• Record Label: Sony
  • Release Date: Nov 28, 2006
User Score
7.7

Generally favorable reviews- based on 85 Ratings

User score distribution:
  1. Positive: 70 out of 85
  2. Negative: 7 out of 85

Review this album

  1. Your Score
    0 out of 10
    Rate this:
    • 10
    • 9
    • 8
    • 7
    • 6
    • 5
    • 4
    • 3
    • 2
    • 1
    • 0
    • 0
  1. Submit
  2. Check Spelling
  1. marvalbert
    Dec 5, 2006
    1
    I have been an Incubus fan since thier s.c.i.e.n.c.e album. I have loved every single album they ever put out. With exceptions for only a handful of songs, everything they put out in my opinion, is pure gold!!! However, Light Grenades is the biggest dissapointment of 2006, and belongs in a burning trash heap with K-Fed's album. I literally cried when I heard this album. Not because I have been an Incubus fan since thier s.c.i.e.n.c.e album. I have loved every single album they ever put out. With exceptions for only a handful of songs, everything they put out in my opinion, is pure gold!!! However, Light Grenades is the biggest dissapointment of 2006, and belongs in a burning trash heap with K-Fed's album. I literally cried when I heard this album. Not because it was so beautiful, but because incubus died right in front of me. Not only are the songs weak, and seemed to have been ripped off by some crappy grauge band, the production of the album sounds like it was recorded with Maculy Caulkens talk boy recorder from Home Alone!!! This album even made me scream like him AHHHH!!!!! Do not buy this album if you wish your last memories of incubus to be good ones. Expand
  2. dana
    Dec 8, 2006
    3
    ugh, another bland record. there are hundreds of better albums released this year - why bother with this?
  3. timm
    Jan 28, 2007
    2
    what a disappointment.
  4. stevec
    Jan 4, 2007
    0
    worst music i heard
  5. RickS
    Dec 28, 2006
    2
    WTF is this, what is it? I can't really understand what is happening to Incubus. Why, why would anyone enjoy songs like Paper Shoes, Dig, Coal etc. My god is Brandon annoying, simply put i blame him for bring this wonderful band down, the drums are perfect, so is the guitar, bass is on point but damn, the vocals just keep getting worse and worse. What is he trying to accomplish by WTF is this, what is it? I can't really understand what is happening to Incubus. Why, why would anyone enjoy songs like Paper Shoes, Dig, Coal etc. My god is Brandon annoying, simply put i blame him for bring this wonderful band down, the drums are perfect, so is the guitar, bass is on point but damn, the vocals just keep getting worse and worse. What is he trying to accomplish by not making a sound whole song, he just keeps going on and on. People are not stupid, your music goes down hill people stop listening to you, so far there at the bottom trying to make there way back up, there previous hits were timeless, now in my opinion because of Brandon this band is going nowhere. And no, the songs don't grow on you, it's like those annoying songs in car commercials you wanna hear 2 times and thats it. If your a die hard fan your gonna give this a 10, if you have been following Incubus with an open-mind, and hope, your gonna realize something is wrong with this band. I'm not asking for hits or even changing there style(which i know they did for the new bassist), all i'm asking for is just a decent old good song. Boyd needs to understand this for the sake of his band. Expand
  6. GaborA
    Dec 7, 2006
    3
    Once again the music is pretty mediocre, and once again Brendan Boyd is terrible. His singing is front and center more than ever, his coons dictating the music and engulfing the other instruments. And of course, his lyrics are laughable. He takes metaphors that eminem might have shamefully devoted a single line to in one of his weaker songs and devotes an entire song to it. "Even diamonds Once again the music is pretty mediocre, and once again Brendan Boyd is terrible. His singing is front and center more than ever, his coons dictating the music and engulfing the other instruments. And of course, his lyrics are laughable. He takes metaphors that eminem might have shamefully devoted a single line to in one of his weaker songs and devotes an entire song to it. "Even diamonds start as coal/Give us time to shine." In sixth grade one of our assigments was to write the lyrics to an original song. I think that may have actually been one of the lines a girl wrote in her song. And we giggled a little then at it. Expand
  7. billg
    Dec 17, 2007
    1
    Everybody deserves a chance, sounds like some of the lyrics they write, well i do believe in that ol' saying, so they get one point. Trite and useless material otherwise. They are how old, writing music that speaks to people how old?
Metascore
65

Generally favorable reviews - based on 13 Critics

Critic score distribution:
  1. Positive: 7 out of 13
  2. Negative: 0 out of 13
  1. Equally adept at rave-ups and ballads, Incubus even make their unexpected forays into space-rock work. [1 Dec 2006, p.82]
  2. "Light Grenades" refines the band's attack modes: melodic and muscular, gentle and intense.
  3. The music’s intricacies become less impressive when so many of them are directly lifted from far better songs. [27 Nov 2006]