Madvillainy

User Score
8.6

Universal acclaim- based on 404 Ratings

User score distribution:
  1. Negative: 37 out of 404

Review this album

  1. Your Score
    0 out of 10
    Rate this:
    • 10
    • 9
    • 8
    • 7
    • 6
    • 5
    • 4
    • 3
    • 2
    • 1
    • 0
    • 0
  1. Submit
  2. Check Spelling
  1. Nov 6, 2011
    10
    A masterpiece. MF DOOM is one of the most talented rappers I have ever heard (and I've heard 100's of albums), and Madlib is one of the greatest and most diverse producers in the world. The combination of the two works extremely well, as the two have a very similar sound. This is a must for any hip hop fan to listen to.
  2. Jan 18, 2014
    10
    I can't believe it! Almost 10 years after this album came out, it's only recently that I finally get it! I was one of the people who was interested (in major part due to all the amazing reviews it was getting) but didn't "get it". I tried, but for whatever reason it never clicked w me. Well that's changed. It's incredible! To hear this album properly, play it through some really goodI can't believe it! Almost 10 years after this album came out, it's only recently that I finally get it! I was one of the people who was interested (in major part due to all the amazing reviews it was getting) but didn't "get it". I tried, but for whatever reason it never clicked w me. Well that's changed. It's incredible! To hear this album properly, play it through some really good headphones. Any doubt will be erased. It's an all-time classic! So check it out - it's aged really well & still sounds like nothing else. Expand
  3. Jul 13, 2012
    10
    This is where true rap and hip-hop is. This is what most rap artists are missing. Originality. It has it's own independent style in the lyrically and production department. Perfection, literally...
  4. Mar 9, 2013
    10
    this album might be great to you if you're into weird rap, but if you're a fan of all types of rap, this will just seem good, songs like all caps are gems
  5. Oct 24, 2013
    10
    I was going to write a review on the albums 10th anniversary, but I just couldn't wait. After almost 10 years, Madvillainy has etched itself in the history of underground hip hop and is truly a classic to hip hop listeners who appreciate very complex rhyme schemes and carefully put together production. MF DOOM (remember all caps) covers an incredibly large range of topics, and each of hisI was going to write a review on the albums 10th anniversary, but I just couldn't wait. After almost 10 years, Madvillainy has etched itself in the history of underground hip hop and is truly a classic to hip hop listeners who appreciate very complex rhyme schemes and carefully put together production. MF DOOM (remember all caps) covers an incredibly large range of topics, and each of his very clever verses are backed up perfectly by individually unique beats by Madlib. Even Madlib and his alter ego, 'Quasimoto' step in to help the Villain on the lyrics (see: America's Most Blunted, Shadows of Tomorrow). It's hard for me to put into words how great this album is, and writing a 'favourite tracks' list would be silly since this album is perfect to me, but I will name the songs that I think show both Madlib's and DOOM's skills at each their own position: Accordion, Meat Grinder, Curls, Figaro, Strange Ways, All Caps, Great Day, Rhinestone Cowboy. Expand
  6. Dec 31, 2013
    10
    This album is amazing. It's one of my favorite albums, and I am not even a big fan of hip hop. MF DOOM's imaginative rhymes and Madlib's excellent and lush production make this album one that absolutely needs to be in your collection.
  7. Jul 18, 2015
    10
    a very sophisticated piece of work by MF Doom and Madlib. both are very incredible producers. I love the chemistry between these two. the production is mind blowing and the lyrical dexterity that doom brings makes it even better. a classic album by two of hip hops kings. true hip hop at its finest.
  8. KevinL
    Jun 26, 2006
    10
    Wow...this is freaking dope...man this ...is the bomb...I reccomend this to all hip hop and underground rap fans.
  9. SimonN
    May 6, 2004
    10
    BUY. IT. NOW. Forget that questionable album of 2003 "Speakerboxxx/Love Below" (come on, now, what band in their right mind releases a song with the chorus "Lean a little bit closer/See, Roses really smell like poo poo poo-ooo"?). Get this Madvillain masterpiece. Jaw-droppingly brillaint - its everything you want it to be.
  10. SHarris
    Apr 4, 2004
    10
    Best Hip-Hop Album of 2004...Madlib's creative - dirty, innovative, yet soulful - productions is the perfect complement over MF Doom's calm, yet stylish voice. Furthermore, the dare to bend the rules, not making your very standard hip-hop song (verse and a course) to produce a story element that keeps the listener at the edge of their seat. Most def an "eargasm."
  11. [Anonymous]
    Apr 18, 2004
    10
    ground-breaking
  12. JasonT
    May 30, 2004
    9
    Madlib's production provides the perfect backdrop for Doom's take on things. Sure to be talked about for years to come.
  13. cathalf.
    Jan 24, 2009
    10
    Awesome album, makes some of the most original hip hop albums look unoriginal!
  14. TJ
    Aug 9, 2009
    10
    I've referred to this as my favorite album of all time in many, many occasions, and I still fully back that comment. Every single track is mindblowing.
  15. BeerRun
    Apr 17, 2007
    9
    Cool Clean sound, i am not usually a rap listener, but i would definitely recommend this album to all my rock and metal listening friends!
  16. JimmyC.
    Jul 15, 2007
    10
    God, there are so many white people on this forum.
  17. HexumS
    Jul 18, 2007
    8
    This album is pretty good, but check out a different and better album by this guy! The only thing about this other album is the subject matter is mostly about Aldult Swim. Danger Doom - The Mouse and the Mask.
  18. VinceH
    May 21, 2004
    10
    I have to admit I didn't like this album at first. I liked it, I just didn't LOVE it like other people did. Now it's one of my favorite CD's in my collection. It grows on you with repeated listenings so definitely spin it a few times to really get it. A complex, sprawling work that if there is any justice in the world will get nominated for some type of award.
  19. NickD.
    Mar 25, 2008
    9
    A masterpiece; at turns amusing, threatening and even downright psychopathic. Just for the record, anyone who - like Eric Y - refers to this as "rap" doesn't know of what they speak and should get back to their Fifty Cent record collection.
  20. TericD
    Nov 29, 2006
    10
    This is a an independent classic for ages to come! I was not a common Doom fan until I listened to this CD. Madlib is one of the best underground producers of all times. This was a big breath of fresh air to Hip Hop!
  21. Apr 20, 2016
    10
    The scariest rhymer in the 2000's paired up with a trippy, unusual producer. A masterpiece that is to live for many years, which inspired many young rappers in the game.
  22. jetblack
    Aug 1, 2004
    10
    Best HipHop Album of 2004.......
  23. BillF
    Mar 30, 2004
    10
    Best hip hop album of 2004. MF Doom is unstoppable.
  24. JonH
    Jun 30, 2004
    10
    Shockingly Genius Recording, nothing will beat this for this year unless some kind of revelation comes around.
  25. SteK
    Feb 2, 2005
    10
    Genius. Anyone who doesn't rate this album highly needs to re-assess the way they evaluate pretty much everything. Or they could just turn off MTV.
  26. ThurogoodW
    Apr 1, 2006
    7
    I enjoy the album start to finish. I would recommend it to hiphop all hiphop lovers. Its the type of album that will never be fully appreciated by the masses as it is too abstract for that. No hooks on any songs, lots instrumental time. This is the type of album that grows on you. When I first listened I was expecting more due to all the hype. When you hit play you wait for this guy to I enjoy the album start to finish. I would recommend it to hiphop all hiphop lovers. Its the type of album that will never be fully appreciated by the masses as it is too abstract for that. No hooks on any songs, lots instrumental time. This is the type of album that grows on you. When I first listened I was expecting more due to all the hype. When you hit play you wait for this guy to rap, but it takes a while, just be easy and let it play in the background...All of the sudden this dudes raps smack you in the face. When he spits, he tickles your rhyming fancy. Expand
  27. SeppM
    Mar 12, 2007
    10
    an unbelievable album!!!
  28. DavidR
    Oct 22, 2004
    10
    Incredible blend of beats, rythm and dissonance. Worthy of non Hip Hop merits. Also dig on Quasimoto if you like this album.
  29. AlanR
    Dec 9, 2004
    10
    Madlib is our generation's Miles Davis and MF Doom is a grower. You need a degree of patience for this one. After that, it's magic.
  30. JK
    Mar 30, 2004
    10
    Probably the best hip-hop album in quite some time. This is truly a modern classic.
Metascore
93

Universal acclaim - based on 20 Critics

Critic score distribution:
  1. Positive: 20 out of 20
  2. Mixed: 0 out of 20
  3. Negative: 0 out of 20
  1. A dizzying synergy of heavy brains and chemistry, culminating in blissfully fun, irreverent, and engaging brand of record-making magic.
  2. Mojo
    90
    The wily creativity on display here is astonishing. [Jun 2004, p.114]
  3. Not only does it capture the unstructured verse of a masked maniac within a sheer net of plausibility, it parades his inner dementia among instrumental adornments of the highest order.