From Here We Go Sublime

  • Record Label: Kompakt
  • Release Date: Apr 3, 2007
User Score
6.6

Generally favorable reviews- based on 386 Ratings

User score distribution:
  1. Negative: 98 out of 386

Review this album

  1. Your Score
    0 out of 10
    Rate this:
    • 10
    • 9
    • 8
    • 7
    • 6
    • 5
    • 4
    • 3
    • 2
    • 1
    • 0
    • 0
  1. Submit
  2. Check Spelling
  1. Mar 24, 2014
    10
    Axel Willner, under the guise of 'The Field" created on his first release something of a minor masterpiece of electronic music. His ideas here are not only fully developed, but also immaculately conceived; the inspiration to take fraction cuts of music and loop them repeatedly for several minutes on end is, simply put, genius. This approach gives the listener a feeling of primal intimacy.Axel Willner, under the guise of 'The Field" created on his first release something of a minor masterpiece of electronic music. His ideas here are not only fully developed, but also immaculately conceived; the inspiration to take fraction cuts of music and loop them repeatedly for several minutes on end is, simply put, genius. This approach gives the listener a feeling of primal intimacy. Having been subject to a sound on repeat for what feels like an eternity, we gradually begin to feel as if we've known this song deeply and personally for a long time. For an album defined as electronic music to achieve such a profoundly human feel is, frankly, quite rare. Not only has Willner carved an amazingly original niche into his moniker, his music is, regardless of gimmick, a great listen. From the opening track, 'Over the Ice', we are instantly transported somewhere else - a world of indescribable synthetic sounds based in human vocal samples that feels ethereal and anthemic at the same time. 'Over the Ice' perfectly captures the major theme that Willner explores on 'Sublime', the contrast of tension and release, simplicity and complexity. The second track, "A Paw in My Face' tests the listeners ears further, with an incredibly simple, almost elementary loop of electric guitar (later revealed to be a cut from Lionel Richie's 'Hello'), that builds for five minutes to almost unbearably tense effect. From this song onward, we begin to see Willner's hand as more compositional and restrained. Other tracks, such as 'Silent', 'Everday', and the 10-minute centerpiece of the album, 'The Deal', follow this pattern, beginning at an almost comic level of simplicity, only to evolve into a monolithic, densely layered trance. In slowly giving us a little more to grab onto with each loop, these songs become incredibly engaging from multiple standpoints. For one, Willner's music is exceptionally rhythmically subversive, often testing our patience by holding onto a loop just a little longer than we may be comfortable with. He betrays our expectations, creating tension. Another trick that Willner employs lies in the density of the sounds that he samples. They are so mythic and opaque that our brains naturally try to identify an understanding of what it is we are hearing. For instance, on track "The Little Heart Beats So Fast", what exactly is being said so faintly in the background? Diphthong? Dance On? End Solo? When you begin to think on it, each sounds plausible. Lingering on a specific song on the album in order to decipher in exactitude what is being heard, however, can be a near impossible task. Our brains can be deceptive in their understanding of what we hear. In an interview, Willner stated that many of the sounds perceived on 'Sublime' are actually hollow. Our ears naturally attempt to fill in the gaps of music that we presume are there. This makes every faint noise heard (or not heard) deeply mineable, which is a good thing because the listener certainly gets a chance to dive in and examine the soundscape of 'From Here We Go Sublime'. Each track, regardless of how simplistic it is at first glance, is endlessly cavernous. Tracks "Sun & Ice" and "Good Things End", though blatantly repetitive, have a quality of vastness, of grandiosity hidden beneath such sparse sounds. Admirably, The Field has built on a strong following among electronic music enthusiasts because of his respect of the intentional listener. He assumes that his audience is not the kind to feed on instant musical gratification so commonly found in modern popular music, which appears rigid and impersonally structured by comparison. Since its release in 2007, 'From Here We Go Sublime" has left an incredible staple on electronic minimalism. Other such albums unveiled around that time, such as Panda Bear's 'Person Pitch' and Burial's 'Untrue' inhabit a similar musical vein, both making a great application of sampling and repetition. However, the argument could be made that though both of these artists smother The Field in terms of popularity and relevance, and basically rival in critical acclaim, none is more humble and graceful than Willner when it comes to simply crafting music. To anyone with an interest in electronic minimalism, 'From Here We Go Sublime' becomes necessity. For any interested in good music in general, the album resembles a genre at its most accessible and accentuated. To write off The Field as 'dull' or 'an acquired taste' is to accuse a great wine of not intoxicating upon initial consumption. To call his songs mere 'remixes' would be to undervalue the sheer distinction of The Field's style. This is a distillation of music style that is admittedly slow burning, but also endlessly rewarding, like a classic film or novel. 'From Here We Go Sublime' is a work of whose value would be a shame to see fade over time. Expand
  2. Mar 12, 2013
    10
    This is a rare case (in fact it might be the first time I've said this about anything) where I have to say if you don't love this masterpiece you just don't get it.
  3. Oct 9, 2012
    10
    It really doesn't get better than this, expect to return to this album for years to come; I have. Seen this guy loads of times, it all stands up live. The Field has put out some good music since this but I'll never expect him to top this. Listen is you like tight controlled music, of any genre. Don't listen if you want immediate returns.
  4. Sep 25, 2012
    9
    This album is great. It's revolutionary in that it's minimal trance. The genre was bound to be pioneered, eventually; and that's why I didn't give it a ten. Also, not every song on this album is on equal footing. Besides that, it's the elements that make up each song that makes this album special. In addition, the sounds of this album are very diverse; from acid sounding, to quite digital.This album is great. It's revolutionary in that it's minimal trance. The genre was bound to be pioneered, eventually; and that's why I didn't give it a ten. Also, not every song on this album is on equal footing. Besides that, it's the elements that make up each song that makes this album special. In addition, the sounds of this album are very diverse; from acid sounding, to quite digital. Very understated, though. Quite beautiful album. I have to just say to people that are arguing over the critics rating that if my primary love within electronic music were ambient or minimal techno, or even trance, than I would have given this a ten, as well. You guys have to realize that falling head over heels for this album depends on your primary interest in the electronic realm. If you hate electronic, you're gonna give this album a 0. If you love ambient and minimal techno, you're gonna try to give this album a 15. You also have to understand that the quietness may not help with leaving an impression (much less a positive impression) in your mind. All these things have to be kept in view. Expand
  5. Apr 16, 2011
    9
    Great ambient electronica. Synthetic, cold, mechanized. Completely hypnotic. BE CAREFUL driving and listening to this. You might just end-up in the guard rail.
  6. Dec 25, 2010
    10
    It's the simplicity of sounds that erupt a complex reaction, in guidance with the ambient repitition, loose beats and magnificent electronic application, it is undoubtedly the cornerpoint of sample-musician history.
  7. Aug 20, 2010
    0
    As others have mentioned, this is a hugely over-rated album. Only mainstream music critics seem to think that this guy is such a huge talent. There's a reason why his tunes aren't spun much by the major progressive DJs: his house music ain't that great. It's house music (or "techno," as most of the people who listen to this no doubt call it) for the Starbucks set.
  8. Joene
    Aug 11, 2008
    8
    I fully understand why some people don't like this album. However I'm a big electronic music fan and this album tickles all the richt places in my brain. It's all in the details with this one. The grainy textures, the brilliant use off effects, the minimal beats they all come together in a truly beautiful way. Just remember that beauty lies in the eyes (or in this case I fully understand why some people don't like this album. However I'm a big electronic music fan and this album tickles all the richt places in my brain. It's all in the details with this one. The grainy textures, the brilliant use off effects, the minimal beats they all come together in a truly beautiful way. Just remember that beauty lies in the eyes (or in this case ears) of the beholder. My favorite track must be 'everyday', pure bliss... Expand
  9. TrevorW
    Aug 4, 2008
    10
    It's the perfect mix of heavy bass-lines and short melodic synthesizer phrases. The ambiance each track gives off is slightly different, yet the whole album keeps you in the same mood or trance if you prefer. I eagerly await their second album.
  10. BlabBlab
    Jul 30, 2008
    0
    terribly boring. best album of the year? jesus, by the end of track 1 you've heard the entire album 4 times. dull
  11. Koko
    Jul 10, 2008
    5
    Very overestimated record. This is a very eclectic and sui generis LP and does not deserves such praise in my opinion. In a interview Wilner stated that 'From here we go sublime' was music to listen in 'minimal decorated spaces and living rooms'...but in my opinion its quite boring under any other circumstances I'm afraid.
  12. EricC.
    Jul 7, 2008
    10
    If you're in to ambient, this will be one of the most incredible albums you've heard in years. If you're not in to ambient, well... just read the low scores below.
  13. HeretoS.
    May 27, 2008
    10
    Instant classic, and one of very few albums I've started listening to that have hit so immediately. In all honesty, I know very little about deep/minimal techno, and even calling it deep/minimal techno would probably merit a flame, but this really has just hit in immediately. Personally, I'd say that If you can't get over the idea of it being repetitive, then it probably Instant classic, and one of very few albums I've started listening to that have hit so immediately. In all honesty, I know very little about deep/minimal techno, and even calling it deep/minimal techno would probably merit a flame, but this really has just hit in immediately. Personally, I'd say that If you can't get over the idea of it being repetitive, then it probably won't be much fun to listen to. Give it a chance, and the gradual shifts form some unlikely, eerie shapes. Best dance record I've heard in a long time. Expand
  14. KenC.
    May 17, 2008
    5
    I can't give this an album anything less than a 5 due to I'm not the hugest fan of this genre. The brilliance of this album must be real subtle because I got through 2 listens without being blown away by anything. I would not recommend for anyone that is not a hardcore fan of electronic. I'm a big fan of Burial's Untrue, but this one just does not do it for me.
  15. TomP.
    May 1, 2008
    4
    Every song has the same annoying chop-up sound that makes this album virtually unlistenable by itself. Entertaining to listen to for the first 15 seconds, then you realize it's only going to keep repeating the same unoriginal beat and melody with a few subtle changes for the rest of the song. There's pretty much no music, no meaning, nothing. Sure, it makes nice background Every song has the same annoying chop-up sound that makes this album virtually unlistenable by itself. Entertaining to listen to for the first 15 seconds, then you realize it's only going to keep repeating the same unoriginal beat and melody with a few subtle changes for the rest of the song. There's pretty much no music, no meaning, nothing. Sure, it makes nice background music, while you go about doing something else, because if you were to sit down with headphones and concentrate on this cd from start to finish you would ultimately feel like you wasted about 50 minutes of your life. Not to mention you would be driven insane. I mean are you serious? Sun and ice was just about the most pointless song I've ever heard....Baaaaaaaaaahhh......Beeeeehhhhhhhhh.....baaaaaaahhhhh.....beeeeeehhhhhhh....and so on. So yeah, nice background music, that's definetly worth album of the year isn't it? Oh well, instead of discussing why it's there, just look at that nice 14 reviews...14 misguided reviews, that this album got. For anyone even remotely serious about music, In Rainbows was the real album of the year, and we all know it. Nuff said. Expand
  16. Hierophantus
    Apr 11, 2008
    7
    The hype gets in the way. If people could just listen to this album with no preconceptions--especially if they were prepared to just zone out with their headphones on--most would probably enjoy it just fine. However, even though I like it, I confess I still don't get why it's absolutely praised to the skies. It's good. It puts you in a fine mood and its subtlety has its The hype gets in the way. If people could just listen to this album with no preconceptions--especially if they were prepared to just zone out with their headphones on--most would probably enjoy it just fine. However, even though I like it, I confess I still don't get why it's absolutely praised to the skies. It's good. It puts you in a fine mood and its subtlety has its rewards. But #1? I feel like I still must be missing something that others get, but based on the reviews I don't know what that would be, since I see what they're talking about already. Expand
  17. MarkD.
    Apr 11, 2008
    3
    Easily the most over-rated album of 2007. I listened to this album repeatedly trying to give it a chance. I guess I just don't get the house phenomenon. If you are not a fan of this style of music don't even attempt to appreciate this album.
  18. MattB.
    Apr 9, 2008
    10
    Best album of 2007. Why? Because this album evokes thoughts of something new and ever-changing. I strongly dislike music that forces you to "buy in" to the artist's lyrics or think a certain way (based on strong audio "cues"...a.k.a. dumbed-down beats/rhythms). The music in From Here We Go Sumblime is so well-blended that the music no longer takes you for a ride...you are riding the Best album of 2007. Why? Because this album evokes thoughts of something new and ever-changing. I strongly dislike music that forces you to "buy in" to the artist's lyrics or think a certain way (based on strong audio "cues"...a.k.a. dumbed-down beats/rhythms). The music in From Here We Go Sumblime is so well-blended that the music no longer takes you for a ride...you are riding the music! Repeat listening in a car or headphones will help it "sink in". Pure genius...the reviews above are not wrong! Expand
  19. MJ88
    Mar 19, 2008
    10
    Quite awesome. Soothing, simple, looped beats and samples. and when I found out it's all played & mixed live, I had even more admiration for it. Get it now!
  20. PeterB.
    Mar 11, 2008
    0
    Absolute rubbish. I bought this blindly from the reviews and it's god-awful. Maybe mildly decent if you're on E, but strictly on it's on the music is worthless.
  21. BenjaminB.
    Mar 10, 2008
    3
    I guess if your into this style of music you will enjoy it. I will give anything a chance and try to be as open minded as possible. With that being said this stuff is pretty weak, way over-rated, cause I wanted to hear what others are raving about but it wasn't there.
  22. TomM.
    Feb 15, 2008
    9
    Great album!
  23. DarylM.
    Feb 7, 2008
    8
    This is the kind of album which restores your love of progressive house, and has you blowing the dust off your renaissance albums from the '90s.
  24. ReeceH.
    Feb 3, 2008
    10
    If you don't like it, say so, but don't start insulting those who do, especially calling us mindless? isn't it just a case of personal preference, or at least relativism.
  25. VD.
    Jan 29, 2008
    9
    Haters "It
  26. Charlie
    Jan 25, 2008
    2
    Being simple is fine, but being redundant is another thing. The thing is, there are so many better trance charts out there with much more to offer.
  27. CedricD.
    Jan 24, 2008
    10
    Wow what a beautiful album!
  28. DennisP
    Jan 24, 2008
    4
    At first, I really thought there was something wrong with my computer (I ripped the cd onto the laptop). It didn't take long to realize that it was supposed to sound like that. Not sure if that's my thing. I want to listen more to give it a fair shake, but a few of the tones, repeated ad nauseam, seem to really upset my dogs.
  29. VerticalPig
    Jan 15, 2008
    10
    Sublime - throwing off the shackles shackles shackles shackles shackles shackles shackles shackles shackles shackles weeeeeeee!
  30. Ben
    Jan 10, 2008
    9
    I'm not going to say its good or bad. i'll just say that i like it a lot. the fact that he drags out "3-note loops" for 10 minutes is my favorite part about it. i personally love the having a great song on repeat without having to suffer the guilt of playing it over and over again to get your fill. some of the warmest sounds I've found and it seems like they never end.
  31. PaulRooney
    Jan 7, 2008
    9
    I love this album. It reminds me, in no small way, of Royksopp although maybe a bit darker and trancier. I only picked up on it per chance by looking at the reviews on metacritic.com. I'm so glad I did.
  32. KristN
    Jan 3, 2008
    1
    I'm in shock and awe over the scores at metacritic and here. This is not good music nor does it sound like the group put any real heart into it. I bet they are all looking at each other and wondering how they got voted 3rd best of 07. I'm sure they are getting a big laugh over it. Truly horrible. I mean every song has the exact same beat. It's rave music...that's it!!!
  33. SadaF.
    Dec 30, 2007
    10
    I can't stop listening to this. It's emotional, nostalgic, blissful, uplifting, melancholic all at once - like a freshed-up, simplified trance music for those of us who'd given up on that cliche-ridden genre. I love the way it shifts from one phrase to another. So simple, yet so brilliant. This isn't an album for the 'Ministry of Sound' generation though. I can't stop listening to this. It's emotional, nostalgic, blissful, uplifting, melancholic all at once - like a freshed-up, simplified trance music for those of us who'd given up on that cliche-ridden genre. I love the way it shifts from one phrase to another. So simple, yet so brilliant. This isn't an album for the 'Ministry of Sound' generation though. It's an acquired taste and a most rewarding one at that. Expand
  34. DJShrink
    Dec 29, 2007
    9
    This is the sound of infinity. Like the finest cooking: imple ingredients exquisitely assembled. For those of you not getting it, stop listening so hard: It is what it is. Great stuff. An instant classic.
  35. Nato
    Dec 29, 2007
    6
    Underwhelming considering the pro reviews.
  36. Brad
    Dec 29, 2007
    7
    Soft, atmospheric and somewhat repetitive loops over lazy shuffling beats. Nothing approaching the greatness I've read in reviews, but completely inoffensive and moody enough as background music. I imagine it would be mind blowing if I still got high, but I don't, so it's not.
  37. Francesco
    Dec 22, 2007
    5
    God, how can an album like this one collect a 90 out 100? Better than Neon Bible? Please. Let's be serious. This album consist of 3 sounds repeated again and again. Blah.
  38. ArnZ.
    Dec 19, 2007
    9
    This album deserves all its accolades. It's definitely a different genre of music but if you're into anything mildly electronic then there's something here for you to gain.
  39. AmurabiM.
    Dec 18, 2007
    9
    This is the sound of the new millennium. The sound of contemporary trance music, without the excesses of past times. "From Here We Go Sublime" is just a stunning album without the dullness and boredom of techno albums. This is a catchy album; the kind of sound that stays in your ears for a long while. This is atmospheric, dreamy, danceable and even sublime. This is a terrific album for a This is the sound of the new millennium. The sound of contemporary trance music, without the excesses of past times. "From Here We Go Sublime" is just a stunning album without the dullness and boredom of techno albums. This is a catchy album; the kind of sound that stays in your ears for a long while. This is atmospheric, dreamy, danceable and even sublime. This is a terrific album for a magnificent artist. Expand
  40. BenE.
    Dec 17, 2007
    10
    it's really quite captivating, despite its utter repetitiveness. it's really something you need to hear to understand. i imagine a lot of people wouldn't like it because of the repetition, though. works very well as background music, too.
  41. NiallS
    Dec 17, 2007
    3
    Maybe it's a Grower but I've listened to this album 3-4 times and can't see what I'm supposed to see in it.
  42. david20023
    Dec 15, 2007
    8
    My, how this divides people. Any album that annoys as many people as this must have something going for it.
  43. Michael
    Nov 4, 2007
    10
    I loved it from the get go, the sound is just so heart-warming. It's so wispy, so up in the clouds, I feel like I could listen to these songs forever. It's very simple, but very brave and vivid. Absolutely lush. A very personal album, and as such many are going to be completely confused by it. The rest of us will just drift away.
  44. SimonC.
    Oct 30, 2007
    3
    This is literally the worst album I've ever heard, It is ridiculously repetitive it sounds like your computer froze while playing music and its playing the same thing over and over again. It might sound alright at times but I can';t see how any talent in this music. Maybe I just don't understand it but in my opinion it should defiantly not be #1 let alone the top 10
  45. DanielS
    Oct 29, 2007
    10
    Wow, I can't believe this album is so polarizing. No doubt it wouldn't be getting near the flak if it wasn't #1 on metacritic, but it's good for The Field because a lot more people are listening to this than would have normally. I think the album is brilliant, and as it gets closer to the end of the year and the weather outside is getting colder, I only want to listen Wow, I can't believe this album is so polarizing. No doubt it wouldn't be getting near the flak if it wasn't #1 on metacritic, but it's good for The Field because a lot more people are listening to this than would have normally. I think the album is brilliant, and as it gets closer to the end of the year and the weather outside is getting colder, I only want to listen to it more. A great addition to what seems to be a benchmark year for Swedish music exports. Expand
  46. YouS.
    Oct 26, 2007
    0
    The Chemical Brothers make this record look like toddlers. I did make this shit when I bought FL studio back in 99 as an amateur. This is garbage.
  47. AntreasP.
    Oct 26, 2007
    10
    Simply the best album of 2007 so far... A great album since 2001's "Melody A.M". "Mobilia" should be heard everywhere!
  48. freek
    Oct 20, 2007
    10
    simply beautiful, never thought a dance album would deserve a 10. this one definitely does, the critics are right. it offers sublime emotion in all it's simplicity, just perfect. strange experience live though, in between other (less sophisticated, but also great) Kompakt artists.
  49. JakeD.
    Oct 15, 2007
    1
    I'm still thinking this is a huge critical joke. Interesting concept, horrible payoff.
  50. chriss
    Oct 14, 2007
    0
    There was nothing really ground breaking about this album. Just became extremely repetitive.
  51. STeve
    Oct 14, 2007
    3
    I'm a big fan of electronic music of all kinds, but this really isn't a very good album. I agree with the previous poster's point that all the other albums in the top ten are better than this one. How can you compare this tripe to Radiohead's "In Rainbows", for example? Insulting.
  52. TimothyT.
    Oct 13, 2007
    10
    Simply amazing. A blissful masterpiece. This is one of the few pieces of music ever created that can truly put you in a new state of consciousness. Definitely not for everyone, but, for those brave enough to accept it, a simply amazing album.
  53. rhyminl.
    Oct 11, 2007
    10
    Smokes.
  54. SemolinaP.
    Oct 6, 2007
    2
    This is probably the most bland and tasteless example of musical drivel I have heard in a long, LONG time. Certainly, it takes advantage of some newer technology and style in the techno/electronic realm, but not without first lulling you into a hypnotic state of semi-unconsciousness. Based upon the glowing reviews of its supporters, it's only out of pity that I give it any points at This is probably the most bland and tasteless example of musical drivel I have heard in a long, LONG time. Certainly, it takes advantage of some newer technology and style in the techno/electronic realm, but not without first lulling you into a hypnotic state of semi-unconsciousness. Based upon the glowing reviews of its supporters, it's only out of pity that I give it any points at all... Otherwise it feels kind of like booing the competitors at the special olympics. Absolute trash, though. Seriously. Expand
  55. Jonathan
    Oct 6, 2007
    4
    Electronic music thrives on novelty - so I'm amazed that this album has received such glowing reviews. This kind of lush minimal proggy techno has been done a trillion times before. It's well crafted, but dull.
  56. JoshB.
    Oct 5, 2007
    0
    wtf is up with this? Sound like derivative, repetitive, boring electronica from 1997 to me.
  57. AlexM.
    Oct 3, 2007
    10
    For me it became an instant classic at the first listening.
  58. GlenG
    Oct 1, 2007
    0
    It may possibly be that with subsequent listens I'd learn to appreciate the nuances of this album, but I'm thinking it's more likely I'd just go completely, bat-off-the-walls insane instead. This is is, HONESTLY, like listening to a one-second loop of randomly selected music that plays like a broken record while your computer is bluescreening, for over an entire hour! It may possibly be that with subsequent listens I'd learn to appreciate the nuances of this album, but I'm thinking it's more likely I'd just go completely, bat-off-the-walls insane instead. This is is, HONESTLY, like listening to a one-second loop of randomly selected music that plays like a broken record while your computer is bluescreening, for over an entire hour! I agree that this has to be a music critic conspiracy; there's no way that anybody on earth with a lick of taste could actually find this tripe appealing. Expand
  59. GoldN
    Sep 30, 2007
    9
    Gorgeous piece of work here. Sure it's not for everyone, but what good album is?
  60. PatrickB
    Sep 26, 2007
    8
    Subtle, sometimes to the point of being static, but tracks like "Everyday" and "A Paw In My Face" are pretty blissful. The beats are simple, sure, but they're not the point; they're just there to give the tracks a bit of extra momentum. Most of the rhythm comes from the sample-processing. Reminds me a lot of Seefeel.
  61. Gil
    Sep 25, 2007
    10
    Fantastic!!! great album. very simple electronic music but it does the job very well. i love this album the sound is simple and clean very quiet. one of the best i heard ever.
  62. PaulC
    Sep 25, 2007
    3
    Vastly overrated, every album in the top ten is better than this one, and I've listened to them all.
  63. KH.
    Sep 24, 2007
    9
    Heads and shoulders above the playing field. People with an electronics allergy beware. Though, this is techno's most beautiful outing in years, it's not everyone's cup of tea (as the users' ratings reflect). All those slightly more open minded should have a ball with this.
  64. EddyS.
    Sep 24, 2007
    9
    This really is among the year's best, but yes it is true that one is more likely to get the full value with a background interest in intelligent electronic music. if you do like electronic with some emotion besides the partyyyyy Daft Punkesque attitude, then check this out and surely you will find its magnificence.
  65. ToxtethO.
    Sep 24, 2007
    0
    I dearly hope that something comes out that knocks this out of the top spot. This album was unlistenable to me.
  66. JasonM.
    Sep 23, 2007
    9
    This is not an album to listen to whilst jogging or playing video games with your friends, this, much like Loveless, is an album to enjoy while laying down, closing your eyes, and letting it take you wherever you let your mind wander.
  67. SamS.
    Sep 21, 2007
    1
    Garbage!
  68. JustinB.
    Sep 21, 2007
    9
    I love how people like to question the critics of this album. Critics won't rate this badly, want to know why? it's awesome and if they do rate it badly they would doing their job badly.
  69. TwelveVolts
    Sep 20, 2007
    0
    Truly horrible.
  70. Jen
    Sep 20, 2007
    2
    What a waste of a really awesome title.
  71. Musicfan
    Sep 17, 2007
    0
    This album, I believe, is good for what it is - an electronic album strictly for electronic fans. It has zero value for most of the other people.
  72. Marcus
    Sep 16, 2007
    7
    I can understand that all good albums need to be listened to several times before they can be thoroughly enjoyed. The tune of each song needs to be repeated in one's head for a while before it fully takes hold. Somehow, I feel like the repetitive quality of most electronic music may help this process along, but at the same time, it makes the tune get old fast. I would like the songs I can understand that all good albums need to be listened to several times before they can be thoroughly enjoyed. The tune of each song needs to be repeated in one's head for a while before it fully takes hold. Somehow, I feel like the repetitive quality of most electronic music may help this process along, but at the same time, it makes the tune get old fast. I would like the songs more if only they were more dynamic. Expand
  73. Niklas
    Sep 15, 2007
    1
    wtf? How can it be so high rated when it sucks this much!...it sounds like something went wrong in my computer now like music (but perhaps it's just me, who doesn't know anything about techno?)
  74. dan
    Sep 12, 2007
    7
    It's got a strange mesmerizing quality but i can't help but think wtf? when i see the ratings for it. pretty much what everyone is saying here is right to some extent. it's a good minimalist techno album that's way overrated. I'm feeling it despite how repetitive it seems.
  75. Parse
    Sep 11, 2007
    10
    Hold on. It's terrible, you say? Not in the least bit. Have you even given the album more than one listen? When I first picked this album up, I was like "What is this shit? It's repetetive, it's boring, and it just flat out sucks. Maybe a few good songs here and there", pretty much the same thoughts running through some of your heads. This album is a masterpiece, and needs Hold on. It's terrible, you say? Not in the least bit. Have you even given the album more than one listen? When I first picked this album up, I was like "What is this shit? It's repetetive, it's boring, and it just flat out sucks. Maybe a few good songs here and there", pretty much the same thoughts running through some of your heads. This album is a masterpiece, and needs some time to be fully appreciated. Just because you can't love it right off the bat doesn't mean that it's a piece of shit. Expand
  76. SteveF.
    Sep 9, 2007
    4
    The only track that really commands your attention is "Mobilia" - and it gets old *really* fast. The most overrated record of all time.
  77. Hansfranz1962
    Sep 6, 2007
    10
    Genius. Love it.
  78. pix101
    Sep 3, 2007
    3
    Must agree with what others have said, there is much better electronic music out there! I can't believe the hype for something so boring.
  79. xoxiax
    Sep 3, 2007
    10
    Exuberant and perfect.
  80. whatadick
    Aug 29, 2007
    0
    When I first read about this album I thought it was interesting. But that was just when I was reading about it. When I then started listening to this I was like "What?! Am I on some kind of hidden camera show? What the hell?" This must be a big joke, it has to be. This album sucks a shit load but every criticizer is lovin it. I think that all of those hot shot criticizers meet and was When I first read about this album I thought it was interesting. But that was just when I was reading about it. When I then started listening to this I was like "What?! Am I on some kind of hidden camera show? What the hell?" This must be a big joke, it has to be. This album sucks a shit load but every criticizer is lovin it. I think that all of those hot shot criticizers meet and was like "Yo, all of yall is going to give this piece of shit a good review, and afterwards we look how the readers react. If they love it, they're just assholes that love everything they are told to love, and if they hate, they're smart enough to say out loud "What the hell is going on? This sucks". Expand
  81. JorgeS.
    Aug 28, 2007
    5
    I heard this album while reading the critics. I was amazed. In the back of my mind an idea was forming, sort of like a presence, I was being witness to electronic payola. There certainly is no other reason for calling this the best album in years. It's a good album, definitely more listenable than a Juan Atkins minimalist album, but to call it greatness? I've been listening to I heard this album while reading the critics. I was amazed. In the back of my mind an idea was forming, sort of like a presence, I was being witness to electronic payola. There certainly is no other reason for calling this the best album in years. It's a good album, definitely more listenable than a Juan Atkins minimalist album, but to call it greatness? I've been listening to electronica fore more than 15 years, and surely I have heard jewels of albums and tracks that it blows my mind to think that they aren't regarded as musical landmarks. I could pick easily 5 albums in the last 5 years that have more merit to be really in the best of category. This is an album for people who are just experiencing for the first time the joys of electronica and techno. If you usually listen to rock and pop and find this interesting and refreshing, I say welcome, there is way more than that out there, in almost any subgenre, but please do not consider this album the best there is to offer from the 1's and 0's crowd. I hope that in subsequent listenings I catch some of that greatness it has been so lauded to posses, for all the noise that it's making outside typical electronica minded people, I sure hope it has what it takes to entice listeners to linger beyond the riffs, beats and typical markup that you find outside the genre. Expand
  82. TiagoM
    Aug 25, 2007
    4
    At first glance this album feels quite original. Harmonic tracks build up from sliced samples with a small use of synthesizers. But when look further, From Here We Go Sublime, reveals a huge lack of creativity. Repetitive loops from the beginning to the end (If you stand till the end of it), monotone drums, invariable rhythm, and excessive use of fade outs. Though, it can be a satisfying At first glance this album feels quite original. Harmonic tracks build up from sliced samples with a small use of synthesizers. But when look further, From Here We Go Sublime, reveals a huge lack of creativity. Repetitive loops from the beginning to the end (If you stand till the end of it), monotone drums, invariable rhythm, and excessive use of fade outs. Though, it can be a satisfying album to create background ambient in a pub or to be mixed by DJ's. But if you are the type who like to lay down on the sofa and listen to electronic music the same way you would listening to a great symphonic orchestra, forget about it. Expand
  83. RobS
    Aug 20, 2007
    0
    This album has inspired me to create my own electronic music.
  84. SteveR
    Aug 18, 2007
    0
    He, you reader, you've got only one single life; don't waste your time by listening to this music. He, you metacritic, I demand more professional reviews to decrease the high score this album really doesn't deserve.
  85. Muz
    Aug 15, 2007
    10
    On first hearing a track by The Field I knew I had found something fantastic. Now this album is out and I have it I can see why so many critics agree it is a great album. I agree it's not for everyone, but it is brilliant music.
  86. TomW
    Aug 14, 2007
    1
    If this is the best album of 2007 we should all pack up and go home. Electronic music has never sounded this dull.
  87. freenF
    Aug 11, 2007
    10
    I absolutely agree with the critics on this one. One of the best albums of 2007 and destined to become a classic.
  88. DanS
    Aug 10, 2007
    8
    I enjoy listening to this album.
  89. charleye.
    Aug 9, 2007
    1
    Why do most critically acclaimed albums fall on deaf ears? Because they are horrible, emotionless, and empty - like reviewers. I can't stand this album. It's dull, dull, dull. It's absolutely depressing that people could like this.
  90. CIaranM.
    Aug 7, 2007
    10
    Sublime, subliminal, this album really sorts out the people with a good ear for music from those who don't. The howls and protestations in the previous comments are hilarious. Anything that gets such people into such a reactionary fever is usually really good. For me it is easily the best album of the year
  91. MejicanaH.
    Aug 5, 2007
    9
    All I have to say is that this album deserves its status as the best reviewed album of the year. It is fantastic and well worth seeking out. I wish those of you who had not actually heard the album would refrain from rating it.
  92. natron5000
    Aug 4, 2007
    10
    marque moon describes it perfectly: "i thought i could have made this record, but then i was like, no i couldn't have."
  93. LiamA
    Jul 31, 2007
    0
    To all you indie scene hipster hacks who are influenced by Pitchfork, don
  94. MiguelC
    Jul 26, 2007
    5
    overated album, 2 chords repeating themselves for 10 minutes on each track on a 4/4 beat, works fine as a sleeping pill if you are out of stilnox
  95. BradN
    Jul 26, 2007
    0
    This is not
  96. StephenU
    Jul 25, 2007
    3
    Swayed by fawning critics, I decided to plunk down some cash on this album and was underwhelmed, but then I thought that it must be a grower and that repeated listens would reveal layers that I had missed the first three or four times, or that I would become aware of the majesty of its understated, minimalist structures. About eight listens in......nothing. I've either got a tin ear Swayed by fawning critics, I decided to plunk down some cash on this album and was underwhelmed, but then I thought that it must be a grower and that repeated listens would reveal layers that I had missed the first three or four times, or that I would become aware of the majesty of its understated, minimalist structures. About eight listens in......nothing. I've either got a tin ear or this is overhyped mediocrity. It can't be the latter as the music press is immune to such, yes? Expand
  97. LukasF
    Jul 24, 2007
    8
    Though "From Here We Go Sublime" was, in my opinion, somewhat overhyped by critics, it still delivers a refined minimalist techno playlist. If you're expecting to be entertained by melody and lyrics, think again: "From Here We Go Sublime" is a well-crafted background beat to life.
  98. TedM
    Jul 23, 2007
    1
    I played this album, got through about 3 tracks and had to stop it. It is just boring and completely overrated. Can't believe this is metacritics best album of the year! Serious loss of credibility for the site. But I guess that can mainly be blamed on the journalists who raved about this pile of mediocre cr@p.
  99. ChrisH
    Jul 21, 2007
    0
    One of the worst albums I ever heard - it would be annoying if it was not so endlessly boring.
  100. OpenMind
    Jul 20, 2007
    10
    The only people who don't like this are listening to it for the wrong reason. This isn't the instant satisfation the MTV crowd thrives on. This is straight up minimal techno, meant for quiet grooving. Grow some patience, people.
Metascore
90

Universal acclaim - based on 14 Critics

Critic score distribution:
  1. Positive: 14 out of 14
  2. Mixed: 0 out of 14
  3. Negative: 0 out of 14
  1. If you like minimal electronic music at all, you must seek it out.
  2. This is one of those rare albums that makes you wonder how you ever got by without it.
  3. This is an album you could easily hate -- especially if you like things like change and development.