User Score
5.6

Mixed or average reviews- based on 117 Ratings

User score distribution:
  1. Positive: 66 out of 117
  2. Negative: 48 out of 117
Buy On

Review this album

  1. Your Score
    0 out of 10
    Rate this:
    • 10
    • 9
    • 8
    • 7
    • 6
    • 5
    • 4
    • 3
    • 2
    • 1
    • 0
    • 0
  1. Submit
  2. Check Spelling
  1. Sep 18, 2018
    0
    Honestly, is there a more dull music "artist" in the universe than this Carrie Underwood? I doubt it. And this album did nothing to change that. Besides, how can you call Carrie a real artist when she is manufactured by the ghastly Idol machine? It's sad that we live in times where people honour reality television stars.
  2. Sep 18, 2018
    0
    This album is wack. No seriously it is. The same, whiny country-pop we expect from this boring-ass girl. There are boosters of this album that call it "experimental." Seriously? You call this "experimental"? Music artists like Beyoncé, Janelle Monáe, Solange, Kendrick Lamar, Kehlani, The Weeknd, and even Nicki Minaj and Travis Scott have experimented with several genres. And they haveThis album is wack. No seriously it is. The same, whiny country-pop we expect from this boring-ass girl. There are boosters of this album that call it "experimental." Seriously? You call this "experimental"? Music artists like Beyoncé, Janelle Monáe, Solange, Kendrick Lamar, Kehlani, The Weeknd, and even Nicki Minaj and Travis Scott have experimented with several genres. And they have excelled at it, as they are visionaries compared to Carrie Underwood. Yet you don't see them widely praised as Carrie Underwood is, as they still have many detractors. It's up to you to see why. And it's frustrating. Expand
  3. Sep 14, 2018
    0
    This was supposed to be her most personal album and it wasn’t personal at all. Lyrically it isn’t interesting and songs like The Bullet and Spinning Bottles feel out of place here. She still screams through her songs. I also don’t like the pop production.
  4. Oct 3, 2018
    0
    Truly one of the worst albums of all time, which is saying a lot. From the whinging in Cry Pretty to the borderline cringeworthy lyrics of Love Wins and The Champion, the Cry Pretty album is guaranteed to make you fall ill.
  5. Sep 19, 2018
    0
    I have been a long-time country music fan. And I still cannot believe how there are people, to this day, that praise a singer like Carrie Underwood. It angers me how glorified pop artists like Carrie get all the accolades, moreso than real country like Pat Green, Cross Canadian Ragweed, Asleep at the Wheel, and Kacey Musgraves. I'm from Texas, so I sure as hell know my country, and thisI have been a long-time country music fan. And I still cannot believe how there are people, to this day, that praise a singer like Carrie Underwood. It angers me how glorified pop artists like Carrie get all the accolades, moreso than real country like Pat Green, Cross Canadian Ragweed, Asleep at the Wheel, and Kacey Musgraves. I'm from Texas, so I sure as hell know my country, and this album is nothing but crappy pop, just like Sam Hunt and Florida-Georgia Line.

    The title track reminds me of Steel Panther, and not in a good way. What makes you think that if I want 80s-style hard rock, I would turn to Carrie Underwood? As for songs like Ghosts On The Stereo, don't you dare compare Carrie Underwood to a legend like Johnny Cash! As a singer that likes to pander to extreme far-right religious groups throughout her career, she is attempting to pander to the issue of the day (gun safety) with The Bullet as well as to LGBT rights groups with Love Wins. Look, I actually lean liberal myself, but I can tell when a song sounds like a cheap attempt. Many of the songs on this album are just so forgettable, you cannot put it in words. And The Champion sounds like a cheap attempt to cater to the hip-hop crowd by featuring Ludacris. The Champion sounds like the crappy jingles she does on NBC football.

    It is a crime to consider this collection of cliched songs country, let alone good country music. I am tired of Carrie getting overexposed on every damn country award show like she is some sort of saint. I am tired of people with talent getting skipped over in favor of manufactured pop. I'm just so sick of it!

    I do see some negative Metacritic reviews posted here. Maybe the chickens are coming home to roost after all.
    Expand
  6. Oct 20, 2018
    0
    Carrie Underwood is a hypocrite. How can she promote violence and property damage as moral ways to get back at your unfaithful lover, yet criticize the prevalence of gun violence? Her disgusting pro-property damage hit song "Before He Cheats" actually inspired people. Not only that, but she advocated for murder in "Two Black Cadillacs." She deserves to be treated like the hard-boiledCarrie Underwood is a hypocrite. How can she promote violence and property damage as moral ways to get back at your unfaithful lover, yet criticize the prevalence of gun violence? Her disgusting pro-property damage hit song "Before He Cheats" actually inspired people. Not only that, but she advocated for murder in "Two Black Cadillacs." She deserves to be treated like the hard-boiled criminal she really is. Expand
  7. Nov 8, 2018
    0
    She’s not a real country artist. She is manufactured and boring. Just another pretty face to sell to the masses.
  8. Sep 23, 2018
    0
    I cannot believe I actually wasted 50 minutes of my life listening to this pitiful excuse of music. I wholly regret it now. The thought of listening to this worthless Spotify playlist of crap sickens me to the core. Oh well, lesson learned. But at a horrible time when crap like Post Malone and XXXTentacion (shudders) top the charts.
  9. Sep 18, 2018
    0
    KATE BUSH SHE IS NOT! Sorry, it has to be said, before people make Carrie out to be some Jesus or something.
  10. Sep 14, 2018
    0
    Not impressed! All this time waiting and this is what we get? Some generic cheesy song about love and a bunch of filler material that is divorced of any real emotions or feelings. Why does she even pretend to be a country singer when she is as pop as Taylor Swift was? She has so much potential but she blows it constantly. How hard is it to just make a county album? Pick a genre.
  11. Oct 8, 2018
    0
    Corny and laughable lyrics. Generic country-esque pop music. Making this album vapid and uninspiring.
  12. Sep 19, 2018
    0
    So disappointed.................................................. not her best
  13. Sep 14, 2018
    10
    Carrie is coming into her own with this record. I love that she shows so much emotion in her voice making it raw and real. The production is amazing which she and David Garcia should be so proud of.
  14. Sep 18, 2018
    10
    This is definitely Carrie’s best album to date. She has matured as a songwriter and vocalist. I’m proud to be a fan!
  15. Sep 18, 2018
    10
    This is a great album so don’t let people with an agenda convince you otherwise. It is very personal and each song on the album is fantastic. There are fans of other artists coming on to disparage Ms. Underwood. They are not unbiased reviews. Listen to full clips on iTunes and you will see how each song shines. It is her best work. All of her albums have been great but I think that thisThis is a great album so don’t let people with an agenda convince you otherwise. It is very personal and each song on the album is fantastic. There are fans of other artists coming on to disparage Ms. Underwood. They are not unbiased reviews. Listen to full clips on iTunes and you will see how each song shines. It is her best work. All of her albums have been great but I think that this one is even better. Expand
  16. Sep 14, 2018
    10
    Carrie Underwood's best album by far. Several gems arena this: Ghosts on the Stereo, Low, Drinking Alone, The Bullet, Spinning Bottles. Even the experimental, genre-pushing songs are undeniably catchy. Vocally she's better than ever.
  17. Sep 14, 2018
    10
    Carrie has surpassed my expectations on this album. It is absolutely brilliant from top to bottom! As a writer and producer, she took real risks here and they paid off. It is a breath of fresh air and so different for her! Her vocals are stellar as always- but this time, she showed a different side to her voice at times-- almost a bluesy, R&B soulful side that really works for me. It isCarrie has surpassed my expectations on this album. It is absolutely brilliant from top to bottom! As a writer and producer, she took real risks here and they paid off. It is a breath of fresh air and so different for her! Her vocals are stellar as always- but this time, she showed a different side to her voice at times-- almost a bluesy, R&B soulful side that really works for me. It is like the country version of Adele, and that is brilliant. But Carrie is very much herself. COUNTRY QUEEN! So in love with this album! Best song: DRINKING ALONE and LOW Expand
  18. Sep 15, 2018
    10
    Absolutely LOVE this album!!! I think this is Carrie's best album yet! Backsliding, Southbound, Spinning Bottles, Love Wins, End Up With You, and The Bullet are AMAZING!!! Love you, Carrie!
  19. Sep 14, 2018
    10
    She has power in those vocals. I have been a fan since the very VERY beginning and never heard her use her power to the fullest like is heard in Cry Pretty! You GO girl!!! Love it
  20. Sep 18, 2018
    10
    THE BEST ÁLBUM OF THE YEAR. I LOVE YOU CARRIE SO SO SO MUCH FOREVER AND EVER
  21. Sep 18, 2018
    10
    Cry Pretty is her best album to date and a masterpiece all way. Congrats Carrie!
  22. Sep 18, 2018
    10
    Carrie has outdone herself and proves she could sing LITERALLY anything with technically perfect vocals soaring to new heights in this album. With the drop of this album it's obvious she's at the point in her career where she's comfortable making music that she actually enjoys singing and listening to. in the past I would never have described one of Carrie's albums as soulful, jazzy with aCarrie has outdone herself and proves she could sing LITERALLY anything with technically perfect vocals soaring to new heights in this album. With the drop of this album it's obvious she's at the point in her career where she's comfortable making music that she actually enjoys singing and listening to. in the past I would never have described one of Carrie's albums as soulful, jazzy with a touch of rhythm and blues but there a definitely tracks in here that feel exactly like that. Her riffs and runs are God-tier level in this album, definitely her best to date. Nothing, I repeat nothing, (and I can't stress this enough) is dull or boring about this album. The emotion, story-telling and political statements are something that at first listen can make this album seem a little too eclectic but the cohesiveness derives from the passion behind most of the co-written songs, all which (save for 1 or 2 tracks) can all be placed on repeat for hours. If you only had one album to listen to describe Carrie as an artist and person this would be the definitive one. It's honestly a joy experiencing this album again and again, I say this as someone who has only ever been a fan of Carrie's sophomore album "Carnival Ride." Expand
  23. Sep 18, 2018
    10
    This wonderful album is my favorite since Some Hearts. Just brilliant in every way. Carrie Underwood's vocal performance is amazing. I love every song on the album -- production and performance simply outstanding. Best work to date by a great artist.
  24. Nov 8, 2018
    0
    Another flop. She is no longer relevant now that she has been exposed as a political coward. This pop music is for children. I want music for adults.
  25. Sep 14, 2018
    10
    Holy SMOKES! Bring the extinguisher because this album is pure FIRE! For anyone that said Carrie is ONLY Country POP, have them stop in for a listen or two to this album! I count it as NUMERO UNO of all her albums and I am literally STOKED !!!

    GOTS is the very definition of country. Gives me Johnny & June vibes. Gonna have to get me some Jack in my coke and have a party…... Low has
    Holy SMOKES! Bring the extinguisher because this album is pure FIRE! For anyone that said Carrie is ONLY Country POP, have them stop in for a listen or two to this album! I count it as NUMERO UNO of all her albums and I am literally STOKED !!!

    GOTS is the very definition of country. Gives me Johnny & June vibes. Gonna have to get me some Jack in my coke and have a party…...

    Low has just GOT TO BE A SINGLE! TODAY! TOMORROW! Even YESTERDAY! It reminded me somewhat of Patsy Cline and the crooning, whaling… A vocal masterpiece. FIRST CLASS!

    Backsliding - I loved the words….really need to hear all of it.

    Southbound – Absolutely loved it. Very catchy, a great quickstep! Pure country with a kicker!

    TSWUTMLT – What a little mid tempo jewel.

    Drinking Alone – I’m telling you….bluesy as all get out. Chris Stapleton vibes here. Ends with a shooter or two……..

    The Bullet – Grab a towel in lieu of a Kleenex. Wow, start to finish, this is a tear jerker to beat all. Words are just beautiful, voice singing it even more so. Gave me a little bit of Allen Jackson The Day The World Stopped Turning vibes..

    Spinning Bottles – WOW. Cut open my chest and exposed my heart in this soulful ballad with the almost sobbing vocals. Keep hold of the Kleenex you had for The Bullet.

    End Up With You – Loving the staccato upbeat bursts in this song. Probably the least country of all the songs, it’s catchy as all get out.

    Kingdom – Sounds very personal and glad to see that Carrie is including this kind of song on her new album. Perfectly imperfect…..

    I personally give this album an A+
    Loving the start to finish….the whole shebang. Love how it covers every facet of feelings from the lowest of lows and climbing to the highest of the highs with The Champion. A work of art. And the framer is Carrie. Her voice covers so many different facets throughout the album. Loving how she just WENT with it! Let it talk to her! Let her voice tell the stories!
    The album is the definition of GRAMMY.
    Expand
  26. Sep 22, 2018
    10
    I'm not sure what critics are listening to but, this album is not only musically brilliant, lyrically interesting & emotionally a journey BUT, Carrie's vocals ranges from Belt to just shy of a whisper. The high points for me personally are LOW, GHOSTS ON THE STEREO, CRY PRETTY, THE BULLET (brave choice Carrie!)… oh who am I kidding, the weakest song for me on the album was End up With YouI'm not sure what critics are listening to but, this album is not only musically brilliant, lyrically interesting & emotionally a journey BUT, Carrie's vocals ranges from Belt to just shy of a whisper. The high points for me personally are LOW, GHOSTS ON THE STEREO, CRY PRETTY, THE BULLET (brave choice Carrie!)… oh who am I kidding, the weakest song for me on the album was End up With You and it's still catchy as heck. I feel like I went from a stadium to a smoky bar in New Orleans to her living room in Tennessee & just outside her church for a moment. This is her best work to date. I'm not often surprised by music but this album 'shook' me in a good way. I like listening to albums as stand alone, not comparing to what has been done, what I expect or what should have been done. I like to rate them based on their own merit. How many songs from the album do I have to skip to make it listenable. I don't have to skip any songs on this album. It's that good & a journey worth taking!!! Expand
  27. Sep 14, 2018
    10
    This album is pure perfection.. Carrie just keeps getting better and better with each album she releases
  28. Sep 17, 2018
    0
    Napakainit at masakit album upang pakinggan. Ang lahat ng mga kanta ay masama at tunog ang parehong. Sinubukan na maging senti ngunit ito ay walang pag-iisip. Hindi lumitaw ang apila sa sosyal, high-end na klase, bilang paksa at nilalaman ng apela sa mas mababang mga klase. Ngunit kahit na ito ay isang malaking pagkabigo. Bakit ang kaakit-akit sa Amerika ay nakakagulat, dahil ang kanyangNapakainit at masakit album upang pakinggan. Ang lahat ng mga kanta ay masama at tunog ang parehong. Sinubukan na maging senti ngunit ito ay walang pag-iisip. Hindi lumitaw ang apila sa sosyal, high-end na klase, bilang paksa at nilalaman ng apela sa mas mababang mga klase. Ngunit kahit na ito ay isang malaking pagkabigo. Bakit ang kaakit-akit sa Amerika ay nakakagulat, dahil ang kanyang musika ay kabuuang basura. May isang magandang dahilan kung bakit sa labas ng Amerika, walang isa na kagustuhan ng kanyang musika. Kung nagsisikap siyang mag-apela sa mga tao sa Europa at Asia, siya ay nabigo. Walang sinuman ang gusto makinig sa tortyur o isang mapagkunwari smiley-face na nagtataguyod ng karahasan. Hindi sa banggitin ang isang boses na alinman sa hiyawan o magngangalit sa ang masamang musika. Expand
  29. Sep 17, 2018
    10
    You can hear Carrie's creative growth and artistic control in this album. Vocally, she let go of the usual well-polished technically perfect tendency and explore deeper and rawer side of her voice as well as different enunciation. Musically, the standard pop country was fused with bluesy instrumentation, RnB synth, gospel and arena rock elements. The thread that connects it all is Carrie'sYou can hear Carrie's creative growth and artistic control in this album. Vocally, she let go of the usual well-polished technically perfect tendency and explore deeper and rawer side of her voice as well as different enunciation. Musically, the standard pop country was fused with bluesy instrumentation, RnB synth, gospel and arena rock elements. The thread that connects it all is Carrie's emotion and conviction in what she was singing, especially in the first half. A must listen for all. Expand
  30. Sep 19, 2018
    10
    Cry Pretty album is a masterpiece. I cried listening to the songs The Bullet, Low, and Cry Pretty. Carrie Underwood's vocals is stunning and heavenly. The album is so hypnotic that I cannot stop listening to it on repeat. It is mesmerizing and spellbinding album. This is way above her five previous albums. In each songs there are different stylistic and artistic approach. Full ofCry Pretty album is a masterpiece. I cried listening to the songs The Bullet, Low, and Cry Pretty. Carrie Underwood's vocals is stunning and heavenly. The album is so hypnotic that I cannot stop listening to it on repeat. It is mesmerizing and spellbinding album. This is way above her five previous albums. In each songs there are different stylistic and artistic approach. Full of emotion. Very innovative hybrid of pop-country, soul-country, country-rock, and pure pop with different mixtures of elements. I love "That Song That We Used To Make Love To", "Drinking Alone", and "Low" to be singles in radio air wave. Kudos to Carrie Underwood. Expand
  31. Sep 19, 2018
    10
    This is probably the best country album this year, and one of the best albums this year. There is no filler . Her vocal is on point in every single song. The emotion she shows is captivating.
  32. Sep 14, 2018
    10
    Carrie Underwood finally allows one or two cracks to show in her otherwise glamorous exterior for her sixth studio album, Cry Pretty. Up until this point, Underwood's albums have been heavily compressed and produced, hoping to sell as many copies and place as many number one hits as possible on the country-pop charts. With Cry Pretty, the "American Idol" winner puts artistic effort aboveCarrie Underwood finally allows one or two cracks to show in her otherwise glamorous exterior for her sixth studio album, Cry Pretty. Up until this point, Underwood's albums have been heavily compressed and produced, hoping to sell as many copies and place as many number one hits as possible on the country-pop charts. With Cry Pretty, the "American Idol" winner puts artistic effort above what might be pleasing to the vast majority. Tracks "Ghosts on the Stereo" and "Low" have the potential to be big hits on country radio next year, reminiscent of those old-time country songs from the 1970s. Another highlight of the album is "Drinking Alone", which sounds like something Amy Winehouse could have put out today to keep up with pop radio's big stars. "Southbound" will likely be one of next summer's big country hits, and title track "Cry Pretty" is as campy as 80s arena-rock can get. Elsewhere, on "The Bullet" and "Spinning Bottles" Underwood gets more serious, telling stories about lives lost from gun violence and the effect alcoholism can have on a family. Expand
  33. Sep 18, 2018
    10
    I've been a Carrie Underwood fan since her first appearance on American Idol and have all of her albums but this is by far her best effort.
    My favorite tracks are Drinking Alone, Ghosts on the Stereo & Southbound, I hope at least two of these are released as future singles.
    In my opinion, all 11 songs on the album are strong and listenable and well worth the wait, the money & definitely
    I've been a Carrie Underwood fan since her first appearance on American Idol and have all of her albums but this is by far her best effort.
    My favorite tracks are Drinking Alone, Ghosts on the Stereo & Southbound, I hope at least two of these are released as future singles.
    In my opinion, all 11 songs on the album are strong and listenable and well worth the wait, the money & definitely worth the listen.
    Expand
  34. Sep 18, 2018
    10
    Her most personal and most powerful album yet! Songs like "Low" "Cry Pretty" "Kingdom" and even "The Bullet" are very personal songs about her life in the last couple of years! You will find what you are looking for for sure, since the most country songs "Ghosts on the Stereo" "Spinning Bottles" to soulful "Low" "Drinking Alone" to pop "Backsliding" "End Up With You" this is an album youHer most personal and most powerful album yet! Songs like "Low" "Cry Pretty" "Kingdom" and even "The Bullet" are very personal songs about her life in the last couple of years! You will find what you are looking for for sure, since the most country songs "Ghosts on the Stereo" "Spinning Bottles" to soulful "Low" "Drinking Alone" to pop "Backsliding" "End Up With You" this is an album you will love from start to finish, not even one filler song. Very impressed!! Expand
  35. Sep 18, 2018
    10
    VERY impressed. I can safely say after only 4 days that this is her best album to date, it’s definitely Not her most country, but there are plenty of country songs to suit all fans of different music genres. The leading tracking shows off her heartbreak and pain over the past year, and love wins in an uplifting song about coming together as one despite all the bad in the world - somethingVERY impressed. I can safely say after only 4 days that this is her best album to date, it’s definitely Not her most country, but there are plenty of country songs to suit all fans of different music genres. The leading tracking shows off her heartbreak and pain over the past year, and love wins in an uplifting song about coming together as one despite all the bad in the world - something which is needed right now and currently quite appropriate, as well as a nice # nod to the LGBT community. The other stand out tracks include ‘the bullet’ - a haunting song about gun violence and tells the heartbreaking story of a mother loosing her son, ‘low’ - a song vocally carrie’s at her best - and if she gets the opportunity to sing this live, this will be a ‘moment’ for her, ‘drinking alone’ may possibly be one of my favourite Carrie singles of all time and deserves single-attention. Other highlights include the country fuelled ‘southbound’ , ‘spinning bottles’ & ‘Kingdom’ - Unusual for any album - the 2nd half of the album is actually stronger than the first half. After a 3-year wait - it’s most definitely a long awaitied welcome back to the queen of country! Not sure what some of these negative reviews expected - as any true artist - she’s exploring, changing, adapting & trying new things , and I for one appreciate the new risks she’s taking. Give it a chance. It won’t disappoint. Expand
  36. Sep 19, 2018
    10
    Totally different sound and emotion than prior projects. Something for everyone and every mood.
  37. Oct 16, 2018
    10
    Her best album yet. I can't stop playing it on repeat. She really outdid herself and went in a direction she's never gone before. Standout Tracks: That Song That We Used To Make Love To, Low, Backsliding, and Drinking Alone.
  38. Sep 15, 2018
    10
    Trabalho impecável. Forte. Letras bem trabalhadas e que falam sobre o que realmente acontece em nossas vidas. Obrigado Carrie :)
  39. Sep 19, 2018
    10
    This has to be one of Carrie's greatest albums she's ever released. I really think it's good enough to win AOTY at the Grammys! The songs are diverse and some are surprising, but it flows really well. She opens up more than in previous albums, and some songs hit hard. It's an amazing album.
  40. Sep 14, 2018
    10
    Her vocal is so powerful combines with country music, it's a wonderful masterpiece.
  41. Sep 19, 2018
    10
    Love this album,so personal.The Bullet,Low,Spinning Bottle are so real,heartbreaking.And then there ever so fum That Song and Soutbound! Great collection of songs ending with the ultra personal Kingdom which is just beautiful!

    Vocals are off the charts!
  42. Sep 19, 2018
    10
    Cry Pretty is a breath of fresh air from the title track to the final track on the album. It is a deeply moving album lyrically, vocally and musically. Carrie Underwood has never sounded better using her voice to emote what the lyrics are describing. She has also written some of the best songs of her career with Spinning Bottles, Low, Drinking Alone, Backsliding, and Cry Pretty. It isCry Pretty is a breath of fresh air from the title track to the final track on the album. It is a deeply moving album lyrically, vocally and musically. Carrie Underwood has never sounded better using her voice to emote what the lyrics are describing. She has also written some of the best songs of her career with Spinning Bottles, Low, Drinking Alone, Backsliding, and Cry Pretty. It is a country album but she explores the sounds of R&B, Pop, and boy does she explore the sounds of Soul and Blues. I highly recommend this album. Expand
  43. Sep 19, 2018
    10
    Cry Pretty is a masterpiece!! Carrie's vocals are stunning! We know she sings all the high notes, but the low notes on this album are new to us and awesome. We get a little blues, R&B, Country, she tries so many styles that we haven't heard before! The best of our generation, and Cry Pretty is the highlight of her career!!
  44. Sep 19, 2018
    10
    Super impressed with this album, topics covered, and the exploration of production. Hard to choose a filler or least favorite song.

    Highlights are Drinking Alone, Low, Ghosts on the Stereo, Spinning Bottles
    Southbound is super fun!
  45. Sep 19, 2018
    10
    Her sixth studio album and her voice and sound are as fresh as ever. Carrie explores new sounds and techniques both vocally and musically. With hints of R&B and pop infused in some songs while nodes to her country roots seamlessly stitch the majority of the album.

    The sequence of songs from "Low" to "Drinking Alone" show an array of emotion and talent that is always welcomed from Carrie
    Her sixth studio album and her voice and sound are as fresh as ever. Carrie explores new sounds and techniques both vocally and musically. With hints of R&B and pop infused in some songs while nodes to her country roots seamlessly stitch the majority of the album.

    The sequence of songs from "Low" to "Drinking Alone" show an array of emotion and talent that is always welcomed from Carrie Underwood. While "That Song That We Made Love To" and "End Up With You" are more pop-country, they are great entries to Underwood's catalog, continuing to show her growth as an artist.

    Furthermore, it wouldn't be a Carrie Underwood album without a knack of smart lyrics and sweeping powerhouse vocals. "The Bullet," "Backsliding," and "Spinning Bottles" paint vivid pictures and unforgettable stories.
    Expand
  46. Sep 19, 2018
    10
    This is absolutely Carrie Underwood’s best CD. These are some of the best songs that she has recorded in her career. Her vocals, as always, are incredible. One of the best albums, if not THE best album, of 2018 so far.
  47. Oct 12, 2018
    7
    Carrie Underwood beautifully showed off all her pink tears. The album is good, highlighting its great vocals well incorporated, we have tracks with not very unusual, but still very interesting metaphors.
  48. St5
    Nov 9, 2018
    10
    Wow this album is EPIC!!! I have all the feelings hearing this record, every song is so well done and innovative! Highly recommended!
  49. Aug 5, 2019
    10
    This is Carrie Underwood's best work to date. Carrie Underwood continues to be my 3rd favorite artist of all time, my 2nd favorite singer of all time, the 2nd best country singer, and one of the best singers of all time. This is my 2nd favorite album of 2018 and is one of my favorite albums of all time. As always her voice was spectacular on this album. I could tell how personal this albumThis is Carrie Underwood's best work to date. Carrie Underwood continues to be my 3rd favorite artist of all time, my 2nd favorite singer of all time, the 2nd best country singer, and one of the best singers of all time. This is my 2nd favorite album of 2018 and is one of my favorite albums of all time. As always her voice was spectacular on this album. I could tell how personal this album is to her. I loved how she combined country with different types of music like r&b, pop, and soul. The cover for the album is gorgeous, I loved the sparkly crying makeup and it is my favorite album cover ever. The writing and production were both stupendous. The music video for Cry Pretty was a amazingly directed. The music video for Love Wins was very inspiring and beautiful. I loved ever single second listening to this song. Since I loved every song on the album I found it hard to pick my favorite's so instead I ranked them from 1 to 13 an my ranking is Love Wins, Spinning Bottles, Drinking Alone, Cry Pretty, The Bullet, Kingdom, Low, End Up Here With You, The Champion, Backsliding, Southbound, Ghosts On The Stereo, and That Song That We Used To Make Love To. God Bless her and her entire family. A+. Expand
  50. Mar 8, 2019
    6
    I'm very mixed on this album. Overall I like it, but it's a little too pop leaning for me. It's not a record that I will keep going back to and listening to all the way through, but tracks like Drinking Alone and Low are really solid songs that will be part of every playlist I make. It's a good record but it's not her best.
Metascore
69

Generally favorable reviews - based on 11 Critics

Critic score distribution:
  1. Positive: 6 out of 11
  2. Negative: 0 out of 11
  1. Oct 4, 2018
    60
    Her voice as a lyricist (she co-wrote two-thirds of the songs) tends to drift just a little, with the more specific songs working better. With the thick production on the album, it models radio trends but doesn't advance them. Given Underwood's talents, it would be exciting to see her craft a character-driven album and some quieter production.
  2. Sep 21, 2018
    83
    Here the bluesy “Drinking Alone” transports you to a smoky bar where two lonely strangers find each other above their beer bottles, while “The Bullet” is a strong and surprising anti-gun-violence message from a country star. But it’s Underwood’s considerable resilience that shines through here.
  3. Uncut
    Sep 20, 2018
    50
    Overall it's a box-ticking collection unlikely to broaden her mainstream fanbase. [Nov 2018, p.37]