From Here We Go Sublime

  • Record Label: Kompakt
  • Release Date: Apr 3, 2007
User Score
6.7

Generally favorable reviews- based on 388 Ratings

User score distribution:
  1. Negative: 98 out of 388

Review this album

  1. Your Score
    0 out of 10
    Rate this:
    • 10
    • 9
    • 8
    • 7
    • 6
    • 5
    • 4
    • 3
    • 2
    • 1
    • 0
    • 0
  1. Submit
  2. Check Spelling
  1. Darnell
    May 9, 2007
    6
    Say Hello! to SUPER-HYPE! What is new here? It sounds so repetitive and boring that any slight nuance is considered profound (in the ears of critics). I tried, let me tell you, to like this. It's OK, and that's as good as it gets.
  2. MycroftW
    May 9, 2007
    6
    It's not bad, but this is surely way to lacking in ideas or originality to get a 93 score? That would imply there's a second Strings of Life on here somewhere, but instead it sounds like a poor man's Isolee
  3. onyxE.
    Jul 9, 2007
    4
    I love electronic music but this album is so overhyped it's ridiculous. TOTALLY OVERRATED!
  4. Jonathan
    Oct 6, 2007
    4
    Electronic music thrives on novelty - so I'm amazed that this album has received such glowing reviews. This kind of lush minimal proggy techno has been done a trillion times before. It's well crafted, but dull.
  5. SteveC
    May 1, 2007
    4
    Has a couple of nice moments. Someone's been hacking Kate Bush up, which always triggers a warm feeling...
  6. TomP.
    May 1, 2008
    4
    Every song has the same annoying chop-up sound that makes this album virtually unlistenable by itself. Entertaining to listen to for the first 15 seconds, then you realize it's only going to keep repeating the same unoriginal beat and melody with a few subtle changes for the rest of the song. There's pretty much no music, no meaning, nothing. Sure, it makes nice background Every song has the same annoying chop-up sound that makes this album virtually unlistenable by itself. Entertaining to listen to for the first 15 seconds, then you realize it's only going to keep repeating the same unoriginal beat and melody with a few subtle changes for the rest of the song. There's pretty much no music, no meaning, nothing. Sure, it makes nice background music, while you go about doing something else, because if you were to sit down with headphones and concentrate on this cd from start to finish you would ultimately feel like you wasted about 50 minutes of your life. Not to mention you would be driven insane. I mean are you serious? Sun and ice was just about the most pointless song I've ever heard....Baaaaaaaaaahhh......Beeeeehhhhhhhhh.....baaaaaaahhhhh.....beeeeeehhhhhhh....and so on. So yeah, nice background music, that's definetly worth album of the year isn't it? Oh well, instead of discussing why it's there, just look at that nice 14 reviews...14 misguided reviews, that this album got. For anyone even remotely serious about music, In Rainbows was the real album of the year, and we all know it. Nuff said. Expand
  7. Gaz
    Apr 20, 2007
    5
    Not sure what the fuss is about. Sounds the B-side of a Paul van Dyk single from the late 90s. Seriously.
  8. RockofGibraltar
    Apr 29, 2007
    5
    I don't get why this album has a 95 avg score! It doesn't break new ground and is extremely repetitive!
  9. Alunp
    May 6, 2007
    4
    Not sure why the reviews are so high? There are no bad songs but the rating on Metacritc ranks it as one of the best albums of all time? After listening theres not really much you can remember of the stand out songs
  10. AlanP
    May 7, 2007
    4
    All I have to say is that the music does not live up to the critics hype. simple.
  11. esss
    Jun 2, 2007
    4
    I found it very repetitive and was disappointed. Maybe it would have been more impressive if I'd been tripping balls on E or something. My gf can't even be in the same room as this CD.
  12. ChrisC
    Jun 7, 2007
    5
    I keep reading reviews for albums like this and Stars of the Lid talking about 'deep listening' (You know, that thing people who've been listening to Mozart since they were five do). Also accusing anybody who doesn't like it of just expecting it to be more like mainstream records. Basically the message of the reviews are 'We've decided this is great, and if I keep reading reviews for albums like this and Stars of the Lid talking about 'deep listening' (You know, that thing people who've been listening to Mozart since they were five do). Also accusing anybody who doesn't like it of just expecting it to be more like mainstream records. Basically the message of the reviews are 'We've decided this is great, and if you disagree, you're just a pop junkie'. Apparently, listening to a bunch of tones fading in and out, going nowhere, is the new state of avant garde. Unfortunately, all those things they say about it, how deep listening has some euphoric payoff, just aren't true. The record sounds okay and at points does indeed evoke some emotion. But not any more emotion than any other kind of atmospheric electronica. Sorry Pitchfork, The Field just ain't Mozart. Expand
  13. TiagoM
    Aug 25, 2007
    4
    At first glance this album feels quite original. Harmonic tracks build up from sliced samples with a small use of synthesizers. But when look further, From Here We Go Sublime, reveals a huge lack of creativity. Repetitive loops from the beginning to the end (If you stand till the end of it), monotone drums, invariable rhythm, and excessive use of fade outs. Though, it can be a satisfying At first glance this album feels quite original. Harmonic tracks build up from sliced samples with a small use of synthesizers. But when look further, From Here We Go Sublime, reveals a huge lack of creativity. Repetitive loops from the beginning to the end (If you stand till the end of it), monotone drums, invariable rhythm, and excessive use of fade outs. Though, it can be a satisfying album to create background ambient in a pub or to be mixed by DJ's. But if you are the type who like to lay down on the sofa and listen to electronic music the same way you would listening to a great symphonic orchestra, forget about it. Expand
  14. SteveF.
    Sep 9, 2007
    4
    The only track that really commands your attention is "Mobilia" - and it gets old *really* fast. The most overrated record of all time.
  15. Koko
    Jul 10, 2008
    5
    Very overestimated record. This is a very eclectic and sui generis LP and does not deserves such praise in my opinion. In a interview Wilner stated that 'From here we go sublime' was music to listen in 'minimal decorated spaces and living rooms'...but in my opinion its quite boring under any other circumstances I'm afraid.
  16. DennisP
    Jan 24, 2008
    4
    At first, I really thought there was something wrong with my computer (I ripped the cd onto the laptop). It didn't take long to realize that it was supposed to sound like that. Not sure if that's my thing. I want to listen more to give it a fair shake, but a few of the tones, repeated ad nauseam, seem to really upset my dogs.
  17. KenC.
    May 17, 2008
    5
    I can't give this an album anything less than a 5 due to I'm not the hugest fan of this genre. The brilliance of this album must be real subtle because I got through 2 listens without being blown away by anything. I would not recommend for anyone that is not a hardcore fan of electronic. I'm a big fan of Burial's Untrue, but this one just does not do it for me.
  18. TheShallowCaller
    Apr 18, 2007
    5
    Decidedly average. What is the fuss all about. I agree the Eric M there's much better stuff out there. Domik Eulberg, Villalobos, Isolee, Mathew Jonson, ya know, interesting electronic dance oriented music DON'T BELIEVE THE HYPE!
  19. colin
    Apr 18, 2007
    5
    there is nothing new or interesting about this album. completely unremarkable
  20. waymanr
    May 1, 2007
    4
    Are you serious? Can't live without this trite drivel? Astounding that one would even suggest such a notion. It is elementary at best and worth a few spins at some clubs in Europe. It sounded like my old 8-bit nintendo playing Mario Brothers.
  21. FabrizioF
    May 26, 2007
    5
    NOT a minimalist record; who told this go check La Monte Young, the Fifties minimalism. This record can be interesting only as a metaphor of alienating routine of our modern way of living, in which though we're still looking for something worth which could go off the deep end. But this lil warmth is not enough for me...
  22. JamesD
    May 6, 2007
    4
    This is a prime example of why Metacritic dosen't always (really) work. It's a bland, uninspired headache of an album, that sounded good to a few bland & uninspired reviewers. When real and effective original music is very much alive, thers's no need for such regressive piddle.
  23. tim
    May 6, 2007
    5
    whats the big deal? i've heard better.
  24. JTR
    Jun 28, 2007
    4
    What's the big deal here? Why are so many critics losing their minds over this trite, predictable, paint by numbers trance album that sounds like it fell through a wormhole from 1998? Seriously, electronic music has evolved far and wide from this car commercial music.
  25. MiguelC
    Jul 26, 2007
    5
    overated album, 2 chords repeating themselves for 10 minutes on each track on a 4/4 beat, works fine as a sleeping pill if you are out of stilnox
  26. JorgeS.
    Aug 28, 2007
    5
    I heard this album while reading the critics. I was amazed. In the back of my mind an idea was forming, sort of like a presence, I was being witness to electronic payola. There certainly is no other reason for calling this the best album in years. It's a good album, definitely more listenable than a Juan Atkins minimalist album, but to call it greatness? I've been listening to I heard this album while reading the critics. I was amazed. In the back of my mind an idea was forming, sort of like a presence, I was being witness to electronic payola. There certainly is no other reason for calling this the best album in years. It's a good album, definitely more listenable than a Juan Atkins minimalist album, but to call it greatness? I've been listening to electronica fore more than 15 years, and surely I have heard jewels of albums and tracks that it blows my mind to think that they aren't regarded as musical landmarks. I could pick easily 5 albums in the last 5 years that have more merit to be really in the best of category. This is an album for people who are just experiencing for the first time the joys of electronica and techno. If you usually listen to rock and pop and find this interesting and refreshing, I say welcome, there is way more than that out there, in almost any subgenre, but please do not consider this album the best there is to offer from the 1's and 0's crowd. I hope that in subsequent listenings I catch some of that greatness it has been so lauded to posses, for all the noise that it's making outside typical electronica minded people, I sure hope it has what it takes to entice listeners to linger beyond the riffs, beats and typical markup that you find outside the genre. Expand
  27. EricM
    Apr 15, 2007
    4
    Not sure what the hype is about. There's much more interesting stuff our there.
  28. AndreasD
    Apr 18, 2007
    6
    While I enjoy the impact Kompakt had as a label, the stuff has become formulaic and they focus a bit too much on quantity over quality for my taste. What's a bit of a concern is that a lot of their albums seem to get very high ratings with stylus, pitchfork, etc. and I scratch my head wondering what all the fuzz is about ...when I listened to these albums, I am often underwhelmed. As While I enjoy the impact Kompakt had as a label, the stuff has become formulaic and they focus a bit too much on quantity over quality for my taste. What's a bit of a concern is that a lot of their albums seem to get very high ratings with stylus, pitchfork, etc. and I scratch my head wondering what all the fuzz is about ...when I listened to these albums, I am often underwhelmed. As a label gets bigger, the creative output oftentimes suffers. In that context, I see the album by "The Field" as a decent release that has been inflated by clever promotion/marketing of the Kompakt-clan and their worshippers. As the user ratings show, many people seem to like the album. That's all good as long as people trust their own instincts and don't just base their opinions on what they are being told. Expand
  29. kevinp
    Apr 18, 2007
    4
    wow, people actually like this shit?
  30. pierreb.
    Jun 26, 2007
    5
    It is certainly not bad, but 90!!!!???? that's way too much for just an ordinary dance/electronic record. Good for running though. Still it is obvious that this album does certainly NOT deserve to be 2007's number 1.
  31. sargonzo
    Jun 28, 2007
    5
    Incredibly overrated
  32. SelfMedicating
    Jun 28, 2007
    5
    One might ask how a collection of rave music from the early 90s became the most critically acclaimed record of 2007. Or one could just admit that the critics know best.
  33. Francesco
    Dec 22, 2007
    5
    God, how can an album like this one collect a 90 out 100? Better than Neon Bible? Please. Let's be serious. This album consist of 3 sounds repeated again and again. Blah.
  34. Nato
    Dec 29, 2007
    6
    Underwhelming considering the pro reviews.
Metascore
90

Universal acclaim - based on 14 Critics

Critic score distribution:
  1. Positive: 14 out of 14
  2. Mixed: 0 out of 14
  3. Negative: 0 out of 14
  1. If you like minimal electronic music at all, you must seek it out.
  2. This is one of those rare albums that makes you wonder how you ever got by without it.
  3. This is an album you could easily hate -- especially if you like things like change and development.