Living Things - Linkin Park
User Score
7.8

Generally favorable reviews- based on 291 Ratings

User score distribution:
  1. Negative: 24 out of 291

Review this album

  1. Your Score
    0 out of 10
    Rate this:
    • 10
    • 9
    • 8
    • 7
    • 6
    • 5
    • 4
    • 3
    • 2
    • 1
    • 0
    • 0
  1. Submit
  2. Check Spelling
  1. Jun 26, 2012
    10
    I kept refreshing the page to ensure that I got the first user review in. Guys and gals, IGNORE THE CRITICS. This is LP's best album since Hybrid Theory, and one of the best rock albums EVER. The amazing thing about this album is that not one song is weak or half hearted. All of them have some quality that makes them shine. The melodies are usual LP stuff, nothing out of the ordinary. What's new is a delicious mixture of electronica which means that every song is in a genre of its own. The deaf and dumb critics, while heaping praise upon smelly, skinny rock bands who can't wear a shirt decently and whose pimples show in their music, have always derided LP. We, the fans know better. I know their lyrics get heavy handed at times - they are not the best lyricists out there. But hey, the music - that INCOMPARABLE mixture of electronica and metal, coupled to earnestness about world and emotional issues, means that even a 33 year old daddy like me can't get enough of them. So go ahead and buy it without fear. LP fans will rejoice, while other rock music fans will find a remarkably consistent album that defies categorization and sounds different from everything else out there. If you're not willing to take that chance, listen to the stream on iTunes or the various videos on YouTube. I can't get myself off this album. The new Smashing Pumpkins album is good too, but the sheer bombast and ambition of Living Things keeps calling me to it. There is something to be said for the incredibly goovy rhythm section that LP have fashioned over the years. This stuff will eat Blink 182's and David Guettas of this world for breakfast. IGNORE THE CRITICS. DECIDE FOR YOURSELF. PLEASE. Expand
  2. Jun 26, 2012
    10
    While it's not the best album of 2012, it certainly is a return to form for a band who lost their way with their previous release. There are only two bad songs on this record (Lies Greed Misery and Until It Breaks) and one "okay" song (Roads Untravelled). Other than the aforementioned this is a solid release by Linkin Park with a semi-new sound and songs that could have been recorded during their Meteora days. I thought I would hate this record but I was wrong. I highly recommend this to all Linkin Park fans! Expand
  3. Jun 26, 2012
    10
    Living Things is easily one of Linkin Park's best records. Opens big with ''Lost In The Echo'' and continues like that for the next 5 songs, and then slows down in ''Castle of Glass'' which is to me the best song on the album. Next track, ''Victimized'' is a heavy, rap-metal track which proves that LP still rocks. Then is the first ballad on the album, ''Roads Untraveled'' which is a beautiful, slow song. ''Skin to Bone'' is one of my favourites, it's a slow song with electro beats. Then is ''Until it Breaks'', which is an experimental rap track with a sung outro. Tinfoil and Powerless finish the album beautifully, and make you love Living Things. Overall 10/10. Any normal human being would love this album. Expand
  4. Jun 26, 2012
    10
    CASTLE OF GLASS. Enough said. As a massive LP fan, this is a solid listen. The critics are simply incorrect. This is a modern LP matured Hybrid Theory/Meoteora.
  5. Jun 27, 2012
    5
    I know everyone is gonna bite my neck for this but the album is not as good as A Thousand Suns. I was looking forward to the album because of all the hype surrounding it, but upon actually hearing it I have to say its score should really be mixed or average because my feeling listening to this album was mixed and its really just an average album.
  6. Jun 26, 2012
    10
    The album is absolutely amazing. Much better than Minutes to Midnight and a Thousands suns. Linkin Park have merged what everybody first loved them for (ear splitting choruses and heavy beats) with some of the best parts of their new experimental albums (the electronica) to create a best of both world album that easily sits with Hybrid Theory at the top of Linkin Park's albums.
  7. Jul 3, 2012
    8
    It's hard to not have sympathy for the guys in Linkin Park. They became popular with two (well, two and a half) albums when Nu-Metal was "the thing" which gave them one set of fans. Then they took a hard left turn and made two radically different albums that are heavy on electronica and light on the rap and nu-metal overtones. This shift gave them a whole different set of fans. Neither set of /hardcore/ "one-or-the-other" fans will be happy with "Living Things". ||| IN MY OPINION, Living Things is an album that fits smack in the middle of the two opposing points. The album is heavy on electronica, but doesn't slight the guitars, and the Hybrid Theory/Meteora era angst-ridden screams are back in full force in several tracks. And then there's tracks that will appeal to the A Thousand Suns and Minutes to Midnight crowd. ||| All told, this album feels like Linkin Park is happy where they are and have struck a medium between what they were and what they had become. Unfortunately, many fans of a particular sound will simply dismiss the album as a failure but in my opinion, as listener who consistently places Meteora at the top of my personal favorite LP albums, Living Things is a triumph. ||| My only complaint is that I wish the album was twice as long! Expand
  8. Jun 26, 2012
    10
    I am a true Linkin Park fan. I love all of their stuff from Minutes to Midnight to Reanimation. This album, topped them all. All of the songs are so beautiful in their own way. Whether it is Roads Untravelled, a depressing, yet somewhat hopeful song, to Powerless, a heartbreak ballad. They are all masterpieces and the group still has it.
  9. Jun 27, 2012
    1
    My score: 1 (for Burn It Down and Lies Greed Misery)... The rest of the record SUCKS!
    I really miss the band that brought us Numb, Crawling, Faint, In the End...
  10. Jun 26, 2012
    10
    lo mejor de Linkin Park es no haberse quedado en el pasado. es dificil para mi entender ciertas criticas de trabajos anteriores pidiendo lo que jamas llegara que es la repeticion de sus primeros trabajos, Linkin park busca seguir un camino y no quedarse atras como lo sucedido con otras bandas de sus inicios y este album es justo el resultado de todo lo anterior y eso me satisface. mi unica critica es que pido mas una vez que termina la ultima cancion y justamente eso dudo que sea negativo. Expand
  11. Jun 26, 2012
    7
    Amazing combination of heavy guitars and electronic sounds, mind-blowing production, more than a few breathtaking lyrics and some of the best songs Linkin Park has done for sure.
  12. Jun 26, 2012
    10
    I've been a devout fan of Linkin Park for many years now, and they have yet to disappoint me. While I feel that Hybrid Theory and Meteora were their best albums, I also feel that Minutes to Midnight and A Thousand Suns were excellent and interesting in their own ways. Now, with Living Things, it seems that Linkin Park have blended the best elements of those albums to create a cohesive and enjoyable new record. "Lost in the Echo," the opening track, has a Meteora-esque sound that sees Mike Shinoda rapping and Chester Bennington singing against a backdrop of heavy guitar riffs and textured electronics. "In My Remains" reminds me of "New Divide" stylistically, and "Burn It Down" is the catchy electro-rock anthem that was released as the first single from the album. "Lies Greed Misery" and "Victimized" both feature aggressive rapping from Mike and Chester's signature screams. "I'll Be Gone" features a string arrangement by Owen Pallett (longtime Arcade Fire collaborator) and bears a resemblance to "What I've Done" from MTM. "Castle of Glass" is a subdued and atmospheric song that gradually grows heavier, and "Roads Untraveled" is a melodic ballad on which both Mike and Chester sing. "Skin to Bone" is perhaps the most unusual song on the album, with a Depeche Mode kind of sound. "Until It Breaks" is a multi-sectioned, hip-hop-oriented song that mainly features Mike's rapping but also sees guitarist Brad Delson on lead vocals toward the end of the song. "Tinfoil" is an instrumental, similar to "Session" on Meteora. The final track, "Powerless" is a soaring power ballad driven by Chester's wonderful voice.

    I have very few complaints with this album. The vocals are great, the instruments are great, the lyrics and composition are great. The final result is a mature and introspective blend of alternative rock, electronica, nu-metal, and hip-hop; and more importantly, Linkin Park's best album in years. In the end, I was once again impressed by Linkin Park, and I hope to see them on tour.
    Expand
  13. Jun 26, 2012
    10
    The album starts off with LOST IN THE ECHO, opening with pounding bass, blistering raps, and screaming from Chester. While it does have that classic LP feel to it, it is made different and more modern with the addition of heavy layers of electronics.

    The wonderful thing about LIVING THINGS is that each some has something unique that other songs do not. Aforementioned LOST IN THE ECHO
    has that classic LP feel with heavy, almost dubstep-esque, electronics. IN MY REMAINS shifts to a military drum beat as Mike sings 'Like an army falling one by one by one'. BURN IT DOWN is the radio single, while LIES GREED MISERY is the hi-speed track that tries to 'punch you in the face'. I'LL BE GONE has impressive string work by Arcade Fire's Owen Pallett, while CASTLE OF GLASS takes a stark experimental turn which would be best described has 'electro-folk-rock'. VICTIMIZED is an extremely heavy high speed song that has heavy screaming, amazing blast beat drum work, and heavy fast raps.

    The next few tracks deal with more experimentation: ROADS UNTRAVELED features a jingle melody as the track focuses on the interplay of the singing of Chester and Mike. SKIN TO BONE features a long warming melody to best describe it (as in singing one multiple notes on one 'breath' without actual singing). UNTIL IT BREAKS is the heavy, booming, hip-hop song with a goodness of 90s hip-hop references and possibly Mike Shinoda's best work of his career. The album ends with TINFOIL and POWERLESS (the later being the 'intro' instrumental track leading into the next). POWERLESS truly shows that Linkin Park knows how to end an album and displays Chester screaming/shouting/yelling/whatever without any hint of angst or 'growling'.

    LIVING THINGS is not meant to be groundbreaking; it is meant to be a firecracker album that is full of energy and keeps the listener interested the whole way through. Living Things perfectly achieves this goal, with each song keeping the listener 'alive' instead of dragging on.

    But LIVING THIINGS has also achieved something else that its original purpose might not have been: to bring something that all LP fans will love. Many fans deserted the band when they went through the experimental Minutes to Midnight and A Thousand Suns phases. However, this album brings back the 'nu-metalz' that the previous fans loved along with the experimentation, creativity, and 'heart fullness' that were present in the aforementioned albums.

    If you have deserted Linkin Park in the past because you did not like their new style, then you should reconsider, because this album brings everything you love about Linkin Park and concentrates it into one 37-38 minute album. This one is a must buy.
    Expand
  14. Jun 26, 2012
    10
    Its a brilliant compilation of everything that defines linkin park and combines the new ideas with the emotion and power of their early works. its a instant classic of rock
  15. Jun 26, 2012
    7
    Album #5 finds Linkin Park giving off a more electronic than actual rock album. To be honest, I can
  16. Jun 27, 2012
    5
    Let me start by saying that "A Thousand Suns" is my favourite LP album and I know that I'm in the minority with that opinion but I stand by my choice. LP are one of my favourite bands but I'm not a fan-boy. In my opinion Living Things is nothing more than a mediocre album. Burn It Down is probably the only track with a memorable hook/electronic riff on the entire album. The "wall of sound" they were aiming for is evident to hear, but this detracts from the clarity of the sound and every song ends up sounding like the same tired dirge. Not to mention that some of the lyrics are laughable... "Kiss that ring" and "I'm a crack" spring to mind.

    Usually I will listen to an album continuously for a week or two, just in case it is a 'sleeper' or a 'grower'. Sadly Living Things only received 2 and half play throughs before being removed from my CD player and replaced with Dead By Sunrise.

    Best LP Album? Hardly. In my opinion Living Things is LP's weakest album to date. I'd much rather be listening to Chester's side project.
    Expand
  17. Jul 1, 2012
    5
    LP has lost their edge. They're going for second best, and it seems to be working for most people. I was much more impressed with A Thousand Suns as I heard many more risks. Living Things doesn't live, let alone thrive. It uses the exact same formula as A Thousand Suns used, except no 30 second fillers. Not a single track felt vulnerable, the entire album felt rushed, and it crushes on it's own weight before it even has a chance to breath. The album would work better as an EP with "Lost In The Echo", "Lies Greed Misery", "Castle Of Glass", "Victimized", then "Burn It Down" to close out the set. Discard the rest. Expand
  18. Jun 26, 2012
    10
    Living Things would have to be one of the greatest modern albums of all time. Not only did it take what made A Thousand Suns the amazing mind-bending experience that it was, but it also took the band's experimental work like Minutes to Midnight and also took a few hints from the electronic rock medium aswell. Mixed in with choir-tastic lyrics that made A Thousand Suns stand out, another concept, this time dealing with communication and breakdowns between relationships (Division bell much? My favourite Pink Floyd album btw), and the abilities of each of the six musically diverse members of the band creates something unique. Something we have never heard before besides A Thousand Suns, but also this sense of emotion and desperation of the song leaping into your head as you listen to the problems echoing within the music and lyrics. This record is something special. This is one to be recorded in history. Whether or not the band will continue with the tremendous electronic rock concept-experience that A Thousand Suns and Living Things produced or go in another direction for their next album is up to the band to decide. Honestly, I don't mind which direction they take next, but if they go for the same sound again, don't be surprised if their next album ends up being even better. This is their sound. They have found it. The champion sound. Expand
  19. Aug 12, 2013
    9
    As a fan of Linkin Park for nearly a decade, I honestly had to fight a little harder to enjoy Minutes to Midnight and A Thousand Suns. Minutes to Midnight had some standout tracks like "Bleed it Out" and "What I've Done" that made me forgive some of their weirder outings like "In Between" or "The Little Things Give You Away." A Thousand Suns was very epic as a whole, but some songs were hard to like. Songs like "When They Come for Me" and "Blackout" were hard for me to get into.

    If you were like me and had some conflicting views on their prior albums though, you can rest assured that this album is nothing nearly as polarizing. In fact, I'd venture to say that this is Linkin Park's most mature and best sound out of every album they've done.

    It's difficult for me to pinpoint a part of this album I dislike. For the first time, after listening to this album all the way through, I can safely say Linkin Park has created an album with few missteps, and a very unique, modern sound that blends their newer, more experimental ideas with what they're best known for. Living Things is a great album from an overall very talented band. Definitely worth a listen.
    Expand
  20. Oct 20, 2012
    3
    The problem isn't that Living Things dosen't have good songs... The problem is that there isn't enough of them to keep this album from falling apart. Songs like "Victimized" are examples of why this band lost it since Minutes to Minute. It's garbage. I mean, Burn it Down is a song filled with powerful choruses and an interesting use of new formula, but that is the only song where they seem to use there talent in a noteable way. The band mostly just added electronic sounds and stated that they created a great album. If you want to hear a great album this year, I'd pick up "Transit of Venus" by Three Days Grace. Expand
  21. Jun 26, 2012
    4
    Linkin Park ha hecho un album, en ciertos momentos torpe, en otros momentos fuerte, mas sin embargo un album muy decepcionante, he sido fanatico de trabajos como "A Thousand Suns" y "Minutes To Midnight", el resultado en este album es una seria de canciones que conviven entre si con gran fluides, pese a esto la misma serie de canciones suena como un chicle masticado al derecho y al reves a traves del album, como si no cambiara de forma en ningun momento, decepción, es una palabra mas elegante para describir el album a su maxima expresion. Expand
  22. Jun 27, 2012
    4
    Let me get one thing straight I understand that bands change and I was very excited to see Linkin Parks new direction when buying this album only to see that the band tugged themselfs into many directions and done mostly alt rock which doesn't refect them going bonkers at all, however the album is decent by itself when compared with other LP albums it isn't very great and probably equal to A Thousand Suns or Minutes To Midnight. However for people who barley knew of LP would probably find this album great but in my opinion it really only shows their alt rock style with a couple of Electronic Head Bangers such as Lies Greed Misery. Expand
  23. Jun 27, 2012
    9
    Simply i can say is that the album is better than Hybrid Theory And Meteora....I liked A Thousand Suns more than Living Things......but still this record holds its ground..........a must buy album.................
  24. Jul 2, 2012
    10
    another great album from the greatest band....the new album is better than ats and mim...though not good as hbt and meteora...there are a couple of good songs...
  25. Oct 15, 2012
    10
    Linkin Park made it! This album is really a pleasant surprise and a proof that Linkin Park deserve their good stature as a rock band. I love all song of this one, it's an album I can listen to over and over again. A perfect job from Linkin Park; this is gonna be one of my top contenders for the best album of 2012.
  26. Jul 7, 2012
    10
    Welcome back LP! The last two albums, while very good, fell short of Meteora and Hybrid Theory. This one pumps it out on all cylinders. It is very much a return to something you can crank up with the windows down and pump your fist to. A few ballads lighten the load, but it makes the true rock tracks stand out. Lies Greed Misery is stellar and easily one of my favorites. DO NOT LISTEN TO THE CRITICS unless you are not a Linkin Park fan, in which case what the heck are you doing reading this? The more I have listened to this album, the more I have loved it. Expand
  27. Jun 26, 2012
    9
    This is an incredible album, they decided to make something different despite what people said and came with this masterpiece.
  28. Jun 26, 2012
    10
    Living Things is easily one of best rock albums ever made. Every song on the record has its own recognition and power. I have been listening to Linkin Park ever since I was a kid and they always sound awesome. DON'T LISTEN TO CRITICS! They don't even understand the intensity of the awesomeness of this album. "Lost in the Echo", "In My Remains", "Castle of Glass", and "Roads Untraveled" are my favorite on the album. "Lies Greed Misery" is a catchy dubstep/rock/rap track which sounds nothing like Skrillex as reviewed by the critics. "Tinfoil" is an amazing instrumental, literally gives you chills and the way it connects with "Powerless" which closes the album is epic. THIS ALBUM IS A MUST LISTEN. LINKIN PARK, FOR THE WIN! Expand
  29. Jun 26, 2012
    9
    This review contains spoilers, click expand to view. 1. LOST IN THE ECHO (8/10) - I really felt this song was Mike back in form. The rapping had a great flow over a heavy electronic instrumental. I loved the raw energy that Chester brought in the chorus, along with the screams. 2. IN MY REMAINS (8/10) - This song really left me wanting more. I loved the song structure of the song, and the lyrics are definitely an improvement from their first three albums.

    3. BURN IT DOWN (7/10) - This song really didn't blow me away at all. It's a decent song, but it got boring really quick. 4. LIES GREED MISERY (7/10) - Another song that didn't leave a real big impression. I think this song would have been better as an instrumental.

    5. I'LL BE GONE (9/10) - Some of Linkin Park's best lyrics yet. Though with all the hype going around it, I was expecting more from Owen Pallett, who did the string arrangement on the song. It may have been the quality of the rip, but I could barely make it out. 6. CASTLE OF GLASS (9.5/10) - One of a few songs that are incredibly inspired by folk. It really exceeded my expectations.

    7. VICTIMIZED (10/10) - This song goes from folk music, to metalcore, to hip hop, and back to metalcore in just a short 1 minute 50 second song. It's a whole lot of song in not a whole lot of time, which is what makes this song epic. 8. ROADS UNTRAVELED (9.5/10) - A huge piano driven song with some of the most emotional lyrics I have heard from the band. 9. SKIN TO BONE (10/10) - Tied for being my favorite off of the album, this song has a death-folk feel to it, but being totally electronic. This is really Mike at his best as far as singing goes, and I hope that more stuff in the future sounds like this from them.

    10. UNTIL IT BREAKS (10/10) - Again tied for being my favorite, this song goes from full on Rasta Shinoda over an electronic beat, to Chester wanting strength from the rising sun, back to Rasta Shinoda to a more organic instrumental, to Brad singing what sounds like a church hymn. It may seem random, but they totally work together really well.

    11. TINFOIL / POWERLESS (9/10) - I didn't want to rate these two tracks seperately, since TINFOIL is really just the intro to POWERLESS. I love the epic feeling to it.
    Expand
  30. Jun 26, 2012
    10
    Living Things is a combination (A
  31. Jun 26, 2012
    10
    LIVING THINGS, is an AWESOME album, and has to be one of the best rockmainstream album out there.It's so enjoyable,this is Linkin Park in pure form, energy, big choruses, melodies, rap,scream,big beats, wall of sounds, and little of that experimentation that was introduced in A Thousand Suns. This is Awesomeness... This is Linkin Park.
  32. Jun 27, 2012
    10
    I pre ordered this album a month ago boy was it worth it. I ve been a LP fan for over nearly 12 years now, and this comes as possibly the most varied LP record yet. When mike said they ve put all the elements of their past albums in to this i was a bit skeptical, thinking it might be a jumble but hell it is one of the greatest rock albums in years. It has everything that defines LP - raps, riffs, electronica, vocals, screaming vocal, amazing choruses, hip pop beats, heavy drums and even a guitar solo here and there! I have never seen a band or an artist this versatile in their music. never. They can create music from any genre and put them together to final make a rock album. I dont think that theres a band out there that has this talent out their in modern times atleast. Lyrics wise they have improved alot over the last 10 years. Although this album has some weak lyric moments, it also has some amazing strong points as well, for instance Castle of Glass and Roads Untraveled. Critics will never fully appreciate LP, i dont know why. Cos grammys seem to be going out to the beibers, LMFAOs, but they fail to recognize such amazing music. I hope this will change.

    For me this album is beyond amazing. It has everything that i ve ever wanted from a LP album. I just wish that LP keep making such brilliant music and continue to enthrall us in years to come.
    Expand
  33. Jun 28, 2012
    10
    Living Things no pretende alucinar a sus fans con muchos sonidos nuevos.; solo quiere mantener a los oyentes expectantes de la combinación de los 12 años de carrera de Linkin Park. Cumple el propósito de dejar un tema que te guste, ya sea si te gusta Hybrid Theory, o no te gustó Minutes to Midnight o si te fascinó A Thousand Suns. Living Things es un regalo para aquellos que anhelaban canciones con más del nü metal de Meteora, pero sin descuidar su estructura experimental.

    En sus concisos 37 minutos de duración, Linkin Park deja con ganas de escuchar mucho más, porque Living Things es un disco maduro que reúne todo lo mejor de la banda, con un rock alternativo más introspectivo que nunca.

    http://negrowhite.net/musica/living-things-el-nuevo-album-introspectivo-de-linkin-park
    Expand
  34. Jun 27, 2012
    10
    Very impressed how they transitioned their sound to accomodate not only their repsected fans, but for future listners. This album will give the same fellings to young fans as Hybrid Theory did for me. These guys work very hard. Although not very pleased with their previous efforts, LP has matured its sound and thoses who grew up with them should be thankfull for that
  35. Jun 28, 2012
    9
    "Living Things", to me at least, is a masterstroke by LP. I'm a fan that has followed them since Hybrid Theory, and (at times) I find myself missing the huge-riff heaviness of the first two albums. However, listening to "Living Things", I did not miss the old ways at all. As many people have said, the album has peaks and valleys, and every single song can be defined in a unique genre. Some emotional standouts include "In My Remains", "Castle of Glass", and "Roads Untraveled". Other songs in the album will make you jump around, get pumped up, or feel like crying. All in all, LP has taken their "A Thousand Suns" sound, mixed it with their old styles, and continued their passions for lyrical connections to the fans. A great album, LP. Expand
  36. Jun 29, 2012
    9
    The band has been heading in this direction for the past 5 years or so. The album is pretty good when you listen to it out of the Hybrid Theory/Meteora context. So far liking it after the second listen, I wasn't impressed the first time. Now I can't stop playing LOST IN THE ECHO, BURN IT DOWN, I'LL BE GONE, CASTLE OF GLASS, ROAD UNTRAVELED, SKIN AND BONES (personal favorite), UNTIL IT BREAKS, and POWERLESS is just an amazing track. Don't be fooled, remove the Hybrid Theory and Meteora goggles and listen for what this is... new LP album in the direction we all knew they were eventually heading. If you want Hybrid Theory and Meteora bust those albums out and rock them! Expand
  37. Jul 3, 2012
    10
    I can't help but give this album nothing less than a 10. The Album is nothing but amazing. I am and I've always been a Freak Linkin Park fan and this album was nothing but amazing. True I was a bit disappointed with the fact that they mixed a lot of electronics in it but still the album is nothing but amazing. I love how they brought back Mike rapping along with Chester screaming. This album just shows their progress throughout the ages. Living Things' = EPIC Expand
  38. Jul 4, 2012
    10
    This album is a pure mixture of their previous albums, like "Lies Greed Misery" and "Victimized" continued the Chester-scream style, while "Roads Untraveled" and "Castle of Glass" are in A Thousand Suns style, pop/rock mixture. "Burn it Down" is the most outstanding song in the album, but I personally think "Powerless" is a masterpiece too. "Lost in the Echo" featured Mike's rap, and the rap is better than previous songs. In my opinion, this is a great album where LP is trying to satisfy both "Hybrid Theory" and "A Thousand Suns"/"Minutes to Midnight" fans, and they've did a great work, so it's a bit sad to see this album's metacritic score being lower than average. Expand
  39. Jul 18, 2012
    5
    Eh, I liked A Thousand Suns way more than this. There are only four tracks here that I liked and overall, I just couldn't get into the album. I expected much more from LP and was severely disappointed by this one.
  40. Jul 30, 2012
    6
    This felt less like a new album and more like the missing half of 'A Thousand A Suns'. Yes I liked the album. That being said, it isn't without its flaws. They use the same chord progressions in more than one song and several electronic sounds from their last album find their way back into this one. Chester's scream seems more shrill and weak than it in previous albums. Mike has changed his style of rap. I don't think I like it. But, their harmonies are great. Mike's singing is better than any other album in my opinion.

    Castle of Glass is definitely the best song on the album. In My Remains is the only song that resembles the "Old Linkin Park". Roads Untraveled has a very interesting arrangements of chimes. There are some good songs and some good ideas for songs, but the album doesn't work as a whole. I doubt there are many people who would ever feel like listening to all the songs on the album at any given time because the tone changes so dramatically. It's like a bunch of puzzle peaces that don't fit together. The album doesn't tell a story like their previous albums do.

    Its good, but not great.
    Expand
  41. Mar 11, 2013
    2
    This is the worst album ever made by Linkin Park. They call it Alternative Rock (and this is an insult to R.E.M., U2 and Oasis) but it sounds more like a techno-dance album, with a blur of something that was similar to rock or metal. All the songs (but Castle Of Glass) are awful.
  42. Oct 9, 2012
    10
    I loved this. I don't get how people can be so against this band. They don't want each record to sound the same and that isn't a problem, would you prefer them to pump out the same stuff? It's so uncreative and DEFINITELY isn't who Linkin Park are. They choose to implement so many styles and choose to be a different band, which is refreshing because lately every band is happy to produce the same dull sound. Expand
  43. Oct 14, 2012
    9
    While Linkin Park has easily acheived some 10/10 albums in the past, their last two albums have barely been worth the materials they were printed on. The same, however, can not be said for this album. LP has made something of a return to their roots, but has avoided redundancy. "Living Things" brings lyrical content superior to that of "A Thousand Suns" and "Minutes to Midnight" as well as much better music.

    Linkin Park established a style centered on Chester Bennington's vocals, Mike Shinoda's rapping, and Mr. Hahn's talents in the two items. When the term 'LP style' is used in this review, ir refers to the aforementioned.

    "Burn It Down" represents the closest this album gets to any song on "Hybrid Theory" or "Meteora," but it also does an excellent job of showing how Linkin Park is cabable of being Linkin Park and still allowing the influence of other musical styles. "Lost in the Echo" manages to be a little more melodic than "Burn It Down" and does a really good job of showing off the talents of Mr. Hahn. "In My Remains" clings a little closer to the rock genre, taking a break from the LP style while still remaining as a good track. "Lies Greed Misery" brings the LP style into more of a hard rock/metal sound and is a fairly decent effort. "I'll Be Gone" departs from the LP style, entering a very melodic rock that is pleasing to listen to. "Castle Of Glass" introduces a very somber tone to the album. This track features some prominent synth sounds over a very melody driven and well instrumented track and stands out as one of the best songs on the album. "Victimized" is a drum set heavy, double bass driven, track that should have just been left off of the album despite being vaguely reminiscent of the LP style. "Roads Untraveled" returns to a somber tone and showcases some of the better vocals on the album, as well as some of the better guitar work. "Skin to Bone" is a decent track. "Until It Breaks" features Shinoda rapping as a prominent driving force and represents something we haven't heard much of in Linkin Park's entire history. It may lean a little closer to Fort Minor, but some small ballads prevent it from being straight up rap. This song itself be the start of an entire album and is a very pleasing addition to the overall sound of "Living Things." "Tinfoil," like "Cure for the Itch" and "Session," is a small interlude, but features the piano moreso than the turntablism of Mr. Hahn. This stort interlude also provides a missed element of Linkin Park's first two albums by providing a seamless transition from "Until It Breaks" to "Powerless." "Powerless" echoes the somber tones and piano based tracks found throughout the album with parts of the song becoming very grandiose, finishing off the album on a good note, no pun intended.

    In general, this album represents a good blend of both electronic and standard music elements and also represents the first release that Linkin Park managed to actually move forward from their first two albums. For some, this may be one of the albums by which future LP albums are measured.
    Expand
  44. Mar 15, 2013
    9
    Linkin Park decided to renew with A Thousand Suns, an album that divided his fans at the turn had taken the band. They passed the nu metal that came forward, and entered in the (so trendy) electronics. Her fifth album, Living Things, aimed at a return to its origins. However, this has not happened. Unlike. Have followed the lead of the previous work, however much they offer little moments that may remind its inception.
    Lost In The Echo brand which will be heard on the album. Start with some synths that give way to a sharp guitars and rap-rock tandem that works so well to the group. Even incorporating some dubstep (even they get rid of this award). In My Remains follows roughly the same structure, with a more powerful chorus guitar full of explosions. Burn It Down is the one who comes off better than the combination of rock and electronica. Synth lines, present from the beginning, are directly irresistible. Mike Shinoda's rap remains anecdotal at this first single is one of the highlights of the album cuts.
    Linkin Park is not completely forgets his side purely rock. Hence to prove it in some songs. Greed Lies In Misery energetic, Chester Bennington has his voice to the limit.
    Linkin Park is diverging from its beginnings with Living Things in a move that was necessary if they wanted to remain a front-line group. Is there any nu metal band that enjoys the popularity of Linkin Park? The album contains some ideas that do not work or are left half, as this interlude is Tinfoil. Although it should be noted that the success is the production, which enhances the anguish of the lyrics. Living Things shows that the group has adapted and can still offer interesting topics and guitarists, even electronic trick there.
    Expand
  45. DME
    Aug 2, 2012
    9
    Overall, Living Things is an excellent album. It's unique and varied. Alas, it's not perfect. The lyrics written for SKIN TO BONE are absolutely terrible, even if the music itself is cool. And TINFOIL shouldn't of been separated from it's parent, POWERLESS, as the two tracks are simply two parts of the same song. But there are at least 10 other solid offerings to listen to. It is, however, unfortunate that these offerings barely scrape the 30-minute mark. A far too short album that could of been held back and expanded. But what the band lacks in quantity, they certainly make up for in quality. Expand
  46. Jul 15, 2012
    10
    Alot of critics these days need to understand that its music that is progressing like any other genre, just look at R&B now a days its all about partying up now, no more love songs to sooth the a broken heart.....Living Things is a great album to all those true Linkin Park fans, but the future a little more head banging wouldn't hurt either
  47. Jun 27, 2012
    8
    I remember me doing the review of A thousand suns and gave it 10/10. A thousand suns is not a bad album but when you put it next to this one it's just not that good.

    Living Things kicks off with a gem! LOST IN THE ECHO sounds similar to LP's older work but it's combined with their new electro-sound and it works great! One of the future singles!!! (10/10)

    Next is IN MY REMAINS. Heavy
    guitars in this song, no rap whatsoever and Mike joins Chester at the end of the song but this time singing. The first two songs show that LP came back to distinctive strong choruses and it works! (8/10)

    BURN IT DOWN is the first single and even though it's kinda overplayed now, it's a strong song and it was a great choice for the first taste! (9/10)

    LIES GREED MISERY is experimental. Many people love it but I'm just not so much into it. It's not that I don't like it but the sound doesn't work for me that much. (6/10)

    I'LL BE GONE is awesome! I liked it when I heard it for the first time but now I love it!!! Probably the best chorus from the album with Chester's powerful lyrics and beautiful voice! It's the first song with only Chester's singing. (10/10)

    CASTLE OF GLASS reminds me Breaking the Habit from Meteora which I love, but I didn't get into it this one much yet. It doesn't progress that much and sounds the same for a whole time. But it's not bad at all. (7/10)

    VICTIMIZED is short, fast and crazy. Sounds like the old LP but it's just missing something. (6/10)

    ROADS UNTRAVELED is the first of the two balads. Starting with Mike's singing and then Chester is joining him. Chorus is without lyrics - simple and perfect. Beautiful song ladies and gentlemen. (9/10)

    SKIN TO BONE is one of the shorter tracks which contains both Mike's and Chester's singing and many electro elements. It's not bad but doesn't feel like a big hit. (7/10)

    UNTIL IT BREAKS is Hip-Hop. It doesn't have that LP drive but it's an interesting one. It's probably most of Mike that you can hear on the entire album. Not bad but there are better ones. (6/10)

    TINFOIL is Mr.Hahn's work similar to Session from Meteora and it works as intro for the last song of the album...

    The last song is POWERLESS. Another ballad, this time it's just Chester's singing. It starts slow and evolves to the epic finish. It's one of the 3 best song from Living Things and definitely future single! (10/10)


    Living Things has 3 perfect songs, 3 really great ones and the rest is worse but definitely not bad. It's not the second coming of Meteora but that's not what we're expecting. They've grown up and have different style now which I still like and I bet you'll like it too.

    I would give Hybrid Theory (8/10), Meteora (9/10), Minutes to Midnight (7/10) and A Thousand Suns (6/10) now. This one goes next to Hybrid as the second best studio album of Linkin Park. Definitely worth of your listening.
    Expand
  48. Jun 27, 2012
    10
    Ok. So I'm not sure what the critics are thinking. Its by no means a average album. It is a very good album. There are no songs that are generic or bad. Each one has its own pros. The album itself is like LPs other albums combined into one. There are pieces of each albums sound in it. I would say overall its a 8 or 9 but I gave it a 10 because the critics are taking the score to low.
  49. Jan 7, 2013
    10
    I probably bought about 15 albums last year, and "Living Things" is probably the best album I got that year. Is it like Hybrid Theory? In my opinion no, but thats not a bad thing. It take elements from all past albums and mixed into this one. Many people may be turned away because of the electronic, which I can understand, but it doesn't bother me at all. "Skin to Bones" and "Until it Breaks" are prob my 2 least favorites on it, but I don't hate them. Is the album perfect? Absolutely not, however it is an album I enjoy very deeply and look forward to what else is to come.

    Recommended Tracks: "Lost in the Echo" 'Powerless" "In My Remains"
    Expand
  50. Jul 10, 2012
    6
    Living Things is a curious compilation of all things Linkin Park, reaching from their early nu-metal approach up to their later anthemic pop-rock tendencies. But what comes out on Living Things is a bit hard to grasp. It's going to be one of those albums that fans will love or leave behind. Within all its walls of sound and garage-electronic production touch, you might get lost in what's happening. There are some steady tracks that stand out, including "I'll Be Gone", "Castle of Glass", and the blistering "Victimized" that spans a short 1:47. The later of those three is perhaps the most interesting and arresting moment of Living Things. Too bad they didn't build the album off of the momentum generated solely off of that one track. To sum it all up, there's still a likeable Linkin Park, but after all the teasing of a return to form, this isn't the big-show-metal album many thought it would be. Expand
  51. Jun 26, 2012
    9
    Just when we thought Linkin Park reached the peak of their career they release Living Things. There is no doubt that Living Things is the best album released by Linkin Park since Meteora. Those who were let down by both Minutes to Midnight and A Thousand Suns have something in store for them. Using elements from all their albums, with emphasis on Hybrid Theory and Meteora, Linkin Park constructed and delivered a beautiful record that will satisfy their fans. Ignore what the critics say; their reviews are filled with bias and resentment towards the band. If you are a Linkin Park fan, go out and buy the record to support the band Expand
  52. Aug 8, 2012
    10
    Really good album which is like a collection of all 4 Linkin Park albums thus far. Hybrid Theory/Meteora finds will enjoy Lost in the Echo, Minutes to Midnight fans will enjoy In My Remains and I'll Be Gone whilst A Thousand Suns fans will enjoy Castle of Glass. Perfect album. LINKIN PARK are BACK!!!
  53. Jun 26, 2012
    9
    This is easily the best Linkin Park album since Meteora. It updates nu-metal for the decade, with epic production mixed with the heavy guitars to give the genre a new sound that matches the times! The first half is classic Linkin Park, where songs such as Lost in the Echo, I'll Be Gone and Victimized bring back the feel of the first two albums we all love. In the second half there is some iffy stuff, Skin to Bone is old LP fan repellent and Until It Breaks could be a Black Eyed Peas song without Chester's and Brad's verses. Then, the album closes with Powerless, which has become of my new favorite Linkin Park songs! Whether you've been a fan since Hybrid Theory or A Thousand Suns, you're more than likely to get something out of this album. Expand
  54. Sep 30, 2012
    7
    Living Things is good album whose highlights happen to be Castle of Glass and Powerless, which are brilliant songs, and all the others, though stylish and slick, seem to be (for me) disappointing, they are still decent songs, but they didn't stand out for me.
  55. Jun 27, 2012
    7
    There's no band doing better things than Linkin Park. They're trying to create new sounds in order to evolve musically. Livings Things is not their best effort but is a good album. Linkin Park members have talent so is no doubt that a Masterpiece is coming in a nearly future.
  56. Jul 20, 2012
    9
    While it's not the best album of 2012, it certainly is a return to form for a band who lost their way with their previous release. There are only two bad songs on this record (Lies Greed Misery and Until It Breaks) and one "okay" song (Roads Untravelled). Other than the aforementioned this is a solid release by Linkin Park with a semi-new sound and songs that could have been recorded during their Meteora days. I thought I would hate this record but I was wrong. I highly recommend this to all Linkin Park fans Expand
  57. Jun 29, 2012
    9
    let me say, as a LONG TIME LP fan, it is so nice to see they are heading back towards what they use to do best! I do not mind their new sound, but their Meteora was an album I lived by through High School. I still go back and listen to it, it is an amazing accomplishment that replaced their already amazing Hybrid Theory.
    I hope they keep up the great work!
  58. Jun 28, 2012
    10
    Castle of Glass and Roads Untravelled were my highlights of this album. I was a fan of A Thousand Suns while a lot of people weren't, this album on the other hand was amazing in so many ways. For one thing, there are more songs which feature Mike's rapping skills, something any Linkin Park fan can agree on. With that you also have some more sombre songs by Chester and some great rock ballads. There are even some songs which simply bust other genres wide open as they bless your ears with their lovely sound. This is a must have album, whether you are a LP fanatic or just an occasional listener. Best album of 2012 hands down. Expand
  59. Aug 8, 2012
    8
    i think the new album shows promise. i acknowledge that while its not their best work, it shows the return to their more aggressiveness. very solid album
  60. Sep 30, 2012
    7
    For me, Living Things is like a combination of Minutes to Midnight and A Thousand Suns, except 10x better (I personally thought those two albums were rather lacking). I liked most of the songs with some of my favourites being Castle of Glass, Lost in the Echo and In My Remains.
  61. Aug 20, 2012
    8
    Linkin Park return to their 'wall of sound' roots as the band push in new directions song-wise, but unfortunately Linkin Park have hit a double wammy with poor mixing decisions.
  62. Jul 2, 2012
    9
    This is a constant improvement from a thousand suns. It just takes time to listen carefully. Like A Thousand suns , this is an ALBUM. It is based on a certain concept . It's not like other albums with list of songs. The band is just making an attempt on adding new material, so we have to wait until the band gets the formula right .



    BAND STATUS: EXPERIMENTAL
  63. Jun 27, 2012
    6
    The album is okay. Everyone said it sounds like they are going back to there roots but it doesn't seem like they are. The best song in my opinion is VICTIMIZED and it's only 1:44. Chester actually screams. I would hope the next album is similar to this, but with more Meteora type music.
  64. Jun 27, 2012
    10
    At first, I really didn't like this album, but I gave it a chance, because the same thing happened with ATS. The first time I listened to it, I hated it, but now, it might be one of my favorite albums of all time. The same thing happened with Living Things. The only thing I still don't like is the rap part in 'Lost in the Echo', but other than that, I simply love everything. Some songs are very reminiscent of their older stuff, some songs sound like they could have been on MtM or ATS, and some songs just sound like nothing they've ever done before. It's a great combination of louder and softer songs, and after listening to it at least 50 times since I bought the album, it still doesn't bore me. If you didn't like this cd the first time you listened to it, I suggest you give it some more tries, because the first time I heard this cd, I hated it, but after a few more listens, it really grew on me. I don't think you can judge this album by listening to it only once. Expand
  65. Jun 29, 2012
    10
    the album is a massive linkin park's comeback and tracks like in my remains and roads untravelled and in my remains bring that works of earler rock bands.but tracks like i'll be gone,burn it down,castle of glass and lost in the echo ae the best tracks on the album.powerless is another geat track.In all the album is a very good album and rock fan and linkin park fan must grab it.
  66. Jun 29, 2012
    7
    Where to begin on one of my most anticipated albums of the summer? When Burn it Down dropped, I was overall very disappointed with the over use of electronic music influence, especially since both Mike and Chester had promised something different from Thousand Suns. Upon release of Living Things, I have been enjoying the healthy mix between Chester's singing and Mike's rap centered vocal talents. Rick Rubin brought some stellar executive producing to this work as he has done on more than several occasions since the 80's. Where this album lacks for me that left me disappointed was it seems that Mike Shinoda seems to be struggling to reach for his traditional anger in his rapping plus his focus on recycling old lines and the line of hip hop legends Jay-Z and Biggie Smalls, Chester seems to be now adding vocal effects to his voice that will be hard to work with live... so that leaves me wondering how concerts are going to start sounding... Also what this album has an over abundance of leaves me wondering why they did it is the over use of electronic music. While a healthier mix than Thousand Suns, it is way less Nu-Metal than Hybrid Theory and falls short of becoming a Linkin Park classic. Expand
  67. Jun 30, 2012
    7
    Overall it was a decent album. Far better than A Thousand Suns which I would give a 4 at best. It was similar to Minutes to Midnight in the sense that it started decent but dropped off during the second half. Lost In The Echo(#1), In My Remains(#2), Burn It Down(#3), Lies Greed Misery(#4) and I'll Be Gone(#5) were all pretty good but still not near the level of Hybrid Theory or Meteora which I would give a 10 to both. The album started losing me with Castle of Glass which was a disappointment. The disappointment continued for the rest of the album with Victimized(#7), Roads Untraveled(#8), Skin to Bone(#9) was a little bit better then it want back down again with Until It Breaks(#10), Tinfoil(#11) and Powerless(#12). Over all a 7.5. Expand
  68. Jul 9, 2012
    8
    Living Things is a step in a direction that sounds both familiar, and new. Now of course the old fans of LP (not true fans) will be disgusted and boycott the hell out of this album. But theres still good stuff in this music that LP fans will learn to enjoy. New stuff from good artists will grow on you which this album did for me.
  69. Jul 4, 2012
    10
    One of the best rock album of the year. Lost in the echo amazing! This album can be considerated one of the best album of entire Linkin Park's career.
  70. Jul 4, 2012
    10
    Linkin Park's "Living Things" is a very good album, and i don't understand why the critics are so incorrect with them. They deserve a Grammy Awards this year.
  71. Jul 4, 2012
    10
    I'm a real fan of Linkin Park and i'm very angry with the critics! 57 is a very low rating for this EXCELLENT album. I hope some other critics will increase this metascore.
  72. Jul 8, 2012
    8
    Living Things, fifth studio album of Linkin Park, is a new, 'hybrid' sound - combining the sound of their previous, highly experimental album, "A Thousand Suns" with their usual sound (from their previous 3 albums, more so from "Minutes To Midnight"). Despite being a bit of a change from "A Thousand Suns", I feel that it is adequately impressive compared to their previous albums. After listening to the entire album, I have identified 7 out of 12 to be tracks that I would listen to often, and 5 out of 12 to be potential favorites (favorite being "Powerless"). After rating each song on a scale out of 5 and finding the average of all 12 ratings, I rate Living Things 3.75 out of 5. Expand
  73. Jul 14, 2012
    10
    Awesome and a fantastic album!! Living things has some brilliant songs, some better than the other but all together a great album. It might be different from their others but still amazing!
  74. Jul 15, 2012
    8
    It's sad that this album has a lower review than most of the Justin Beiber albums. This album is highly underrated. I saw almost nothing in the reviews that praised the band's creativity, use of experimentation and even folk music elements, and their mastery of melody that will keep you singing their songs for a long time to come. Sure, it's no Hybrid Theory or Meteora. Those albums are classics that are impossible to re-create, but I still feel LP is one of the best rock bands out there today, and they aren't afraid to just do whatever they want. It's still great music that doesn't rely on two songs to make the album. Most of the songs on here have an epic kind of vibe. Music that you would think about while overcoming a great obstacle and achieving your goals. The second half of the album goes into more experimental territory, and becomes a little bit simpler, and then the album ends on a grand note of "Powerless." Lyrically, Linkin park has never been strong or particularly deep, and the same is said with this album. The thing is, it's not always about the lyrics. When the music is great, I don't really care, because to me, great music is what makes a great band. Granted, the album has a couple problems, but they are easy to overlook. This band writes all of their own music, and they have some great ideas. So the fact that Justin Beiber is getting better praise from the critics just proves to me that sometimes critic accountablility just isn't there sometimes. And if you're a huge fan of Linkin Park's first two albums, who has been extremely disappointed with their last two efforts, then I wouldn't recommend picking this up. While it's closer to their first two albums, and has some of the same elements, it is a completely different entity. I would suggest not being stuck on their first two, and opening your mind, much like they have, and never expect them to tread that ground again. Hope you enjoy it! Expand
  75. Jul 17, 2012
    9
    While not the strongest Linkin Park album, Living Things represents a return to form. The band seems to be through with experimenting and is comfortable in their skin again. Some of my favourite Linkin Park songs can be found on this album. It offers plenty of emotion both lyrically and vocally, and it is great to hear the rap/rock interplay between Chester and Mike in full effect! It's not the best Linkin Park album, but it's still a good one! Expand
  76. Jul 21, 2012
    10
    yet another Linkin Park album that grows on you as you keep listening to it. Like Shinoda said, it isn't a return to hybrid theory, but to their roots, All the songs are impressive, except maybe Until It Breaks, which gets you hooked after 3-4 listens. Here's a Track by Track Review

    Lost In the Echo : The legendary vocal interplay between Chester and Mike returns, with a decent amount
    of synth and guitars.
    In My Remains : Purely Alternative Rock and Chester shines again. Though the line " one by one by one " is addictive, it seems funny on the first listen
    Burn It Down : An energetic synth rock track, and a powerful performance from both Mike and Chester.
    Lies Greed Misery : A heavily electronic rap track influenced by the tribal drumbeats of "When They Come for Me", Chester's first full on screaming section in the album is brilliant
    I'll be Gone : While sounding like a potential Dead By Sunrise song, it's edgy and gets the listener hooked to the opening riff. Owen Pallet does a nice job with the strings
    Castle Of Glass : WOW!! WOW!! WOW!! Similar to the vocal interplay in Burning in The Skies, but a much much better song.
    Victimized :Nu-Metal fans, this one's for you. Majority of the credit for this song goes to the unsung hero of the track, ROB BOURDON.
    Roads Untraveled : Reminded me of the poem by Robert Frost, and the intro to My
    Expand
  77. Dec 26, 2012
    6
    Whereas I still think that Bannington isn't a good singer and Shinoda isn't a good rapper they made something special out of their latest record. While aggresive stuff like 'Lise Greed Misery' would've been better as a B-side of a single release, interesting lyrics like in 'Castle Of Glass' make the whole song worth hearing. The alternative rock music gets better and better (if you remember the strange Minutes To Midnight stuff!) and they've gathered very appealing topics. So, all in all, Living Things is definitely their best album. It's neatly produced but has still got a rough tone in it. At some parts, their singsong isn't that pleasant but you can enjoy this album nevertheless. Expand
  78. Aug 9, 2012
    9
    I really like this album one of their top three albums after Meteora (The best) and Hybrid Theory, I admire Chester's performance on this album especially LIES GREED MISERY and POWERLESS, I think any song of the album deserves to be the lead single of the album more than BURN IT DOWN but I love it too so that means that all the album is perfect, it's only disadvantage that it's very short, it's an EP to me and I needed more music Expand
  79. Dec 23, 2012
    7
    i think a lot of us LP fans can agree that living things is a step up from a thousand suns. burn it down and lies greed misery are the best two tracks from the album, and castle of glass is really good too. however, i still think that meteora will always be LP's best album.
  80. Nov 22, 2012
    9
    Best rock album I've ever heard
  81. Nov 13, 2012
    8
    Living Things is not better than a thousand suns but some songs are really awesome like CASTLE OF GLASS, BURN IT DOWN & POWERLESS. LOST IN THE ECHO is also a good song but it's lyrics are really disappointing. I love linkin park and I will love them till death. Don't listen to these critics, listen to me. It is a very good album.
  82. Dec 3, 2012
    5
    The hip hop beat that was heavily used in their first two albums is completely gone, and in its place is a electronica background that all pop artists are using now and days. I understand that they are trying to go for more of a melody, something that was laking in their earliest work, but it usually just doesn't work. It kinda works in Lost in The Echo, Burn It Down, and In My Remains, but you get annoyed by all of the electronica garbage they add into it. This albums sounds like LPs attempt to get into the bad dub step category of music that I hear at all of my college parties. But, on a positive note, they are evolving and Chester has really improved, which is great since he won't be able to run around and scream into his 40s. I 5 out of 10, because while the product itself is not good, LP can actually go somewhere after this album with the melody made by Chester and the electronic background. Expand
  83. Jan 11, 2013
    9
    Not as bold as their previous album, or as "screamy" as HB+Meteora, Living thing is nevertheless a masterpiece coming from a talented band. The songs, raging from more "familiar sounds" such as Lost in the Echo and Victimized, to "softer pieces", like Castle of Glass and Roads Untraveled, have a great expressive force, one which is translating well to their live performances
  84. Jan 24, 2013
    7
    This album ranks among the higher of Linkin Park full cd's they have put out. I would not say it is as good as Meteora or Hybrid Theory, but it is better than Minutes to Midnight and a Thousand Suns in my opinion. The highlights for me are "Victimized", "Lies greed misery" and "Until it Breaks". I think these show the best combination and melding of styles that they were hoping for without losing any edge or quality. The rest of the CD is "meh" but better than the aforementioned previous attempts at multi-genre meshings. Expand
  85. Mar 26, 2013
    10
    best album of 2012 no doubt................................................................amazing is a simple word to describe the album....................................
  86. Apr 11, 2013
    7
    Linkin park return with their 5th studio album. After the fan hated (but my personal favourite) a thousand suns, Linkin park have decided to refine their sound. The clear concept they were trying to work upon was the hybrid of their old and new work. Heavy guitars have been substituted with bubbling synths. Mikes raps have been paired with touching vocal performances and Chester is more melodic than ever. This is all reminiscent of what happened on a thousand suns. Where the old stuff comes into play, is the structure. they are short radio ready songs that will grab your attention, like hybrid theory and meteora.

    But this is also the downfall of the album. they will grab your interest immediately, but i felt this interest fades away after the first month or two, where as their previous albums seem to be listenable even years after.

    This however, does not stop this from being a great album. For me it is one of the better albums of 2012. Songs like burn it down, road's untraveled and powerless are sure to become favourites of Linkin parks huge fan base, but there will still be those who denounce the new style because of their attachment to Linkin parks nu metal days. Definitively worth a listen whether your a fan of the new or old Linkin park, because there is at least one song on this album that you will love.

    For me the short radio accessible structure of the album is its downfall. Most of the songs are good but never reach their true potential, this is evident in the vocal performances in "lost in the echo" and "in my remains". But there is something that keeps me coming back to this album. It feels strangely unique and Linkin park should be commended for that, especially in an age where no music seems to be original. Hopefully there next outing will be of true greatness. I give this album a solid 7 out of 10.
    Expand
  87. Oct 1, 2013
    10
    Easily my favorite album from last year! Im listening to the whole album right now! Almost as good as Hybrid Theory!!! LINKIN PARK FOR LIFE!!!!!!!!!!!!!!
  88. Sep 27, 2013
    9
    while, not perfect it's a great album, and i enjoyed the majority of the songs from it. not their best album though, (i preferred hybrid theory more), it's definitely a close second.
  89. Feb 3, 2014
    9
    This review contains spoilers, click expand to view. Seriously..... i am loving the "new" linkin park much more that the "old" linkin park. A thousand suns blew me away completely after a few listens...... i think its the best album they have released ever.....
    when lp announced that they would release living things, i thought that they would actually build on sound that they created in thousand suns...... but it was quite the opposite...... even though they had a lot of electronica from the previous album...... this album consists of more catchier songs with the conventional sound structure......
    this is a brilliant album and really good lyrics about personal relationships.... although i found it less unique than a thousand suns......
    elements from the first two albums have been incorporated in the songs...... with chester screaming more that what he did in the previous albums.....
    highlights of the album are "lost in the echo", "until it breaks", "roads untravelled" and "castle of glass"......
    sometimes you may feel that some parts of the songs would have sounded better with guitars..... for instance.... burn it down......
    none of the linkin park albums have disappointed me...... and hopefully the 6th album is bigger and better that the living things......

    score 9/10
    Expand
  90. Jul 10, 2014
    8
    Lost In The Echo (9.25) This is one of the most crazy tracks I have ever had mess with my brain. I used to like it alot less and I think Linkin Park knows why. The lyrics in this song really connect with me and the chorus has the most powerful lines in the song. I love when Shinoda is talking to his haters and asking them 'hows that working out it the back.' The song does have a reference to a scar and I do think my scar is growing on me. I think the main premise behind this track is how he delivers it and how it sounds like he is spitting bars to the people he doesn't like to let them know what's up.

    In My Remains (9) I think the opening riffs are really harmonic. Chester's vocals are really great I think because of the type of music that his voice is associated with. The constant use of the chorus really defines the song as unique. The riffs are pretty standard throughout the song but they do sound good and live up to the Linkin Park name.

    Burn It Down (9.25) This was the first single off this album and the melody is very catchy. I love listening to it loud. The chorus is great and with the NuMetal/electronica elements and the DJing, makes the song stand out. Linkin Park takes their formula of using two lead singers with two different styles and incorporate it very well in all of their tracks.

    Lies Greed Misery (8) This track starts off with an offbeat rap with Shinoda and goes into a melodic loop of Chester chanting the chorus. My favorite part of this song is when the lyric of 'you did it to yourself' comes on, and I think about all the stupidity that everyone I don't like projects online. The end of the song gives the screamo fans something to really appreciate about this song.

    I'll Be Gone (9) The track incorporates builds very well in the music with good sounding lyrical delivery. The overall sound of this track sounds more mainstream rock and when the melody changes is when it gives a great sound for the listener. The ending is my favorite part because it kind of builds on my thoughts about the track before this.

    Castle Of Glass (9.25) This is my favorite song on the album because of the awesome music video associated with it and how it promotes the Military. The instrumentals build all throughout the song and the chorus with the mainstream guitars are really great and help deliver a good tempo.

    Victimized (7) The instrumentals start out crazy in this song, followed by a melodic rant to begin the song. For this song, Linkin Park relies more of a rap tone in their lyrics that might sway some people who are fans of the hip-hop/rap community like myself. But it is really short and doesn't really blend with the next track that well I think.

    Roads Untraveled (8.5) The whole feel of the album changes on this track. With good Piano to reset the mood. The calm builds associated with the calm tempo really makes this track one of the best ones on the album to relax to. The semi heavy guitars with a great tone with the melodic chant is the highlight of the song for me along with the elements of Piano thrown in all throughout the song.

    Skin To Bone (7.5) This song has some techno influences which really makes it sound good to me because it sounds unique. The song doesn't really change from it's normal sound with the instruments but it really doesn't bother me that much because of the pitches that change within Chester's voice throughout the song.

    Until It Breaks (7.5) This track displays more of the rap side of Linkin Park kind of like Shinoda's side project of Fort Minor. The lyrics in the song which are a heavy factor in all rap projects along with the beat are really complex and I like them. The beginning of the song is kind of 'off' to me though. But that is just my opinion. Near the ending though, the song gets more melodic and changes the mood which was cool I thought.

    Tinfoil (7.5) I thought the sounds in this track were excellent but it felt like that Linkin Park just made this track because they didn't want to make anymore full songs or material. Either way, the sounds were really great and that is what prevented me from giving this extro and lower score.

    Powerless (9) This song was featured in the Abraham Lincoln vampire hunter movie and I think this song is a great way to finish this album up. The soothing melody, chorus, and instrumentals really give this track a unique feel and a good track to listen to for someone who isn't as keen in the heavier music scene to be introduced to Linkin Park.

    I would have given this album a nine if there were more tracks, and if it could have held up to A Thousand Suns.
    Expand
  91. Mar 13, 2014
    10
    Linkin Park has changed a bit but your style does not mean that this album there are two songs not great songs that deserve mention are:
    Lost In The Echo: the beats of music are not electronically but not most and why music is not one of the best, why, rap by mike and sedge of electronics with the battery are entitled to alternative
    Lies Greed Misery: the Music which makes a rap
    criticizes our society besides mix different beats never seen before Expand
  92. Jun 26, 2014
    10
    This album displays further progress along the new electronica influenced style Linkin Park first introduced to us with their past two albums (more so in A Thousand Suns than Minutes to Midnight). Though this new style has faced a good deal of criticism from old time Linkin Park fans, the incredible talent displayed in Living Things is simply staggering. I myself have been a diehard Linkin Park fan since before their style had begun to change, yet this album has still managed to rank itself as my favorite of Linkin Park's works, topping even Hybrid Theory itself, an undeniable classic. Expand
Metascore
60

Mixed or average reviews - based on 15 Critics

Critic score distribution:
  1. Positive: 4 out of 15
  2. Negative: 1 out of 15
  1. Jul 27, 2012
    80
    Bold stuff and proof Shinoda remains a richly talented creative force. [Aug 2012, p.103]
  2. Jul 18, 2012
    60
    Living Things is a very good entry that's simply not as special as its precursor. All in all, Linkin Park has always been a bit unique and the best at what they do, and they continue to excel on this album. Just don't expect too much from it.
  3. Jul 17, 2012
    60
    Too often, Living Things is the sound of a band with vast talent, but also one that hasn't figured out where to go next. [23 Jun 2012, p.52]