Metascore
67

Generally favorable reviews - based on 17 Critics

Critic score distribution:
  1. Positive: 8 out of 17
  2. Negative: 0 out of 17
  1. Sep 19, 2012
    80
    {A] far superior effort [than Rebirth]. [Feb 2011, p.84]
  2. You won't hear a funnier record all year. Jailbird or civilian, human or moon man, Lil Wayne is pop's most reliable deliverer of unadulterated fun.
  3. Oct 26, 2010
    77
    Lil Wayne's latest album, I Am Not a Human Being, is not as experimental as the rapper's previous rock-tinged "Rebirth" set that arrived earlier this year, and most fans will likely appreciate this.
  4. For most of I Am Not a Human Being, it seems like Wayne has forgotten how to write a verse. He's all about couplets now.
  5. This is too short and scattered to put on his top shelf, but it comes awfully close, which is downright astonishing considering the circumstances.
  6. Dec 21, 2010
    67
    Human Being seems designed to keep Wayne in the public eye during his big-house stay, but he's a superstar who could pull a J.D. Salinger, and the press and public would still be obsessed with him. If nothing else, Human Being serves as a potent reminder that Wayne is still capable of both greatness and awfulness.
  7. Oct 27, 2010
    67
    Wayne's ebullience is too curdled to be all that interesting on its own –- not to mention that he can do so much better.
  8. Wayne has already done better versions of almost every song on I Am Not a Human Being, which was released on his 28th birthday last week. It's not exactly what we're looking for now.
  9. 60
    It's a perfunctory affair, further fragmented on my download version by the muting of Wayne's stream of expletives, which renders large parts of it unintelligible.
  10. Oct 28, 2010
    60
    It may not be a great, or even particularly good album, but it does at least tide us over until Weezy become a free man, and the much talked about Tha Carter IV finally sees the light of day.
  11. 60
    Though this is a flawed and scattershot project, Wayne remains an artist who makes music like a patissier--his songs are frivolous, delicious, and meant to be relished for just a moment.
  12. While diversity is Lil Wayne's strength, it's a lack of commitment of a different sort that hamstrings this album. Too often Lil Wayne lapses into predictable flow structures, quick ideas paired with built-in rejoinders.
  13. I Am Not a Human Being is kind of a crummy album, rife with laziness and repetition.
  14. When Wayne is on, he's one of the best in the game, but on Human Being he's just killing time with sub-par versions of his far more popular songs – this is a completely superfluous release that lacks the relevance and immediacy of his mixtape works and the quality-control of his albums.
  15. I Am Not a Human Being's angry title track showcases Wayne's ability to at once spit funny similes and tough talk, but its punk-hop guitar riffs barely even compete with the ones on his much-derided 2010 rock album, Rebirth.
  16. Typically, the complaints against Wayne are that he's annoying, grating, and ubiquitous; but for the first time he's made himself seem uninteresting, which is far more career-threatening.
  17. It's unclear whether the creative languor stems from the inherent commercial pressure of being the Young Money meal ticket or whether Wayne has exhausted his ideas after compressing a career's worth of songs into three years.
User Score
4.5

Mixed or average reviews- based on 59 Ratings

User score distribution:
  1. Positive: 8 out of 15
  2. Negative: 6 out of 15
  1. Oct 17, 2010
    0
    I do not know how this album has a score of 65. This is not real rap. The only things he talks about it money, sex, and drugs. The lyrics in his songs are overly repeated, with only some creative wordplay. The only reason why people love lil wayne is because he raps slow, and everybody can catch and repeat his words (which are meaningless). I do not know how this talentless artist got into this rap game, Oh wait! his dad was a rapper too! (and he also sucks at rapping!) Full Review »
  2. Jan 2, 2012
    3
    Lil' Wayne is a joke. He thinks he's a good rapper which is incredibly surprising considering he has one trick (his punchlines), which he uses too much. He has lost all his creativity and originality. The "Best rapper alive" is a horrible artist who has become predictable on this album Full Review »
  3. Nov 16, 2010
    8
    "I am not a human being" is a preview - and may I say a very good one- for Lil Waynes long-awaited album "Tha Carter IV". It is not meant to be an album, it is something to keep fans waiting until Weezy comes out. The album itself, has lots of good rhyming, great beats that play with your emotions, and most of all it has Weezy. F. Baby. The album is one that you can repeatedly listen to, and one that I would recommend buying. Full Review »