Confessions On A Dance Floor

Metascore
80

Generally favorable reviews - based on 28 Critics

Critic score distribution:
  1. Positive: 26 out of 28
  2. Negative: 0 out of 28
  1. Confessions... is vocally sharp and (at times) lyrically breathtaking, but it is difficult to imagine this album working without Price's involvement.
  2. The joyful "I Love the '80s"-style disc fans have been yearning for since she took up yoga.
  3. Easily her finest effort since Ray of Light.
  4. Swirling, throbbing and altogether great. [19 Nov 2005]
  5. New Musical Express (NME)
    90
    Believe the hype, this is even better than 'Ray Of Light.' [12 Nov 2005, p.45]
  6. Easily dance record of the year, Confessions is an almost seamless tribute to the strobe-lit sensuality of the '80s New York club scene that gave Madge her roots, which she explores with compelling aplomb.
  7. Sweaty, head-spinningly good dance music.
  8. For all its pretenses of being giddy and spontaneous, though, Confessions is rarely either.
  9. If anything, it's more a dance record, leaving those of us with a sentimental weakness for distinct parts a little lost.
  10. One of the few pop singers whose albums are best appreciated in their entirety and not lopped off into "hit singles," Madonna... has succeeded at creating a dance-pop odyssey with an emotional, if not necessarily narrative, arc.
  11. It may be a return to core values, but there's still a bravery about Confessions on a Dancefloor. It revels in the delights of wilfully plastic dance pop in an era when lesser dance-pop artists - from Rachel Stevens to Price's protege Juliet - are having a desperately thin time of it.
  12. Uncut
    80
    Such a heady, high-octane swirl that, perversely enough, you often forget you're listening to a Madonna record. [Dec 2005, p.102]
  13. Q Magazine
    80
    Up there with her best. [Dec 2005, p.144]
  14. Mojo
    80
    As each track segues into the next, this is a breathless listen, but the overall scheme works. [Dec 2005, p.99]
  15. Los Angeles Times
    75
    Disco with a vengeance, a whomping, unapologetically airheaded engine of stroboscopic beats and succulent textures that exhumes dance music's time-honored values of celebration and affirmation. [13 Nov 2005]
  16. She might not quite have made it through the wilderness just yet, but she's chosen the most glittering road to resurrection she could find, and it's one she walks with no small smattering of style.
  17. The sound that [Price] has created for "Confessions On A Dancefloor" is simultaneously stylish, fun, hip and camp; all things a Madonna record should be.
  18. The first half, in particular, has irresistible momentum... The second half drags a little, and you wish Madonna would strip the synths back to work a bass line every now and then.
  19. Madonna's songwriting has always been her most underrated quality. But while Confessions absolutely hits its mark for disco functionality, its greatest strength is also its weakness. In the end, the songs blur together, relying on Price's considerable production magic to create tension or distinctiveness.
  20. For the most part it succeeds quite well in its single-minded pursuit of disco euphoria, but there’s definitely a whiff of flop-sweat emanating from it.
  21. While she succeeds rather handsomely on those modest terms, it's more than a little odd to hear Madonna scaling back her ambition and settling for less rather than hungering for more.
  22. Paste Magazine
    70
    A delightful concoction. [Feb/Mar 2006, p.98]
  23. Price’s work behind the boards, while often commanding, is hardly ambitious; running the tracks together to try and give Madge the "album" sound is noteworthy, but he’s picked the wrong pop-star to prod.
  24. Spin
    67
    With its surges and dips, Confessions mimics the rising/falling action of, say, a DJ set, a hit of Ecstasy, or Madonna's own career. [Dec 2005, p.106]
  25. An exuberant return to old-school form.
  26. Despite Price's best efforts to infuse these songs with motion and finesse, Confessions never quite reaches its earlier heights after "I Love New York". When Madonna actually starts confessing, the album loses its delicate balance between pop frivolity and spiritual gravity.
  27. The New York Times
    60
    But she's not attempting a simple 80's revival; for all the vaguely familiar hooks, there are also sustained, wistful overlays of strings and acoustic guitar that enfold the music like a haze of indistinct memory. [14 Nov 2005]
  28. Blender
    60
    [It] sounds as if she's happy to give the people what they want: escapism and nostalgia. [Dec 2005, p.152]
User Score
8.7

Universal acclaim- based on 588 Ratings

User score distribution:
  1. Negative: 31 out of 278
  1. SantixR.
    Jun 11, 2010
    10
    I must say that I never really paid attention to Madonna until this album. I became a fan when i heard Confessions on a Dance floor. I must say that I never really paid attention to Madonna until this album. I became a fan when i heard Confessions on a Dance floor. It's great for parties and for just a person dancing in the room. For me, it's the best Madonna album to date. Full Review »
  2. Mar 26, 2012
    10
    This is my favourite album!!! It's simply great! Best dance album ever!!!! The sounds are incredible, the lyrics are fantastic, her voice isThis is my favourite album!!! It's simply great! Best dance album ever!!!! The sounds are incredible, the lyrics are fantastic, her voice is great!!! Love this album and love "Hung Up" and "Jump" my favourite songs! The album start with "Hung Up", probably the best track. When you hear this song your body starts to dance! Then there are "Get Together" and "Sorry" that are really good. The CD continues with "Future Lovers", "I Love New York", "Let It Will Be" and "Forbidden Love" that are excellent dance songs!!! And then there are "Jump" ( for me the second best track, then Hung Up ) "How High", "Isaac" ( great! ) "Push" and "Like it or not". All great tracks! "Confessions" is one of Madonna greatest CDs with "True Blue" and "Like a Prayer". I Love this!!!!!! ( sorry for my English ) Full Review »
  3. JensO
    Aug 1, 2009
    10
    This album is dance music par excellence.