The Black Parade - My Chemical Romance
User Score
8.6

Universal acclaim- based on 537 Ratings

User score distribution:
  1. Negative: 58 out of 537

Review this album

  1. Your Score
    0 out of 10
    Rate this:
    • 10
    • 9
    • 8
    • 7
    • 6
    • 5
    • 4
    • 3
    • 2
    • 1
    • 0
    • 0
  1. Submit
  2. Check Spelling
  1. Jul 13, 2012
    10
    Every song here stands out on its own merit and has a wonderful, catchy, theatrical sound without compromising a very raw, real feel. My Chemical Romance have refined and matured their sound and channelled their talent into something that seems to be able to punch you right in the stomach (in the most amazing way) again and again everytime you listen to it. 'The Black Parade' probably isn't the most inclusive album but I think anyone can appreciate "Welcome To The Black Parade", "Famous Last Words", "I Don't Love You", "Teenagers" and "The Sharpest Lives". Buying this album is definitely a risk worth taking! Expand
  2. Nov 26, 2011
    10
    Amazing album with dark and deep lyrics that live up to MCR's "emo" label but it also has that fast pased exciting rebellious punk sound that makes the dark theme of The Black Parade come alive. Possibly my favorite MCR album.
  3. Dec 16, 2011
    9
    Unique, catchy, and still staying true to their style many have loved since they began. Their songs are meaningful, sombre, and written and performed to perfection.
  4. Sep 25, 2010
    10
    The best album i've seen. The lyrics, rythm, voice, guitar solos, etc... all in this album is perfect. Amazing. Pure genius.[2]
    Three Cheers for Sweet Revange is good, but The Black Parade is the best album of My Chemical Romance.
  5. Nov 24, 2010
    10
    One of the Best bands of our time!!The words and emotions really captures you. If you didnt enjoy this album you just dont have a heart. If this doesnt make you love this genre of music then nothing will!!
  6. Dec 16, 2010
    9
    The Black Parade is so refreshing. Almost every track sounds like another band's single. This concept album is about a young boy dying in a hospital. Sounds pretty depressing, I know. But it's so fun to listen too. It all sounds fresh and original. They have definitely matured as a band with this album. The opening "The End" gets you going until "Dead", the second track on the album comes on and then your attention is fully grasped on this wonderful album. All In All, The Black Parade is a great rock album and it came out around a time when there were no good rock albums out. A- Expand
  7. Sep 11, 2012
    9
    I usually don't like writing these, but I feel the need with this album. It is so underrated and written off as a lot less than it actually is. It may not be revolutionary or filled with brand new ideas, but the songs range from the enjoyable ("Mama," Teenagers"), to the good ("This is How I Disappear," :I Don't Love you") to the excellent ("Welcome to the Black Parade". "Disenchanted," "Sleep," "Famous Last Words") It's an excellent album with only a couple weaknesses. Definitely worth your attention. Expand
  8. May 10, 2011
    10
    A monumentally ambitious album. Tossing the scream-and-rage-based sound of their previous albums 'I Brought You My Bullets, You Brought Me Your Love' and 'Three Cheers for Sweet Revenge', My Chem fuses the conceptual imagery of 'Sgt. Pepper' with the arena-rock sensibilities of Queen to create a sound that is both dark and cheerful. A non-linear, well-balanced rock opera of high concept, and high payoff. Excellent instrumentals, good vocals, and well-placed lyrics. This is to My Chemical Romance what 'American Idiot' was to Green Day.

    Best tracks: "The Sharpest Lives", "Mama", "Teenagers"
    Expand
  9. Aug 24, 2011
    10
    In this journey of death my chemical romance comes off stronger than they did in three cheers or I brought you my bullets you brought me your love. With some of their best songs including welcome to the black parade and disenchanted this is a must have album and one of the best albums of the decade 10 out of 10
  10. Mar 27, 2012
    10
    is very good album in the album narration the situation the live everytime and everydays is very good album, half is a gothic album with a touch of tragedy and death always room where stories are told and disappointments is a creative album with a sound very 70's and 80's with some 90's sometimes a bit of hendrix or ozzy style eg there is a song that seemed to me much in the style of crazy train. album is dirty and full of sound and music Expand
  11. May 17, 2012
    9
    This is My Chemical Romance's best album in my opinion. It starts off with the intro The End. which is pretty cool: 9/10. The End. leads straight into Dead! which is my second favourite song by My Chemical Romance, so it starts with this super ergetic solo, and... just... Too awesome to explain it: 10/10. The 3rd track off The Black Parade is This Is How I Disappear. I guess it's quite good: 7/10. Next there's The Sharpest Lives which is slightly better than the previous song on the album: 7.5/10. Track 5 is the best song ever recorded in my opinion. It's Welcome To The Black Parade and is the best: 10/10. Track 6 is I Don't Love You which I understand as a ballad: 8/10. House Of Wolves is Track 7. It's a really energetic, and loud track: 9/10. Track 8 is called Cancer. I guess that's another ballad on the album, this time starting on a piano, then the guitar comes in, and stuff... 8/10. Mama is track 9. It's... A really weird song... But I like it. I think you would too if you'd listen to it a couple of times: 8.7/10. Next there's Sleep which is quite a good track: 9/10. Track 11 is the energetic Teenagers: 8.8/10. The next track is Disenchanted which i'd say is quite a good, quiet track. The last (kind of :D) track is Famous Last Words which is another really amazing song: 10/10. Then there's the funny hidden track Blood: 7/10. I think it's a great album worth getting. Expand
  12. Jun 28, 2012
    9
    Great follow up to 2004's Three Cheers For Sweet Revenge and the band are as good as ever, producing a fantastic album full of great songs with catchy lyrics and is one of few albums where I love every song.
    As an MCR fan I loved this album and would recommend it to any MCR fan or rock fan in general.
  13. Jan 5, 2013
    10
    My Chemical Romance have truly found their way to fame and the big time with The Black Parade, which is a showcase of both their musical abilities and their storytelling abilities, both through the lyrics and the emotion. This is the kind of album that comes around one in a band's lifespan and brings wonderful songs such as Dead!, Welcome to the Black Parade, Teenagers and Famous Last Words, which single handedly took the world by storm in 2006 and 2007. Expand
  14. Mar 15, 2013
    10
    One of the characteristics of MCR is that in every job evolving their sound and theme and this work definitely proves that this band has great power in the music.
    First of all, clarify that this work, for me, does not exceed the greatness of the previous album 'Three Cheers For Sweet Revenge' because I feel more emotional and melodic, but The Black Parade is a unique blend of styles and
    quality, containing topics literally for everyone. Surely listening after listening, you will be able to go all tastes squeezing this cd from a group that has been getting a major impact far and wide across the planet and surely still have much to offer job after job. Do not miss out. Expand
  15. Apr 16, 2013
    10
    A good old fashioned prog-rock opera that serves as a tribute to classic rock of the 1970s (namely Queen, which is the biggest influence on the record). Death is the big (and only) theme on the album that follows the journey of The Patient after his death from cancer and seeing death in the from of a favourite memory (the titular parade as a child). Its a wonderfully ludicrous story told brilliant with some great instrumentation inspired by Billy Corgan and Freddie Mercury. This could be the greatest "emo" album of the century. Expand
  16. May 10, 2013
    10
    This is the most outstanding album I own and that I have ever heard. This is MCR's finest effort. Every single song on this album is incredible, deep, thoughtful, masterful and magical. This is the album against which I compare all others. If I was stuck on a desert island and could only have one CD, The Black Parade would be my choice.
  17. Nov 22, 2013
    9
    A lot of people have compared this album to Green Day's American Idiot, and it's not hard to see why. However, that doesn't necessarily mean that it's a ripoff, because that it is not.
Metascore
79

Generally favorable reviews - based on 24 Critics

Critic score distribution:
  1. Positive: 17 out of 24
  2. Negative: 1 out of 24
  1. The most bonkers album of the year, but one of the best.
  2. The Black Parade is MCR's whole raison d'etre rolled up into one mega-decibel calling card. [Nov 2006, p.179]
  3. 90
    They've created the Sgt. Pepper of screamo.