• Record Label: Reprise
  • Release Date: Oct 24, 2006
User Score
8.6

Universal acclaim- based on 569 Ratings

User score distribution:
  1. Negative: 58 out of 569

Review this album

  1. Your Score
    0 out of 10
    Rate this:
    • 10
    • 9
    • 8
    • 7
    • 6
    • 5
    • 4
    • 3
    • 2
    • 1
    • 0
    • 0
  1. Submit
  2. Check Spelling
  1. Jul 13, 2012
    10
    Every song here stands out on its own merit and has a wonderful, catchy, theatrical sound without compromising a very raw, real feel. My Chemical Romance have refined and matured their sound and channelled their talent into something that seems to be able to punch you right in the stomach (in the most amazing way) again and again everytime you listen to it. 'The Black Parade' probablyEvery song here stands out on its own merit and has a wonderful, catchy, theatrical sound without compromising a very raw, real feel. My Chemical Romance have refined and matured their sound and channelled their talent into something that seems to be able to punch you right in the stomach (in the most amazing way) again and again everytime you listen to it. 'The Black Parade' probably isn't the most inclusive album but I think anyone can appreciate "Welcome To The Black Parade", "Famous Last Words", "I Don't Love You", "Teenagers" and "The Sharpest Lives". Buying this album is definitely a risk worth taking! Expand
  2. Nov 26, 2011
    10
    Amazing album with dark and deep lyrics that live up to MCR's "emo" label but it also has that fast pased exciting rebellious punk sound that makes the dark theme of The Black Parade come alive. Possibly my favorite MCR album.
  3. Jordan
    Nov 1, 2006
    10
    After their 2004 hit "Three Cheers For Sweet Revenge", My Chemical Romance return with one of the best albums of the year. Who says a story of a dying boy cant be enjoyable? It is uplifting, ambitious and ingenius. Download: "Disenchanted", "Teenagers", and "Famous Last Words"
  4. Dec 16, 2011
    9
    Unique, catchy, and still staying true to their style many have loved since they began. Their songs are meaningful, sombre, and written and performed to perfection.
  5. Apr 5, 2015
    10
    This album really stands out with it's unique and honestly magnificent sound. Every song holds its own beauty, story and twist. The style of music is edgy yet graceful and the lyrics really match the mood and feel of each separate song. My Chemical Romance really took from many different inspirations to create this album and it works really well. It is easy to connect to the lyrics andThis album really stands out with it's unique and honestly magnificent sound. Every song holds its own beauty, story and twist. The style of music is edgy yet graceful and the lyrics really match the mood and feel of each separate song. My Chemical Romance really took from many different inspirations to create this album and it works really well. It is easy to connect to the lyrics and feel the beat of each tune pump through your veins. 'The Black Parade' has many catchy beats that range from pumped up and hard hitting to soft and melodic, each blending with each other whilst still sounding completely different and unique. A few of the songs on this album are quite bold and perhaps not for everyone but I feel like every track could grow on you after a couple of plays. This album is definitely worth purchasing and it would also be wise to check out some of MCR's other stuff as well. Expand
  6. willJ
    Jul 5, 2009
    10
    Amazing. Pure genius. The best album of the decade and the best band to emerge in the past twenty years.
  7. Sep 25, 2010
    10
    The best album i've seen. The lyrics, rythm, voice, guitar solos, etc... all in this album is perfect. Amazing. Pure genius.[2]
    Three Cheers for Sweet Revange is good, but The Black Parade is the best album of My Chemical Romance.
  8. Nov 24, 2010
    10
    One of the Best bands of our time!!The words and emotions really captures you. If you didnt enjoy this album you just dont have a heart. If this doesnt make you love this genre of music then nothing will!!
  9. SethB
    Nov 6, 2006
    10
    Wow. Not an emo fan, but I am now a Chemical Romance fan. What a great rock album in a time when there are no great rock albums. One of the best records I've listened to in the last 10 years, maybe ever. Very well produced (same producer as Green Day). This album will be the benchmark of their followups. I feel they cannot go up from this album, and might fall into the "I cannot Wow. Not an emo fan, but I am now a Chemical Romance fan. What a great rock album in a time when there are no great rock albums. One of the best records I've listened to in the last 10 years, maybe ever. Very well produced (same producer as Green Day). This album will be the benchmark of their followups. I feel they cannot go up from this album, and might fall into the "I cannot replicate" syndrome. In any case...go get this album....it's brilliant. Don't mark them as a crappy "emo" band, as that would be a wrong stereotype...they are VERY talented. Expand
  10. AmbrosiaT
    Oct 25, 2006
    10
    Excellent album..one of the best I've heard in years. MCR doesn't fall into any one category. They are a truly talented band!
  11. KayleeB
    Oct 26, 2006
    10
    This album kicks ass
  12. IdaMereteOM
    Jan 4, 2007
    10
    This is the best album ever made. And that's it.
  13. RachelleR
    Feb 9, 2007
    10
    Excellent.
  14. amyb.
    Jul 3, 2007
    10
    great drama
  15. JessW
    Aug 8, 2007
    10
    This is the singlemost greatest album I've ever heard. I don't know how anyone can call it a "rip off" of Greenday, Sgt Pepper's, Queen etc. The only thing connecting The Black Parade to any other band would be lyrics. The day The Black Parade came out was the day i bought it. It was a gamble to do this sort of thing and it paid off. The different genres of rock expressed This is the singlemost greatest album I've ever heard. I don't know how anyone can call it a "rip off" of Greenday, Sgt Pepper's, Queen etc. The only thing connecting The Black Parade to any other band would be lyrics. The day The Black Parade came out was the day i bought it. It was a gamble to do this sort of thing and it paid off. The different genres of rock expressed in this album are a first for My Chemical Romance as Three Cheers and Bullets didn't do, but were still great albums btw. This wold be my second favourite album of 06/forever Expand
  16. [Anonymous]
    Nov 18, 2006
    10
    Gerard Way has to be one of the best vocal/lyrical masters of his generation at the present moment. At only 52 minutes this album really left me wanting more. Truly amazing, this has completely blown MCR out of the water and into the stratosphere I just hope they go on to be bigger and better. This has eclypsed Bullets and Three Cheers combined, now we can only wait for the next chapter Gerard Way has to be one of the best vocal/lyrical masters of his generation at the present moment. At only 52 minutes this album really left me wanting more. Truly amazing, this has completely blown MCR out of the water and into the stratosphere I just hope they go on to be bigger and better. This has eclypsed Bullets and Three Cheers combined, now we can only wait for the next chapter in this amazing story of MCR. Expand
  17. justind
    Nov 28, 2006
    10
    Welcome to the black paraide( cant spell) rocks
  18. AngelaR
    Nov 30, 2006
    10
    HEy wats up people!!!!!!! this ablum is truly one of the highly most best ablum of the years i hope it stays like that all of those fag bands like panic@thedisco and others sorry dont like panic MCR kicks ass. so fu** off haters
  19. darryr
    Dec 1, 2006
    10
    like all the songs
  20. ArielleH
    Oct 23, 2006
    10
    Download: House of Wolves you better run like the devel cuz theyre never gonna leave you alone...
  21. TandyR
    Oct 23, 2006
    10
    Its so good!
  22. JoshuaR
    Dec 3, 2006
    10
    Undeniably a solid piece of rock from the continuously slandered band MCR. Call them emo, call them what you will, but this album will disprove it all. They're not whining anymore, they're not talking about a suicide in a happy manner (though Headfirst for Halos is a funny song for that reason). A rock-opera concept album about the death of a young man in his hospital bed, both Undeniably a solid piece of rock from the continuously slandered band MCR. Call them emo, call them what you will, but this album will disprove it all. They're not whining anymore, they're not talking about a suicide in a happy manner (though Headfirst for Halos is a funny song for that reason). A rock-opera concept album about the death of a young man in his hospital bed, both tragic and attention grabbing, starting off with the Pink Floyd's The Wall inspired "The End" ending at the big chorused grand finale "Famous Last Words". Every track will only make you love this band more. Incoporating everything from their signature rock on "Dead" , "House of Wolves" or "This Is How I Disappear" to the lighter songs like "Cancer" (their first piano and drums only song) or the current single "Welcome to the Black Parade" (starting off slow with the intro that basically anybody who listens to radio knows by now escalating into a full out rock song influences of Green Day in some parts complete with horns backing in final climatic chorus) and the slower "Disenchanted". The only way to hate this album, would be to hate anything that people have related in any way shape or form with emo, which in itself is retarded due to the fact that emo means simply emotional, and what music isn't emotional. The only music that isn't emotional is the coporate rock music manufactured in it's entirety to sell big, and this band is completely true to their selves. Expand
  23. DaywalkerB
    Oct 24, 2006
    10
    This album is perhaps the best alt-rock album in the last 8 years!
  24. yulia
    Oct 24, 2006
    10
    best album
  25. FrankT
    Oct 25, 2006
    10
    I don't want to like MCR, and I've never been moved to listen to them, but I gave "Welcome to the Black Parade" a spin and was floored. Bought the record and it's really impressive. Just a GREAT album.
  26. EnriqueR
    Oct 25, 2006
    10
    Wow! An excellent album by My Chemical Romance! It's pure rock n roll from the first to the last song! It must be the best record of the year for sure...and Liza Minelli sings on "Mama"! No more words... Simply great...
  27. JesseS
    Oct 25, 2006
    10
    What a surprise--I barely noticed this band before. Exhileratingly creepy. Negative reviews tend to snub theatricality. Like there's something very uncool about it. Maybe there is.
  28. DeanL
    Oct 25, 2006
    9
    This is the album Green Day SHOULD have made...
  29. CollieF
    Oct 27, 2006
    10
    very good disc. i am still baffled why people call them emo.
  30. VivienneM
    Oct 29, 2006
    10
    Rock out with all the grandness of the 70's mixed with the emotional remedy of the best of what this millennium has yet to offer. The Black Parade is an amazing piece of work by musicians who admittedly borrowed from some of the greatest of all time, and mixed that with enough of My Chemical Romance (anthem anyone?) to give us one of the best albums of 2006. It is fun, well written, Rock out with all the grandness of the 70's mixed with the emotional remedy of the best of what this millennium has yet to offer. The Black Parade is an amazing piece of work by musicians who admittedly borrowed from some of the greatest of all time, and mixed that with enough of My Chemical Romance (anthem anyone?) to give us one of the best albums of 2006. It is fun, well written, perfromed and produced. Expand
  31. ShainaB
    Jan 20, 2007
    10
    The Black Parade is a great CD! I love how there is a story told throughout the CD. I can listen to the CD all day!
  32. bettys
    Jan 2, 2007
    10
    this was the best album of 2006!!!
  33. KellyM
    Jan 30, 2007
    9
    At first I didn't want to listen to the album because of how much they have changed since bullets but after I actually convinced myself to do so I was at one relieved. This cd is extremely well crafted, great guitars, gerads voice has gotten much better. This whole album is about death and teaches us not to be afraid of it, that it is a natural part of life and we should enjoy it At first I didn't want to listen to the album because of how much they have changed since bullets but after I actually convinced myself to do so I was at one relieved. This cd is extremely well crafted, great guitars, gerads voice has gotten much better. This whole album is about death and teaches us not to be afraid of it, that it is a natural part of life and we should enjoy it while we have it. We shouldn't count the days we have left because that's no way to live, we should just go and have the best fucking time we can. Expand
  34. RachelG
    Feb 19, 2007
    10
    Better than American Idiot by Green Day, more intelligent than Fallout Boy, MCR takes you on a nostalgic epic ride, saluting the rock legends of old, while maintaining a fresh, punk originality that could only be done by the death-obsessed New Jersey boys. Gerard Way sounds awesome, the lyrics and themes are poignant, thought-provoking and edgy. Listen especially to "Dead!" for the catchy Better than American Idiot by Green Day, more intelligent than Fallout Boy, MCR takes you on a nostalgic epic ride, saluting the rock legends of old, while maintaining a fresh, punk originality that could only be done by the death-obsessed New Jersey boys. Gerard Way sounds awesome, the lyrics and themes are poignant, thought-provoking and edgy. Listen especially to "Dead!" for the catchy infectious lalalas, "Mama" for some crazy twists such as Liza Minelli's cameo, and Famous Last Words for the much needed positivity on the album--"I am not afraid to keep on living." Who said they were emo? Expand
  35. SethV
    Mar 19, 2007
    10
    Favorite album of 2006.
  36. theredonesmakemeflyandtheblueonesmakemefall
    Apr 10, 2007
    9
    brilliant though not as gr8 as their previous albums wich r both 10s
  37. HeatherB
    Apr 20, 2007
    9
    I love this album, not as much as their 1st..but its brilliant. Gerards voice is amazing, everything about MCR works perfectly.
  38. a.l.
    Jun 5, 2007
    9
    i love them im a new fan but it brings me tears how much they've changed. i love the morbid lyrics and wild instrimentals of three cheers and bullets. not even kidding im tearing. but tBP is great too. I WILL OVE MCR TO THE END in my last dying breath ill be singing one of their songs.
  39. TAUWANTPE
    Jun 8, 2007
    10
    GOOD album
  40. DavidA
    Jul 26, 2007
    10
    This is a great album it has so much in it. Songs I Recommend: The Sharpest Lives Dead! Welcome To The Black Parade (one of the best) I Don't Love You This Is How I Disappear Mama Cancer Teenagers Famous Last Words Blood these are all great songs, now go buy the album
  41. seanf
    Aug 16, 2007
    10
    Im sick of people trying to compare My chem to classic bands. rate the album for hwat it is...from the into and Dead, a tale is told of life and death. Admittedly, some of the musical performances on the later tracks lack the passion found in "three cheers for sweet revenge (particularly on hang em hig, and i never told you what i did for a living, or even you know what they do to guys Im sick of people trying to compare My chem to classic bands. rate the album for hwat it is...from the into and Dead, a tale is told of life and death. Admittedly, some of the musical performances on the later tracks lack the passion found in "three cheers for sweet revenge (particularly on hang em hig, and i never told you what i did for a living, or even you know what they do to guys like us in prison), but by creating a melodic and overall satisfying album, my chem achieves greatness with the black parade. This album is within my top 50 favorites of all time. Expand
  42. PJ
    Sep 22, 2007
    10
    Prior to the "Black Parade" single, I had never even heard of My Chemical Romance. Since that early morning last fall I have certainly became a fan. I spent years in choirs and taking voice lessons so I can honestly say that Gerard Way's vocals are exceptional; his use of dissenent chords and the riffs in his voice (highlighted in "I Don't Love You) make the album a masterpiece. Prior to the "Black Parade" single, I had never even heard of My Chemical Romance. Since that early morning last fall I have certainly became a fan. I spent years in choirs and taking voice lessons so I can honestly say that Gerard Way's vocals are exceptional; his use of dissenent chords and the riffs in his voice (highlighted in "I Don't Love You) make the album a masterpiece. I have since listened to many other MCR songs and found that the band is pure genius within this genre of music. Expand
  43. TaraJ
    Mar 15, 2008
    10
    Magical. Of course, this might not be someone's cup of tea.
  44. frankieb
    Jul 16, 2008
    10
    This album is one of the best i have ever heard. My Chemical Romance continue to make amazing music with 'The Black Parade' album.
  45. Alliec
    Nov 14, 2006
    10
    Such an amazing record, each song has such meaning behind it, it's empowering and opens your eyes to such things. A Great listen for those long bus rides, gives you a chance to think about each song.
  46. ErikaC
    Nov 14, 2006
    10
    The Black Parade is the best of bolth bullets and revenge. This album stands out because, the lyrics are somewhat gloomy while still making the person who is listing to it feel optimistic. The amazing instrumental in the songs are marvelous, mixed with the vocals it is one of their most amazing albums ever.
  47. LauraF
    Nov 2, 2006
    10
    I love My Chemical Romance. Especially The Black Parade
  48. EllieG
    Nov 20, 2006
    10
    A genius CD, with undertones of Pink Floyd and Queen. Every song tells part of the story. Addicting and haunting, a must-buy.
  49. junib
    Nov 25, 2006
    10
    woow the best album ever (ups i m my chemadict)
  50. RandyM
    Nov 28, 2006
    9
    The Black Parade is simply a great album, and prove's to be MCR's best to date. The lyrics are empowering and wonderful. Definetely worth checking out.
  51. andreao
    Nov 7, 2006
    10
    the best album of the year my chemical romance rocks
  52. Kevin
    Nov 8, 2006
    10
    One of the few albums that ill listen to every song and not skip through. No trash all good songs
  53. ra'quaylec
    Nov 9, 2006
    10
    God!! you are all idiots if you can't see that mcr is oh so fucking real than you are a fucking dumbass and need to get your fucking brains checked!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!
  54. nura
    Dec 1, 2006
    9
    all the songs in this album are superb! i like the new MCR! keep up with the good work, guys!
  55. JoseR
    Oct 23, 2006
    10
    This album will very quickly become the soundtrack to your life.
  56. JoshH
    Oct 23, 2006
    10
    Very, very impressive.
  57. GerardW
    Oct 23, 2006
    10
    hope you all like it!
  58. LindsayA.
    Oct 23, 2006
    10
    I love this album!
  59. Jasonw
    Dec 4, 2006
    10
    awesome album, a little differnt taste then their first , which at first dissapointed me, but now i can't i can't stop listenning to the music, its AMAZING. great job guys on producing another great album.
  60. JoeA
    Oct 24, 2006
    10
    My Chemical Romance has really matured as a band with this latest effort. Their music has found where it wants to be and they have taken their place at the forefront of theatrical rock music. This isn't emo, this isn't alternative, it's just music and by God, it's good music. The single "Welcome to the Black Parade" is in keeping with the classic Queen tradition of My Chemical Romance has really matured as a band with this latest effort. Their music has found where it wants to be and they have taken their place at the forefront of theatrical rock music. This isn't emo, this isn't alternative, it's just music and by God, it's good music. The single "Welcome to the Black Parade" is in keeping with the classic Queen tradition of overdone rock opera, but it's one of the best tracks on this album. Another standout includes the Misfits-meets-Panic!esque Mama, whereas Dead! is a singalong pop song in the style of Three Cheers' instant hooks and unforgettable riffs. Most of all, The Black Parade reeks of a band having a lot of very good fun, and it seems as if MCR really did while they were making this. Overall, this effort is so much better and so much more mature than their previous two albums. Difficult third album? Not for MCR. Expand
  61. JamesJ
    Oct 24, 2006
    10
    MCR have made one amazing album here. Pure sonic joy in all of its absurd and over the top brilliance. One of the top 3 albums this year.
  62. kirstyh
    Oct 24, 2006
    10
    i think this is a very good album and it should be number 1 on the charts
  63. JohnB.
    Oct 24, 2006
    9
    Reminiscent of Green Day's "American Idiot," but more ambitious. It overreaches itself at times, but overall an excellent record.
  64. FreddyF
    Oct 25, 2006
    10
    CLASSIC album. They have far reached what I think anyone thought they could do. TEENAGERS and MAMA are instant classics. Who ever gives it a 2 definitely hasn't heard or given the album a chance and is just biased against the bands for no reason, except for being a critical D*ck. Pretty much discredits them. This album is a MUST PICK UP!!!!! I applaude MCR vision.
  65. rafaelas
    Oct 25, 2006
    10
    its a very good album!!!
  66. SyarufI
    Oct 25, 2006
    10
    The Best Album In The World
  67. nickm
    Oct 25, 2006
    9
    who ever thinks this is crap is thinking too hard, not everything has to be refered back to your glory days
  68. JustinT
    Oct 25, 2006
    9
    Great 3rd album. Happy with how good it is. Definitely a good sound, sounds like MCR.
  69. M88
    Oct 26, 2006
    9
    I'm not a fan of this "type" of music. But i find this album extremely addictive. And to say this band's new cd is just "emo-pop" is kind of a cop-out.
  70. coreys
    Oct 26, 2006
    10
    two glaring omissions from everyone's "spot the influences". cheap trick and the marvelous 3. nobody writes a hook like cheap trick and the marvelous three is just as underrated. just like "american idiot". don't think too hard about it, just enjoy it. it's rock n roll.
  71. joanthans
    Oct 26, 2006
    10
    It is supremly different from "Three Cheers for Sweet Revenge" and "I Brought You My Bullets, You Brought Me Your Love" but even despite the huge transition in mood, singing level, and overall beat and sound to their music, MCR still continues to be one of the best around. This time around they're not nearly as post-hardcore and as such the whole CD is slowed down significantly. The It is supremly different from "Three Cheers for Sweet Revenge" and "I Brought You My Bullets, You Brought Me Your Love" but even despite the huge transition in mood, singing level, and overall beat and sound to their music, MCR still continues to be one of the best around. This time around they're not nearly as post-hardcore and as such the whole CD is slowed down significantly. The lyrics/songs don't hold as much punch as the first two CDs, but if you can get used to the transition when listening to the three back-to-back-to-back, then it is still on par with their first two. I would not however say that it is their best album, probably from the fact that it differs just that much. Expand
  72. LeNlEnahbasta
    Dec 6, 2006
    10
    oh my god this song really unbelievable its really amazing woah ang ganda super!!!!! hehehhe its a perfect song for a rebel one!!!!!!!!!
  73. MaxL
    Oct 27, 2006
    9
    I have to say that I am a little surprised at the quality of this album. I wasn't a fan of their last record, but they poished themselves silly on this one. It's really quite fun, and at times, a little beautiful. And really, this is rarely the sort of thing I like. I'm shocked.
  74. JonnyH
    Oct 30, 2006
    9
    Blinkin' great... Who reads NOW "magazine" anyway? As for the Observer Music Monthly, obviously some little lord trying to stand out, s/he has done, but for all the wrong reasons.
  75. EvanN
    Jan 16, 2007
    10
    Every song was great. I never have to skip to songs that I like on the CD because every single one of them is a masterpiece. Kep it up MCR!
  76. CatherineL
    Jan 18, 2007
    10
    Best album of the year, loved every song.
  77. SuzanneJ
    Jan 19, 2007
    10
    MCR r the best band eva i never buy any CD's but i had 2 av this album so i got it
  78. MeganP
    Jan 25, 2007
    10
    Best ever!!!
  79. SeanS
    Jan 29, 2007
    10
    With their new album, MCR have not only reinvented themselves, but created the greatest rock album since Tool's monstrous Lateralus. The Black Parade is about a hospital patient who is about to die, and how death is dealt with, among other things. What I think howver, is that the patient is symbolic of the old MCR, because thier music and overall presentation has made a dramatic With their new album, MCR have not only reinvented themselves, but created the greatest rock album since Tool's monstrous Lateralus. The Black Parade is about a hospital patient who is about to die, and how death is dealt with, among other things. What I think howver, is that the patient is symbolic of the old MCR, because thier music and overall presentation has made a dramatic turn. They have effective created thier own style of rock music that can be categorized under no current musical genre. They sport a more maturured, and significantly better sound than thier previous albums (particularly Gerard's vocals), which I was not particularly a huge fan of, though I did enjoy some of the songs. However, EVERY track on TBP is amazing. From the anthem "Welcom to the Black Parade" to the almost humorous, apologetic folk song that is "Mama" and stretching to the haunting, yet strong-willed final cry that is "Famous Last Words" Truly a masterpiece that belongs among the ranks of the top albums ever. Expand
  80. carah
    Jan 31, 2007
    10
    i think it is AMAZING people say its like green day's 'american idiot'.......uhm no american idiot isn't all catchy and theatrical. i recommended it to all my friends. love it
  81. ValVil
    Feb 15, 2007
    10
    This is one of the few albums that actually has a meaning behind it. Every part of every song has a purpose. Plus, they sound great.
  82. JimH
    Feb 17, 2007
    9
    I'm over 40. I picked this up to share it with my tween daughter because of the hype around its debut. At first, I thought it was more like Offspring's Smash than anything else: a flash-in-the-pan band with too much bluster and not enough mustard. But this lives. "Mama," "Cancer," "Teenagers" and a handful of other tracks get better with every listen. And all great rock albums I'm over 40. I picked this up to share it with my tween daughter because of the hype around its debut. At first, I thought it was more like Offspring's Smash than anything else: a flash-in-the-pan band with too much bluster and not enough mustard. But this lives. "Mama," "Cancer," "Teenagers" and a handful of other tracks get better with every listen. And all great rock albums have at least one "empty screamfest" although I'm not sure I hear one here. Kudos to a band of true believers who - like Queen, the Pumpkins, Green Day and all the other great examples to which they are compared - believes that there is still room for one more classic classic rock album, long after rock and roll has been declared dead. Expand
  83. BriannaL
    Feb 18, 2007
    10
    This is by far one of the best albums put out from 2006 to now and it probably won't even be knocked off the list until 2008. From a consumer and a person who loves music, this CD is absolutely amazing. The lyrics are edgy and catchy. Not only that the album is very balanced, they have their serious songs and their just plain fun and wild ones. Gerard's influential voice adds a This is by far one of the best albums put out from 2006 to now and it probably won't even be knocked off the list until 2008. From a consumer and a person who loves music, this CD is absolutely amazing. The lyrics are edgy and catchy. Not only that the album is very balanced, they have their serious songs and their just plain fun and wild ones. Gerard's influential voice adds a theatrical closeness to the songs. He goes all out when he sings. I've listened to Welcome to the Black Parade about 220 times and I still want to jump up and sing when I hear it. I became a fan of My Chemical Romance when I heard this album so when I first heard the album I was completey unbiased. This album is worth every penny you spend on it. Expand
  84. MabelysM
    Feb 6, 2007
    10
    My Chemical romance had succed once again, in showing the real meaning of music. I havent hear a CD this good since a long time ago, it had that old-school-rock edge but with My Chemical romance written all over it. I give it a 10
  85. mariap
    Mar 23, 2007
    10
    MCR is one of the best bands and this is a great album. sure it has songs about death, but hey death is real. it has death, but it also has hope ("famous last words").
  86. coled
    Mar 29, 2007
    10
    One of the best cd's EVER!!!
  87. JustinS.
    Mar 7, 2007
    10
    this album is total awesomeness!!! i just don't get why people are giving it low scores. if u hate MCR then why bother listening to it and give it a bad score? Its WAY better than the crap hip hop and gangsta rap that we have today like 50 cent and jim jones or whoever sings that crap basketball song that proves rappers think they are better than everyone else.
  88. BethL
    Apr 12, 2007
    10
    This is good, though it could use less cussing. I like how they approach death in a straightforward, in-your-face kind of way.
  89. MCRobsession
    Apr 21, 2007
    10
    My mom absolutly HATEs it, she thinks it is depressing and all they talk about is death... NO they are about carrying on through the shitty times and NOT killing yourself, they do not worship suiside... or satent for that fact, i love this cd and mcr and it could very well be the soundtrack to my life... btw, if you think this album, let alone mcr is crappy and fake... SUCK IT!!!!!
  90. xxhopingtearsxx
    Apr 29, 2007
    10
    This was the best album by My Chemical Romance.. Unlike it's previous albums which sounds like a man focusing to fit the word "Earl" with every word.
  91. AlyssaD
    Apr 4, 2007
    10
    This album is wonderful. It has very heartfelt,beautiful lyrics sung by someone with an insanely good voice with alot of talent that he puts to use. Love this. A must buy!
  92. TrishL.g
    Jun 17, 2007
    10
    I haven't been this excited about an album in awhile. F'ing awesome.
  93. LindsayA.
    Jun 29, 2007
    10
    I love this album!
  94. rutha
    Aug 11, 2007
    10
    I love this album.. especialy "I don't Love you" and "disenchanted" song Its wonderful!
  95. MCRF
    Aug 12, 2007
    10
    great album, my favourite song is I don't Love You, and all the songs are great.
  96. jessicah
    Aug 14, 2007
    10
    this album is so much better than there other albums and i loved them. the music was really complmented by gerard way's singing. i know that band pot everything they had into this and were nealy came to bracking pont. i even know people that hate them and there music, i don't know why, that love the songs on this album. they did so well and i thank them for this album but i hope this album is so much better than there other albums and i loved them. the music was really complmented by gerard way's singing. i know that band pot everything they had into this and were nealy came to bracking pont. i even know people that hate them and there music, i don't know why, that love the songs on this album. they did so well and i thank them for this album but i hope there is still better to come. Expand
  97. SmileyR.
    Aug 2, 2007
    10
    One of my favorite CD's EVER! if you haven't listened to it...your missing out BIG time.
  98. emoD.
    Sep 12, 2007
    9
    This album rocks! All the songs are great, there are only 2 songs ont he whole album that i dont like, but all the rest are top quality. But beware, this album is quite different from mcr's older albums.
  99. LimSH
    Sep 15, 2007
    10
    I have followed MCR since their first album was out. True this album sounded abit polished up and unlike their old style it did seem abit overdone. But I'm still going to give them credit for coming up with their own music and the lively and energetic performance they did. As if there aren't worse bands! Think Simple Plan, Linkin Park and Good Charlotte. These are all overly I have followed MCR since their first album was out. True this album sounded abit polished up and unlike their old style it did seem abit overdone. But I'm still going to give them credit for coming up with their own music and the lively and energetic performance they did. As if there aren't worse bands! Think Simple Plan, Linkin Park and Good Charlotte. These are all overly commercialised and overrated bands! Not to mention whiny and uses the usual subjects to capture the audience(bombs iraq and teenage 'depression'). MCR is different from them. They do not come up with whiny lyrics that anyone can come up with to easily capture a teenagers heart. Gerard's vocals are lively and the 'screams' are not everywhere but is where it should be. Comparing with old bands is just as childish as other bands are even more tasteless that they might not have heard of Iron maiden. To say they copied is out of the topic, MCR has been fans of the misfits iron maiden and queen, it's quite possible tht their music are similar to these bands because they are inspired by them. Therefore to be fair, I'm judging this album BY the album itself. Whatever I said previously is to explain why the bad reviews from some unknown magazines are wrong. Expand
  100. MissR
    Oct 17, 2008
    10
    Different to the previous one, but it's fantastic. If It was exactly the same, then it woldn't be good. all the songs are great, and gerard's brash voice matches the songs perfectly, and the theme is united as well. It's an experience of listening to someone's story though music.
Metascore
79

Generally favorable reviews - based on 24 Critics

Critic score distribution:
  1. Positive: 17 out of 24
  2. Negative: 1 out of 24
  1. The most bonkers album of the year, but one of the best.
  2. The Black Parade is MCR's whole raison d'etre rolled up into one mega-decibel calling card. [Nov 2006, p.179]
  3. 90
    They've created the Sgt. Pepper of screamo.