I'm with You - Red Hot Chili Peppers
User Score
7.2

Generally favorable reviews- based on 128 Ratings

User score distribution:
  1. Negative: 10 out of 128

Review this album

  1. Your Score
    0 out of 10
    Rate this:
    • 10
    • 9
    • 8
    • 7
    • 6
    • 5
    • 4
    • 3
    • 2
    • 1
    • 0
    • 0
  1. Submit
  2. Check Spelling
  1. Sep 7, 2011
    9
    I'm a big RHCP fan so this album has been very anticipated by me. Like a few others have stated, this album will grow on you and it doesn't take like, but you do have to give it a chance. Some of their past albums were like that as well, but I think that is the brilliance of RHCP. Their songs have so many layers to them that generally you have to listen to them a few times to really get aI'm a big RHCP fan so this album has been very anticipated by me. Like a few others have stated, this album will grow on you and it doesn't take like, but you do have to give it a chance. Some of their past albums were like that as well, but I think that is the brilliance of RHCP. Their songs have so many layers to them that generally you have to listen to them a few times to really get a feel for the rhythm and the lyrics. Musically, this is one of their best albums. I also feel as if Anthony Kiedis' voice has gotten even better in this album. Much in the same way that I felt By The Way was recorded, I'm With You brings in some of the many things that make RHCP who they are as a band to their songs. Their funk, rock, harmony, and quirkiness really shine in their songs and it is what makes them so unique. The more I listen to it, the more I can't stop listening. Factory of Faith is catchy and easily my favorite tune on the album. If you like RHCP, then you'll love this album. Just remember to give it a chance. Expand
  2. Nov 11, 2011
    10
    Great album, not their best but if they put it out before BSSM it would have put them on the map for sure.
    Even You Brutus? is the best song on the album
    Goodbye Hooray is the second best
    Look around is a close third
    Brendan's Death Song, Ethiopia, and Police Station are other great songs (Police Station is probably my favorite of all of the songs it just speaks to my soul)
  3. Sep 4, 2011
    10
    Upon first listen it struck me as a collection of some tracks you would hear on generic mainstream rock radio, and it still sounds that way. Repeated listens have proved more enjoyable, but let me make one thing absolutely clear. This is not a Red Hot Chili Peppers album. At least in the conventional sense. As is obvious to everybody, the Chili Peppers are a VERY different band thenUpon first listen it struck me as a collection of some tracks you would hear on generic mainstream rock radio, and it still sounds that way. Repeated listens have proved more enjoyable, but let me make one thing absolutely clear. This is not a Red Hot Chili Peppers album. At least in the conventional sense. As is obvious to everybody, the Chili Peppers are a VERY different band then they were in the late 80's/early 90's, and since By the Way have proceeded to evolve into basically a different band. This is not necessarily a bad thing. By The Way and Stadium Arcadium have been criticized, and I can see why but I found both of those albums to be very good. This one really is an exception however. There is just no funk in this record, an element which is (or I guess I should say were) very important to the Chili Peppers music along with their whole image. The music borders on cheesy acoustic ballads at times and it just makes me and I'm sure many others wonder what happened to this innovative band. I'm not criticizing the band for maturing or experimenting with different types of music. As long as the artists are doing what they want and are happy with it, that is perfect. Expand
  4. Aug 30, 2011
    10
    One of the more unique RHCP records of late. Kinda a mix of everything they we have heard from them in the past to create something entirely different. Josh does a great job filling in for John and adds something unique to the band. The textured feel of the guitar in I'm With You is something new and awesome at the same time. Fans that only enjoyed that last three records may feelOne of the more unique RHCP records of late. Kinda a mix of everything they we have heard from them in the past to create something entirely different. Josh does a great job filling in for John and adds something unique to the band. The textured feel of the guitar in I'm With You is something new and awesome at the same time. Fans that only enjoyed that last three records may feel alienated, but I love this new direction. Hope to hear more songs from them soon. Expand
  5. Sep 3, 2011
    10
    This is a classic album finally for The Red Hot Chili Peppers after years of just getting by with singles. Sure there are not many hit singles on this one but that is why this album is even more special. It just goes to show that Rick Rubin is a God and everything he touches turns to gold. Monarchy of Roses and Dance, Dance Dance are fun and very memorable tunes while the 2nd half of theThis is a classic album finally for The Red Hot Chili Peppers after years of just getting by with singles. Sure there are not many hit singles on this one but that is why this album is even more special. It just goes to show that Rick Rubin is a God and everything he touches turns to gold. Monarchy of Roses and Dance, Dance Dance are fun and very memorable tunes while the 2nd half of the album is very deep and they finally let us inside the hearts and souls of the Chili Peppers. This is them at their all time best and it should be in everyones music collection. Expand
  6. Aug 30, 2011
    10
    I have been a RHCP fan for about a year now. They are a brilliant band and continue to make great music. This album is awesome! You can tell they are experimenting with different things in some of the songs. It is a different sound now that John Frusciante left the band. Josh Klinghoffer is a good addition to the band though and is a great guitarist in his own right. This album is a mustI have been a RHCP fan for about a year now. They are a brilliant band and continue to make great music. This album is awesome! You can tell they are experimenting with different things in some of the songs. It is a different sound now that John Frusciante left the band. Josh Klinghoffer is a good addition to the band though and is a great guitarist in his own right. This album is a must buy for any chili pepper fans! Expand
  7. Aug 30, 2011
    10
    I've been a steadfast Red Hot Chili Peppers fan for many a year now. I own most if not all their music from the early beginnings to I'm With You and I thoroughly enjoy all of it and all their variety. A lot of the "professional" reviewers have seemed to made a lot of seemingly erroneous claims, for one reason or another and I'd like to address at least some of those. As many others have, II've been a steadfast Red Hot Chili Peppers fan for many a year now. I own most if not all their music from the early beginnings to I'm With You and I thoroughly enjoy all of it and all their variety. A lot of the "professional" reviewers have seemed to made a lot of seemingly erroneous claims, for one reason or another and I'd like to address at least some of those. As many others have, I too have noticed that there are plenty of songs that are driven by the bass over guitar. Many people seem to attribute this to the lack of Frusciante and the presence of a "lesser" guitar player (either in terms of band presence or just simply skill), but I did not see it that way at all. Bass dominated songs are nothing new to RHCP; Flea has always been a prominent player compared to other bassists in other bands, but people seem wont to now place that on the lack of Frusciante. I think this is severely underrating Klinghoffer on the part of people who clearly don't have a good grasp of the breadth of RHCP's music and Klinghoffer's skill. I think there are plenty of songs that show off his talent quite well. For example, how many RHCP songs prior to Klinghoffer can you name that prominently feature the piano? Yet there are several songs on I'm With You that do so, such as "Happiness Loves Company" and "Even You Brutus" that feature piano or other keyboards. From the interviews and information I've been able to collect it seems that Klinghoffer was a large influence in the use of keyboards (as well as Flea). There are other songs that are heavily dependent on guitar. "Meet Me At The Corner" is a perfect piece that showcases Klinghoffer's skill with a very Hendrix/Frusciante style guitar line (but with its own twist), excellent backing vocals and even some surprisingly good lead vocal work from Klinghoffer as well. All in all I've been very impressed with his contributions to the band.

    Personal taste may dictate whether or not one appreciates the album as a whole, but I do certainly feel like it is unfair to Klinghoffer to underestimate his role just because of Frusciante's shadow. Overall I feel like this album is an excellent culmination of the various styles and sounds that RHCP has delved into over the years. Kiedis' singing and lyrical content seems to have further matured, although he still maintains his signature quirks and odd lines. Yes, you can still listen to the album and tell it's the same band that was releasing albums decades ago, but there's so much more to this album. A song like "Ethiopa" clearly shows that they're trying and experimenting with many new things, not just doing the same old thing over and over again like some generic pop band. I think "Ethiopia" might show this the most clearly. The song is largely written in 7/8 time and starts off with a driving bass line. Klinghoffer's first entrance on guitar seems innocuous enough, yet through it's simplicity they create an amazing effect as Klinghoffer is essentially playing in a different time signature, 4/4, with just one note on every beat. It creates a subtly twisted sort of hemiola effect where in one measure he's in sync with Flea while in the next he is playing the upbeat to Fleas downbeat. They continue to play off of each other in this sort of opposing fashion off an on throughout the song. It's absolutely brilliant!
    Expand
  8. Aug 30, 2011
    10
    Awesome album! I've been a Chili Pepper fan for 21 years now because this band keeps making amazing music. When I first learned that John Frusciante had left the band I was definitely saddened by the news and didnt know what would become of my favorite band, but I also had faith that if Ant, Flea and Chad chose to continue on that they would continue to make beautiful, creative andAwesome album! I've been a Chili Pepper fan for 21 years now because this band keeps making amazing music. When I first learned that John Frusciante had left the band I was definitely saddened by the news and didnt know what would become of my favorite band, but I also had faith that if Ant, Flea and Chad chose to continue on that they would continue to make beautiful, creative and rockin music. When I learned that Josh Klinghoffer had joined the band that sadness I had previously felt immediately turned into excitement and joy about the new music they would make together, he's such an incredible musician and I knew he was the perfect choice. From beginnig to end 'I'm With You' had me hooked, these songs are so great, I absolutely love it! The Chili Peppers music has been such a great and important part of my life and I love this new and exciting chapter in this amazing bands history. Expand
  9. Sep 1, 2011
    10
    i just want to say that i cried in some tracks the first time i listened the album, in fact i cried to hours ago listening police station, i really love the album its a freash air to your face and josh vocals are amazing.
  10. Sep 15, 2011
    10
    I love it... Absolutely have fallen in love with this album... The first listen took some getting used to, but i immediately saw the potential... then by the 3rd listen, i was hooked on everything.. this album haunts me in the most beautiful way... i feel like "I'm With You" is a better album than Stadium Arcadium.. and it's growing on me and starting to mean JUST AS MUCH to meI love it... Absolutely have fallen in love with this album... The first listen took some getting used to, but i immediately saw the potential... then by the 3rd listen, i was hooked on everything.. this album haunts me in the most beautiful way... i feel like "I'm With You" is a better album than Stadium Arcadium.. and it's growing on me and starting to mean JUST AS MUCH to me as Californiacation.. I can sum up this album in one word: "DANCE" Expand
  11. Dec 9, 2011
    9
    Kiedis, Flea and Smith are all on top form here. Flea showcasing moreso than he's ever done before how skilled he is at the bass guitar, Kiedis is great at vocals, possibly the best he's ever been also. There are a couple of problems though: Frusciante IS severely missing, Klinghoffer is pretty good, but that's compared to an awesome guitar player. And a couple of the tracks aren'tKiedis, Flea and Smith are all on top form here. Flea showcasing moreso than he's ever done before how skilled he is at the bass guitar, Kiedis is great at vocals, possibly the best he's ever been also. There are a couple of problems though: Frusciante IS severely missing, Klinghoffer is pretty good, but that's compared to an awesome guitar player. And a couple of the tracks aren't particularly impressive. It does move the Chili's forward, in a good way. It does however, require a handful of listens to get and understand the new direction they have taken. I just hope the guitaring improves next time. Expand
  12. Feb 12, 2012
    10
    I'm with you is one of the best (that's saying something) red hot chili peppers albums, every song is amazing except from dance, dance, dance which is still good anyway. the best song on the album is even you Brutus, it could be my favorite song of all time, it is in my top 5 red hot chili peppers songs!
  13. Feb 18, 2012
    9
    I love the Chili Peps,they're gonna be rock and roll hall of famers and their still putting out good songs,and I'm with you is a beautiful album.IT has that funk element ,which makes us love RHCP,and Flea goes ape **** on these songs. Anthony's voice is nice and smooth,but there's more o be desired out of the lyrics in some points,but that doesn't stop me from singing along.A favoriteI love the Chili Peps,they're gonna be rock and roll hall of famers and their still putting out good songs,and I'm with you is a beautiful album.IT has that funk element ,which makes us love RHCP,and Flea goes ape **** on these songs. Anthony's voice is nice and smooth,but there's more o be desired out of the lyrics in some points,but that doesn't stop me from singing along.A favorite track of mine is Brendon's death song.Chad Smith comes in and provides a pounding heart beat of a drum beat,while Anthony sounds sentimental and great like usually. Annie wants a baby is a good tune,it's as close as Kilingofer is gonna sound like Fruscante,it sounds Stadium Arcadium-ish. Josh's power is in his hold back,he doesn't goes crazy,but you can always feel his presence,and dingy sounding guitar,like on meet me at the corner and dance dance dance.Factory of Faith is a cool baseball referencing,funky ,sexual good tune.The hardest song is faster paced joint called Goodbye hooray,which I enjoyed. .This is a good album the Chilis didn't reinvent themselves,but they are still as good as they've ever been in their department and signature brand of alternative California funk rock. Expand
  14. Jun 26, 2012
    10
    i was scared after john departure of the RHCP and the amazing stadium arcadium.at the beginning i listened the entire album and didn't surprised me or make me feel that peppers spirit and melodic sound of californication and by the way but the more i played it the more i like the new sound and start to appreciate josh
  15. Mar 26, 2013
    9
    I don't know what these critics are smoking. Perhaps most of them never liked RHCP to begin with. That or they're not the... target audience for RCHP.

    This album is very solid and a few songs are absolutely amazing, Brendan's Death Song and Police Station in particular. It's definitely not a huge departure from any of their past work. It's the same old RCHP making the same
    I don't know what these critics are smoking. Perhaps most of them never liked RHCP to begin with. That or they're not the... target audience for RCHP.

    This album is very solid and a few songs are absolutely amazing, Brendan's Death Song and Police Station in particular. It's definitely not a huge departure from any of their past work. It's the same old RCHP making the same old awesome music.
    Expand
  16. Mar 2, 2014
    10
    This album is a totally different direction once again for the Chilis' sound. Its like a Soft funk Pop sound. Vocally, the album is fairly simplistic yet very catchy with some fantastic backing vocals from Josh Klinghoffer. Kinghoffers use of beautiful chords and heavy use of effects all work to make him stand out and express his own sound. Flea has opted for a "By The Way-ish" melodicThis album is a totally different direction once again for the Chilis' sound. Its like a Soft funk Pop sound. Vocally, the album is fairly simplistic yet very catchy with some fantastic backing vocals from Josh Klinghoffer. Kinghoffers use of beautiful chords and heavy use of effects all work to make him stand out and express his own sound. Flea has opted for a "By The Way-ish" melodic orientated bass sound - yet is less chilled than that of By The Way and is more energetic and funky. This is a solid album and one which I have been enjoying for a long time now, which is all you can really ask from an album. To be a Chillis' fan is to be able to accept many forms of sound and embrace change with love. This is something a lot of the "fans" don't understand and so complain that its not a carbon copy of Stadium Arcadium. Josh has done well filling Frusciantes boots and he will do well in the band Expand
  17. Apr 16, 2014
    10
    I was hesitant at first (mostly because I had only listened to Monarchy of Roses and Adventures of Raindance Maggie) and it took me a year to actually pick it up the store. Boy was I wrong, sure this is different to Stadium Arcadium but when have RHCP records ever sounded alike? That's what I like about them, they keep experimenting and changing which keeps them interesting but with a highI was hesitant at first (mostly because I had only listened to Monarchy of Roses and Adventures of Raindance Maggie) and it took me a year to actually pick it up the store. Boy was I wrong, sure this is different to Stadium Arcadium but when have RHCP records ever sounded alike? That's what I like about them, they keep experimenting and changing which keeps them interesting but with a high quality standard.
    The most remarkable aspect is the rhythm section as Flea hasn't been this "noticeable" since One Hot Minute-both albums were written mostly by him-and Chad's percussion is at its finest. Sure, it certainly lacks some punch (specially on the guitars) but Josh is a great addition to the team and I wouldn't expect less of this record. Note: You must give it some listens before you realize how good it is.
    I'm glad actual music is being made by real artists in the 2010s.
    Expand
  18. Nov 4, 2013
    10
    It's a great album! It's easy to listen to and it brings up or sustains my mood when I'm going about my life. It's doing all the things a musician probably wants their music to accomplish. Also, something about the whole album reminds me of healing with the sound and white-background artwork. I definitely feel that listening to I'm With You is reflective of tribulations, changes and anIt's a great album! It's easy to listen to and it brings up or sustains my mood when I'm going about my life. It's doing all the things a musician probably wants their music to accomplish. Also, something about the whole album reminds me of healing with the sound and white-background artwork. I definitely feel that listening to I'm With You is reflective of tribulations, changes and an underlying passion for their making music as a family unit. As they've gotten older their music seems to have gotten warmer is really positive and continues to be poignant. It can't be easy to keep up that excitement but they do it really well. Also, the lyrical observations and poetry are great, too. They're bringing new and awesome things to the table. Expand
  19. Nov 15, 2013
    10
    One of the most underrated albums of all time. Although a few decent tracks are in the first half of the album, the majority includes superb ballads that come from Kiedis' personal experiences. Meet Me at the Corner is beautiful and Rain Dance Maggie has one of the best grooves the band has ever written.
Metascore
63

Generally favorable reviews - based on 36 Critics

Critic score distribution:
  1. Positive: 16 out of 36
  2. Negative: 1 out of 36
  1. Oct 9, 2012
    67
    Throughout, Klinghoffer never takes over like Dave Navarro did with One Hot Minute, but he's not knocking down any doors, either.
  2. Sep 21, 2011
    60
    It's the heart of the matter, and the song that sets the bar. [Oct 2011, p.122]
  3. Sep 21, 2011
    62
    New axe-slinger or not, I'm With You is a given for this band--at least four songs too long and Rick Rubin's nonchalance leaves everything sounding precisely and consistently the same.