From Here We Go Sublime Image

Universal acclaim - based on 14 Critics What's this?

User Score

Generally favorable reviews- based on 379 Ratings

Your Score
0 out of 10
Rate this:
  • 10
  • 9
  • 8
  • 7
  • 6
  • 5
  • 4
  • 3
  • 2
  • 1
  • 0
  • 0
  • Summary: This is the full-length debut for Stockholm, Sweden trance producer Axel Willner.
Score distribution:
  1. Positive: 14 out of 14
  2. Mixed: 0 out of 14
  3. Negative: 0 out of 14
  1. This is one of those rare albums that makes you wonder how you ever got by without it.
  2. From Here We Go Sublime may not be an evolution for Willner, but it’s a singular distillation of his talents into one album. Mixing gauzy shoegaze, slippery ambient loops, and two-cheeks-on-the-floor bass drum bounce, the Field offers an idyllic work of startling novelty, and perhaps ‘techno’’s most widely appreciable offering in years.
  3. It’s fair to say if you don’t find anything worthwhile somewhere in this record, you probably just don’t enjoy electronic music.
  4. If you like minimal electronic music at all, you must seek it out.
  5. It may sound simple but it's devastatingly effective.
  6. 80
    Mesmerising stuff. [Jun 2007, p.99]
  7. Track for track, From Here We Go Sublime is mired in some of the simplest beats in modern electronic music.

See all 14 Critic Reviews

Score distribution:
  1. Negative: 74 out of 256
  1. mon-peg
    Apr 18, 2007
    there's something on this album, but i don't know what. this record (escpecially the second part) makes me feel strange as "october language' by belong makes. Expand
  2. BenE.
    Dec 17, 2007
    it's really quite captivating, despite its utter repetitiveness. it's really something you need to hear to understand. i imagine a lot of people wouldn't like it because of the repetition, though. works very well as background music, too. Expand
  3. TrevorW
    Aug 4, 2008
    It's the perfect mix of heavy bass-lines and short melodic synthesizer phrases. The ambiance each track gives off is slightly different, yet the whole album keeps you in the same mood or trance if you prefer. I eagerly await their second album. Expand
  4. DaveS
    May 14, 2007
    Fantastic album. Infinitely re-listenable; builds from simple lines, strips the rhythm down and then re-makes it over the course of a track.
  5. ChrisC
    Jun 7, 2007
    I keep reading reviews for albums like this and Stars of the Lid talking about 'deep listening' (You know, that thing people who've been listening to Mozart since they were five do). Also accusing anybody who doesn't like it of just expecting it to be more like mainstream records. Basically the message of the reviews are 'We've decided this is great, and if you disagree, you're just a pop junkie'. Apparently, listening to a bunch of tones fading in and out, going nowhere, is the new state of avant garde. Unfortunately, all those things they say about it, how deep listening has some euphoric payoff, just aren't true. The record sounds okay and at points does indeed evoke some emotion. But not any more emotion than any other kind of atmospheric electronica. Sorry Pitchfork, The Field just ain't Mozart. Expand
  6. SantiagoS
    May 16, 2007
    I can´t believe that a simple album like this has this rating!!!
  7. EvanM
    Apr 15, 2007
    Repetitive. Minimal predictable beats that go exactly where you think theyre going.

See all 256 User Reviews

Related Articles

  1. Ten Years of Metacritic: The Best Music of the Decade

    Ten Years of Metacritic: The Best Music of the Decade Image
    Published: December 15, 2009
    Our best of the decade coverage begins with a look at the top-rated albums and artists of the past 10 years. Who finished on top? A band from Austin, and a record that was 37 years in the making.