Living Things

Living Things Image
Metascore
60

Mixed or average reviews - based on 15 Critics What's this?

User Score
7.8

Generally favorable reviews- based on 331 Ratings

Your Score
0 out of 10
Rate this:
  • 10
  • 9
  • 8
  • 7
  • 6
  • 5
  • 4
  • 3
  • 2
  • 1
  • 0
  • 0
  • Summary: Personal relationships influenced the lyrics on the fifth album produced with Rick Rubin for the alternative rock band.
Buy On
Score distribution:
  1. Positive: 4 out of 15
  2. Negative: 1 out of 15
  1. Q Magazine
    Jul 27, 2012
    80
    Bold stuff and proof Shinoda remains a richly talented creative force. [Aug 2012, p.103]
  2. 75
    What remains is a barrage of cyber-metal elbow jabs, with just enough fluffy new-wave padding to soften the onslaught.
  3. Jun 27, 2012
    70
    It doesn't stay still, it peaks and ebbs, flowing steadily between brooding and explosions of repressed rage, a fitting soundtrack for aging rap-rockers who are comfortable in their skin but restless at heart.
  4. Jun 25, 2012
    60
    While it lacks the finesse of the band's previous work, somewhere in amongst all the bluster, soul-searching, adrenaline and anger, the record carves out a space where everything seems to fit together.
  5. Jun 25, 2012
    60
    Living Things feels more like consolidation than advancement, perhaps in an attempt to pacify fans alienated by the new direction, while keeping new converts interested, too.
  6. Jun 25, 2012
    60
    By refusing to play it safe, they'll further diminish their original fanbase, but such boldness is to be applauded.
  7. 20
    Breaking down barriers is not the forte of Top 40 rock music, but when you can't tell the difference between a Linkin Park track and something produced by a plebeian confusing dance beats for real drums, something has to give.

See all 15 Critic Reviews

Score distribution:
  1. Positive: 84 out of 99
  2. Negative: 4 out of 99
  1. Mar 13, 2014
    10
    Linkin Park has changed a bit but your style does not mean that this album there are two songs not great songs that deserve mention are:
    Lost
    Linkin Park has changed a bit but your style does not mean that this album there are two songs not great songs that deserve mention are:
    Lost In The Echo: the beats of music are not electronically but not most and why music is not one of the best, why, rap by mike and sedge of electronics with the battery are entitled to alternative
    Lies Greed Misery: the Music which makes a rap criticizes our society besides mix different beats never seen before
    Expand
  2. Oct 9, 2012
    10
    I loved this. I don't get how people can be so against this band. They don't want each record to sound the same and that isn't a problem,I loved this. I don't get how people can be so against this band. They don't want each record to sound the same and that isn't a problem, would you prefer them to pump out the same stuff? It's so uncreative and DEFINITELY isn't who Linkin Park are. They choose to implement so many styles and choose to be a different band, which is refreshing because lately every band is happy to produce the same dull sound. Expand
  3. Jun 26, 2012
    10
    I kept refreshing the page to ensure that I got the first user review in. Guys and gals, IGNORE THE CRITICS. This is LP's best album sinceI kept refreshing the page to ensure that I got the first user review in. Guys and gals, IGNORE THE CRITICS. This is LP's best album since Hybrid Theory, and one of the best rock albums EVER. The amazing thing about this album is that not one song is weak or half hearted. All of them have some quality that makes them shine. The melodies are usual LP stuff, nothing out of the ordinary. What's new is a delicious mixture of electronica which means that every song is in a genre of its own. The deaf and dumb critics, while heaping praise upon smelly, skinny rock bands who can't wear a shirt decently and whose pimples show in their music, have always derided LP. We, the fans know better. I know their lyrics get heavy handed at times - they are not the best lyricists out there. But hey, the music - that INCOMPARABLE mixture of electronica and metal, coupled to earnestness about world and emotional issues, means that even a 33 year old daddy like me can't get enough of them. So go ahead and buy it without fear. LP fans will rejoice, while other rock music fans will find a remarkably consistent album that defies categorization and sounds different from everything else out there. If you're not willing to take that chance, listen to the stream on iTunes or the various videos on YouTube. I can't get myself off this album. The new Smashing Pumpkins album is good too, but the sheer bombast and ambition of Living Things keeps calling me to it. There is something to be said for the incredibly goovy rhythm section that LP have fashioned over the years. This stuff will eat Blink 182's and David Guettas of this world for breakfast. IGNORE THE CRITICS. DECIDE FOR YOURSELF. PLEASE. Expand
  4. Jan 11, 2013
    9
    Not as bold as their previous album, or as "screamy" as HB+Meteora, Living thing is nevertheless a masterpiece coming from a talented band.Not as bold as their previous album, or as "screamy" as HB+Meteora, Living thing is nevertheless a masterpiece coming from a talented band. The songs, raging from more "familiar sounds" such as Lost in the Echo and Victimized, to "softer pieces", like Castle of Glass and Roads Untraveled, have a great expressive force, one which is translating well to their live performances Expand
  5. Jul 3, 2012
    8
    It's hard to not have sympathy for the guys in Linkin Park. They became popular with two (well, two and a half) albums when Nu-Metal was "theIt's hard to not have sympathy for the guys in Linkin Park. They became popular with two (well, two and a half) albums when Nu-Metal was "the thing" which gave them one set of fans. Then they took a hard left turn and made two radically different albums that are heavy on electronica and light on the rap and nu-metal overtones. This shift gave them a whole different set of fans. Neither set of /hardcore/ "one-or-the-other" fans will be happy with "Living Things". ||| IN MY OPINION, Living Things is an album that fits smack in the middle of the two opposing points. The album is heavy on electronica, but doesn't slight the guitars, and the Hybrid Theory/Meteora era angst-ridden screams are back in full force in several tracks. And then there's tracks that will appeal to the A Thousand Suns and Minutes to Midnight crowd. ||| All told, this album feels like Linkin Park is happy where they are and have struck a medium between what they were and what they had become. Unfortunately, many fans of a particular sound will simply dismiss the album as a failure but in my opinion, as listener who consistently places Meteora at the top of my personal favorite LP albums, Living Things is a triumph. ||| My only complaint is that I wish the album was twice as long! Collapse
  6. Jan 25, 2016
    7
    One of the most enjoyable Linkin Park albums the best since Hybrid Theory if they had continued with this genre it would have been brilliantOne of the most enjoyable Linkin Park albums the best since Hybrid Theory if they had continued with this genre it would have been brilliant still a brilliant album. Roads Untraveled and Powerless are two of my favourite tracks on this album. Expand
  7. Jun 27, 2012
    1
    My score: 1 (for Burn It Down and Lies Greed Misery)... The rest of the record SUCKS!
    I really miss the band that brought us Numb, Crawling,
    My score: 1 (for Burn It Down and Lies Greed Misery)... The rest of the record SUCKS!
    I really miss the band that brought us Numb, Crawling, Faint, In the End...
    Expand

See all 99 User Reviews