Hurry Up, We're Dreaming

  • Record Label:
  • Release Date:
Hurry Up, We're Dreaming Image
Metascore
76

Generally favorable reviews - based on 38 Critics What's this?

User Score
9.0

Universal acclaim- based on 167 Ratings

Your Score
0 out of 10
Rate this:
  • 10
  • 9
  • 8
  • 7
  • 6
  • 5
  • 4
  • 3
  • 2
  • 1
  • 0
  • 0
  • Summary: Anthony Gonzalez's two-disc album produced by Justin Meldal-Johnsen features contributions from Medicine's Brad Laner, Morgan Kibby, and Zola Jesus.
Buy On
  • Record Label: Mute
  • Genre(s): Electronic, Pop/Rock, Alternative/Indie Rock, Alternative Pop/Rock, Indie Electronic, Ambient Pop
  • More Details and Credits »

Top Track

Midnight City
Waiting in a car Waiting for a ride in the dark The night city grows Look and see her eyes, they glow Waiting in a car Waiting for a ride in the... See the rest of the song lyrics
Score distribution:
  1. Positive: 30 out of 38
  2. Negative: 0 out of 38
  1. Oct 13, 2011
    95
    It's a fantastical story of aliens, spirits, and children told by one breathtakingly gifted artist, and it's utterly remarkable.
  2. Oct 17, 2011
    90
    With less of the anxiety that marked his earlier albums, that world is a joy to get lost in over and over.
  3. At this point, it's hard to know what to let go and what to hold onto as a listener of M83, but regardless, Hurry Up, We're Dreaming is a pretty fantastic record.
  4. 80
    The end result is an incredibly ambitious and personal effort that shines, sparkles, and thrills.
  5. Oct 18, 2011
    70
    The album is ambitious and brimming with all sorts of stray ideas, but it's also suited to Gonzalez's expansive gifts.
  6. Oct 11, 2011
    70
    Gonzalez sings mostly about memories (occasionally unintelligibly), but refuses to accept that some dramatic gifts don't necessarily have to be exhausting. Still, the album is full of goose-bump moments
  7. Nov 3, 2011
    40
    A single CD's worth on two discs, Hurry Up indulges many watery washes ("Wait") but restrains sound collage use ("Echoes of Mine") in waiting for another 21st century merry-go-round ("New Map").

See all 38 Critic Reviews

Score distribution:
  1. Positive: 34 out of 36
  2. Negative: 0 out of 36
  1. Mar 26, 2013
    10
    In today's high tech world where everything and everyone moves so fast and sudden, it becomes harder for me to stay put. Although InternetIn today's high tech world where everything and everyone moves so fast and sudden, it becomes harder for me to stay put. Although Internet giants such as YouTube, Pandora Radio, and Spotify have made music more available, I also feel that they have made most songs we listen to equally forgettable; "well that was a cool, song. Okay, what's next?" The point I'm getting at is in today's world it takes a special kind of artist with a special kind of album to keep me seated from the opening track to the closing track. An album with music so colorful and sharp, with tales of dream scape and adventures, I literally say to myself "where have you been all my life!?" Case in point--M83's Hurry Up, We're Dreaming. Not since Radiohead's 2007 In Rainbows (or even Daft Punk's 2001 Discovery album) has an album captured me with overwhelming enthusiasm such as Hurry Up, We're Dreaming has. M83 effectively tell stories of childhood innocence ("Raconte-Moi Une Histoire"), space travel (Year One, One UFO), and a life beyond imagination ("New Map") with their dreamy instrumentation. The 2-disc album is reminiscent of Pink Floyd's 1973 classic Dark Side of the Moon, in that the each song in the album picks up where the other leaves off; as if developing stories in a novel, with each track unravelling something new and astonishing where the former track leaves off and the latter picks up. Hurry Up, We're Dreaming is sure to be a beloved classic as time goes by. For now, it should be regarded as a modem classic in an age where music seems to bombard audiences with flavor of the month songs by artist who try too hard to be the next big hit; or already famous artist clutching onto relevancy with "today's sound." Hurry Up, We're Dreaming is ultimately fantastic because M83 doesn't seem to force the album upon it's audience (with perhaps "Midnight City" being an exception seeing how it's a radio-friendly tune). The entire album sings with a passion of patience, grace, love, and truth that expresses how much time and effort M83 has put into their songs. And that similar patience, grace, and love is emitted by me, the listener, through how relaxed and optimistic I am as I listen to the album. I'd go as far to say Hurry Up, We're Dreaming is more of a story being told through music than just "songs." A musical novel, if you will. And just as I reach the last pages of the final chapter of a fascinating book with that "wow! What a marvelous tale! I can't wait to tell someone about it!" feeling, M83's Hurry Up, We're Dreaming gives me that equal satisfaction. Simply put, M83 has given audiences a modern day classic. A musical treasure that's aesthetically pleasing to the ears, heart, mind, and soul. Hurry Up, We're Dreaming is an artistic inspiration. Expand
  2. Dec 30, 2015
    10
    The reason this album has polarizing reviews from critics is because it sounds like an amalgamation of M83's previous albums.However this isThe reason this album has polarizing reviews from critics is because it sounds like an amalgamation of M83's previous albums.However this is untrue and the album remains fresh and evergreen as ever that too being a double album. One of my favourite album's of all time and M83's best album IMO.

    Standout tracks: Midnight City,Claudia Lewis,Outro ....
    Expand
  3. Oct 28, 2011
    10
    This is, by far, the best and most accessible album by M83 yet. I have listened to this album nonstop since it has been released. It isThis is, by far, the best and most accessible album by M83 yet. I have listened to this album nonstop since it has been released. It is beautiful, catchy, and memorable. I highly recommend it! Expand
  4. Nov 15, 2016
    10
    Wow i am speechless this album is really well done its such beautiful emotional journey done the way that only m83 could do it.I love hisWow i am speechless this album is really well done its such beautiful emotional journey done the way that only m83 could do it.I love his style of making music Expand
  5. Nov 17, 2011
    9
    One of my favorite double albums of all time, and one of the best albums of the year. The critic score is far too low, and I'm veryOne of my favorite double albums of all time, and one of the best albums of the year. The critic score is far too low, and I'm very surprised. M83 is becoming the band I've always wanted them to be. Expand
  6. Oct 18, 2011
    9
    Hurry Up, We're Dreaming contains such a quantity of melancholia and mood we don't know where to head, and therefore preferred to cram up byHurry Up, We're Dreaming contains such a quantity of melancholia and mood we don't know where to head, and therefore preferred to cram up by choosing the dual format, even at the risk of upsetting the listener. A gamble at this time.

    Yet more than a collection of singles, Hurry Up, We're Dreaming should rather be seen as an affirmation: M83 is a significant group who has the necessary legitimacy to the achievement of an album of this magnitude.
    Expand
  7. Nov 21, 2012
    5
    It's an occasionally warm, nostalgic collection of songs. While you're there it's great, but once you start looking forward again you forgetIt's an occasionally warm, nostalgic collection of songs. While you're there it's great, but once you start looking forward again you forget all of it, save for a gorgeous opener and closer along with the successful, killer single. Expand

See all 36 User Reviews

Related Articles

  1. Metacritic Users Pick the Best of 2011

    Metacritic Users Pick the Best of 2011 Image
    Published: January 9, 2012
    The results are in! We've tallied your votes for the best movie, TV show, video game, album, and song of 2011. Find out which titles our users preferred inside...