MDNA

MDNA Image
Metascore
64

Generally favorable reviews - based on 34 Critics What's this?

User Score
6.5

Generally favorable reviews- based on 490 Ratings

Your Score
0 out of 10
Rate this:
  • 10
  • 9
  • 8
  • 7
  • 6
  • 5
  • 4
  • 3
  • 2
  • 1
  • 0
  • 0
  • Summary: Nicki Minaj and M.I.A. guest on Madonna's 12th studio album that includes production from Martin Solveig, Benny Benassi, and William Orbit, who also worked on 1998's Ray of Light.
Buy On
Score distribution:
  1. Positive: 18 out of 34
  2. Negative: 2 out of 34
  1. Play loud. She's smart and she's proud.
  2. Mar 22, 2012
    80
    When it comes to partaking in pop, MDNA has easily set itself out as 2012's go-to drug of choice.
  3. Mar 26, 2012
    75
    It's her best album since "Ray of Light" in 1998.
  4. 67
    While there are a few genuine moments of double-rainbow bliss here (check the "whoo-ooh!" chorus of "I'm a Sinner"), there's also real darkness lurking under the air-popped beats.
  5. Mar 26, 2012
    60
    It [the song "I'm a Sinner"] makes you crave her next album, not this one.
  6. Mar 26, 2012
    50
    Continuing Hard Candy's pattern of awful try-hard title and 'show the young uns you've still got it' bangers, it's disappointing in its lack of ambition.
  7. Uncut
    May 2, 2012
    30
    Madonna's 12th album has a good title and a nice cover, but that's almost as much as you can say in its favour. [Jun 2012, p.77]

See all 34 Critic Reviews

Score distribution:
  1. Negative: 31 out of 165
  1. Apr 1, 2012
    10
    I love MDNA, much better than Hard Candy.
    Best songs are "Love Spent" "Gang Bang" "Im Addicted" "Masterpiece" "Falling Free" "Im a Sinner"
    I love MDNA, much better than Hard Candy.
    Best songs are "Love Spent" "Gang Bang" "Im Addicted" "Masterpiece" "Falling Free" "Im a Sinner" "Turn up the Radio" "I **** Up" and "Beautiful Killer"
    MDNA is a great return of Madonna
    Expand
  2. Mar 27, 2012
    10
    don't judge this album on its mediocre singles! this is a proper madonna album that makes you wanna sing along and dance. Best tracks on thedon't judge this album on its mediocre singles! this is a proper madonna album that makes you wanna sing along and dance. Best tracks on the album are gang bang, superstar, i don't give a, masterpiece and the magnificent falling free (plus beautiful killer from the deluxe album). Madonna back to Ray of Light standard here :D Expand
  3. Mar 26, 2012
    10
    The queen of pop is always at her best when people try to write her off. On MDNA Madonna successfully returns to what she does best:The queen of pop is always at her best when people try to write her off. On MDNA Madonna successfully returns to what she does best: high-energy disco mixed with soulful ballads. Expand
  4. Mar 27, 2012
    8
    Not her best but no her worst. The best track of the bunch is Gang Bang with some other cuts such as I'm addicted, some girls, love spent andNot her best but no her worst. The best track of the bunch is Gang Bang with some other cuts such as I'm addicted, some girls, love spent and the should'vebeenfirstsingle Turn up the radio. Skip the childish Superstar and the embarrassing American Life-esque I Don't give a. Great album though! Expand
  5. Apr 4, 2015
    7
    Overall a good album. I'm probably one of the only people that thinks this album was actually better than Rebel Heart. I liked all the danceOverall a good album. I'm probably one of the only people that thinks this album was actually better than Rebel Heart. I liked all the dance tracks on here produced by Benny Benassi and I also liked Madonna's lyrics and singing, although I did not like the songs produced by Martin Solveig. These things add up to a B for the album. Highlights: "Gang Bang", "Girl Gone Wild", "I'm Addicted", "Love Spent". Worst song: "Superstar" Expand
  6. Feb 16, 2013
    5
    Your average club music. Nothing special here, which is about where Madonna should be at her age. Hopefully this will be her last album, andYour average club music. Nothing special here, which is about where Madonna should be at her age. Hopefully this will be her last album, and she never officially walks away from music like Cher did. Expand
  7. Mar 28, 2012
    0
    This review contains spoilers, click expand to view. The album is really bad. Having really good songs, combined with very weak songs gives you a very noticeable inconsistency. Not really digestible, it is necessary to have multiple listeners an idea of â Expand

See all 165 User Reviews