• Record Label: Island
  • Release Date: Feb 26, 2008
User Score
7.7

Generally favorable reviews- based on 101 Ratings

User score distribution:
  1. Positive: 80 out of 101
  2. Negative: 15 out of 101

Review this album

  1. Your Score
    0 out of 10
    Rate this:
    • 10
    • 9
    • 8
    • 7
    • 6
    • 5
    • 4
    • 3
    • 2
    • 1
    • 0
    • 0
  1. Submit
  2. Check Spelling
  1. Lisa
    Mar 3, 2008
    4
    Don't get me wrong, i do love Janet , I've been a fan of hers for 10 years and have all but one of her albums but with the exception of so much betta i don't like this album - she needs to stop using sex to sell her records and use her talent. i will keep it because its Janet but if anyone wants a Janet album go and buy control or rhythm nation.
  2. BittersweetJ.
    Sep 17, 2008
    4
    Janet Jackson tries to have a great album like "Control", but she just arrived to the toes of "Control"!! This album has good songs like "Feedback", but moaning and masturbating is not so good for an artist.
  3. TerenceL.
    Feb 28, 2008
    10
    Like the album a lot. Hope she gets some recognition for this latest achievement. Especially like tracks: LUV, Feedback, Whats your name, cant b good. Worth the buy.
  4. ChadJ.
    Mar 3, 2008
    10
    I'm really lovin this album..its like classic Janet all over again...if you're a real Janet fan, pick this up!
  5. DevinN.
    Apr 2, 2008
    10
    Yes I loved this album from janet she is back and better than ever. People need to stop the hating on Janet and respect her. She has been giving us hits since the early 80's. she's the top diva.
  6. ThomasB.
    May 9, 2008
    2
    D'you ever notice that the compliment robots, always out in sheer force for major label pieces of junk like this album, always give albums a 10 and always do first name last initial? Terrible album.
  7. DanielaP.
    Jun 7, 2008
    10
    Great sound, miss Jackson!
  8. LucasM.
    Feb 25, 2008
    8
    It's a great album, has great songs, but not as strong as The Velvet Rope or 'janet.' .
  9. StevenD.
    Feb 27, 2008
    9
    Cd is a rollercoaster ride of dance, love, and sex. The critics seem to still have a vendeta against Janet. Maybe they should show some of that hate towards other (Britney, Madonna) artists who are overrated and make music that all sounds the same.
  10. MattD.
    Feb 28, 2008
    10
    Not much of a pop music fan, but I thought this album was really great. I gave it a listen with an open mind, and I am glad I did.
  11. BrandonD.
    Feb 28, 2008
    8
    This albums shows a fresh and competent direction for Janet. At this point in her career, still trying to turn around the runaway train of public opinion since the 2004 Superbowl, her music seems less encumbered. The only major criticism of Discipline is that at times it seems (as did her last album 20 Y.O.) hyper-conscious of what it needs to be. There are times where this album feels This albums shows a fresh and competent direction for Janet. At this point in her career, still trying to turn around the runaway train of public opinion since the 2004 Superbowl, her music seems less encumbered. The only major criticism of Discipline is that at times it seems (as did her last album 20 Y.O.) hyper-conscious of what it needs to be. There are times where this album feels too calculated, and the blame for that Achilles heel squarely lies in the involvement of Jermaine Dupri, who we can now equivocally say is incapable of creating anything consistent or effective for Janet Jackson. All in all, this album is easily the best thing she has put out since 2001's All For You, but that is almost a win by default. Expand
  12. JarryH.
    Mar 10, 2008
    8
    I've read some of the initial reviews they were not favorable in regards to Janet's "Discipline." I decided to purchase the album and judge for myself. It is actually a good selection urban and pop tracks. I think that it falls short on some of the slow jams. You can tell that this is where Jam & Lewis always did her justice. It is nice to see that she has decided to clean up I've read some of the initial reviews they were not favorable in regards to Janet's "Discipline." I decided to purchase the album and judge for myself. It is actually a good selection urban and pop tracks. I think that it falls short on some of the slow jams. You can tell that this is where Jam & Lewis always did her justice. It is nice to see that she has decided to clean up the raunch a bit and go back to the basics...dancable pop music with that Janet touch! You go Miss. Janet! Expand
  13. MarciaD.
    Mar 2, 2008
    10
    Great Driving music. Great potential for club music.
  14. FabianV.
    Mar 3, 2008
    10
    Love it. It is a perfect album. Many songs will be my favorite here.
  15. RickD.
    Mar 8, 2008
    1
    Discipline is a blur of unremarkable music where multi-tracked whispering takes the place of actual singing. Her vocals have always been filtered, but with each successive album, less and less of the Janet everyone fell in love with is present. And it's hard to sing along to inaudible lyrics, which was probably the intent with lead single "Feedback" where Janet claims that she's Discipline is a blur of unremarkable music where multi-tracked whispering takes the place of actual singing. Her vocals have always been filtered, but with each successive album, less and less of the Janet everyone fell in love with is present. And it's hard to sing along to inaudible lyrics, which was probably the intent with lead single "Feedback" where Janet claims that she's "heavy like a first day period." That's disgusting. And does Missy Elliot's rap about the size of a man's penis and the possibility of a threesome actually make this a better record? No, it just makes it smutty. Janet used to be a role model, but she's no longer concerned with a fan-base that has obviously matured and wish that she would as well. Sales of her past two records are evidence of that. And even though Discipline debuted at number one, it sold less in its first week than the last two. The fans have spoken. Expand
  16. RockStar
    Apr 5, 2008
    10
    I realy like this album! I listened to it mad times already. I can't listen to it without moving a little bit... and she really has me there (like I'm at a show) when I turn it up. Keep up the good work, Janet - you got it goin' on!
  17. ChristopherS.
    Feb 22, 2008
    10
    After reading the EW review, I wanted to hear what was so bad about Janet's new album. To my surprise, I actually liked her album. I think I may purchase Janet's new album. Some of the songs are really strong.
  18. JoeW.
    Feb 27, 2008
    10
    I love this album. It has great up-beat tracks and the ballads are good too. The best I've seen from Janet in a while.
  19. JasonR.
    Feb 27, 2008
    10
    The Album is Fresh, upbeat and makes you wanna dance! the midtempo songs are beautiful and Janet sounds wonderful! This is an album I can listen to entirely without needing to skip over bad songs, Because I am LUVING them all!!!!
  20. AnthonyS.
    Feb 27, 2008
    10
    After reading a couple of negative reviews, I was curious to see what the album was really like. I was pleasantly surprised. The album is one of Jackson's best albums in a while. Surprising because it is strong despite the absence of long time collaborators Jam and Lewis.
  21. MichaelC
    Feb 27, 2008
    10
    ALL HAIL THE QUEEN!
  22. KevinQ.
    Feb 27, 2008
    10
    Discipline is a wonderful blend of music and goes to show that Janet can be true to herself, work with new producers and try new sounds and still put out great sounding music.
  23. KaiC
    Feb 28, 2008
    10
    I would have to say that really anyone who doesn't like the album didn't really listen to it... or went in thinking that it would be something different than what it was.... I've listened to the CD front to back and I have to say it's been a while since I've done that. Madonna's album Beyonce, Mary J's Breakthrough, and maybe one other.... this album is I would have to say that really anyone who doesn't like the album didn't really listen to it... or went in thinking that it would be something different than what it was.... I've listened to the CD front to back and I have to say it's been a while since I've done that. Madonna's album Beyonce, Mary J's Breakthrough, and maybe one other.... this album is put together rather well and just about every song is fresh while maintaining the Janet sound... In regards to the sexual overtones, since when has Janet not been sexual?? Hello ....Control, Black Cat, Velvet Rope.... every album she's done has been sexual so why would you expect this album to be any different. What is she suppose to wear ... a potato sack?? This is a good album and I would recommend it to anyone. Expand
  24. BrandonL.
    Feb 29, 2008
    9
    A very strong album for Janet. Potentially as successful as Velvet Rope! Great job Janet!
  25. AdonisR.
    Mar 12, 2008
    10
    Although its not the 'Velvet Rope', it is still one of her best! She just should have left the title track on the cutting room floor!
  26. CarlosO.
    Mar 31, 2008
    10
    I love this album. Janet always does great work. Making her albums have different styles of songs to never have it boring. The interludes I love because it's too boring to hear a song just fade in or fade out. Make it fun...and that's what she does so well. Great job Jan!
  27. djmccord
    Mar 5, 2008
    3
    An improvement over the last 2 or 3 albums, but not as fresh and inspired as the Janet of the 80's or 90's.
  28. DesiraeJ
    Mar 8, 2008
    9
    I actually like most of the songs but I hate the interludes. All the critics say the song Discipline is creepy but it's actually nice and smooth and easy to listen to. The lyrics are quite visual (if you are into S&M) but Janet obviously has no sexual inhibitions and can sing about whatever she wants. She could have cut out the robotic voice as well as the interludes because they are I actually like most of the songs but I hate the interludes. All the critics say the song Discipline is creepy but it's actually nice and smooth and easy to listen to. The lyrics are quite visual (if you are into S&M) but Janet obviously has no sexual inhibitions and can sing about whatever she wants. She could have cut out the robotic voice as well as the interludes because they are cheesy and immature. She does that on every cd. We want to hear good music not a grown woman acting like a child and being silly between songs. I do enjoy the cd though! Expand
  29. TedkoT.
    Jun 6, 2008
    10
    Best album from 00s Janet's albums.
  30. MattL
    Jan 28, 2009
    10
    A really good album. I love "Feedback" and "Rock with U". Janet is at her top. ^^ I'm so sorry this album wasn't a commercial success because it's one of her best albums.
  31. Micael
    Feb 26, 2008
    10
    I like her new album is the best songs are very strong this disc is the best is the Really Janet Jackson Go On Miss Janet.
  32. BeverlyF.
    Feb 26, 2008
    9
    I think the cd is really smooth and funky-all in one! You go girl!!
  33. JackunN.
    Feb 26, 2008
    1
    Aging diva trying to cope up with Beyonce, Rihanna and Ciara. Technically well-produced unfortunately overshadow by tacky lyrics and concept.
  34. CalK.
    Feb 28, 2008
    0
    Suck city.
  35. CalebT.
    Feb 28, 2008
    10
    I'm one of Jane's biggest fans, but I can still maintain objectivity when reviewing her work. 20 y.o. was completely listenable, and even enjoyable, but it was far from her best. The disc shows a huge improvement. My only complaint is that Janet didn't actually write any of the music. However, that doesn't mean it doesn't reflect her vision or her emotions. All in I'm one of Jane's biggest fans, but I can still maintain objectivity when reviewing her work. 20 y.o. was completely listenable, and even enjoyable, but it was far from her best. The disc shows a huge improvement. My only complaint is that Janet didn't actually write any of the music. However, that doesn't mean it doesn't reflect her vision or her emotions. All in all, this is my favorite album in a very long time. Expand
  36. HernanG.
    Feb 28, 2008
    8
    I was never a big fun of her, she had lots of good songs in her long career and I like some of them, her last 2 albums were really sad, specially with her sweet smile in the covers and the whole "Damita Joe" thing, now have to say this new one"Discipline" it's kind of hot, with at least 5 really good songs, go girl!, welcome back Janet and goodbye Damita.
  37. RobbieC
    Mar 11, 2008
    4
    OMG, she's still doing interludes?
  38. BobbyH.
    Mar 15, 2008
    0
    Another disappointment. A few half-decent tracks do not a hit album make. Her voice doesn't even sound imposing anymore, the lyrics are run-of-the-mill, and Janet overall seems disinterested and fatigued. Not to mention, she looks terrible on the cover. Don't buy this, please stop supporting this abomination. Her legacy lasted through 'All For You' but her reign is Another disappointment. A few half-decent tracks do not a hit album make. Her voice doesn't even sound imposing anymore, the lyrics are run-of-the-mill, and Janet overall seems disinterested and fatigued. Not to mention, she looks terrible on the cover. Don't buy this, please stop supporting this abomination. Her legacy lasted through 'All For You' but her reign is long over. The album deserves a three but I gave it a 0 to help keep the overall score from getting skewed by the diehard fans. Expand
  39. PaulP.
    Mar 17, 2008
    10
    I can't get enough of this cd!!
  40. MichaelW.
    Mar 28, 2008
    9
    I love this album. Some of the songs, rather than seeming regressive, appear to me more like gorgeously-layered, adult versions of MJ's "Off-the-Wall" exuberance. I love it...bookend it with the equally engaging MJB new release and I'm in heaven!
  41. JOcAM
    Mar 29, 2008
    0
    Rubbish.
  42. Mar 6, 2012
    8
    I agree this album is excellent, but the interludes become boring and unnecessary after the first 3. Interludes are interesting, but i'd like to see more substance like songs instead of multiple interludes as fillers.
  43. Dec 3, 2013
    5
    Like any pop singer who had to try to go back to the mainstream, Janet surrenders to electropop, Discipline shown a frustrating album, ''Feedback'' is a catchy track, but the album sounds overproduced, it's smart to use samples of Daft Punk in songs, but Janet has made ​​things better.
  44. Oct 21, 2017
    8
    Ótimo CD, que superou Damita Jo e 20 Y.O.. Com a maior parte das músicas escritas e produzidas por Rodney Jerkins, o álbum foi responsável por reforçar a imagem de Janet que estrava enfraquecida após o Super Bowl 2004 devido ao boicote à seus trabalhos nas rádios e MTV.
  45. Nov 5, 2016
    10
    This a great album. The production is amazing and every single song is perfect. The whole album feels like a journey that all you have to do is enjoy. Hot tracks as Luv, Curtains should have been released as single.
  46. Nov 11, 2017
    8
    "Discipline" é um bom álbum em si, mas não tem nenhum toque de Janet nele, sem contar que dá para dormir com as enjoativas baladas dele, mas tem faixas fortíssimas como Feedback e Rock With U (uma das melhores músicas de sua carreira), também tem faixas que impressionam e Janet poderia seguir um estilo parecido futuramente como "LUV".Enfim, Janet é uma lenda e não precisa mais provar nada."Discipline" é um bom álbum em si, mas não tem nenhum toque de Janet nele, sem contar que dá para dormir com as enjoativas baladas dele, mas tem faixas fortíssimas como Feedback e Rock With U (uma das melhores músicas de sua carreira), também tem faixas que impressionam e Janet poderia seguir um estilo parecido futuramente como "LUV".Enfim, Janet é uma lenda e não precisa mais provar nada.
  47. Feb 27, 2020
    7
    "Discipline" was Janet's tenth studio album. It should've been a huge deal, right? Like Madonna's "Confessions on a Dancefloor" or Mariah Carey's "The Emancipation of Mimi". But unfortunately it wasn’t. Janet wanted to experiment with more futuristic sounds on this album, a few months after Britney Spears had started the dance pop trend with "Blackout". And you can hear that sound in some"Discipline" was Janet's tenth studio album. It should've been a huge deal, right? Like Madonna's "Confessions on a Dancefloor" or Mariah Carey's "The Emancipation of Mimi". But unfortunately it wasn’t. Janet wanted to experiment with more futuristic sounds on this album, a few months after Britney Spears had started the dance pop trend with "Blackout". And you can hear that sound in some of the songs and especially in the interludes, which are some of the best of Janet‘s career because they add something to the album. Three of the interludes (Spinnin, Truth or Dare & Bathroom Break) were unnecessary though. Tracks like "Feedback", "Rock With U" or "2Nite" have that futuristic sound and they are very danceable and addictive. I wish the entire album would’ve sounded like that because the majority of the album sounds like a dated mid 2000s R&B which every other R&B girl from that time could’ve recorded. Songs like "Never Letchu Go" or "Luv" could’ve been by Ashanti or Monica as well. Lots of the songs on this album are kind of boring and feel uninspired. What’s definitely missing on this album are two things which both have made Janet‘s previous seven albums so good; Janet‘s songwriting and Jimmy Jam and Terry Lewis. For this project, Janet basically just recorded the songs that were handed to her and it’s very noticeable. Her songwriting and her input is simply missing on this record. It feels soul- and faceless. Jimmy Jam and Terry Lewis have worked with Janet on the all of her albums from "Control" to "20 Y.O." but they are missing on this album as well and were exchanged with the Kings of dated mid 2000s R&B; Jermaine Dupri and Ne-Yo (ugh). "Discipline" is definitely not a terrible album at all. It just sounds very outdated in 2020 and it’s very weak for Janet's standard and like I said soulless to be honest. It’s still a decent record though. I wish she would‘ve explored the futuristic sound of some of the songs and the interludes more. It could’ve been another epic re-invention for Janet. Very unfortunate. Favorites: Feedback, 2Nite, So Much Betta & Discipline Expand
  48. Jun 15, 2019
    0
    She should get disciplined on how to not deteriorate her voice. This record is horrible. She was starting to get some mental issues here since her Super Bow nipple-baring perfomance. Although her carreer was long moribund, it helped sink faster like a poop flushed down a toilet. This is what I feel everytime I hear her "voice". It's like voldemort whispering sweet lullabies to give meShe should get disciplined on how to not deteriorate her voice. This record is horrible. She was starting to get some mental issues here since her Super Bow nipple-baring perfomance. Although her carreer was long moribund, it helped sink faster like a poop flushed down a toilet. This is what I feel everytime I hear her "voice". It's like voldemort whispering sweet lullabies to give me diarrhea. This Zero represents the orifice this LP came out from. Expand
  49. Jul 18, 2020
    7
    Pure unapologetic Sex Goddess Janet. This album manages to mix electro-pop-rnb with no problems whatsoever, a very fun album. The standout track for me is 2nite.
  50. Jul 2, 2022
    7
    Up N' Down, all over the place. Discipline is great with the first five tracks, then starts to fall down the All For You sort-of road and she starts singing breathy, soft, sometimes annoying vocals that almost make the songs unenjoyable. Despite some not-so-good songs, Discipline delivers some of 2008's finest dance tracks with "Feedback" and "LUV", but it can be easy to see which songsUp N' Down, all over the place. Discipline is great with the first five tracks, then starts to fall down the All For You sort-of road and she starts singing breathy, soft, sometimes annoying vocals that almost make the songs unenjoyable. Despite some not-so-good songs, Discipline delivers some of 2008's finest dance tracks with "Feedback" and "LUV", but it can be easy to see which songs Janet did not put her heart and soul in. Expand
Metascore
61

Generally favorable reviews - based on 14 Critic Reviews

Critic score distribution:
  1. Positive: 6 out of 14
  2. Negative: 1 out of 14
  1. Despite a couple of promising tracks the music generally befits the absurd lyrics.... Dupri, Ne-Yo, Rodney Jerkins, The-Dream, and StarGate often drown out Jackson's breathy vocals with soulless beats.
  2. Just lie back and enjoy the sensations as pure aural autoeroticism.
  3. At 22 tracks, Discipline is anything but disciplined, but it's also Janet's most cohesive album in a while.