• Record Label: Empire
  • Release Date: May 29, 2020
User Score
8.7

Universal acclaim- based on 67 Ratings

User score distribution:
  1. Positive: 63 out of 67
  2. Mixed: 0 out of 67
  3. Negative: 4 out of 67
Buy On

Review this album

  1. Your Score
    0 out of 10
    Rate this:
    • 10
    • 9
    • 8
    • 7
    • 6
    • 5
    • 4
    • 3
    • 2
    • 1
    • 0
    • 0
  1. Submit
  2. Check Spelling
  1. Jun 3, 2020
    10
    Amazing **** album. Freddie underrated. Buy his **** support real music. 10/10
  2. Jul 3, 2020
    10
    This is an excellent album, easily the best production of the year. Gibbs put time into these rhymes
  3. Jun 6, 2020
    10
    Amazing body of work. Al & Freds chemistry is on point throughout the whole tape.
  4. Jun 15, 2020
    9
    Excellent album. Production is so nice, and summery, especially on "Something to rap about", which is my favorite track on the album. Although Freddie raps about what he usually does, this still is an excellent album, and it's not so long that you get bored. I really don't have much to say about this record, it is excellent and one of the best albums to come out this year. Hope moreExcellent album. Production is so nice, and summery, especially on "Something to rap about", which is my favorite track on the album. Although Freddie raps about what he usually does, this still is an excellent album, and it's not so long that you get bored. I really don't have much to say about this record, it is excellent and one of the best albums to come out this year. Hope more collaborations between Freddie and The Alchemist will come soon. Expand
  5. Jun 14, 2020
    9
    Probably rap AOTY at the time of this review...Freddie just may be the best rapper out right now. Piñata in 2014 may have seemed like an anomaly in his otherwise decent-but-not-great discography, but over the last couple of years with Fetti, Freddie, Bandana, and now Alfredo with Alchemist, he’s proven his place in the lane of coke rap greats. This album isn’t quite as good as Piñata, butProbably rap AOTY at the time of this review...Freddie just may be the best rapper out right now. Piñata in 2014 may have seemed like an anomaly in his otherwise decent-but-not-great discography, but over the last couple of years with Fetti, Freddie, Bandana, and now Alfredo with Alchemist, he’s proven his place in the lane of coke rap greats. This album isn’t quite as good as Piñata, but at only 10 songs and 35 minutes, it’s a quick, great, fun listen Expand
  6. Jun 11, 2020
    8
    If you like The Alchemist and Freddie Gibbs, this is the album for you. The Alchemist is back with smooth yet hard beats, something he has delivered with every project he has worked on this year (The Price Of Tea In China, and LULU). Freddie Gibbs matches the energy and composure he mastered on Piñata and Bandana to prove that he is truly one of the most consistent rappers right now. SomeIf you like The Alchemist and Freddie Gibbs, this is the album for you. The Alchemist is back with smooth yet hard beats, something he has delivered with every project he has worked on this year (The Price Of Tea In China, and LULU). Freddie Gibbs matches the energy and composure he mastered on Piñata and Bandana to prove that he is truly one of the most consistent rappers right now. Some high points: all of 1985 (the beat and verses are incredible), Tyler The Creator on Something to Rap About, Freddie on Scottie Beam, and all of Babies & Fools. A must listen and my 3rd favorite album of this year. Expand
  7. Jun 21, 2020
    10
    Probably my album of the year. Besides bolt cutters. This is a work of art. The beats selected are great the features especially Tyler and Benny bring a lot to the album. Its a classic in my eyes. Amazing project.
  8. Jun 6, 2020
    8
    Classic Gibbs rapping with a legendary producer on the beats. Hope they make a bigger tape.
  9. Jun 9, 2020
    10
    Certified grown man music, being a 10 track project for any other artist would've given me a sense of doubt about the quality lacking or not enough substance in the album. Alfredo does not suffer from this preconception at all, Piñata was my personal Freddie project to date before this and I really thought it wouldn't have been topped but this album with Freddie's sharp lyrical playCertified grown man music, being a 10 track project for any other artist would've given me a sense of doubt about the quality lacking or not enough substance in the album. Alfredo does not suffer from this preconception at all, Piñata was my personal Freddie project to date before this and I really thought it wouldn't have been topped but this album with Freddie's sharp lyrical play coinciding with his ever present gritty sub-nature portraying the drug and crime ridden life prior to music and Alchemist producing some of his finest work to date this album is a sure lock for Album of the year. Freddie continues to cement himself as one of the most decorated and consistent MCs of the modern era with a discography many will call legendary already. Expand
  10. Jun 10, 2020
    9
    One of the best hip hop albums you’ll hear all year. Gibbs & Al are a match made in heaven.
Metascore
89

Universal acclaim - based on 6 Critic Reviews

Critic score distribution:
  1. Positive: 6 out of 6
  2. Mixed: 0 out of 6
  3. Negative: 0 out of 6
  1. Q Magazine
    Jun 30, 2020
    80
    The melodic flow of Alchemist;s beats perfectly offsets his partner's raw, unfiltered delivery. [Aug 2020, p.107]
  2. 95
    It’s an incredibly tight record packed with stellar performances, production and presence throughout. The blood, sweat and tears of hip-hop run through the album, but Gibbs has once again redefined what that means.
  3. Jun 3, 2020
    80
    Gibbs skates over these beats, effortlessly gliding in and out of the pocket. Even the moments of stark contrast feel natural.