User Score
8.4

Universal acclaim- based on 316 Ratings

User score distribution:
  1. Negative: 36 out of 316

Review this album

  1. Your Score
    0 out of 10
    Rate this:
    • 10
    • 9
    • 8
    • 7
    • 6
    • 5
    • 4
    • 3
    • 2
    • 1
    • 0
    • 0
  1. Submit
  2. Check Spelling
  1. Nov 6, 2011
    10
    A masterpiece. MF DOOM is one of the most talented rappers I have ever heard (and I've heard 100's of albums), and Madlib is one of the greatest and most diverse producers in the world. The combination of the two works extremely well, as the two have a very similar sound. This is a must for any hip hop fan to listen to.
  2. Jan 18, 2014
    10
    I can't believe it! Almost 10 years after this album came out, it's only recently that I finally get it! I was one of the people who was interested (in major part due to all the amazing reviews it was getting) but didn't "get it". I tried, but for whatever reason it never clicked w me. Well that's changed. It's incredible! To hear this album properly, play it through some really goodI can't believe it! Almost 10 years after this album came out, it's only recently that I finally get it! I was one of the people who was interested (in major part due to all the amazing reviews it was getting) but didn't "get it". I tried, but for whatever reason it never clicked w me. Well that's changed. It's incredible! To hear this album properly, play it through some really good headphones. Any doubt will be erased. It's an all-time classic! So check it out - it's aged really well & still sounds like nothing else. Expand
  3. Jul 13, 2012
    10
    This is where true rap and hip-hop is. This is what most rap artists are missing. Originality. It has it's own independent style in the lyrically and production department. Perfection, literally...
  4. Mar 9, 2013
    10
    this album might be great to you if you're into weird rap, but if you're a fan of all types of rap, this will just seem good, songs like all caps are gems
  5. Oct 24, 2013
    10
    I was going to write a review on the albums 10th anniversary, but I just couldn't wait. After almost 10 years, Madvillainy has etched itself in the history of underground hip hop and is truly a classic to hip hop listeners who appreciate very complex rhyme schemes and carefully put together production. MF DOOM (remember all caps) covers an incredibly large range of topics, and each of hisI was going to write a review on the albums 10th anniversary, but I just couldn't wait. After almost 10 years, Madvillainy has etched itself in the history of underground hip hop and is truly a classic to hip hop listeners who appreciate very complex rhyme schemes and carefully put together production. MF DOOM (remember all caps) covers an incredibly large range of topics, and each of his very clever verses are backed up perfectly by individually unique beats by Madlib. Even Madlib and his alter ego, 'Quasimoto' step in to help the Villain on the lyrics (see: America's Most Blunted, Shadows of Tomorrow). It's hard for me to put into words how great this album is, and writing a 'favourite tracks' list would be silly since this album is perfect to me, but I will name the songs that I think show both Madlib's and DOOM's skills at each their own position: Accordion, Meat Grinder, Curls, Figaro, Strange Ways, All Caps, Great Day, Rhinestone Cowboy. Expand
  6. Dec 31, 2013
    10
    This album is amazing. It's one of my favorite albums, and I am not even a big fan of hip hop. MF DOOM's imaginative rhymes and Madlib's excellent and lush production make this album one that absolutely needs to be in your collection.
  7. KevinL
    Jun 26, 2006
    10
    Wow...this is freaking dope...man this ...is the bomb...I reccomend this to all hip hop and underground rap fans.
  8. SimonN
    May 6, 2004
    10
    BUY. IT. NOW. Forget that questionable album of 2003 "Speakerboxxx/Love Below" (come on, now, what band in their right mind releases a song with the chorus "Lean a little bit closer/See, Roses really smell like poo poo poo-ooo"?). Get this Madvillain masterpiece. Jaw-droppingly brillaint - its everything you want it to be.
  9. SHarris
    Apr 4, 2004
    10
    Best Hip-Hop Album of 2004...Madlib's creative - dirty, innovative, yet soulful - productions is the perfect complement over MF Doom's calm, yet stylish voice. Furthermore, the dare to bend the rules, not making your very standard hip-hop song (verse and a course) to produce a story element that keeps the listener at the edge of their seat. Most def an "eargasm."
  10. [Anonymous]
    Apr 18, 2004
    10
    ground-breaking
  11. JasonT
    May 30, 2004
    9
    Madlib's production provides the perfect backdrop for Doom's take on things. Sure to be talked about for years to come.
  12. cathalf.
    Jan 24, 2009
    10
    Awesome album, makes some of the most original hip hop albums look unoriginal!
  13. TJ
    Aug 9, 2009
    10
    I've referred to this as my favorite album of all time in many, many occasions, and I still fully back that comment. Every single track is mindblowing.
  14. BeerRun
    Apr 17, 2007
    9
    Cool Clean sound, i am not usually a rap listener, but i would definitely recommend this album to all my rock and metal listening friends!
  15. JimmyC.
    Jul 15, 2007
    10
    God, there are so many white people on this forum.
  16. VinceH
    May 21, 2004
    10
    I have to admit I didn't like this album at first. I liked it, I just didn't LOVE it like other people did. Now it's one of my favorite CD's in my collection. It grows on you with repeated listenings so definitely spin it a few times to really get it. A complex, sprawling work that if there is any justice in the world will get nominated for some type of award.
  17. NickD.
    Mar 25, 2008
    9
    A masterpiece; at turns amusing, threatening and even downright psychopathic. Just for the record, anyone who - like Eric Y - refers to this as "rap" doesn't know of what they speak and should get back to their Fifty Cent record collection.
  18. TericD
    Nov 29, 2006
    10
    This is a an independent classic for ages to come! I was not a common Doom fan until I listened to this CD. Madlib is one of the best underground producers of all times. This was a big breath of fresh air to Hip Hop!
  19. jetblack
    Aug 1, 2004
    10
    Best HipHop Album of 2004.......
  20. BillF
    Mar 30, 2004
    10
    Best hip hop album of 2004. MF Doom is unstoppable.
  21. JonH
    Jun 30, 2004
    10
    Shockingly Genius Recording, nothing will beat this for this year unless some kind of revelation comes around.
  22. SteK
    Feb 2, 2005
    10
    Genius. Anyone who doesn't rate this album highly needs to re-assess the way they evaluate pretty much everything. Or they could just turn off MTV.
  23. SeppM
    Mar 12, 2007
    10
    an unbelievable album!!!
  24. DavidR
    Oct 22, 2004
    10
    Incredible blend of beats, rythm and dissonance. Worthy of non Hip Hop merits. Also dig on Quasimoto if you like this album.
  25. AlanR
    Dec 9, 2004
    10
    Madlib is our generation's Miles Davis and MF Doom is a grower. You need a degree of patience for this one. After that, it's magic.
  26. JK
    Mar 30, 2004
    10
    Probably the best hip-hop album in quite some time. This is truly a modern classic.
  27. LawrenceP
    Apr 7, 2004
    9
    Real hip-hop music. It will grow on you. People will be talking about this record for years. A MUST OWN.
  28. D-Rod
    Jan 14, 2005
    10
    10!!! If you dont agree that this albums a classic, you havent been listening to it long enough. Give it more than two spins and youll be hooked. This album marries classic Madlib production and the always witty genius that is Metal Face Doom. The best album by both so far in their dynamic careers is, for me, the best ALBUM of the year.
  29. MichaelN
    Jan 17, 2005
    10
    This album is a stroke of GENIUS. If you are a hardcore Hip Hop head by this album. A combination of hard underground beats by MADLIB and slick lyrical flow by MF DOOM made this album 2004's best buy. Hip Hop Classic.
  30. MattH
    Oct 7, 2005
    10
    Whoever posted anonymous was talking about Bloc Party's album, which i gave a 7.5 too heh. This however, is one of my favorite rap albums of all time.
Metascore
93

Universal acclaim - based on 20 Critics

Critic score distribution:
  1. Positive: 20 out of 20
  2. Mixed: 0 out of 20
  3. Negative: 0 out of 20
  1. A dizzying synergy of heavy brains and chemistry, culminating in blissfully fun, irreverent, and engaging brand of record-making magic.
  2. 90
    The wily creativity on display here is astonishing. [Jun 2004, p.114]
  3. Not only does it capture the unstructured verse of a masked maniac within a sheer net of plausibility, it parades his inner dementia among instrumental adornments of the highest order.