• Record Label: Mute
  • Release Date: May 27, 2014
User Score
7.8

Generally favorable reviews- based on 32 Ratings

User score distribution:
  1. Positive: 24 out of 32
  2. Negative: 3 out of 32
Buy On

Review this album

  1. Your Score
    0 out of 10
    Rate this:
    • 10
    • 9
    • 8
    • 7
    • 6
    • 5
    • 4
    • 3
    • 2
    • 1
    • 0
    • 0
  1. Submit
  2. Check Spelling
  1. May 27, 2014
    9
    Maybe not quite as oppressive as By The Throat, but still an incredible experience of distortion filled experimenting. If anything the only real downfall of this album is the slight lack of cohesion as compared to Ben Frost's earlier works, but it's still a must listen for anyone looking into dark ambient or experimental music, and a welcome addition for previous Ben Frost fans.
  2. Dec 7, 2014
    4
    I'm a huge fan of drone, noise, ambient whatever you want to call it and love this dudes work on soundtracks.
    This album to me is probably the only album I find 'unlistenable', and i don't mean 'unlistenable' in the sense that the themes are so awful and hateful you have to turn it off (the good way), I mean that some of the production literally causes pain to my ears... Plenty of other
    I'm a huge fan of drone, noise, ambient whatever you want to call it and love this dudes work on soundtracks.
    This album to me is probably the only album I find 'unlistenable', and i don't mean 'unlistenable' in the sense that the themes are so awful and hateful you have to turn it off (the good way), I mean that some of the production literally causes pain to my ears... Plenty of other noise artists make 'unlistenable' drone that assaults the senses and calms/energizes you but some of the production on this (really harsh, scratchy bits of EQd noise, painful white noise etc.) literally causes me physical pain and every time it happens it is so jarring and unpleasant that I can't continue with much more of the album, which sucks because Bread Crumbs is pretty much my favouritest track ever :(
    Expand
  3. Jun 26, 2014
    5
    It has some interesting parts with power. However, most of the album is boring and fails to evoke any emotions. The parts i liked are in: "Nolan", "Secant", and "A Single Point of Blinding Light".

Awards & Rankings

Metascore
84

Universal acclaim - based on 20 Critics

Critic score distribution:
  1. Positive: 20 out of 20
  2. Mixed: 0 out of 20
  3. Negative: 0 out of 20
  1. Oct 23, 2014
    80
    Influenced by both the horrors of war and the looming threat of a nearby active volcano, A U R O R A is every bit as terrifying and brutal as those inspirations suggest, but also oddly hypnotic and contemplative.
  2. Jul 22, 2014
    90
    There’s nothing knee-jerk about it; just the inexorable sounds of ideas beautiful and terrible unfurling. It’s a careful, masterful record.
  3. The Wire
    Jul 17, 2014
    80
    Frost's most fully realised work to date. [May 2014, p.62]