Fade - Yo La Tengo
Metascore
82

Universal acclaim - based on 45 Critics

Critic score distribution:
  1. Positive: 42 out of 45
  2. Negative: 0 out of 45
  1. Jan 15, 2013
    92
    Fade is just 10 distinctive, beautiful songs in 45 minutes meant to show their languid new peers (Real Estate, Beach House, Grizzly Bear, what have you) who's boss. It shouldn't work. It's to that roaring 20-year streak's goodwill that it does.
  2. Their quietest and most fragile album is also their most orchestrated.
  3. Jan 17, 2013
    88
    Tortoise's John McEntire steps in for long-time producer Roger Moutenot, but any of these songs would fit perfectly on the band's last half-dozen albums.
  4. Jan 15, 2013
    88
    Fade is classic Yo La Tengo: honest, unpretentious and, above all, catchy.
  5. 85
    Fade is vintage Yo La Tengo, but somehow gorgeously grown-up, with moments which your head will tell you sound normal, as if you have heard them before, but which make the rest of you feel contemplative and still.
  6. Jan 22, 2013
    85
    Nothing seems to rattle them, and hearing that Zen-like outlook on record is immensely refreshing and inspiring.
  7. 83
    A set of spare, slow-building dream pop that doesn't blast like a furnace as much as it hums like a hair dryer.
  8. Jan 15, 2013
    83
    Yo La Tengo may not be as daringly innovative as it once was, but, in targeting its experiments to a cohesive purpose, the band successfully fulfills Fade's grandiose scope.
  9. Feb 15, 2013
    82
    The most direct album the band has ever assembled, Fade functions like one of the darker, LOL-averse episodes of comedian Louis C.K.’s eponymous show.
  10. Jan 14, 2013
    81
    It may not herald another big day coming, but Fade is a thoroughly immersive dusk-to-dawn soundtrack to a dark night's passing.
User Score
8.0

Generally favorable reviews- based on 32 Ratings

User score distribution:
  1. Positive: 2 out of 2
  2. Mixed: 0 out of 2
  3. Negative: 0 out of 2
  1. Feb 4, 2013
    8
    This is YLT like you've never heard them before. It extends beyond the scope of their typical style, seamlessly incorporating a caliber of orchestration that few bands are able to create. The songs are varied yet cohesive, soft yet impactful, indirect yet focused. What surprises me the most is that I never really got into these guys, but this album speaks to me in a different way. Old fans might label Fade as a 'comeback album', but it's going to bring them new fans too.

    If you appreciate indie pop on any level, then this is a must listen. Without a doubt, an early contender for best of 2013.
    Full Review »
  2. Feb 1, 2013
    9
    I am very disappointed that I have discovered them so late. They should have been in my music rotation for years. This is a very sophisticated and sublime album that asks you to press the replay button. Their sound is 2013 and it's great to see old hands set the trend for the youth of today. I am now going to go through the catalogue. Full Review »