• Record Label: Geffen
  • Release Date: Sep 27, 2011

Generally favorable reviews - based on 18 Critics

Critic score distribution:
  1. Positive: 11 out of 18
  2. Negative: 0 out of 18
Buy On
  1. Whether it was "the right way" or not, all of the days that we have waited for Neighborhoods have been well worth it.
  2. Sep 30, 2011
    Neighborhoods could easily have been a disaster--that it's not, and actually a very successful endeavour, is worthy of substantial praise.
  3. Sep 27, 2011
    Blink-182 again delivers a record with nothing outright awful and enough dynamite songs to pack a punch at future tours.
  4. Sep 26, 2011
    Perhaps blink could stand to sharpen their words but it's better that they concentrated on their music, creating a fairly ridiculous yet mildly compelling prog-punk spin on the suburbs here.
  5. Oct 13, 2011
    This latest offering is a welcomed return and a rewarding listen for fans, both old and new.
  6. 70
    The weighty aesthetic makes the punky bombast all that more effective and fascinating but also tends to swallow it up in an ocean of melodrama.
  7. 70
    They've gone all mature, come to terms with their past and kicked on to the future too.
  8. Sep 26, 2011
    Ultimately, Neighborhoods is a slightly awkward entry in the band's catalog that shows as much potential as it does flaws.
  9. Sep 27, 2011
    Although Blink-182 has long since left its past as a bare-bones punk band behind, overwrought rock isn't its forte, either. Neighborhoods finds a nice balance between the two, but it could still use a little less fussiness.
  10. 67
    The lyrics focus on moving on, but their music can't seem to break the tether to yesterday.
  11. For every fault that Neighborhoods has--and it has quite a few--the album is infectious and catchy.
  12. Kerrang!
    Nov 15, 2011
    Neighborhoods might never quite land a knockout blow, but it certainly does enough to earn them a rematch int he future. [24 Sep 2011, p.50]
  13. Sep 28, 2011
    Here, though, watery, joke-free confessionals like "This Is Home" and "After Midnight" sound comparatively adrift.
  14. Sep 27, 2011
    Songs like "Hearts All Gone" are pitched between Black Flag and Six Flags ("I'm a little bit shy, a little bit strange and a little bit manic!" DeLonge journals). But just as often there's sophistication and introspection (check those pianos ton "Kaleidoscope"), and darkness lingers at the edge of suburbia.
  15. Oct 14, 2011
    On Neighborhoods, blink-182 took [Dude Ranch/Enema of the State/Take Off Your Pants And Jacket's] sonic template, updated it, and made an album where they tried to understand what it means to be a member of blink-182.
  16. Sep 29, 2011
    As it stands, we have Neighborhoods, large and vapid, every bit an inconsistent mess as it is a guilty pleasure.
  17. Sep 26, 2011
    It's admirable that Blink-182 tries to challenge themselves over the course of Neighborhoods, but their growing pains don't make for a particularly good album or a welcome comeback.
  18. Sep 21, 2011
    While it certainly shows Blink to have the potential for much more than their past reputation may convey, Neighborhoods is reminiscent of that first awkward conversation after a heated argument, as no-one's quite sure where to go next.
User Score

Generally favorable reviews- based on 101 Ratings

User score distribution:
  1. Positive: 78 out of 101
  2. Negative: 3 out of 101
  1. Sep 29, 2011
    Some bands change their sound entirely throughout their career, and while I wouldn't say Blink 182 has changed their sound 100%, I'd saySome bands change their sound entirely throughout their career, and while I wouldn't say Blink 182 has changed their sound 100%, I'd say they'd changed it far too much for my taste. In addition, the vocals are far too polished, too much of each individual artist's side-project's material and not enough Blink. Whatever that means. It simply didn't work for me. But then again, neither did the 2003 Self-Titled, +44, or the majority of the Angels and Airwaves tracks. But I guess if you're into any of the aforementioned, this 10-track post-punk, pop, reunion album might just sound good. Full Review »
  2. Sep 27, 2011
    A really bland, mediocre album by a band that is trying to cash in one last time. There's really no redeeming qualities on any of theseA really bland, mediocre album by a band that is trying to cash in one last time. There's really no redeeming qualities on any of these songs. Can they please stop using the same recycled chord progressions from album to album? Hearing Mark's monotonous voice years later really hasn't done him any favors; it's way more annoying now.

    Angels and Airwaves makes sense for Tom Delonge. He makes mature music, with mature themes. Here he is back to being a 20 year old singing about the same situations he did when he was 20. He's a married man with kids now. Isn't this stage in his life past? Why would he want to lower himself and sing about these meaningless things that do not pertain to his lifestyle anymore? Perhaps he's just trying to make back some of the money he lost on releasing LOVE free of charge and producing the movie LOVE with no real profits made from it, which I wouldn't be able to blame him for; it's just not respectable to sell out as an artist. As for the other members of Blink-182, I really don't see them as artists as they haven't done anything exceptional or even average after this band broke up years ago. It's sort of like making Indiana Jones 4: some styles and legacies should be just left alone.
    Full Review »
  3. Dec 15, 2011
    First of all, what is with all these reviews just hammering Blink-182 for their changed sound? The band wants a more mature and less teenageFirst of all, what is with all these reviews just hammering Blink-182 for their changed sound? The band wants a more mature and less teenage angst filled style. Get over it.

    Anyway, in my opinion this album is really good for a comeback album. When I first heard Blink-182 was coming out with a new album, I was worried it would be extremely unpopular. However, after hearing the hit "Up All Night" on the radio, I completely changed my mentality about this album. I went out and bought the album right away and I instantly thought it was absolutely underrated.
    First of all, this album begins strong. Of course it's not what classic Blink-182 fans are looking for, but the first few tracks definitely add to the bands newer sound. "Ghost on the Dance Floor" and "After Midnight" both have amazing vocals from Tom DeLonge, and "Hearts All Gone" (The most energetic song on the album) is an amazing combo of punk lyrics from Mark Hoppus and heavy drumming from Travis Barker. In my opinion, Blink-182 should release "Hearts All Gone" as their next single as it is the closest to Blink-182's classic style. Overall, the first half of the album should be enough to win people over.
    Unfortunately, the album slows way down from here. "Wishing Well" and "MH 4.18.2011" are somewhat dry and could use some more depth. However, I would recommend these songs to fans of the band members' side projects "Angels & Airwaves" and "+44" as the style is clearly captured in these deeper tracks. On the plus side, the album ends real strong with "Love Is Dangerous"; the last song on the album really reinforces the style of the album making it fit in real well.

    Basically, here is my take on each track:
    1. Ghost on the Dance Floor: has a really cool bass part and interesting lyrics; reminds me of high school homecoming dances and how obnoxious they were
    2. Natives: has uplifting lyrics, but needs a little something more
    3. Up All Night: thrashing punk intro and outro makes this song incredibly fun to listen to; back and forth vocals between Tom and Mark add a really cool affect
    4. After Midnight: a beautiful song but sounds nothing like classic Blink-182; has a much more mature sound
    5. Hearts All Gone: best track of the album; perfect punk style with fast paced drum beat makes this a must have for classic Blink-182 lovers
    6. Wishing Well: sounds similar to Angels & Airwaves but needs some work
    7. Kaleidoscope: is very dry and just sounds like filler for the album
    8. This Is Home: brings back some energy for the album; is good for a deeper track
    9. MH 4.18.2011: the +44 sounding song of the album but also somewhat dry (By the way, does anyone have any clue about what the title means?)
    10. Love Is Dangerous: a strong finish for the album

    Overall, I really liked this album and I could care less about what its style is. This album deserves a chance from everyone not just Blink-182 fans as it contains elements of both pop and punk and mixes them together well. The only problem is simply that people just want to hear the same old styles from classic Blink-182. They refuse to open their minds to the new style, but I believe more bands need to do these experimental albums. They allow new and unique hits to be found, and reduce the risk of confronting the same critics who shot down bands like Green Day for their three chord songs. Either way, itâ
    Full Review »