electro-goth, and you have an album where every song stands out. It's sounds big, powerful, and moving. Masterfully mixed, "Black Holes and Revelations" also has a classical, operatic feel to it. As I listen, my jaw drops and I get goosebumps. Expand
  80. DaraghL.
    Sep 17, 2007
    9
    Brilliant.
  81. MPP.
    Jul 23, 2008
    9
    Anyone who thinks MUSE sounds like RADIOHEAD in any way, you should go to an ear doctor asap because you obviously have lousy hearing. This album is phenomenal and ranks only behind their best album, "Origin Of Symmetry". It's not just over the top, bombastic prog rock like some people like to say. Explain tracks like "Hoo Doo" or "City of Delusion". If anything, those are flamenco Anyone who thinks MUSE sounds like RADIOHEAD in any way, you should go to an ear doctor asap because you obviously have lousy hearing. This album is phenomenal and ranks only behind their best album, "Origin Of Symmetry". It's not just over the top, bombastic prog rock like some people like to say. Explain tracks like "Hoo Doo" or "City of Delusion". If anything, those are flamenco inspired. Lets not forget that MUSE is the best live band on the planet. Expand
  82. AidanK
    Oct 5, 2009
    8
    This is a very good record overall without any particularly week tracks. Not as good in my opinion as Origin of Symetry but much better than Absolution.
  83. Andrew
    Mar 4, 2009
    10
    Inspirational.
  84. musehatersareweird
    Aug 6, 2009
    10
    It is very hard if not impossible to dislike muse especially since now they've ditched the radiohead copycat sound for good and gone for proper prog rock moves this is album is brilliant and is probably the most accessible yet since they've started playing around in new genres. an essential purchase.
  85. BarryW
    Nov 15, 2006
    10
    Like all their other albums this is an absolute classic, not one bad track, they just seem to knock out one decent tune after another, brilliant,
  86. Fcuker
    Nov 18, 2006
    10
    This for me is the first Muse album I have purchased and I kick myself for not buying their previous albums before (which now I will have to). Having heard some songs of theirs over the years I was always impressed but not convinced, eventually I decided on Black Holes to try something else and the effect it had is amazing the combination of vocals and instruments is superb and completely This for me is the first Muse album I have purchased and I kick myself for not buying their previous albums before (which now I will have to). Having heard some songs of theirs over the years I was always impressed but not convinced, eventually I decided on Black Holes to try something else and the effect it had is amazing the combination of vocals and instruments is superb and completely different. After MCR's The Black Parade this is up there as album of the year Expand
  87. SachinP
    Nov 19, 2006
    10
    Their most complex and satisfying album to date, with genre-bursting tracks and plenty of overblown prog insanity. Matt Bellamy is, in effect, god.
  88. RSkells
    Jun 27, 2006
    9
    Its outstanding. Muse have been able to fit a range of subject matter and stylistic diversity into this album. one of the best albums of the year.
  89. PeterC
    Jul 11, 2006
    8
    This album gets better the more you listen to it. Personally, I feel that Absolution has stronger melodies and much stronger choruses, but that is besides the point. City of Delusion and Map of the Problematique are very good. Supermassive is a catchy pop song and Knights of Cydonia is strangely good. In fact a lot of the album makes me smile, not necesssarily because I love it, but This album gets better the more you listen to it. Personally, I feel that Absolution has stronger melodies and much stronger choruses, but that is besides the point. City of Delusion and Map of the Problematique are very good. Supermassive is a catchy pop song and Knights of Cydonia is strangely good. In fact a lot of the album makes me smile, not necesssarily because I love it, but because I genuinely find some of the melodies funny...Starlight's keyboards being the best example. The album does not have a brilliant flow like Absolution but does have its good moments. All in all, good, but I really wanted to give the new Muse album 10/10, unfortunately its not good enough. What sums it up for me is, when I bought Origin of Symetery I stopped listening to Showbiz, when I bought Absolution I stopped listening to Origin of Symetery. When I bought Black Holes and Revelations I put on Absolution again. The new new album is not entirely a backwards step, maybe I just expected a tiny bit too much. Its not my fault Muse set their standards so high on their previous three albums. I want to give 8.5/10 but the drop down wont allow me to so 8 it is for this album. Expand
  90. NegativeCreep
    Jul 10, 2006
    9
    this is something extraordinary... it´s a bit more pop, but I´m not ashamed from this kind of pop...
  91. NickM
    Jul 10, 2006
    10
    this album is simply amazing, i dont even know how to describe it, MUSE is solidly placed as one of the most outstanding band of this, or any generation, and i cant wait to see them live again, this time July 30th, rock on boys, rock ON!
  92. JeffN
    Jul 10, 2006
    10
    I don't want to say that all the people who rate this album poorly have bad taste in music... but all the people who rate this album poorly have bad taste in music.
  93. luiss
    Jul 11, 2006
    10
    listen this album...till the end...amazing with new influences...
  94. StPete
    Jul 12, 2006
    4
    It is very hard for me to give a low rating to Muse. They are one of my top 5 all-time favorite bands, but I was so disappointed in this album. I've given it a couple listens to try and really let it envelope me like their other albums did when they came out, but this one does nothing for me. The 4 is for Take A Bow and Knights of Cydonia... the opening and closing tracks are It is very hard for me to give a low rating to Muse. They are one of my top 5 all-time favorite bands, but I was so disappointed in this album. I've given it a couple listens to try and really let it envelope me like their other albums did when they came out, but this one does nothing for me. The 4 is for Take A Bow and Knights of Cydonia... the opening and closing tracks are incredible. I just wish everything in between wasn't so boring. Sorry Muse, I'll wait and hope for the next one and go back to non-stop spinning of OoS, Absolution and Showbiz in the meantime. :( Expand
  95. MattA
    Jul 12, 2006
    10
    I love this album... It fits well with their library and is welcome in my book. Gotta love Starlight, Exo-politics, and Supermassive Black Hole
  96. UserX
    Jul 13, 2006
    9
    Pretty goddamn awesome.
  97. TomK
    Jul 14, 2006
    10
    Brilliant from start to finish. Not only my favorite Muse album but my favorite music album ever. Impressive stuff.
  98. JohnA
    Jul 15, 2006
    10
    In one word, ESPECTACULAR.
  99. MarcoG
    Jul 15, 2006
    10
    Those who claim that this album is nothing short of spectacular don't know anything about music. Easily the best album of the year.
  100. andyy
    Jul 16, 2006
    4
    Ho-hum! Another round of Radiohead-wanna-be tracks. "Problematique"? Where have I heard that title before? Oh yeah: Radiohead's KID A album, the song "Idioteque."
Metascore
75

Generally favorable reviews - based on 32 Critics

Critic score distribution:
  1. Positive: 22 out of 32
  2. Negative: 1 out of 32
  1. Entertaining and rabble-rousing, daft and deadly serious, it's a fantastic record, with almost limitless appeal.
  2. Black Holes and Revelations isn’t a perfect record but it’s a worthy addition to an already stellar catalog. [#14]
  3. It shouldn't work, but Bellamy's mania is so convincingly realised that even the most avowed Muse refusenik may have to finally concede defeat.