From Here We Go Sublime

  • Record Label: Kompakt
  • Release Date: Apr 3, 2007
User Score
6.7

Generally favorable reviews- based on 388 Ratings

User score distribution:
  1. Negative: 98 out of 388

Review this album

  1. Your Score
    0 out of 10
    Rate this:
    • 10
    • 9
    • 8
    • 7
    • 6
    • 5
    • 4
    • 3
    • 2
    • 1
    • 0
    • 0
  1. Submit
  2. Check Spelling
  1. Mar 24, 2014
    10
    Axel Willner, under the guise of 'The Field" created on his first release something of a minor masterpiece of electronic music. His ideas here are not only fully developed, but also immaculately conceived; the inspiration to take fraction cuts of music and loop them repeatedly for several minutes on end is, simply put, genius. This approach gives the listener a feeling of primal intimacy.Axel Willner, under the guise of 'The Field" created on his first release something of a minor masterpiece of electronic music. His ideas here are not only fully developed, but also immaculately conceived; the inspiration to take fraction cuts of music and loop them repeatedly for several minutes on end is, simply put, genius. This approach gives the listener a feeling of primal intimacy. Having been subject to a sound on repeat for what feels like an eternity, we gradually begin to feel as if we've known this song deeply and personally for a long time. For an album defined as electronic music to achieve such a profoundly human feel is, frankly, quite rare. Not only has Willner carved an amazingly original niche into his moniker, his music is, regardless of gimmick, a great listen. From the opening track, 'Over the Ice', we are instantly transported somewhere else - a world of indescribable synthetic sounds based in human vocal samples that feels ethereal and anthemic at the same time. 'Over the Ice' perfectly captures the major theme that Willner explores on 'Sublime', the contrast of tension and release, simplicity and complexity. The second track, "A Paw in My Face' tests the listeners ears further, with an incredibly simple, almost elementary loop of electric guitar (later revealed to be a cut from Lionel Richie's 'Hello'), that builds for five minutes to almost unbearably tense effect. From this song onward, we begin to see Willner's hand as more compositional and restrained. Other tracks, such as 'Silent', 'Everday', and the 10-minute centerpiece of the album, 'The Deal', follow this pattern, beginning at an almost comic level of simplicity, only to evolve into a monolithic, densely layered trance. In slowly giving us a little more to grab onto with each loop, these songs become incredibly engaging from multiple standpoints. For one, Willner's music is exceptionally rhythmically subversive, often testing our patience by holding onto a loop just a little longer than we may be comfortable with. He betrays our expectations, creating tension. Another trick that Willner employs lies in the density of the sounds that he samples. They are so mythic and opaque that our brains naturally try to identify an understanding of what it is we are hearing. For instance, on track "The Little Heart Beats So Fast", what exactly is being said so faintly in the background? Diphthong? Dance On? End Solo? When you begin to think on it, each sounds plausible. Lingering on a specific song on the album in order to decipher in exactitude what is being heard, however, can be a near impossible task. Our brains can be deceptive in their understanding of what we hear. In an interview, Willner stated that many of the sounds perceived on 'Sublime' are actually hollow. Our ears naturally attempt to fill in the gaps of music that we presume are there. This makes every faint noise heard (or not heard) deeply mineable, which is a good thing because the listener certainly gets a chance to dive in and examine the soundscape of 'From Here We Go Sublime'. Each track, regardless of how simplistic it is at first glance, is endlessly cavernous. Tracks "Sun & Ice" and "Good Things End", though blatantly repetitive, have a quality of vastness, of grandiosity hidden beneath such sparse sounds. Admirably, The Field has built on a strong following among electronic music enthusiasts because of his respect of the intentional listener. He assumes that his audience is not the kind to feed on instant musical gratification so commonly found in modern popular music, which appears rigid and impersonally structured by comparison. Since its release in 2007, 'From Here We Go Sublime" has left an incredible staple on electronic minimalism. Other such albums unveiled around that time, such as Panda Bear's 'Person Pitch' and Burial's 'Untrue' inhabit a similar musical vein, both making a great application of sampling and repetition. However, the argument could be made that though both of these artists smother The Field in terms of popularity and relevance, and basically rival in critical acclaim, none is more humble and graceful than Willner when it comes to simply crafting music. To anyone with an interest in electronic minimalism, 'From Here We Go Sublime' becomes necessity. For any interested in good music in general, the album resembles a genre at its most accessible and accentuated. To write off The Field as 'dull' or 'an acquired taste' is to accuse a great wine of not intoxicating upon initial consumption. To call his songs mere 'remixes' would be to undervalue the sheer distinction of The Field's style. This is a distillation of music style that is admittedly slow burning, but also endlessly rewarding, like a classic film or novel. 'From Here We Go Sublime' is a work of whose value would be a shame to see fade over time. Expand
  2. Oct 9, 2012
    10
    It really doesn't get better than this, expect to return to this album for years to come; I have. Seen this guy loads of times, it all stands up live. The Field has put out some good music since this but I'll never expect him to top this. Listen is you like tight controlled music, of any genre. Don't listen if you want immediate returns.
  3. Mar 12, 2013
    10
    This is a rare case (in fact it might be the first time I've said this about anything) where I have to say if you don't love this masterpiece you just don't get it.
  4. freek
    Oct 20, 2007
    10
    simply beautiful, never thought a dance album would deserve a 10. this one definitely does, the critics are right. it offers sublime emotion in all it's simplicity, just perfect. strange experience live though, in between other (less sophisticated, but also great) Kompakt artists.
  5. MichelE
    May 1, 2007
    10
    Very good, i love this music !
  6. Michael
    Nov 4, 2007
    10
    I loved it from the get go, the sound is just so heart-warming. It's so wispy, so up in the clouds, I feel like I could listen to these songs forever. It's very simple, but very brave and vivid. Absolutely lush. A very personal album, and as such many are going to be completely confused by it. The rest of us will just drift away.
  7. mikeh
    Apr 18, 2007
    9
    absolutely amazing, one of the best releases so far this year. think early aphex twin for the dance floor
  8. wutherf
    May 2, 2007
    10
    to those who can't understand why this is so good - stick to verse chorus verse if you like, but this is a soundscape you can get lost in, where every listen reveals something new.
  9. BibianeN
    May 21, 2007
    10
    THE BEST, sublime, idiliac, delicious, eletronic album of the last 5years. love it. i'm still asking myself how did i live without it
  10. AndyP
    May 2, 2007
    9
    This is a stunning album which, as an earlier reviewer said, becomes unbelievably good when played through headphones. There is so much going on, that although it could be classed as minimal, every listen reveals new fabrics and layers. I particularly love Mobilia - it just pummels my brain into submission every time I hear it. Album of the year so far without question.
  11. IsaacL
    May 3, 2007
    10
    WOW. This is microhouse at its very, VERY finest.
  12. JesseJ
    May 3, 2007
    10
    This a great album. Yes this isn't a groundbreaking album, and yes, it probably shouldn't be the number one album of the year, but instead of deconstructing and analyzing it, try to just enjoy it.
  13. KelvinO'C
    May 5, 2007
    9
    Fantastic minimal album. For all those who feel these is repetitive,you really don't get it do you? Stop reviewing electronic albums and go back to the cosy land of pop music and soft rock,where you'll believe there's no repetition simply because some "star" is singing some song overthe top. Leave the real musical art reviews to real music listener's
  14. GarrettM
    May 9, 2007
    10
    minimal techno is an acquired taste, I think. I don't blame noobs for blasting this album, however a few in particular are blasting the listeners. I'm not a snob or elitist and I enjoy this album and this site. I'm sorry you don't.
  15. arthurdogtrash
    Jun 1, 2007
    7
    Album of the year? No damn way. It's actually kind of boring and mind-numbing. Once again the readers vote is a far better representation of it's actual status. Avoid the media hype and make up your own minds.
  16. Mothra
    Jul 20, 2007
    10
    i hated it at first, the album lacks immediacy but rewards greatly with repeated listens. i now understand the praise, i gave the album another shot after i heard "Kappsta", an incredible track by the same artist, the track is featured on the Pop Ambient 2007 album and is truly sublime
  17. OpenMind
    Jul 20, 2007
    10
    The only people who don't like this are listening to it for the wrong reason. This isn't the instant satisfation the MTV crowd thrives on. This is straight up minimal techno, meant for quiet grooving. Grow some patience, people.
  18. ja
    Jul 3, 2007
    8
    Beautiful. Finds ways to hit the listener's emotions without a single sappy lyric or radio-pop cliche. Refreshing because it is a break from the norm, even by indie-snob standards. Better than what the users have rated it, but somewhat overrated by critics too (the critical average feels like it should be lower based on the scores, I can't see why it is so high). Not every track Beautiful. Finds ways to hit the listener's emotions without a single sappy lyric or radio-pop cliche. Refreshing because it is a break from the norm, even by indie-snob standards. Better than what the users have rated it, but somewhat overrated by critics too (the critical average feels like it should be lower based on the scores, I can't see why it is so high). Not every track is compelling or interesting as the good ones, but the good ones are...very, very good. Expand
  19. DanS
    Aug 10, 2007
    8
    I enjoy listening to this album.
  20. EricC.
    Jul 7, 2008
    10
    If you're in to ambient, this will be one of the most incredible albums you've heard in years. If you're not in to ambient, well... just read the low scores below.
  21. PatrickM
    Apr 15, 2007
    10
    It's not the methodology, it's the results that matter in this instance. this is an album for those who like music that is effective; music that effects them, rather than affecting some "ideal techno type"
  22. JoseA.C
    Apr 16, 2007
    10
    I always complain how techno or its many variants, while appealing, can sometimes be souless and monotonous... The Field's sublime CD is all the opposite: powerful melodies, full of life and simply gorgeous. Highly recommended! Go! Fetch!
  23. Wolkjed
    Apr 26, 2007
    10
    Just mesmerizing!
  24. AlexP
    Apr 30, 2007
    10
    AMAZING!!! One of the best electronic album ever!
  25. everythingisnice
    May 11, 2007
    9
    This a minimal, yet beautifully crafted album; I understand why some people dislike it, but they also have to understand that this album is receiving fantastic reviews because the writers that have reviewed it have thought it was fantastic. How can the fact that the rating for an album is culled from many reviews as opposed to one reviwer's opinion be the reason this site does not This a minimal, yet beautifully crafted album; I understand why some people dislike it, but they also have to understand that this album is receiving fantastic reviews because the writers that have reviewed it have thought it was fantastic. How can the fact that the rating for an album is culled from many reviews as opposed to one reviwer's opinion be the reason this site does not work? All I will say is if you are willing to give any type of music a chance and listen to an album on its own merits - instead of trying to compare it to everything else - then you should give this a try. If, however, you do not like minimal electronica and slow-building crescendos, then this is not for you ... Expand
  26. MichelleT
    May 10, 2007
    8
    Initially I was unimpressed with the album. But after a few more listens, I was won over. The album builds to its peak by track 6 and recedes gently. It's minimal, subtle, and neatly crafted. It's a great album to listen to when you don't feel like listening to anything at all. He beautifully extracts that space between words and shifts between syllables, and layers these Initially I was unimpressed with the album. But after a few more listens, I was won over. The album builds to its peak by track 6 and recedes gently. It's minimal, subtle, and neatly crafted. It's a great album to listen to when you don't feel like listening to anything at all. He beautifully extracts that space between words and shifts between syllables, and layers these repetitive snipped sounds over pounding electronic beats to create an intense yet vacuous abstraction. Expand
  27. NotDaveWhatatool
    May 1, 2007
    9
    Dave you are such a rebel! What a productive and helpful post- phenomenal rating as well. For your sake and the rest of ours please call it a day. If you have a criticism voice it, but don't give something that you can't appreciate and probably have zero experience with a 0. It showcases your faults far above the album's. An enveloping experience, check it out even if you Dave you are such a rebel! What a productive and helpful post- phenomenal rating as well. For your sake and the rest of ours please call it a day. If you have a criticism voice it, but don't give something that you can't appreciate and probably have zero experience with a 0. It showcases your faults far above the album's. An enveloping experience, check it out even if you aren't normally a huge techno fan. -Jaco Expand
  28. MuzS
    May 21, 2007
    9
    I love this CD. Amazing how something so minimal can be so damn effective!
  29. AndyR
    May 2, 2007
    9
    Just when I thought trance had had it's day. The Field do it just the way I like it.
  30. EricF
    May 20, 2007
    7
    I think this album is a bit-overhyped. Its not minimal, its not trance, its not house. Its listenable techno, and for the indie-rock kids how are only now starting to appreciate electronic music this album bridges the gap because its so easy to listen to. I personally think its extremely lush and deep electronica, but at times takes the same loop a bit too far. A good offering, and a I think this album is a bit-overhyped. Its not minimal, its not trance, its not house. Its listenable techno, and for the indie-rock kids how are only now starting to appreciate electronic music this album bridges the gap because its so easy to listen to. I personally think its extremely lush and deep electronica, but at times takes the same loop a bit too far. A good offering, and a truly Kompact sounding record for those familiar with the famous German label Expand
  31. JohnJ
    May 23, 2007
    10
    A little repetitive? Yes, but that's what holds this amazing album together.
  32. ShaneequaJ
    May 23, 2007
    9
    It's just great. Plain and simple.
  33. BrianW
    May 24, 2007
    9
    This is a beautiful and chilling collection of microhouse techno.
  34. EspenH
    May 7, 2007
    9
    Beautiful minimal! :)
  35. JohnD
    May 9, 2007
    7
    Urgh. Look, here's the deal: See that 7? Well, if you don't like house music at all, then subtract 4 points from it, because there is nothing here that is going to change your mind; beats are 4/4, the songs sound almost exactly the same at the beginning of the song as they do at the end, and most of the songs last for more than 5 minutes. If you appreciate house music but are Urgh. Look, here's the deal: See that 7? Well, if you don't like house music at all, then subtract 4 points from it, because there is nothing here that is going to change your mind; beats are 4/4, the songs sound almost exactly the same at the beginning of the song as they do at the end, and most of the songs last for more than 5 minutes. If you appreciate house music but are not a raver, then take that 7 at face value, since its better than most house music around...but it's still house music. If you breathe house music, then you probably already own this album, but increase that 7 by 3 points anyway. That's all you really need to know. Expand
  36. jimmyj.
    Jun 30, 2007
    7
    All of you who say you can create something as good or better, well let's get to it! Look how much acclaim this "boring" album is getting. Imagine the reviews your work of art would get! You could be a star!! I'm mean, since it's so damn easy and everything, you should be able to shit one out with your laptop and loop program in no time. Imagine: all of the sudden, all of All of you who say you can create something as good or better, well let's get to it! Look how much acclaim this "boring" album is getting. Imagine the reviews your work of art would get! You could be a star!! I'm mean, since it's so damn easy and everything, you should be able to shit one out with your laptop and loop program in no time. Imagine: all of the sudden, all of this incredible, original electronica just oozing from normal, every-day music lovers everywhere! Anyone can do it. It's so easy. Can't wait to hear what you all come up with! Expand
  37. argeX
    Jun 3, 2007
    9
    simply a great album. various,fun, absolutely enjoyable.
  38. steve-o
    Jun 4, 2007
    9
    People who review this record and give it a 0 are missing the point of this record. This is not meant to be a pop record with huge songs and flashy brilliance. It is a mood album that conveys great human emotion through electronics. What is most astounding about this album is how everything fits so neatly together. Every swirl, flange ect has its place on this record. There is just enough People who review this record and give it a 0 are missing the point of this record. This is not meant to be a pop record with huge songs and flashy brilliance. It is a mood album that conveys great human emotion through electronics. What is most astounding about this album is how everything fits so neatly together. Every swirl, flange ect has its place on this record. There is just enough technical music programming to keep a listener enticed but avoid downfalls of over production (recent timb album). Axel's harmonic choices are striking and profound. Expand
  39. brendanp
    Jun 5, 2007
    10
    to say the approach is original is wrong, just see william basinski and panda bear. but its by no stretch gorgeous, warm and delicate. its a trip.
  40. [Anonymous]
    Jun 6, 2007
    8
    I don't think this album is the best of this year, but it is still definitely above average. "Over The Ice" and the title track are amazing, and the rest of the album is an emotional trance trip that rarely bores. Definitely worth it for techno fans.
  41. jobberl
    Jun 7, 2007
    10
    For all you naysayers who think elitists and snobs like this stuff, well then go listen to "Bad Day" the rest of your life. You'll never be pleased; you are lost. If you think it gets boring and dull, then you've been listening to the same type of pop music, where they all sound the same and are getting more complex exponentially. Music has become exponentially predictable, For all you naysayers who think elitists and snobs like this stuff, well then go listen to "Bad Day" the rest of your life. You'll never be pleased; you are lost. If you think it gets boring and dull, then you've been listening to the same type of pop music, where they all sound the same and are getting more complex exponentially. Music has become exponentially predictable, lazy, and sad....until this album came out. WHAT A BREATH OF FRESH AIR!!!!! I can finally see the light! Amen! Funny enough, all that was done was simplifying beats and extending rhythms...I feel so free when I listen to this. Enjoy! Expand
  42. MichaelK
    Jun 8, 2007
    9
    OK, if you don't like repetitive beats you won't like this. Natasha K you are trippin or a fool! Sounds great to my ears! Funky, beautiful soundscapes.
  43. Bram
    Jul 3, 2007
    7
    This is very abstract music. And like with all abstract art wether its a mondriaan painting or minimal music, people think they can recreate it with great ease. But believe me you can't. It's a good album but it's a little to clubby for my taste.
  44. Muz
    Aug 15, 2007
    10
    On first hearing a track by The Field I knew I had found something fantastic. Now this album is out and I have it I can see why so many critics agree it is a great album. I agree it's not for everyone, but it is brilliant music.
  45. CIaranM.
    Aug 7, 2007
    10
    Sublime, subliminal, this album really sorts out the people with a good ear for music from those who don't. The howls and protestations in the previous comments are hilarious. Anything that gets such people into such a reactionary fever is usually really good. For me it is easily the best album of the year
  46. dan
    Sep 12, 2007
    7
    It's got a strange mesmerizing quality but i can't help but think wtf? when i see the ratings for it. pretty much what everyone is saying here is right to some extent. it's a good minimalist techno album that's way overrated. I'm feeling it despite how repetitive it seems.
  47. PatrickB
    Sep 26, 2007
    8
    Subtle, sometimes to the point of being static, but tracks like "Everyday" and "A Paw In My Face" are pretty blissful. The beats are simple, sure, but they're not the point; they're just there to give the tracks a bit of extra momentum. Most of the rhythm comes from the sample-processing. Reminds me a lot of Seefeel.
  48. GoldN
    Sep 30, 2007
    9
    Gorgeous piece of work here. Sure it's not for everyone, but what good album is?
  49. xoxiax
    Sep 3, 2007
    10
    Exuberant and perfect.
  50. Hansfranz1962
    Sep 6, 2007
    10
    Genius. Love it.
  51. Ben
    Jan 10, 2008
    9
    I'm not going to say its good or bad. i'll just say that i like it a lot. the fact that he drags out "3-note loops" for 10 minutes is my favorite part about it. i personally love the having a great song on repeat without having to suffer the guilt of playing it over and over again to get your fill. some of the warmest sounds I've found and it seems like they never end.
  52. VD.
    Jan 29, 2008
    9
    Haters "It
  53. PaulRooney
    Jan 7, 2008
    9
    I love this album. It reminds me, in no small way, of Royksopp although maybe a bit darker and trancier. I only picked up on it per chance by looking at the reviews on metacritic.com. I'm so glad I did.
  54. Hierophantus
    Apr 11, 2008
    7
    The hype gets in the way. If people could just listen to this album with no preconceptions--especially if they were prepared to just zone out with their headphones on--most would probably enjoy it just fine. However, even though I like it, I confess I still don't get why it's absolutely praised to the skies. It's good. It puts you in a fine mood and its subtlety has its The hype gets in the way. If people could just listen to this album with no preconceptions--especially if they were prepared to just zone out with their headphones on--most would probably enjoy it just fine. However, even though I like it, I confess I still don't get why it's absolutely praised to the skies. It's good. It puts you in a fine mood and its subtlety has its rewards. But #1? I feel like I still must be missing something that others get, but based on the reviews I don't know what that would be, since I see what they're talking about already. Expand
  55. Joene
    Aug 11, 2008
    8
    I fully understand why some people don't like this album. However I'm a big electronic music fan and this album tickles all the richt places in my brain. It's all in the details with this one. The grainy textures, the brilliant use off effects, the minimal beats they all come together in a truly beautiful way. Just remember that beauty lies in the eyes (or in this case I fully understand why some people don't like this album. However I'm a big electronic music fan and this album tickles all the richt places in my brain. It's all in the details with this one. The grainy textures, the brilliant use off effects, the minimal beats they all come together in a truly beautiful way. Just remember that beauty lies in the eyes (or in this case ears) of the beholder. My favorite track must be 'everyday', pure bliss... Expand
  56. TimothyT.
    Oct 13, 2007
    10
    Simply amazing. A blissful masterpiece. This is one of the few pieces of music ever created that can truly put you in a new state of consciousness. Definitely not for everyone, but, for those brave enough to accept it, a simply amazing album.
  57. DJShrink
    Dec 29, 2007
    9
    This is the sound of infinity. Like the finest cooking: imple ingredients exquisitely assembled. For those of you not getting it, stop listening so hard: It is what it is. Great stuff. An instant classic.
  58. DanielS
    Oct 29, 2007
    10
    Wow, I can't believe this album is so polarizing. No doubt it wouldn't be getting near the flak if it wasn't #1 on metacritic, but it's good for The Field because a lot more people are listening to this than would have normally. I think the album is brilliant, and as it gets closer to the end of the year and the weather outside is getting colder, I only want to listen Wow, I can't believe this album is so polarizing. No doubt it wouldn't be getting near the flak if it wasn't #1 on metacritic, but it's good for The Field because a lot more people are listening to this than would have normally. I think the album is brilliant, and as it gets closer to the end of the year and the weather outside is getting colder, I only want to listen to it more. A great addition to what seems to be a benchmark year for Swedish music exports. Expand
  59. AlexM.
    Oct 3, 2007
    10
    For me it became an instant classic at the first listening.
  60. ElliottM
    Apr 13, 2007
    10
    Best electronic album of the year - BY A LANDSLIDE. It's probably the best electronic album of the past few years, actually.
  61. JohnM
    Apr 13, 2007
    10
    I can't explain why I like this so much, but it is totally blowing my mind right now.
  62. JustinC
    Apr 14, 2007
    10
    This is really incredible stuff -- probably my favorite album of the year.
  63. ChuckM
    Apr 14, 2007
    9
    This works particularly well as a headphone album. It's not really something you'd play through your stereo or anything. That being said, this is one hell of a headphone album. Get it. Now.
  64. Alex
    Apr 15, 2007
    10
    A beautiful record. This is definately one of the best this year.
  65. bryan
    Apr 16, 2007
    8
    Last half of the album most definitely stronger than the first...
  66. mon-peg
    Apr 18, 2007
    10
    there's something on this album, but i don't know what. this record (escpecially the second part) makes me feel strange as "october language' by belong makes.
  67. bra
    Apr 18, 2007
    9
    Those complaining are obviously getting themselves in too deep. The "95" you see as the metascore isn't a free pass for non-genre fans to get into this. The Field don't make traditional pop music, and you are wrong to assume that good music is going to be immediately accessible, especially if you aren't a fan of electronic. Fans of great IDM like Fennesz, Four Tet, and Those complaining are obviously getting themselves in too deep. The "95" you see as the metascore isn't a free pass for non-genre fans to get into this. The Field don't make traditional pop music, and you are wrong to assume that good music is going to be immediately accessible, especially if you aren't a fan of electronic. Fans of great IDM like Fennesz, Four Tet, and Boards of Canada must have this album. This is the best electronic album so far this year. Rating: 8.8/10.0 Expand
  68. YepaJ
    Apr 19, 2007
    9
    Not for beat geeks, nor for those easily scared at music not following conventional pop/rock song structure. For the rest of us, highly recommended.
  69. RobM
    Apr 19, 2007
    10
    Absolutely incredible. Axel's influences are wide ranging. Despite the face that many of the tracks have essentially the same structure, it ticks all my boxes!
  70. ToddW
    Apr 19, 2007
    9
    As close to a perfect album as you're going to get, so far, this year. Unfortunately, the social rejects who buy "music" these days at the slaughterhouse mass production stores like FYE portends that this masterwork won't buy Willner much studio time when his muse again comes calling.
  71. Bretron
    Apr 21, 2007
    10
    This is techno at its very finest, and is hands down the best techno album to come out in years. I'd be surprised if any album (regardless of genre) could beat this out for Record of the Year. It gives me the same feeling as hearing "Born Slippy" for the first time, only there
  72. pringlesr
    Apr 22, 2007
    10
    sustained flawlessness.
  73. RickmanJ
    Apr 24, 2007
    7
    s'good! lush and lovely.
  74. LeanderS
    Apr 26, 2007
    9
    This is a good album.
  75. AlanR
    Apr 26, 2007
    8
    Repetitive? It's house. Every track has a 4/4 beat. Where else could they go?
  76. oolon_colluphidcolluphid
    Apr 27, 2007
    10
    for once, just for once - the reviews do not do justice to this album; even with a metascore of 95. this is electronica at its finest. just when you started thinking whether the genre has moved significantly since kraftwerk, comes an album that future may deem to be as significant in evolution of electronica as kraftwerk.
  77. Ryan
    Apr 30, 2007
    8
    There are better albums of this genre than this, but I would assume all those giving it negative reviews (i.e. calling it boring and repetitive) only happened to listen to this because it was rated highly on popular music websites. If I am incorrect about this, forgive me, but guys, its ok to listen to other genres sometimes lololol
  78. boneyking
    Apr 30, 2007
    10
    this will be one of the top five albums of this year without a doubt.
  79. Pedro
    May 10, 2007
    8
    Beautiful....one of the best of '07 so far
  80. AndrewC
    May 12, 2007
    10
    the perfect mix of ambience and trance. so evocative and powerful, calling to mind MBV's loveless or selected ambience recordings by aphex twin. anyone with an open mind about music must listen to it.
  81. Leo
    May 29, 2007
    9
    This is an awesome CD. Those who don't like it lack an appreciation of nuance ... and likely electronic music too.
  82. Discombobulator
    May 31, 2007
    9
    Im usually not a huge fan of this style of music, but this album is just so well conceived. It is such a deep enjoyable trip, I've been listening to it to and from work on the train for weeks. SUBLIME
  83. samh
    May 4, 2007
    10
    yeah, this is tight. i hate to agree with critics, cuz im anti-everything (cuz im cool) but it deserves a 90.
  84. hexumhater
    May 9, 2007
    8
    how can anyone give this album a 0? totally ridiculous. how can this site be for people that don't smile? all you're doing is pouting now hexum, you're not smiling. notice how you don't mention one single act you like that are not on metacritic. as for the album itself, it is praised for a reason. the gushing minimal sounds of micro house such as on "sublime" are all how can anyone give this album a 0? totally ridiculous. how can this site be for people that don't smile? all you're doing is pouting now hexum, you're not smiling. notice how you don't mention one single act you like that are not on metacritic. as for the album itself, it is praised for a reason. the gushing minimal sounds of micro house such as on "sublime" are all about emotion. subtleties and intricacies within these patterns are what my feelings are made of. you can't tell me i am wrong for feeling better internally under these sweeping movements. really, who needs anthems? Expand
  85. markh
    May 9, 2007
    9
    i love it, its almost like bliss-pop and that kind of techno in a way. the construction of the songs is absolutely brilliant and is so melodic, without any real specific melodies. simply amazing.
  86. SharpaJ
    Jun 11, 2007
    10
    Deserves every ounce of hype. Though should come with a warning label since to appreciate what could (and has based on other reviews here) be dismissed as simplistic, a certain amount of experience both listening to electronic music and techniques used to produce are required for full effect.
  87. DarrenT
    Jun 12, 2007
    9
    I gave this a listen not expecting much but this is fantastic can not stop listening to it.Give it a try close your eys and play it loud and it will take you on a hour long journey of amazing music.
  88. JohnB
    Jun 15, 2007
    9
    It plays like the soundtrack to my life. It's not so much trance as it is simply the pulsating beats to our everyday lives. Anyone who believes this album is boring was clearly not listening carefully enough because there is plenty going on in this almost cinematic work.
  89. pierpaolof
    Jun 19, 2007
    9
    a lot of stylish concentration - nothing is useless
  90. MarkN
    Jun 20, 2007
    7
    Good, not great. Mildly overrated.
  91. yoks.
    Jul 11, 2007
    7
    it has its moments, admitedly only in the first half, but definitley doesn't deserve 90. Technically, its nothing Apparat wasnt doing almost ten years ago.
  92. tonye.
    Jul 13, 2007
    7
    i love it
  93. NooGhat
    Jul 16, 2007
    10
    2007: A Space Odyssey.
  94. mmmfafa
    Jul 16, 2007
    10
    Before, during, and long after the hype, this album will be the minimal standard for years to come.
  95. inconsideratepudding
    Jul 16, 2007
    10
    Music for the heart, plain and simple.
  96. EvanD
    Jul 2, 2007
    10
    I'm sick of users rating this so low SIMPLY because it's edging out their favorite record(s) in the critical mass score. There's a reason this album is ranked so highly: it's absolutely fantastic. If you can't enjoy the subte, yet deeply rewarding, pleasures associated with this album, I am very, very sorry for you.
  97. LukasF
    Jul 24, 2007
    8
    Though "From Here We Go Sublime" was, in my opinion, somewhat overhyped by critics, it still delivers a refined minimalist techno playlist. If you're expecting to be entertained by melody and lyrics, think again: "From Here We Go Sublime" is a well-crafted background beat to life.
  98. im
    Jul 9, 2007
    9
    so many people here does not seem to understand what's going on with this album...ignorance they say... untrained ears... anyway, maybe there's been a little hype about the field's from here we go sublime but it's a good album in it's own right. not sure if this is the great candidate for 2007s best...it will be though... but i don't get the people here so many people here does not seem to understand what's going on with this album...ignorance they say... untrained ears... anyway, maybe there's been a little hype about the field's from here we go sublime but it's a good album in it's own right. not sure if this is the great candidate for 2007s best...it will be though... but i don't get the people here rating with 0s or 1s...no point at all. Expand
  99. natron5000
    Aug 4, 2007
    10
    marque moon describes it perfectly: "i thought i could have made this record, but then i was like, no i couldn't have."
  100. MejicanaH.
    Aug 5, 2007
    9
    All I have to say is that this album deserves its status as the best reviewed album of the year. It is fantastic and well worth seeking out. I wish those of you who had not actually heard the album would refrain from rating it.
Metascore
90

Universal acclaim - based on 14 Critics

Critic score distribution:
  1. Positive: 14 out of 14
  2. Mixed: 0 out of 14
  3. Negative: 0 out of 14
  1. If you like minimal electronic music at all, you must seek it out.
  2. This is one of those rare albums that makes you wonder how you ever got by without it.
  3. This is an album you could easily hate -- especially if you like things like change and development.