User Score
8.2

Universal acclaim- based on 251 Ratings

User score distribution:
  1. Negative: 17 out of 251

Review this album

  1. Your Score
    0 out of 10
    Rate this:
    • 10
    • 9
    • 8
    • 7
    • 6
    • 5
    • 4
    • 3
    • 2
    • 1
    • 0
    • 0
  1. Submit
  2. Check Spelling
  1. DaveN
    Jan 14, 2009
    8
    Great first half, first 5 tracks are amazing. High Horse Lady is good, though a bit to repititive in my opinion. Falling Down is perhaps the best song on the album. The latter songs are of lesser quality. To be Where There's Life is still quite good, but Ain't Got Notin' is awful, as is The Nature of Reality. Soldier On is a decent ending, but lacks the brilliance of a song Great first half, first 5 tracks are amazing. High Horse Lady is good, though a bit to repititive in my opinion. Falling Down is perhaps the best song on the album. The latter songs are of lesser quality. To be Where There's Life is still quite good, but Ain't Got Notin' is awful, as is The Nature of Reality. Soldier On is a decent ending, but lacks the brilliance of a song like Champagne Supernova. Overall a pretty good album, but could have been better. Expand
  2. Jan 15, 2014
    10
    perfect, where you seen it, the caratle, the songs, are perfect, the 3rd. best oasis album, is amazing, since bag it up till, soldier on, & I'm Outta Time is the best song of the album, an instant Classic, all too much to say
  3. NealM.
    Oct 7, 2008
    10
    I love this album and why so many critics have to put albums under the microscope and rip them to pieces baffles me. If you don't like it don't listen..Simple. All I know is that this album has recindled my love for Oasis and it's got an awesome grungy tone to the first half of the album. I'm outta time is one of their best ever tracks, and the heavier drums up front I love this album and why so many critics have to put albums under the microscope and rip them to pieces baffles me. If you don't like it don't listen..Simple. All I know is that this album has recindled my love for Oasis and it's got an awesome grungy tone to the first half of the album. I'm outta time is one of their best ever tracks, and the heavier drums up front are rocking. One of my top 10 albums of 2008. Expand
  4. RichardJ.
    Oct 7, 2008
    10
    I love Dig Out Your Soul, I was so so surprised by this album as I was expecting another plodding oasis effort. But it is absolutely brillaint, really. The first 35 minutes are just one amazing song after anotehr, Bag It Up (heavy and powerful), The Turning (awesome) Waiting For The rapture (amazing riff0 The Shock Of The Lightning (Brillaint, oasis at the paek of their power) I'm I love Dig Out Your Soul, I was so so surprised by this album as I was expecting another plodding oasis effort. But it is absolutely brillaint, really. The first 35 minutes are just one amazing song after anotehr, Bag It Up (heavy and powerful), The Turning (awesome) Waiting For The rapture (amazing riff0 The Shock Of The Lightning (Brillaint, oasis at the paek of their power) I'm Outta Time (set to be teh new wonderwall) , Falling Down (alrwady one of may favourite ever songs) I just love this album to bits. Haven't enjoyed an album so much in years. Expand
  5. PabloL.
    Oct 10, 2008
    10
    Good proper raw straight rock and roll tunes. Best album of the year.
  6. sk
    Oct 13, 2008
    10
    if you are an Oasis fan i think you are gonna love/like DOYS it a lot. if you are not an Oasis fan and listen to the music without prejudice then you are gonna admire them cause after all these years they still have the charisma to write some really good and memorable tunes."I'm Outta Time" even if it sounds (surprise!) like a Lennon/harrison track is such a beautiful ballad that if you are an Oasis fan i think you are gonna love/like DOYS it a lot. if you are not an Oasis fan and listen to the music without prejudice then you are gonna admire them cause after all these years they still have the charisma to write some really good and memorable tunes."I'm Outta Time" even if it sounds (surprise!) like a Lennon/harrison track is such a beautiful ballad that it's impossible , imo,to resist."Falling Down" is up with Noel's best material with its modern direction , beautiful melody and excellent production."Waiting for the Rapture" sits in a cross between Spoon (i turn my camera on!)and white stripes (the intro riff)."The Shock Of The Lightning" sounds like a lost oasis classic era 1994-1995." Bag it up" , "The Turning" and "Get off Your High Horse Lady" show that Noel have still the fire inside and if he could take a few more risks then the result could be even better. I dont know yet if DOYS is better than "Dont Believe The Truth" or their best album since ..., but i can say for sure that it's a good and honest record. the biggest problem for that album seems to me the oasis logo on its sleeve (for the haters)... Its good to have them back. Expand
  7. JasonP.
    Oct 6, 2008
    10
    I absolutely love the new album! I admit standard Oasis but I say if it's not broke don't fix it!!!!!
  8. RishG.
    Oct 7, 2008
    9
    This album totally Rocks!!! Why compare it to their earlier work. Oasis sound like they are evolving. There are faster tempos and more moods on this album. The songs are uniformly good. Shock to the lightning, The Turning, Falling Down, and There Where are instant classics. Forget about what you know about Oasis or how this compares to earlier albums. Just listen to it. It's Great! This album totally Rocks!!! Why compare it to their earlier work. Oasis sound like they are evolving. There are faster tempos and more moods on this album. The songs are uniformly good. Shock to the lightning, The Turning, Falling Down, and There Where are instant classics. Forget about what you know about Oasis or how this compares to earlier albums. Just listen to it. It's Great! There is such vitality in the songs and immediacy in the playing. One of the Albums of the Year for 2008 IMHO. Expand
  9. AloizioN.
    Oct 9, 2008
    10
    Great album, inspiring sounds and effects.
  10. JohanF.
    Oct 6, 2008
    10
    Seriously this is as good as DM. Its Oasis's 4th album which is 10/10 for me along with WTSMG, DM and BHN. The songs will sound great live and Liam has rediscovered his classic voice. Best band in the world are back with the best album of 2008. Actually best album of this decade.
  11. FrankS.
    Oct 6, 2008
    10
    Superb album! Some different sounds on there, but at the same time it always feels like a classic Oasis chorus - rousing choruses, slick guitar pumps and the odd nonsense lyric!
  12. joen.
    Oct 7, 2008
    10
    Excellent album from a very underrated (at least in america) band. Although it is hard to compare it to Def.Maybe and WTSMG, I can say that it is up there with their best. (and that says alot since i enjoy all of their albums.) New fans should "dig" it... as i know the diehards will. Unbelievable group of work.
  13. AnthonyA.
    Oct 7, 2008
    10
    Oasis do it again. Blinding tunes.
  14. ChrisW.
    Oct 7, 2008
    10
    Another solid effort from the Gallagher Brothers. I would like to have seen a long CD this time around... but 8 listens in... and I can't get enough!
  15. SteveH.
    Oct 8, 2008
    10
    A clear advance on their "comeback" album "Don't Believe the Truth". Withe their seventh disc, the Gallagher brothers are back in "morning Glory" form. Excellent.
  16. JonP
    Oct 1, 2008
    10
    I honestly feel like critics are afraid about the prospect of oasis finding success again in the US. Seeing the EW review, I imagine the majority of them will touch on the two tracks that have become widely available and skip over the rest -- give the album a safe, middling review and call it a day. I don't see how someone could listen to this record and not truly digest it and I honestly feel like critics are afraid about the prospect of oasis finding success again in the US. Seeing the EW review, I imagine the majority of them will touch on the two tracks that have become widely available and skip over the rest -- give the album a safe, middling review and call it a day. I don't see how someone could listen to this record and not truly digest it and provide an extensive write-up. Waiting for the Rapture is one of Noel's finest moments in an illustrious career. Expand
  17. SH
    Nov 16, 2008
    0
    honestly it's long since gotten boring to hear oasis peddling the same few songs over and over again for 15 years. the result this time is so generic and uninspiring that it borders on self parody. many people regard oasis as a hasbeen band from 10 years or so ago and this does nothing but reinforce that perception. that the oasis hardcore continue to cling to the notion of oasis honestly it's long since gotten boring to hear oasis peddling the same few songs over and over again for 15 years. the result this time is so generic and uninspiring that it borders on self parody. many people regard oasis as a hasbeen band from 10 years or so ago and this does nothing but reinforce that perception. that the oasis hardcore continue to cling to the notion of oasis being one of the world's biggest bands is reminiscent of the old japanese soldiers who continued fighting in the jungles for years after world war 2 ended. Expand
  18. AlbertoG.
    Oct 15, 2008
    10
    Fantastic album, specially the first 7 songs. Their best since the underrated Be here now.
  19. KT
    Oct 18, 2008
    10
    Rockin' album! Went way beyond what I expected. Sounds better each time you listen to it. Playing it full blast out of speakers really makes it shine. Bag it Up and I'm Outta Time are probably my personal favorites. An album that sounds like Oasis, but in a new, exciting way.
  20. LGF.
    Oct 25, 2008
    10
    the people running this site have got to be idiots because there in no other way someone could get a 60/100 off the NY Times review. It was more like a 90/100, they're retarded or just don't have very good comprehension skills. The album is great! best of the year BY FAR!
  21. AndrewR.
    Oct 7, 2008
    8
    Its a true Oasis return to form. Best album since Be Here Now.
  22. TylerR.
    Jan 12, 2009
    10
    Can't find any critiscisms of this album - every song is a belter, as long as you don't listen to it with Definitely Maybe in mind. It's easily better than 90% of the rest of the rubbish being churned out these days by other artists.
  23. AlbertoAl
    Nov 25, 2008
    10
    It's a very good album, their best since Be Here Now. The 8 first songs are amazing.
  24. JohnF.
    Oct 13, 2008
    10
    This album is amazing. And NYT gave way more than 6/10 to it, for sure.
  25. KevinN
    Oct 14, 2008
    10
    Definitely the best complete album in the last decade, oasis have brought back the terrific melodies in a different way than before: relying on reflection and swagger in an almost back and forth manner, the album should please the millions of oasis fans worldwide who waiting long and hard for this record.
  26. SallyS.
    Sep 25, 2008
    10
    A superb album as a whole, rather than just a good collection of songs like recent efforts. Much different to what casual followers of the band would expect, it's the album that they had to make.
  27. TomP.
    Jan 12, 2009
    10
    Superb album from one of the all time great British rock bands.
  28. MrMan
    Jan 12, 2009
    10
    Love this album. Didn't like Oasis before but I heard Shock Of The Lightning on the radio and loved it so I bought the album and I love every song. I've got down to buying the rest of the Oasis back catalogue and I've so far got to Standing On The Shoulders Of Giants and I've gotta say I haven't found a song I dislike yet! Beginning to think this is the best band Love this album. Didn't like Oasis before but I heard Shock Of The Lightning on the radio and loved it so I bought the album and I love every song. I've got down to buying the rest of the Oasis back catalogue and I've so far got to Standing On The Shoulders Of Giants and I've gotta say I haven't found a song I dislike yet! Beginning to think this is the best band of all time. Expand
  29. SammyS.
    Jan 12, 2009
    10
    Great album from a great band.
  30. BrianG
    Nov 29, 2008
    10
    Amazing, should have been the band's first album.
  31. JoeBlow
    Oct 7, 2008
    4
    For starters, I don't really like Oasis, never did. But like life itself, it's just not that easy to dismiss something (as much as I may want to!). Oasis have garnered a tremendous amount of world fame, more than most bands will ever know, yet they never seem to live up to the greatness that said fame would suggest. Everything they do is OK, and that's just it, it's For starters, I don't really like Oasis, never did. But like life itself, it's just not that easy to dismiss something (as much as I may want to!). Oasis have garnered a tremendous amount of world fame, more than most bands will ever know, yet they never seem to live up to the greatness that said fame would suggest. Everything they do is OK, and that's just it, it's always just OK. The production is generally strong, the songs are never bad or horrible, the image is fine, the album covers are not embarrassing etc. But there's always been something to Oasis that has failed to engage me as a listener. I've never been transported to another land by them, nor have I ever felt any strong emotions related to their songs. Maybe the oceanic divide between Canada and the UK is the cause for that, I've never lived in Manchester, nor have I been, I cannot possibly understand what Oasis must mean to thousands of Mancunians. I do however understand the Smiths (another band I've never particularly cared for), I understand what they represented to the average people in that city, they changed how people viewed music from that part of England, more importantly, they were the voice of a new generation, through Morrissey, explicitly detailing it's cultural offerings (or lack there of). Oasis, in my estimation has never conveyed much past braggadocio, which is cool, but without much to back it up, leaves you a little empty. As a 36 year old who grew up on pop/rock music, I would assume that I would be the targeted demographic of the band, they're not hitting it! The topics they consistently chose to sing about have no relevance in my life, I'm not a rock star nor do I understand what that would be like and furthermore, it's really damn boring to have that kind of stuff shoved down your throat all the time. Oases have always admired the Beatles, which brings us to another interesting aspect of their trajectory. For all of the connections the band (Noel Gallagher) has alluded to having with the fab four, there doesn't seem to be a lot to propagate that theory. Sonically, they do not share one single moment with the Beatles, philosophically speaking, they fail miserably. Artistically, they Expand
  32. JosephA.
    Oct 6, 2008
    9
    This is an excellent album straight through. I enjoy it thoroughly.
  33. JoeS.
    Oct 7, 2008
    4
    The BIG "The Sound Of The Lightning" made me hopefully they've regained some of the swagga lost in the last one. Unfortunately, "Lightning" is a bit of a red herring. Aside from a couple songs ("The Turning" and "To Be Where There's Life") it's back to the limb sound of Don't Believe The Truth.
  34. SeanW.
    Oct 8, 2008
    8
    I don't know what these reviewers are listening to. This album is a blast... loud, cocky, fun... with some truly great riffs. Best album of theirs in a while.
  35. RichardG
    Oct 3, 2009
    2
    I'm a big Oasis fan and I have to say that this is the worst Oasis album I have ever heard and believe me I have given it a good listen. The one redeeming song in my view is I'm outta time which stacks up well with other great Oasis songs. The shock of the Lightening is also ok. But I guess I'm just into good songs. Most of the other tracks on the album seem like boring I'm a big Oasis fan and I have to say that this is the worst Oasis album I have ever heard and believe me I have given it a good listen. The one redeeming song in my view is I'm outta time which stacks up well with other great Oasis songs. The shock of the Lightening is also ok. But I guess I'm just into good songs. Most of the other tracks on the album seem like boring jams to me. None of the well worked out catchy tunes that make Oasis so good. Expand
  36. DimaV.
    Oct 11, 2008
    5
    Not bad but not good. Boring.
  37. Mark
    Oct 10, 2008
    8
    Solid album featuring some absolutely brilliant songs. If it had finished on a more solid note than "Soldier On" then I would have scored it higher.
  38. FF.
    Oct 12, 2008
    8
    The record is very good. The better of them in the last years.But like an old fan, I still think that might do anything superior if they want it. I really hope that next record be more Guitars Loud, Screaming voices... A true Rock n roll band without caricatures of your owns
  39. CraigR.
    Oct 13, 2008
    5
    The used to be the best band in the world, now they are the best BLAND in the world. If only Noel could come up with at least one good tune. This is all sound over substance. So disappointing.
  40. [Anonymous]
    Oct 14, 2008
    9
    Easily their best album since Morning Glory. Perhaps the only criticism is that the album gets progressively weaker as the songs go on - but the first barrage of songs are superb.
  41. JoaoF
    Nov 8, 2008
    9
    Guys, Oasis are definitely back.
  42. BrianM
    Oct 20, 2008
    7
    Oasis will never be as relevant as they were at the height of their glory in the mid 90's, but for the first time this decade, they sound like they're ok with that. Instead of trying too hard to write memorale melodies and cram countless hooks into their songs, they just deliver a staight ahead rock record. The result is a thoroughly enjoyable collection of arena ready anthems. Oasis will never be as relevant as they were at the height of their glory in the mid 90's, but for the first time this decade, they sound like they're ok with that. Instead of trying too hard to write memorale melodies and cram countless hooks into their songs, they just deliver a staight ahead rock record. The result is a thoroughly enjoyable collection of arena ready anthems. Seven albums in, that's pretty good. Expand
  43. JimR.
    Oct 7, 2008
    9
    This should have been "Be Here Now".
  44. JustinT.
    Oct 7, 2008
    9
    This albums spot on. Full of a hypnotic pulsing energy from get to go. Just a fun listen.
  45. RobertP.
    Oct 7, 2008
    9
    I see myself as kinda neutral in regards to Oasis as most people ever love them or hate them. Ive listened to the album 4 or 5 times and it has really grown on me. The first 7 tracks are fantastic and would stand up against any other Oasis song. I would recommend anyone to download them if you have enjoyed any of Oasis previous work. The last four tracks contain 3 quite average songs, (To I see myself as kinda neutral in regards to Oasis as most people ever love them or hate them. Ive listened to the album 4 or 5 times and it has really grown on me. The first 7 tracks are fantastic and would stand up against any other Oasis song. I would recommend anyone to download them if you have enjoyed any of Oasis previous work. The last four tracks contain 3 quite average songs, (To be wheres life, Aint got nothing and Nature of Reality) that although quite listenable, don't seem to grip you in the same way as the first 7 songs. The album closer is probably the weakest track and seems to drag on and not take you anywhere... But overall, it is an excellent album. PS I hope it was refreshing to read a review that did not compare a new Oasis album to Definitely Maybe and Morning Glory. Expand
  46. LucasZ.
    Oct 8, 2008
    8
    I very much like this album, as a youngster I think this is the best album Oasis brought out, ever.
  47. RichardH
    Oct 8, 2008
    9
    First couple listens I wasn't entirely convinced by this album. It's not as instant as the last two, but perhaps that's a good thing... the tunes endure in your head, and Noels song in particular are fantastic. Great stuff!
  48. Joris
    Oct 8, 2008
    7
    A slight disappointment after their brilliant return to form that was Don't Believe The Truth from 2005. However it's still a very decent album from one of the great '90s bands still around (speaking of which: make sure to check out The Charlatans' latest release!) Some great psychedelic anthems such as Soldier On, which could be the perfect closer to any rocknroll A slight disappointment after their brilliant return to form that was Don't Believe The Truth from 2005. However it's still a very decent album from one of the great '90s bands still around (speaking of which: make sure to check out The Charlatans' latest release!) Some great psychedelic anthems such as Soldier On, which could be the perfect closer to any rocknroll album. Real highlights however include Falling Down, Waiting For The Rapture and Outta Time. The latter ones rank among their best songs to date in my opinion. Bag It Up is good but sounds indeed like a somewhat tired effort to recreate earlier albumopeners, drags on while the energy and creativity of e.g. 2005's openingtrack Turn Up The Sun is nowhere to be found. Solid, could be better. 7/10 Expand
  49. JoelS.
    Oct 9, 2008
    7
    A slightly better than middling effort. The album starts strong, slackens in the middle and, in my mind, ends with a thud. While I enjoyed the non-Gallagher songs on Don't Believe the Truth, the tracks on Dig are weak, as is Liam's closer, Soldier On. And am I the only Oasis fan wishing for more Noel written songs, and less Noel sung songs? Three is too many. Let Liam sing!!!!
  50. DanB.
    Oct 9, 2008
    5
    Eeeeeeeeh. To say this is their best in a decade... would be akin to saying one prefers death by drowning to death by stabbing. There are three to five good tracks on this album. The rest could have been written by any generic guitar band. And the good tracks all could use editing or a bit more creativity or energy in the production. Shock of the Lightning is a demo. It could have used a Eeeeeeeeh. To say this is their best in a decade... would be akin to saying one prefers death by drowning to death by stabbing. There are three to five good tracks on this album. The rest could have been written by any generic guitar band. And the good tracks all could use editing or a bit more creativity or energy in the production. Shock of the Lightning is a demo. It could have used a more interesting backbeat or something. I'm Outta Time is really good, but its coda is lame and it could've used another verse or something. Soldier On is actually pretty good as an end-of-album song. Waiting for the Rapture has some weak lyrics but I liked it anyway. The rest is bleh. Pity. Expand
  51. ChrisK
    Aug 15, 2009
    8
    When I first heard this album I thought Oasis were finished...but after hearing it again it gets a lot better, with some of their best work on here...of course it can't compare to Definitely Maybe or Morning Glory, but it's still a great album by a great band!
  52. SteveW.
    Oct 12, 2008
    9
    A very, VERY, good offering. Snarling is a description thats been batted around and I couldn't agree more. They seem to have finally realised that over analysing things makes them sound too polished. This seems like they've got in the studio and growled it out, slapped it on CD and headed to the pub. awesome.
  53. BrandonS.
    Oct 13, 2008
    8
    Really good album. As an American, I think there's less of an emotional tie to their extreme highs of the mid-90s. In England, Oasis defined an era of music. In America, they merely had a string of good hits. So I've enjoyed a lot of their more recent albums without the extra baggage. Heathen Chemistry and Don't Believe the Truth are both really good, and I think Dig Out Really good album. As an American, I think there's less of an emotional tie to their extreme highs of the mid-90s. In England, Oasis defined an era of music. In America, they merely had a string of good hits. So I've enjoyed a lot of their more recent albums without the extra baggage. Heathen Chemistry and Don't Believe the Truth are both really good, and I think Dig Out Your Soul is as good as, and probably even better than, those two albums. The lead single The Shock of the Lighting is definitely a powerhouse track. If you like that one, I think you'll like the rest of the album too. Expand
  54. sVc
    Nov 3, 2008
    8
    This release was shockingly good. Being a long time fan, I thought they had run their course. However, after a few listens, I believe this is their best in over a decade. I like nine of the eleven tracks and I can't say I've felt that way since (What's The Story) Morning Glory. Admittedly, it took a few listens, but I honestly think they may have realized not to try so hard This release was shockingly good. Being a long time fan, I thought they had run their course. However, after a few listens, I believe this is their best in over a decade. I like nine of the eleven tracks and I can't say I've felt that way since (What's The Story) Morning Glory. Admittedly, it took a few listens, but I honestly think they may have realized not to try so hard to please everyone and to make the kind of music they really want to make. If it sounds to 'Beatlesque', well, maybe it is. However, that's what makes them who they are and they are much better for it. Expand
  55. StevenB
    Oct 15, 2008
    3
    Oasis is getting tiresome. This album is by no means the dramatic transformation, only diehard oasis fans will be able to pick up on the nuanced changes. The lyrics are inexcusable, and the music is purely derivative (mostly of themselves). Despite the fact that it can be grading, I must admit (as an audiophile) that the production is impressive. It is frequently convoluted, but it sounds Oasis is getting tiresome. This album is by no means the dramatic transformation, only diehard oasis fans will be able to pick up on the nuanced changes. The lyrics are inexcusable, and the music is purely derivative (mostly of themselves). Despite the fact that it can be grading, I must admit (as an audiophile) that the production is impressive. It is frequently convoluted, but it sounds rich and substantive, that's why I gave it a 3. Expand
  56. LachlanH.
    Oct 16, 2008
    9
    I am disappointed with all the negative reviews towards this release. i am an oasis fan and to me it sounds fantastic. big sound, electrifying guitars and liams fabulous sneering vocals. if i hear 'noel needs to write more songs' one more time i wont be reading another review. noels 6 songs on this album are brilliant - maybe some of the best songs he has written, liams 3 are I am disappointed with all the negative reviews towards this release. i am an oasis fan and to me it sounds fantastic. big sound, electrifying guitars and liams fabulous sneering vocals. if i hear 'noel needs to write more songs' one more time i wont be reading another review. noels 6 songs on this album are brilliant - maybe some of the best songs he has written, liams 3 are also brilliant - his john lennon moment (track 5 - im outta time) is one of oasis best ever songs and gem and andy's songs are great too. all that matters is that i love it and fuck everybody else. if you like it - great, if you dont - then fuck off and save us all from your crap and negative opinions. Expand
  57. NatalieH
    Nov 8, 2008
    1
    I think this album is absolutely crap! it's the worst one they've ever had! please get a grip oasis and and i don't know why people think it's great! Oasis are just trying to be cool but they aren't!
  58. RosceC.
    Oct 25, 2008
    3
    Very poor all over the place disaster. amazing how such hype was created for this poor album, the Oasis guys like to think they are the best bad ever created .... sad sad .. Rosoe.
  59. BillW
    Dec 9, 2008
    7
    The only problem with the album is it's nothing new. It's not better or worse than the last album.
  60. DavidS.
    Oct 7, 2008
    9
    Their best in a decade! The songs exude confidence and epic grandeur. Serious goose-bump music. Proves that the boys are still the most important contemporary rock band of our generation. No other band can equal the soaring melodies and instant appeal. Whether you love em, or hate them. you must respect them!
  61. TiernanO.
    Oct 7, 2008
    8
    Very impressive return to form. No anthems just a handful of fantastic songs and some turds too!
  62. PaulK.
    Oct 7, 2008
    10
    Amazing music. Works as a whole and is disparate enough to keep your interest while continually rocking. A freight train of a record. These gentlemen know what it's all about. Bravo!
  63. MarkL
    Oct 7, 2008
    9
    I think Oasis have really outdone themselves. The more i listen to it more I love it. A must own and love for any Oasis fan.
  64. Matt
    Oct 7, 2008
    9
    Another incredible album from the best band in the world. I've never heard a bad Oasis song. What a great energy they have, and so much more entertaining than all of the bland monotony out there.
  65. danc
    Aug 31, 2009
    9
    This album proves that oasis are still very much an important force in music today. all this songs deliver whilst it's no definitely maybe or Morning glory (but then again no album is) it stands up as a great record with great songs by a great band. a pleasure.
  66. RobG
    Oct 12, 2008
    9
    Much mare than i hoped for, and more than first meets the ear. Give it a few listens and you will find what yoe've been hoping for. Very rewarding
  67. SimonK.
    Oct 13, 2008
    9
    As mentioned in some reviews, this album succeeds in an area wich many others fail. Keeping away from tedium, with much subtle things and variations in each song. Sure, there are no classics on this album, wich though in this case means the music is not simplified for the casual crowd. This makes this album into the best they have done so far.
  68. Jay-Z
    Oct 13, 2008
    9
    Shits banging Few tunes at the end are a bit shit but its there best since WTSMG. Shake your rag doll baby.
  69. CL
    Nov 6, 2008
    8
    I don't think they'll ever top BE HERE NOW, but this is better than everything that came afterward, really.
  70. markp
    Dec 11, 2008
    4
    Yawn, pure British mediocrity. They never were particularly good, just middle of the road rock for the masses, boring.
  71. John,Jr.H.
    Dec 17, 2008
    10
    I don't know what's going in the mind a perfect human beings like the critics. The point is fans love it. Majority is pleased with this album. They also did negative reviews on past Oasis albums but it sold tens of million copies worldwide. In your face critics! Ultimately, the fans are the one who will decide what bands will stay longer in the industry.
  72. DanielH.
    Dec 21, 2008
    8
    At last! A consis album that has an identity. Gets better with every listen.
  73. ChrisC.
    Jan 18, 2009
    8
    While this may come off as not as great of an album as Don't Believe The Truth, this is a simply great rock record that has swagger and heart unlike most of the bands out today.
  74. sandyb
    Nov 13, 2008
    9
    DOYS is the shape of band mature. It's solid album and very strong.
  75. alexg
    Nov 25, 2008
    9
    Let's face it they will never gonna have another dm or wts?mg (and,in fact, i don't want that to happen) but doys is as good as i need, is the excuse i want to be a fan for the next 14 years thank you G'bros now i know i don't need to Live Forever but i can elegantly Fade Away, D'you Know What I Mean?
  76. EduardoM
    Nov 27, 2008
    8
    Great album but not better than be here now for me.
  77. Dec 29, 2010
    7
    Nice release, but far below the glorious era of Oasis .... the beggining is very rock, until track four; then, oasis falls in the trap of "experimentation" or tries to create some pop ballades, but unfortunately unsuccessufuly
  78. Sep 8, 2011
    0
    Erm, the only song that's alright to listen to is the single "The Shock of the Lightning". The rest of the album is very old-fashion 60s' rock-and-roll style. Which is not my cup of tea. I fell in love with Oasis music in the 90s', during the time when they were a rock group, now, they've totally changed their style. Uncool. Come on Oasis, you're not that old. Try to come up with somethingErm, the only song that's alright to listen to is the single "The Shock of the Lightning". The rest of the album is very old-fashion 60s' rock-and-roll style. Which is not my cup of tea. I fell in love with Oasis music in the 90s', during the time when they were a rock group, now, they've totally changed their style. Uncool. Come on Oasis, you're not that old. Try to come up with something more how you say, 21st century!! I'm sorry, as a fan I can't even give you a 1 for this poor effort! If you guys wanted to split, you should have done that before "Standing on the Shoulder of Giants". Expand
  79. Mar 12, 2012
    7
    After years of some good singles but very average albums I was really happy with 2005's Don't Believe the Truth from Oasis. Really enjoyed it and it's still my 3rd favourite Oasis record. They really recaptured some of their magic on that. Because of this, I had a big expectations for the follow up Dig Out Your Soul and unfortunately it doesn't quite live up to them. There are some greatAfter years of some good singles but very average albums I was really happy with 2005's Don't Believe the Truth from Oasis. Really enjoyed it and it's still my 3rd favourite Oasis record. They really recaptured some of their magic on that. Because of this, I had a big expectations for the follow up Dig Out Your Soul and unfortunately it doesn't quite live up to them. There are some great tacks on here but too much of it is either mid tempo or else just bland and the qulaity levels just go through the floor on the last 4 tracks. Noel's 6 tracks carry the record. Liam's contributions are his weakest since Little James on Standing on the Shoulder..... Even the single he penned, I'm Outta Time is hugely overrated. The Nature of Reality and To Be Where There's Live, thrown in by Andy Bell and Gem Archer, are boring. NG should have put the foot down and been stricter with what went on the record, especially when you hear some of the stuff he had lying around for years that made it onto his solo record. This had the potential to be a 9 out 10 record but the sharing out of the song writing responsibility's cost it in the end. Expand
  80. Sep 29, 2012
    8
    It's better than Don't Believe The Truth. The first half of this album is fantastic. Liam's songwriting improved a lot. I'm Outta Time and Soldier On are great tracks. Noel's songs in this album sound more inspiring. It's their best album since Be Here Now.
  81. May 12, 2013
    5
    With the first 5 tracks, this record really promises you something new, something great by a band that’s just gotten mediocre in the last couple of years. The psychedelic vibe and the intricately well-written lyrics get you really into the new sound. But then comes the song (Get Off Your) High Horse Lady and you notice, Oasis hasn’t really changed at all. Drug-inspired and totallyWith the first 5 tracks, this record really promises you something new, something great by a band that’s just gotten mediocre in the last couple of years. The psychedelic vibe and the intricately well-written lyrics get you really into the new sound. But then comes the song (Get Off Your) High Horse Lady and you notice, Oasis hasn’t really changed at all. Drug-inspired and totally meaningless lyrics laid on a perpetually boring beat that they call “experimental”. Falling Down is quite good afterwards, but the last 4 songs of the CD are really poor. Interestingly, it’s just obverse to their prior record, Don’t Believe The Truth. That album got really good at the end, DOYS destroys everything with annoying and silly tunes. All in all, Dig Out Your Soul isn’t the worst Oasis album because there are a bit more rememberable songs than on Standing On The Shoulder Of Giants, their alternative rock debut, but it’s still very disappointing considering the potential it had at the start. Expand
  82. Mar 8, 2013
    8
    I like Dig Out Your Soul, but I remember that I love Morning Glory and this, just like most of their last albums, is worse. Half of the tracks aren't very brilliant, but the others are good, especially Falling Down and The Shock Of The Lightning. Could have been better.
  83. Jul 22, 2014
    8
    The songs written by Noel are amazing, every single one. But the rest of the band doesn't try to match his level. It's the best Oasis album since "(What's the Story) Morning Glory" though.
Metascore
66

Generally favorable reviews - based on 27 Critic Reviews

Critic score distribution:
  1. Positive: 13 out of 27
  2. Negative: 1 out of 27
  1. It won't win them any new fans, but those that believed the truth last time will dig this.
  2. Qualitywise, most of the tracks here are more ''Bungalow Bill'' than ''Eleanor Rigby.''
  3. 70
    Noel Gallagher wrote two more tunes here, both excellent. Unfortunately, age has softened his heart, and he cedes the album's other half to his bandmates (including lead-singing brother Liam), who offer subpar material.