Hell: The Sequel EP - Bad Meets Evil
Metascore
72

Generally favorable reviews - based on 14 Critics

Critic score distribution:
  1. Positive: 9 out of 14
  2. Negative: 0 out of 14
  1. Jun 30, 2011
    83
    This is a labor of love Eminem clearly made for himself and an old friend who unleashed his inner beast. As he does on seemingly every album, Eminem makes noise here about retiring; for the first time in forever, that actually seems like a bad idea.
  2. 83
    The pair spew acid-tongued battle raps that shout down 
celebrities (Lady Gaga and 
 Justin Bieber join the hit 
 list with 
 obsessive conviction, but the Bruno Mars-produced pop 
 nugget ''Lighters'' makes the rest of Hell: The Sequel's dark leanings more fulfilling.
  3. Aug 4, 2011
    80
    If you've ever found yourself pouring over the lyrics to a Eminem or Royce song, trying to break down each metaphor and punchline, you'll eat Hell up.
  4. Jun 16, 2011
    80
    Throughout the 11-track record, Em and Royce deliver exactly what their fans have been waiting for for a decade plus: lyrics to go.
  5. Jun 15, 2011
    80
    Eminem and Royce Da 5'9" are perfectly capable of standing on their own, but it's clear that even after all these years, they inspire something special in each other.
  6. Jun 16, 2011
    75
    It is, most definitely, not an album: there is a slight lack of cohesion, the artists don't particularly stretch themselves conceptually and the music certainly doesn't compare to the past classics that either MC has dropped before. However, the whole point was to get Eminem and Royce back in the booth, and to spit fire.
  7. With a few more tracks, Hell: The Sequel would have been a fantastic record. But as an EP, a few of its faults are hard to hide.
  8. The lyricism is impressive, and it's easy to get lost in it, but--some very noteworthy highlights aside--once that wears off, it's unlikely you'll return to Hell all that often.
  9. Jun 14, 2011
    70
    Throughout his career, Mr. Mathers has given props to his Detroit hip-hop clan and spoken of his interactions, but his discography has been somewhat light on examples. Past the Mars cut, Hell: The Sequel helps right that wrong, providing the welcome sound of Shady meets the streets.
  10. Jun 28, 2011
    60
    The duo's sinister raps are as shockingly impressive as they are morally disturbing.
  11. Jun 21, 2011
    60
    All the evil meeting badness can get pretty ugly--counting the number of females who get mistreated on Hell: The Sequel is like counting foreclosure signs along 8 Mile. But there's genuine humanity, too.
  12. 60
    What a couple of charmers.
  13. 60
    On a major label debut, there is very little room to mess around and get experimental, but that's precisely what he's done. It's not a great effort from either end of the duo, and it frankly leaves one wondering what could have been for such a promising pair.
  14. Jun 15, 2011
    60
    Their balance of humor and lyrical precision isn't as persistently dope as it was originally, but with one release they've already solidified themselves as one of the better duos in hip-hop, as they should be. I'm really happy about this.
User Score
8.0

Generally favorable reviews- based on 150 Ratings

User score distribution:
  1. Positive: 34 out of 38
  2. Negative: 0 out of 38
  1. Jun 14, 2011
    10
    I wonder why people don't like "Lighters". You guys don't expect the album to be Horrorcore/Hardcore all through, there should be a chill out moment and "Lighters" is the perfect song. The Lyrics are really deep and meaningful. Full Review »
  2. NJR
    Jun 15, 2011
    8
    Let me start off by saying this is easily the nicest Em has been for around 9 years. The EP is VERY good, lyrically it is brilliant and both dudes flows are near perfect most of the time. The strongest track is by far and away Fast Lane, maybe because it's the only flawless track on the EP. However, there are a few problems, the awful choruses are one, and the scattershot production another. Don't get me wrong, as single tracks all of the beats are great but they don't come together very well on the EP. The most obvious flaw is Lighters, not because it's too commercial etc. but because that is not what Bad Meets Evil are, it's a huge contradiction, usually I love a bit of introspectiveness but it's not what I want from this duo. Em can save that crap for his next album, I don't think I have ever heard Royce sound so out of place and uncomfortable. Overall though very impressed by how these two got straight back at it after 10 years, especially Em seeing how weak he has been lately with Recovery, Relapse etc. If they had gone in to the studio saying they were going to make a full blown album and spend as much time as possible on it then we may have had a classic on our hands, but it has served it's purpose in bringing the excitement for Shady records to fever-pitch, 7.75 for me so i'll give it an 8. Full Review »
  3. Jun 14, 2011
    10
    This album is up there with "All 6's and 7's" as the best hip hop albums of 2011 so far. I like the Hardcore yelling as well(Haterz worst nightmare). Fastlane, A kiss, Take from me, Living proof, Echo, loud noises, Reunion, Welcome to hell, Lighters, I'm on everything and Above the law are my best tracks....Wait, but that's the whole Ep...lol Full Review »