The 20/20 Experience 2 of 2 - Justin Timberlake
The 20/20 Experience 2 of 2 Image
Metascore
60

Mixed or average reviews - based on 27 Critics What's this?

User Score
6.8

Generally favorable reviews- based on 132 Ratings

Your Score
0 out of 10
Rate this:
  • 10
  • 9
  • 8
  • 7
  • 6
  • 5
  • 4
  • 3
  • 2
  • 1
  • 0
  • 0
  • Summary: Drake and Jay-Z appear as guests on the second half of The 20/20 Experience project co-produced with Timothy Mosley and Jerome "J-Roc" Harmon.
Score distribution:
  1. Positive: 11 out of 27
  2. Negative: 1 out of 27
  1. Oct 1, 2013
    83
    Timberlake reined in his musical vision just enough to make this album more focused and engaging--but didn’t lose sight of his desire to take chances.
  2. Oct 1, 2013
    75
    In a world of quicker, faster, harder, it’s intriguing when songs spread out, taking their time to get to the point or create landscapes beyond the hook.
  3. 70
    While the second release may not live up to the first, it’s hard not to hope for a third.
  4. Sep 30, 2013
    60
    This is a tighter record than the first volume, particularly the come-to-bed cheek of Cabaret, featuring his current chart competitor Drake. Things get slushier towards the end with Only When I Walk Away and Not a Bad Thing.
  5. Sep 30, 2013
    60
    The 20/20 Experience 2 of 2 includes a few pop gems, but as an album, it pales in comparison to its older sibling.
  6. Oct 3, 2013
    50
    This feels like an unnecessary and slightly cynical afterthought, much like a lot of pop music. It isn’t necessarily all bad in terms of quality. But it is utterly dispensable.
  7. Sep 30, 2013
    20
    2 of 2, then, is an incredibly frustrating experience.

See all 27 Critic Reviews

Score distribution:
  1. Positive: 19 out of 28
  2. Negative: 5 out of 28
  1. May 31, 2014
    10
    BETTER THAN THE FIRST PART!!!!! He Was so Good on this album. Great job, Justin Timberlake! Favorite Tracks: Gimme what I don't know (I Want), TKO, Take Back the night, Only When I Walk Away, Not A Bad Thing Expand
  2. Sep 30, 2013
    10
    What a great album it surprised me i didnt expect this way better than i thought i liked part 1 but this one is even better than that JT's vocals and the production are awesome it's very dark and entertaining it is JT at his best cant expect more for sure Expand
  3. Oct 1, 2013
    10
    This is very very very very very very very very very very very very very very very very very very very very very very very very very very very very good. JT is a master. He truly loves what he does and it is evident in his work. Collapse
  4. Nov 2, 2013
    8
    I dont like this MJ stylistic. However,this stuff is not trashy. I think yet the arrangements could be better, the voice of Justin more highlighted. I don't understand the idea of sustaining almost every track on album…It looks like Justin would like to tell us "Look at this…this is real art, not casual pop song…" Well, I don't buy it. We all know possibilty of remixes and so on…In my opinion studio album does not really need such a procedure. Expand
  5. Nov 6, 2013
    6
    When Justin announced a sequel to the highly successful 20/20 Experience, I wasn't overly thrilled. I found the album to be one of the most overrated of the year and thought it was just ok, but not fitting for a comeback album and certainly not worthy of so much praise. So, the prospect of listening to more of the same didn't sound ideal and the first two singles definitely didn't sound promising. But I was pleased to find that Part 2 is a marked improvement. While the first part was too safe, in my opinion, part 2 is darker and edgier. From the seductive Gimme What I Don't Know (I Want), the chilling True Blood, the bluesy Drink You Away, the throwback JT sound of Amnesia, the sexy Only When I Walk Away, the romantic Pair Of Wings and the hypnotic Blindness, this is in a different league to part 1. If these really are leftover from part 1, I am baffled as to why they weren't considered good enough to make the initial cut. But I am even more baffled by critics and the public giving it a worse reception than part 1. Ok, this isn't Justin's best work and there are clunkers like Take Back The Night and TKO, but it's so much more interesting and artistic than part 1. It's such a shame to see the superior body of work not sell as well and have more lukewarm reception. Expand
  6. Feb 11, 2014
    5
    Would you call it a symphony of sounds perhaps,or would you call it terrible,maybe.....the are great tracks in there like Drink You Away(that has a nice groove to it) , Only When I walk away( its way better off than True Blood) and Blindness but there are too terrible tracks like True Blood that includes retarded mainstream words you'd find in a pop song like her skin is so white so white (so what)? Once is enough .....Amnesia ( Amnesia every memory fades away till its gone where did you go , most of us know what Amnesia is so you don't have to repeat it like 15 times in a song ) ....let's just say this not terrible , not amazing , just mediocre . Expand
  7. Jun 20, 2014
    0
    A primeira parte era ruim,a segunda pior ainda.
    A única coisa legal que tem é um título de música que soa bem TKO,então,não merece nem 1.
    É
    0 mesmo,e mande ele aprender que voz não faz album. Expand

See all 28 User Reviews