User Score
7.0

Generally favorable reviews- based on 67 Ratings

User score distribution:
  1. Positive: 44 out of 67
  2. Negative: 9 out of 67
Buy On

Review this album

  1. Your Score
    0 out of 10
    Rate this:
    • 10
    • 9
    • 8
    • 7
    • 6
    • 5
    • 4
    • 3
    • 2
    • 1
    • 0
    • 0
  1. Submit
  2. Check Spelling
  1. Mar 25, 2020
    0
    J Balvin vuelve trayendo un poco más de lo mismo, su trabajo incluye mucho relleno, llega a tornarse aburrido
  2. Mar 26, 2020
    0
    This is a fail conceptual album. The songs doesnt match whith the lyrics and concept “colors. The vc does not make Sense
  3. Mar 22, 2020
    10
    Sempre me surpreendendo. Sem fugir das suas características adicionando o umas batidas envolvente estilo R&B, ele sim é diferenciado.
  4. Mar 27, 2020
    0
    Monótono, predecible, cliché, desesperado por atención, por creerse raro y conceptual! De los concepts albums mas posers y triste que he escuchado. Un colombiano mas tratando de encajar y pasar por inteligente pero no le da. Balvin deja de reirte TAAAAN falso en cada entrevista o promoción o momento incomodo, ya sabemos q es tu forma de evadir memes y chistes sobre ti, no muestres tanto laMonótono, predecible, cliché, desesperado por atención, por creerse raro y conceptual! De los concepts albums mas posers y triste que he escuchado. Un colombiano mas tratando de encajar y pasar por inteligente pero no le da. Balvin deja de reirte TAAAAN falso en cada entrevista o promoción o momento incomodo, ya sabemos q es tu forma de evadir memes y chistes sobre ti, no muestres tanto la debilidad. PD: las animaciones de las cabezas grandes, son Un rotundo asco! Odié los fondos en degrade evocando el vomito Expand
  5. Mar 20, 2020
    6
    Since Vibras, J Balvin has been the best Reggaeton artist out there until now.
  6. Mar 20, 2020
    10
    Toda una gama de colores para disfrutar, sin dudas un buen album latino bien trabajado, musical, conceptual y estéticamente, duro nuestro Balvin!!
  7. Mar 20, 2020
    7
    I really loved the concept of colors and music bein one and the same, and I acknowledge the poetic attitude toward colors that J Balvin offered in this record. However, I struggled with identifying any originality in all this. At least, some beats and a part of the production were sincerely good.
  8. May 5, 2020
    5
    ( 54/100 )

    J Balvin ha hecho probablemente el peor álbum que he escuchado en mis tres años de reseñar música. A pesar de contar con 9 productores, sorprende que ni Dj Snake, Diplo o el ya renombrado Sky Rompiendo se hayan salvado de caer en el estereotipo. "Colores" es un álbum vacío, sin alma, sin emoción, sin intensidad, sin energía, sin sabor y mucho menos color. La monotonía de las
    ( 54/100 )

    J Balvin ha hecho probablemente el peor álbum que he escuchado en mis tres años de reseñar música. A pesar de contar con 9 productores, sorprende que ni Dj Snake, Diplo o el ya renombrado Sky Rompiendo se hayan salvado de caer en el estereotipo. "Colores" es un álbum vacío, sin alma, sin emoción, sin intensidad, sin energía, sin sabor y mucho menos color. La monotonía de las canciones se puede divisar muy fácilmente y parece aumentar de canción a canción. Cuando J Balvin alguna vez fue uno de los detonantes del regueton ético con propuestas atractivas para la industria, ahora acaba de caer al poso de artistas superficiales que descuida su música con sonidos y letras clichés. Una basura que ya no se puede reciclar.
    -
    J Balvin has probably made the worst album that I've heard in my three years of reviewing music. Even if there are 9 producers, it's surprising how not even Dj Snake, Diplo, or the well known Sky Rompiendo manage to avoid falling in the stereotype. "Colores" is an empty album, soulless, emotionless, with no intensity, energy, flavor, and much less color. The monotony of the songs can be easily seen and it actually seems to be increasing from song to song. When J Balvin once was one of the leaders of etic reggaeton with attractive proposals for the industry, now he's in the pit of superficial artists that neglect their music with cliche sounds and lyrics. A Trash that cannot be recycled any longer.
    Expand
  9. Mar 28, 2020
    10
    J Balvin con este álbum entrelaza sus antiguos trabajos discográficos (Energía, Vibras y un tanto de Oasis) sin embargo dándole un gran giro innovador, una historia que es contanda técnicamente solo por el, la producción es impecable, la voz de J Balvin es audaz y versátil en este álbum dándole un grandes sabores con los que ha deleitado a fanáticos, seguidores y cualquier otro oyente
  10. Jun 2, 2020
    9
    Excelente álbum. Incluso alguien que no disfrute tanto el reggaeton le podría gustar este álbum. Ritmos muy pegadizos pero no llegan a ser monótonos. Sin duda Balvin ha creado un álbum excelente el cual pone la apuesta mucho más alta.
  11. Jul 27, 2020
    10
    Es muy bueno para los que les gusta este genero musical, todas las canciones son buenas y tienen buen ritmo
  12. Mar 27, 2020
    10
    It is definitely a mature album with extraordinary sounds, a new proposal respecting the concept and theme of the world. It was what many expected and did not abuse any opportunity. The best of the year
  13. Apr 3, 2020
    8
    J Balvin trouxe um conceito divertido para seu novo álbum sem perder sua essência. As músicas não são Reggaeton, são J Balvin. Um álbum divertido e gostoso de ouvir até mesmo para quem não se familiariza totalmente com o Reggaeton.
  14. Mar 23, 2020
    5
    I've always thought that reggaeton artists don't need to follow an Americanish musical promotion strategy that includes LPs or a new single every three months. See so, I don't feel like I needed 'Colores' in my life. After listening to 'Rojo' I was, personally, very exited to listen to the album since the track was catchy-emotional and added freshness to Balvin's repertoire. I justI've always thought that reggaeton artists don't need to follow an Americanish musical promotion strategy that includes LPs or a new single every three months. See so, I don't feel like I needed 'Colores' in my life. After listening to 'Rojo' I was, personally, very exited to listen to the album since the track was catchy-emotional and added freshness to Balvin's repertoire. I just couldn't wait for the album to drop even though the concept of it seemed primary, basic and a bit childish. Nevertheless, when it was released I couldn't believe my ears: it is a huge mess.
    As I said before, I don't feel the need for this kind of artists to release full-length albums since the people who usually consume this kind of music are not interested in it. It is just unecessary! The album isn't good, it's just okay. It hasn't been written by Shakespeare or Taylor Swift, and it is something you can notice throughout its play since the lyrics are simple, too teen and, most of the times, cringeworthy. It has been a big deception, since his 2018 project 'Vibras', had a nice concept and content and a firm LP structure.
    In conclusion, this messy album shouldn't have happened given how monotonous, boring and stale it is.
    Expand
  15. Sep 7, 2020
    4
    J Balvin delivers a flat, boring album with some good ideas peppered through a lazy half-hour of content. This album reflects the current state of Reggaeton: artist repeating the same formula over and over again, and in this case Balvin's take on the new trends is nothing to cry about.
  16. Jun 9, 2021
    7
    Overall it's an album with an attention-grabbing concept, and perhaps the best work to date. The two songs that caught my attention were undoubtedly "Rojo" and "Blanco"
  17. Mar 21, 2020
    5
    This album is simply ok. Most of the songs have some sort of sexual meaning, some of the lyrics are cringeworthy. I would consider this a messy album, if it had better lyrics it'd get a higher rating.
  18. May 7, 2020
    10
    every song is so original! i love the energy that this album gives off. I love how the colors connect to the actual song.
  19. Mar 23, 2020
    10
    Incredible album! Rich in Latin elements that brings the identity of J Balvin. The aesthetics are incredible and the concept even more. Congratulations to the artist and to everyone involved in music and visual production. 10!
  20. Mar 26, 2020
    10
    Uma experiência diferente a cada faixa. Apesar de majoritariamente reggaeton, o álbum oferece uma experiência amadurecida e por vezes divertida de um dos maiores artistas da atualidade!
  21. Mar 28, 2020
    10
    No tan innovador como Vibras pero buenos ritmos y trabajo para haberlo hecho en solitario.
  22. Apr 19, 2020
    8
    Personalmente no encuentro mucho la relación de cada título con la canción que lo lleva. De todos modos me parece lo más artístico que haya hecho Balvin hasta ahora y algo un poco distinto a la monotonía que nos trae siempre el reggaeton. Tiene muy buenas canciones como Amarillo, Negro y Arcoiris, sin embargo yo descartaría canciones como Rojo o Gris que me suenan a relleno.
  23. Jul 25, 2020
    10
    Esse disco me remente realmente ao propósito dele, de escutar uma faixa e associar a uma cor. A primeira faixa do disco "Amarillo", por exemplo, é uma canção alegre e divertida, o sentimento que a cor amarelo nos remete, o conceito do álbum é original e J Balvin provou que é um artista capaz de se reinventat a cada trabalho realizado, cada disco dele é uma realidade diferente.
  24. Oct 7, 2020
    10
    Un álbum completo, con música variada completa y amorosa, sin duda jBalvin no sorprende con sus trabajos siempre nos da muchísimo arte
  25. Oct 1, 2020
    10
    J Balvin siempre innovando cada canción es un color una emoción . Lo mejor de lo mejor
  26. Nov 27, 2020
    5
    . This album fails to live up to its hype and conceptual direction. The production, although not bad it does feel very bland and shallow on most song and the beats don't hit as hard as the ones on the records of his contemporaries, primarily Bad Bunny. This album suffered from the ambitious concept of various colors representing each song and he should focus more on the sound of the record. This album fails to live up to its hype and conceptual direction. The production, although not bad it does feel very bland and shallow on most song and the beats don't hit as hard as the ones on the records of his contemporaries, primarily Bad Bunny. This album suffered from the ambitious concept of various colors representing each song and he should focus more on the sound of the record itself instead of its aesthetics. Definitely not a bad album but overall it feels like a lost opportunity to show innovative production and define his sound. Expand
  27. Dec 12, 2020
    2
    Una maestría en ‘Cómo hacer un álbum lleno de rimas flojas pero dignas de ser publicadas por las chicas en instastories’.
    Puro punchline ‘relatable’ para que las minas posteen en instagram para hacerle publicidad gratis a un álbum regular.
    La colaboración con Bad Bunny es lo mejor que le pasó a este hombre en todo el año.
  28. Mar 20, 2021
    10
    Uno de los mejores discos latinos, a pesar de todas las dificultades de la pandemia J Balvin supo trabajar con el concepto del disco visual.
  29. May 17, 2021
    9
    C'est un très bon album dans son ensemble, avec une grande diversité musicale !
Metascore
72

Generally favorable reviews - based on 8 Critic Reviews

Critic score distribution:
  1. Positive: 6 out of 8
  2. Negative: 0 out of 8
  1. Mar 27, 2020
    73
    Colores’ concept is steeped in this earnest (if slightly indulgent) pursuit. Each of its 10 tracks corresponds to a different color, in a sort of sonic mood ring.
  2. Mar 26, 2020
    60
    Affable but slightly numbing. ... But by and large, these are polite songs, and familiar, too. Balvin is a sweetly elegiac singer — see especially “Azul,” where he stretches out soft vowels like taffy — but his rapping is largely blank.
  3. Mar 23, 2020
    80
    Aware that any language barrier can be overcome by a plethora of hooks and a prevailing atmosphere, Balvin adds a playful embellishment to each of the album’s 10 tracks, be it Amarillo’s kazoo-assisted beat, or the twinkling glacial percussion that tickles closer Blanco. A riot not just of colour, but of ideas too.