User Score
7.8

Generally favorable reviews- based on 312 Ratings

User score distribution:
  1. Negative: 24 out of 312

Review this album

  1. Your Score
    0 out of 10
    Rate this:
    • 10
    • 9
    • 8
    • 7
    • 6
    • 5
    • 4
    • 3
    • 2
    • 1
    • 0
    • 0
  1. Submit
  2. Check Spelling
  1. Jun 27, 2012
    5
    Let me start by saying that "A Thousand Suns" is my favourite LP album and I know that I'm in the minority with that opinion but I stand by my choice. LP are one of my favourite bands but I'm not a fan-boy. In my opinion Living Things is nothing more than a mediocre album. Burn It Down is probably the only track with a memorable hook/electronic riff on the entire album. The "wall ofLet me start by saying that "A Thousand Suns" is my favourite LP album and I know that I'm in the minority with that opinion but I stand by my choice. LP are one of my favourite bands but I'm not a fan-boy. In my opinion Living Things is nothing more than a mediocre album. Burn It Down is probably the only track with a memorable hook/electronic riff on the entire album. The "wall of sound" they were aiming for is evident to hear, but this detracts from the clarity of the sound and every song ends up sounding like the same tired dirge. Not to mention that some of the lyrics are laughable... "Kiss that ring" and "I'm a crack" spring to mind.

    Usually I will listen to an album continuously for a week or two, just in case it is a 'sleeper' or a 'grower'. Sadly Living Things only received 2 and half play throughs before being removed from my CD player and replaced with Dead By Sunrise.

    Best LP Album? Hardly. In my opinion Living Things is LP's weakest album to date. I'd much rather be listening to Chester's side project.
    Expand
  2. Jul 30, 2012
    6
    This felt less like a new album and more like the missing half of 'A Thousand A Suns'. Yes I liked the album. That being said, it isn't without its flaws. They use the same chord progressions in more than one song and several electronic sounds from their last album find their way back into this one. Chester's scream seems more shrill and weak than it in previous albums. Mike has changedThis felt less like a new album and more like the missing half of 'A Thousand A Suns'. Yes I liked the album. That being said, it isn't without its flaws. They use the same chord progressions in more than one song and several electronic sounds from their last album find their way back into this one. Chester's scream seems more shrill and weak than it in previous albums. Mike has changed his style of rap. I don't think I like it. But, their harmonies are great. Mike's singing is better than any other album in my opinion.

    Castle of Glass is definitely the best song on the album. In My Remains is the only song that resembles the "Old Linkin Park". Roads Untraveled has a very interesting arrangements of chimes. There are some good songs and some good ideas for songs, but the album doesn't work as a whole. I doubt there are many people who would ever feel like listening to all the songs on the album at any given time because the tone changes so dramatically. It's like a bunch of puzzle peaces that don't fit together. The album doesn't tell a story like their previous albums do.

    Its good, but not great.
    Expand
  3. Jun 27, 2012
    5
    I know everyone is gonna bite my neck for this but the album is not as good as A Thousand Suns. I was looking forward to the album because of all the hype surrounding it, but upon actually hearing it I have to say its score should really be mixed or average because my feeling listening to this album was mixed and its really just an average album.
  4. Jul 1, 2012
    5
    LP has lost their edge. They're going for second best, and it seems to be working for most people. I was much more impressed with A Thousand Suns as I heard many more risks. Living Things doesn't live, let alone thrive. It uses the exact same formula as A Thousand Suns used, except no 30 second fillers. Not a single track felt vulnerable, the entire album felt rushed, and it crushes onLP has lost their edge. They're going for second best, and it seems to be working for most people. I was much more impressed with A Thousand Suns as I heard many more risks. Living Things doesn't live, let alone thrive. It uses the exact same formula as A Thousand Suns used, except no 30 second fillers. Not a single track felt vulnerable, the entire album felt rushed, and it crushes on it's own weight before it even has a chance to breath. The album would work better as an EP with "Lost In The Echo", "Lies Greed Misery", "Castle Of Glass", "Victimized", then "Burn It Down" to close out the set. Discard the rest. Expand
  5. Jul 18, 2012
    5
    Eh, I liked A Thousand Suns way more than this. There are only four tracks here that I liked and overall, I just couldn't get into the album. I expected much more from LP and was severely disappointed by this one.
  6. Jun 27, 2012
    4
    Let me get one thing straight I understand that bands change and I was very excited to see Linkin Parks new direction when buying this album only to see that the band tugged themselfs into many directions and done mostly alt rock which doesn't refect them going bonkers at all, however the album is decent by itself when compared with other LP albums it isn't very great and probably equal toLet me get one thing straight I understand that bands change and I was very excited to see Linkin Parks new direction when buying this album only to see that the band tugged themselfs into many directions and done mostly alt rock which doesn't refect them going bonkers at all, however the album is decent by itself when compared with other LP albums it isn't very great and probably equal to A Thousand Suns or Minutes To Midnight. However for people who barley knew of LP would probably find this album great but in my opinion it really only shows their alt rock style with a couple of Electronic Head Bangers such as Lies Greed Misery. Expand
  7. Jun 26, 2012
    4
    Linkin Park ha hecho un album, en ciertos momentos torpe, en otros momentos fuerte, mas sin embargo un album muy decepcionante, he sido fanatico de trabajos como "A Thousand Suns" y "Minutes To Midnight", el resultado en este album es una seria de canciones que conviven entre si con gran fluides, pese a esto la misma serie de canciones suena como un chicle masticado al derecho y al reves aLinkin Park ha hecho un album, en ciertos momentos torpe, en otros momentos fuerte, mas sin embargo un album muy decepcionante, he sido fanatico de trabajos como "A Thousand Suns" y "Minutes To Midnight", el resultado en este album es una seria de canciones que conviven entre si con gran fluides, pese a esto la misma serie de canciones suena como un chicle masticado al derecho y al reves a traves del album, como si no cambiara de forma en ningun momento, decepción, es una palabra mas elegante para describir el album a su maxima expresion. Expand
  8. Jul 10, 2012
    6
    Living Things is a curious compilation of all things Linkin Park, reaching from their early nu-metal approach up to their later anthemic pop-rock tendencies. But what comes out on Living Things is a bit hard to grasp. It's going to be one of those albums that fans will love or leave behind. Within all its walls of sound and garage-electronic production touch, you might get lost inLiving Things is a curious compilation of all things Linkin Park, reaching from their early nu-metal approach up to their later anthemic pop-rock tendencies. But what comes out on Living Things is a bit hard to grasp. It's going to be one of those albums that fans will love or leave behind. Within all its walls of sound and garage-electronic production touch, you might get lost in what's happening. There are some steady tracks that stand out, including "I'll Be Gone", "Castle of Glass", and the blistering "Victimized" that spans a short 1:47. The later of those three is perhaps the most interesting and arresting moment of Living Things. Too bad they didn't build the album off of the momentum generated solely off of that one track. To sum it all up, there's still a likeable Linkin Park, but after all the teasing of a return to form, this isn't the big-show-metal album many thought it would be. Expand
  9. Jun 27, 2012
    6
    The album is okay. Everyone said it sounds like they are going back to there roots but it doesn't seem like they are. The best song in my opinion is VICTIMIZED and it's only 1:44. Chester actually screams. I would hope the next album is similar to this, but with more Meteora type music.
  10. Dec 26, 2012
    6
    Whereas I still think that Bannington isn't a good singer and Shinoda isn't a good rapper they made something special out of their latest record. While aggresive stuff like 'Lise Greed Misery' would've been better as a B-side of a single release, interesting lyrics like in 'Castle Of Glass' make the whole song worth hearing. The alternative rock music gets better and better (if youWhereas I still think that Bannington isn't a good singer and Shinoda isn't a good rapper they made something special out of their latest record. While aggresive stuff like 'Lise Greed Misery' would've been better as a B-side of a single release, interesting lyrics like in 'Castle Of Glass' make the whole song worth hearing. The alternative rock music gets better and better (if you remember the strange Minutes To Midnight stuff!) and they've gathered very appealing topics. So, all in all, Living Things is definitely their best album. It's neatly produced but has still got a rough tone in it. At some parts, their singsong isn't that pleasant but you can enjoy this album nevertheless. Expand
  11. Dec 3, 2012
    5
    The hip hop beat that was heavily used in their first two albums is completely gone, and in its place is a electronica background that all pop artists are using now and days. I understand that they are trying to go for more of a melody, something that was laking in their earliest work, but it usually just doesn't work. It kinda works in Lost in The Echo, Burn It Down, and In My Remains,The hip hop beat that was heavily used in their first two albums is completely gone, and in its place is a electronica background that all pop artists are using now and days. I understand that they are trying to go for more of a melody, something that was laking in their earliest work, but it usually just doesn't work. It kinda works in Lost in The Echo, Burn It Down, and In My Remains, but you get annoyed by all of the electronica garbage they add into it. This albums sounds like LPs attempt to get into the bad dub step category of music that I hear at all of my college parties. But, on a positive note, they are evolving and Chester has really improved, which is great since he won't be able to run around and scream into his 40s. I 5 out of 10, because while the product itself is not good, LP can actually go somewhere after this album with the melody made by Chester and the electronic background. Expand
Metascore
60

Mixed or average reviews - based on 15 Critics

Critic score distribution:
  1. Positive: 4 out of 15
  2. Negative: 1 out of 15
  1. Jul 27, 2012
    80
    Bold stuff and proof Shinoda remains a richly talented creative force. [Aug 2012, p.103]
  2. Jul 18, 2012
    60
    Living Things is a very good entry that's simply not as special as its precursor. All in all, Linkin Park has always been a bit unique and the best at what they do, and they continue to excel on this album. Just don't expect too much from it.
  3. Jul 17, 2012
    60
    Too often, Living Things is the sound of a band with vast talent, but also one that hasn't figured out where to go next. [23 Jun 2012, p.52]