Untrue

  • Record Label: Hyperdub
  • Release Date: Nov 6, 2007
User Score
7.9

Generally favorable reviews- based on 432 Ratings

User score distribution:
  1. Negative: 57 out of 432

Review this album

  1. Your Score
    0 out of 10
    Rate this:
    • 10
    • 9
    • 8
    • 7
    • 6
    • 5
    • 4
    • 3
    • 2
    • 1
    • 0
    • 0
  1. Submit
  2. Check Spelling
  1. AntonyH.
    Dec 13, 2007
    10
    Odd comments on here about the reviews. It has top marks from the Guardian and The Observer two national broadsheet newspapers in the UK and Pitchfork so thats hardly just fanzines now is it! Also who cares where the reviews come from, it someone has an opinion about it what makes it less valid than say Rolling Stone or the NME? If people are passionate enough to write reviews then its a Odd comments on here about the reviews. It has top marks from the Guardian and The Observer two national broadsheet newspapers in the UK and Pitchfork so thats hardly just fanzines now is it! Also who cares where the reviews come from, it someone has an opinion about it what makes it less valid than say Rolling Stone or the NME? If people are passionate enough to write reviews then its a record that inspires passion. Don't like it. Get off your arse and go and pen a negative review to provide so balance. Stop moaning from the side lines. Its a top record and gets better which each listen, headphones a must. Expand
  2. JohnJ.
    Dec 18, 2007
    10
    Best album of the year!
  3. MikeC.
    Dec 18, 2007
    10
    Best album of the year - get some head phones on and turn it up!
  4. Sarah
    Dec 4, 2007
    10
    I do not always like to see electronica albums topping the best albums list given there are so few of them relative to everything else. But this one really is quite something.
  5. ChuChu
    Dec 5, 2007
    9
    Don't listen to the haters. This is a solid album full of atmosphere.
  6. RogerS.
    Dec 5, 2007
    9
    There is something going on these days. I think the Avalanches started this new sound. The rave DJ's are being replaced by bands. LCD Soundsystem, The Field, Simian Mobile Disco, Daft Punk, The Battles and now Burial. This CD is new music in a boring Bruce, Britney, REM, or Celion Dion world. It's like Enigma but going into winter 2007/2008 it's peaceful. No more war music There is something going on these days. I think the Avalanches started this new sound. The rave DJ's are being replaced by bands. LCD Soundsystem, The Field, Simian Mobile Disco, Daft Punk, The Battles and now Burial. This CD is new music in a boring Bruce, Britney, REM, or Celion Dion world. It's like Enigma but going into winter 2007/2008 it's peaceful. No more war music from rap. Check out "Archangel", it just might be a hit...ah shit they don't even swear. Music is evolving into a kind of Brian ENO/Kraftwerk thing. The lyrics are minimal and the message is upbeat. Even if it is, "Good to be alone". I found myself in this new phenomenon and the kids are rebelling against the punk, metal, rap, pop and what ever has come before. This is fresh but started years back. This will be playing in a coffee house somewhere right now. Something to create dreams for a new generation. "In McDonalds" was so simple. "Untrue" sounds like another hit formula but relaxing chill out beats. Never get's up uptight to lie....untrue. The way I feel inside because your lie? The way way I feel inside in a song. If you like music you'll like this one. I guess the only complaint is it sounds like Retro-1997. The rave scene is over but there is something about an unknown DJ that makes music. Weren't Kiss unknown musicians hidden behind masks before they made it? I'm listening to "Raver" track 13 with the hiss, pitch, samples over dubs and tempo. Ahhhhh what a stressless CD. It's good fuck music if there ever was. Expand
  7. JA
    Dec 5, 2007
    10
    "Untrue" sounds more real and true than all the other music I've bought this year. It's got me hooked.
  8. 100100100100
    Dec 6, 2007
    8
    I wish certain critics would stop throwing 100 scores around.
  9. AlexR
    Dec 6, 2007
    9
    The album feels deeply personal. Dark and brooding, behind driving percussion (or not) and equally dark and brooding beats, this is one of the great records of 2007. Also, Radiohead is way more art rock than electronica any day.
  10. AlexO
    Dec 8, 2007
    9
    Hey chris b apparently you cant make nice sounds on your laptop because you don't have a 91 rated album. I'm not a big fan of electronica but somehow this album seems to me a wonderful masterpiece. It's less about the beats than the interesting sonic textures presented to us.
  11. EricM.
    Dec 8, 2007
    8
    "Entroducing" fans heed! Same sound different perspective!
  12. AndrewH
    Dec 9, 2007
    9
    It's impossible to hear it's genious on first listen.
  13. JOE
    Jan 12, 2008
    10
    great album!!!!!!!!!! the amount of detail that has been lavished on this record is incredible. Stick your headphones on and enjoy........ like listening to someones best kept secret!
  14. clarkf.
    Jan 13, 2008
    10
    If you are musically literate enough to have an appreciation for dubstep, you will find this release to be among the best albums of the year. If you are not (and this site indicates that you are legion), then you will not appreciate the intricacies of the programming, or the mixing, or the engineering. Indeed, you may find the album dull. In this case, give the album to a sophisticated If you are musically literate enough to have an appreciation for dubstep, you will find this release to be among the best albums of the year. If you are not (and this site indicates that you are legion), then you will not appreciate the intricacies of the programming, or the mixing, or the engineering. Indeed, you may find the album dull. In this case, give the album to a sophisticated friend and wait for the new Spice Girls record. Expand
  15. DanM.
    Jan 15, 2008
    9
    An amazing album. The kind that you can completely get lost in. The only reason I didn't give it a 10 is that I generally don't listen to this type of music and I probably fail to grasp some of the nuances. The simple fact is that it is inexplicable and infectiously beautiful.
  16. JImH
    Jan 17, 2008
    9
    Grows on you if you give it a shot. Don't expect to get it until you're in the right frame of mind. Keep listening over a few weeks and suddenly it will make sense.
  17. JohnQ
    Jan 17, 2008
    10
    incredible on a pair of headphones. one of my favourite albums of all time.
  18. DuncanY
    Jan 18, 2008
    10
    This is so so good! I don't understand the hate.
  19. johnk
    Jan 19, 2008
    10
    I can't get enough of this. Burial makes absolutely fascinating music. Archangel in particular is beautiful.
  20. SDK
    Jan 22, 2008
    10
    it's uplifting, even with the melodramatic beats and vocals that seem to disappear into blackness before your ears. i don't know if you can classify this music correctly, or if it even needs it. hell, it breaks classifications and draws people in from all over. there's no doubt in my mind that there's WAY MORE than a handful of people out there listening to this record it's uplifting, even with the melodramatic beats and vocals that seem to disappear into blackness before your ears. i don't know if you can classify this music correctly, or if it even needs it. hell, it breaks classifications and draws people in from all over. there's no doubt in my mind that there's WAY MORE than a handful of people out there listening to this record on a daily basis. headphones recommended :) Expand
  21. JeremyF
    Jan 24, 2008
    8
    Definitely an acquired taste. It took me a few tries. But now I really do enjoy this work. It's best heard on headphones; it seriously sounds ten times better on headphone. No joke. My favorite tracks are Archangel, Near Dark, and the title track. In McDonalds is a brief but pristine surge of synth, and Etched Headplate is a nice relaxing electronic/beat-driven song. The vocals Definitely an acquired taste. It took me a few tries. But now I really do enjoy this work. It's best heard on headphones; it seriously sounds ten times better on headphone. No joke. My favorite tracks are Archangel, Near Dark, and the title track. In McDonalds is a brief but pristine surge of synth, and Etched Headplate is a nice relaxing electronic/beat-driven song. The vocals aren't meant to be the star of the show, so I like that they're not over the top. And on Archangel, they're so spliced up, and yet there's still a constant melody. I'm still unsure what dubstep is, but, if Burial is this genre, then I should check out more. (Remember: LISTEN ON HEADPHONES!) Expand
  22. SG
    Jan 25, 2008
    10
    negative reviews? you don't know what music is if you don't like this. this IS south London on a record. vinyl white noise, dark London streets, unknown vocals, seething bass. burial is the banksy of the music world, but with no irony. this album is straight up, and it's art.
  23. AlexF.
    Jan 31, 2008
    10
    This is an amazing album, have only recently been introduced to dubstep, and was shown this Burial album. I now cant stop listening to it!! I LOVE IT
  24. OllieH
    Jul 11, 2008
    9
    this album gives me shivers every time I listen to it, the amount of warmth and emotion here is unparalleled in electronic/dance music
  25. BehnamM.
    Aug 14, 2008
    10
    Some kind of postmodern view of a modern city. you can feel all cries of being so tierd of aloneness. its represents all of dark hiden emotions such as hatress, grief, moans, and lurking assault of a sneaky stress wich altogether transform to a giant feel of ruin. a masterpiece of atmospheric albums. Marvelous
  26. HenriN
    Aug 19, 2008
    10
    Up to this point, only a single naysayer has managed to brand this album as "pretentious". Did you people just graduate the junior high of haterdom?
  27. JohnJ.
    Nov 29, 2007
    10
    Best album of the year!
  28. HarryH.
    Nov 29, 2007
    10
    Cool and sad. Brand new and retro. Hard edged and gentle. Wonderful music.
  29. TylerF.
    Dec 17, 2007
    8
    So Pitchfork, Popmatters, and BBC aren't good enough for you?
  30. TomH.
    Dec 18, 2007
    10
    Possibly the best album of 2007 for me, better than his debut, namely because it has homeless on which is a brilliant song.
  31. ButtMan
    Dec 18, 2007
    10
    Album of the year easily. this shit is amazing and original and endlessly listenable. The production is phenomenal, tweaky brilliance, solid atmosphere, unf.ckwithable!!!!! burial is genius, no doubt. A+, five stars, 10.0, flawless victory!
  32. Mar 29, 2017
    10
    One of my favorite electronic albums ever recorded...
    It is dark and haunting but maintains enough heart that it ends up being an uplifting experience.
    While it may send you traveling down the dark alleys of your mind, there definitely is a light ahead... I suggest consuming this all in one sitting on a night you feel open to it. I did about 10 years ago and have been listening to it
    One of my favorite electronic albums ever recorded...
    It is dark and haunting but maintains enough heart that it ends up being an uplifting experience.
    While it may send you traveling down the dark alleys of your mind, there definitely is a light ahead...

    I suggest consuming this all in one sitting on a night you feel open to it.
    I did about 10 years ago and have been listening to it ever since. No one is better than Burial at this type of music and Burial never did it better than this...
    Expand
  33. Mar 12, 2012
    10
    Absolutely incredible. Burial's unique blend of dubstep and garage is further refined in his second full lenght release, conjuring up the same bleak, melancholic atmospheres but with new depth and focus. Faultless.
  34. Jan 4, 2012
    10
    Repetitive?, guess what, is electronic music. Since the 60s, electronic music has always been repetitive. And that's the best part when you love the beat, the echos and the vocals. You want to listen to that, again and again and a hundred times more. Open your minds, the electronic music is the most varied genre ever, because there are so many artists, each one with it's own style, so manyRepetitive?, guess what, is electronic music. Since the 60s, electronic music has always been repetitive. And that's the best part when you love the beat, the echos and the vocals. You want to listen to that, again and again and a hundred times more. Open your minds, the electronic music is the most varied genre ever, because there are so many artists, each one with it's own style, so many tracks... Expand
  35. Jan 7, 2012
    10
    I've heard it described as the sound of London at night, and I agree. Sorrowful early-morning comedowns set to fuzzy radios. I guess some people don't get it, but you can't attack it for repetitiveness, the monotony compliments the sad bass fading in and out, and the twisted vocals sound beautiful floating over the whole thing.
  36. Sep 28, 2012
    9
    I think you must get it to like it. btw most (if not all) of the songs actually have lyrics, but they´re hard to understand. i think im slowly getting it.
  37. Nov 29, 2013
    9
    Given this a listen only a couple of days ago, I must say its an experience like no other. Burial did his thing with sampling and used it like a pro. I hope to hear a follow up to this near-masterpiece.
  38. May 23, 2013
    9
    If you're looking for something to dance to, then this is the wrong album for you. If not, continue reading. Just like with most of his music, Burial blends together an extremely tranquil, deep and harmonious experience, plus if you like emotional things, Untrue is definitely something to give a listen to. It's not the best album I've ever heard, but it is definitely in my Top 10.
  39. Dec 13, 2013
    10
    I wasn't a huge fan of the album after the first half dozen listens. But something kept me coming back for repeated listens. Then during a random listen, it just hit me, the sound which seemed mediocre to me before, was incredible! One of my all-time favorite albums, and easily one of the oddest experiences I've had with an album.
  40. Dec 26, 2013
    10
    With fast tempos despite bone-chilling ambiance, Untrue manages to be arguably one of the greatest dubstep albums ever. However, don't expect this one to hit you immediately. When I first listened to this album, I thought it had nice beats, but those seemed to drone a bit too much and I lost interest. Luckily, I gave it a second chance and was left in tears by the emotional intensity ofWith fast tempos despite bone-chilling ambiance, Untrue manages to be arguably one of the greatest dubstep albums ever. However, don't expect this one to hit you immediately. When I first listened to this album, I thought it had nice beats, but those seemed to drone a bit too much and I lost interest. Luckily, I gave it a second chance and was left in tears by the emotional intensity of every song of this album; yet I still felt the uncontrollable urge to move to the album's incredible and subtly varied rhythms. It is not often an electronica album can be this physically and emotionally moving. In fact, I cannot think of another example. Expand
  41. May 8, 2014
    10
    The best ambient album of all time. Burial is a hugely unappreciated artist on the electronic scene, and this is his highest quality collection of musical pieces. I look forward to future full-length albums.
  42. May 15, 2015
    10
    It is hard to skip a song on this faultless LP. Brooding, evocative and strong, a step up from his self-titled debut and a pinnacle in electronic music.
  43. Jan 11, 2017
    10
    Excelent album .......................................................................................................................................
  44. Sep 5, 2017
    10
    I intially discovered this album in 2010 from Mt. Eden Dubstep's remix of Archangel. At the time I preferred the remix and quickly judged the album as dull faux dubstep that couldn't stand up to the kid's dubstep, the EDM brostep dropfests that were peaking in popularity at the time. I never even listened to it all the way through. I suspect this may be true for many others and the reasonI intially discovered this album in 2010 from Mt. Eden Dubstep's remix of Archangel. At the time I preferred the remix and quickly judged the album as dull faux dubstep that couldn't stand up to the kid's dubstep, the EDM brostep dropfests that were peaking in popularity at the time. I never even listened to it all the way through. I suspect this may be true for many others and the reason the user score is lagging so far behind the critics'. Hearing this for real 7 years later I am astonished at what I missed and how cheap the remix I once preferred sounds in comparison. This album transcends the genre labels most often associated with it; like all albums it has many influences but it stands out as truly unique. In retrospect it was way ahead of its time, and it might still be. Sure it has a consistent and familiar drum and bass backbone but that's just used to hypnotize you while it goes to work. Burial weaves intricate dreamlike layers that hook themselves inside you and drag you simultaneously deep into your soul and out into the far and empty reaches of space. Ghostly voices call out to you, robotic and warped in tone but utterly human in their sorrow and longing. This album is the sound of a brilliant mind so enveloped and distraught in its musings that they bleed directly into the surrounding space to be felt literally by the external world. Burial has peeled back his skull and exposed a part of his brain so that we lucky listeners can mush our brain meat against his to gain a fleeting but profound taste of pure consciousness outside ours, the type of real connection we spend our lives chasing. Untrue is an instant classic and we are extraordinarily lucky to be living in a time when this type of music is even possibly, let alone that someone was actually talented enough to produce it. Don't miss this like I almost did. Expand
Metascore
90

Universal acclaim - based on 23 Critics

Critic score distribution:
  1. Positive: 22 out of 23
  2. Negative: 0 out of 23
  1. Burial has concocted a noir-ish sound that’s as powerful as it is atmospheric.
  2. What gives this album more depth is the focus, the rolling symmetry and cinema.
  3. That emptiness tempts a listener in, and puts you in its place--you, in a sense, step into the record’s point of view. This invitation to intimacy is a powerful move that most club music is simply incapable of.