• Record Label: Bad Boy
  • Release Date: May 21, 2013
User Score
4.3

Mixed or average reviews- based on 46 Ratings

User score distribution:
  1. Positive: 18 out of 46
  2. Negative: 23 out of 46

Review this album

  1. Your Score
    0 out of 10
    Rate this:
    • 10
    • 9
    • 8
    • 7
    • 6
    • 5
    • 4
    • 3
    • 2
    • 1
    • 0
    • 0
  1. Submit
  2. Check Spelling
  1. May 26, 2013
    4
    I found his debut to be very poor on his part but the features he had on the album and the production is what made it pop in my eyes. His lyricism is very weak and repetitive and not entertaining in the slightest. The songs I applaud is Once in a While, What Happens Tonight, Gifted, Ballin Out, and Drink Freely all because of the features and production. The singles Pop That and FreaksI found his debut to be very poor on his part but the features he had on the album and the production is what made it pop in my eyes. His lyricism is very weak and repetitive and not entertaining in the slightest. The songs I applaud is Once in a While, What Happens Tonight, Gifted, Ballin Out, and Drink Freely all because of the features and production. The singles Pop That and Freaks are only popular because of the features. He should just stick to mixtapes because obviously he downloads more than this album will ever sell. I gave it a legit shot but didn't work I even listened to it twice. Sorry just not a good album but the features are great. Expand
  2. Aug 9, 2013
    4
    French Montana is my favorite rapper. I expected his album to be very personal. Unfortunately, the first track is the only one that showcases the French Montana I know. Hopefully next time out he'll have the balls to make his own album instead of this feature-fest of a compilation of singles.
  3. Jun 18, 2013
    3
    Why should people buy an album of French Montana? Why?! Excuse My French is horrible starting from its cover, not to mention the unbearable voice of French. The album title should be rather: "Excuse for the money spent unnecessarily."
  4. Jan 10, 2014
    3
    I didn't expect much from Excuse My French but I did get a taste of what French Montana can whip up. Overall it wasn't enough though. There were some club beats that will be banging till the next year but the album clearly had one direction and that was to make people bop their heads. Instead, it failed making me shake my head. The production was ordinary lacking creativity. This will be aI didn't expect much from Excuse My French but I did get a taste of what French Montana can whip up. Overall it wasn't enough though. There were some club beats that will be banging till the next year but the album clearly had one direction and that was to make people bop their heads. Instead, it failed making me shake my head. The production was ordinary lacking creativity. This will be a perfect time for French Montana to redeem himself and show that he's worthy of being one of the best hiphop artists of all time. Expand
  5. Mar 26, 2015
    3
    3.2/10................................................................................................................................................
  6. May 23, 2013
    1
    Having somewhat enjoyed French Montana's mixtape history, I was looking forward to this album. After a strong opening track, I was bombarded with generic raps, weak beats and dialed in verses from all the features (Rick Ross the primary offender). I think French constantly pushing his album back has moved it clear out of any buzz he had going for himself prior to signing with Bad Boy.Having somewhat enjoyed French Montana's mixtape history, I was looking forward to this album. After a strong opening track, I was bombarded with generic raps, weak beats and dialed in verses from all the features (Rick Ross the primary offender). I think French constantly pushing his album back has moved it clear out of any buzz he had going for himself prior to signing with Bad Boy. Hopefully he does better next time out.... Expand
  7. May 21, 2013
    1
    This album is just pure Grade A trash. Only songs worth listening to are my guilty pleasure from this album, "F*** What Happens Tonight" and then "Gifted" because of The Weeknd's amazing verse and hook. Other than those two, nothing else is worth your time and you would be better off finding a different way to waste an hour of your life.
  8. May 21, 2013
    1
    i wanted this to be good, i really did, but this is pure garbage. beats, weak raps, the album went downhill after max b stopped talking on the 1st track lol. If you need me ill be bumping mac 'n' cheese 2
  9. Nov 12, 2013
    0
    This album is the worst of the worst. Nothing here is good, and he is as bad as Chief Keef. What I advise you to do is move along and skip this album.
  10. Nov 25, 2013
    0
    French Montana.......... Horrible flow,lyrics are wack,and the beats sound the same to me. No variety. Every song that has a feature he gets killed. Maybe it's too much coke or something,but i just hate it. Excuse my French,more like excuse my horrible rapping.
Metascore
54

Mixed or average reviews - based on 14 Critics

Critic score distribution:
  1. Positive: 3 out of 14
  2. Negative: 4 out of 14
  1. 80
    Every word hits hard. The quicker beat turns his lethargy into something of a strategy, and he sounds like no one but himself.
  2. Jul 2, 2013
    60
    Rather than allowing the first three tracks to help craft a template for the rest of the LP, the other 10 tracks are watered down by concept-less, feature-heavy songs. [Jul 2013, p.87]
  3. Jun 26, 2013
    15
    Littered with ignorance, braggadocio and uninspired production, French Montana's debut release is less about him and more about the guests that his label have brought in to help hide his lack of skills.