Mosquito - Yeah Yeah Yeahs
Metascore
75

Generally favorable reviews - based on 39 Critics

Critic score distribution:
  1. Positive: 29 out of 39
  2. Negative: 1 out of 39
  1. Apr 19, 2013
    82
    This fourth album, the devastatingly visceral Mosquito, does indeed find them trawling the more lugubrious recesses of their psyches and sonic proclivities.
  2. Apr 16, 2013
    83
    There’s so much pep and vinegar surging through Mosquito’s veins, such a comedown is not entirely unwelcome, and it contributes to the snarled, loopy texture that makes the album easy to get caught up in.
  3. Apr 16, 2013
    81
    Mosquito is where this band finally grooves, after long threatening.
  4. Apr 15, 2013
    88
    The payoff is the trio of reveries that closes the album: “Always,” “Despair” and “Wedding Song” build on the disarming vulnerability of “Maps,” and deepen it.
  5. 91
    They have crafted a sound that is new for them and unique in its context, but that falls neatly into what we have come to expect from a trio whose power and creativity runs consistently unchecked.
  6. Apr 15, 2013
    90
    Sounds layered upon sounds; the intricacies here may hint towards Mosquito being more of a grower than its older siblings, but it proves that Yeah Yeah Yeahs are a band to cherish.
  7. Apr 15, 2013
    90
    It combines such a variety of disparate styles that it really should not work, but Yeah Yeah Yeahs manage to tie everything together seamlessly into what is possibly their most assured and unique record to date.
  8. Apr 10, 2013
    84
    In the rural wasteland of southwestern Texas, producers Dave Sitek (of TV On The Radio fame) and Nick Launay brought life to an album that's challenging and conceptual, yet also playful and raunchy.
User Score
6.7

Generally favorable reviews- based on 57 Ratings

User score distribution:
  1. Positive: 8 out of 11
  2. Negative: 0 out of 11
  1. Apr 18, 2013
    6
    Yeah Yeah Yeahs really tried to get everyone excited for this new album. I was very excited. After seeing that strange and somewhat disturbing album cover, I knew the album would be quite interesting. It wasn't quite what I had expected. It was much more boring than I thought. Even with the collaborations in production with James Murphy and the guy from TV on the Radio, the album falls short for me. Not to say that the album sucks, but I just wanted a little bit more. The highlights are: "Sacrilege". Full Review »
  2. Sep 1, 2013
    8
    OK here's the thing you hear there is a new YYY's album coming out. You flip out. You hear they worked with Dave Sitek & James Murphy. You cannot stand the suspense. You hear 'Sacrilege' & at first you are thrown off by the gospel choir, but pretty soon it's playing on repeat in your head. THEN you get round to finally hearing 'Mosquito' in all of it's sythny, subteranean soundscape glory and your first reaction is WTF is this?? Because it doesn't resemble anything the band has done before. When they went "pop" on Blitz, people complained. And now they've gone weird, electro dub?!
    BUT IT IS BRILLIANT. Unquestionably. Give it a few listens. If it's hard, listen to 'Mosquito', 'Slave' and 'Despair' because those tracks will ease you into the new sound by retaining some of their original sound. 'Despair' completely won me over and it is now one of my favorite YYY tracks. This is an unusually brilliant record. Listen to it more than thrice.
    Full Review »
  3. Jun 11, 2013
    10
    I don't know what happened to people ears and taste as the don't appreciate the great talent of yeah yeah yeahs and run like idiots behind music of bieber and gaga shame on you people!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!! Full Review »