User Score
8.8

Universal acclaim- based on 31 Ratings

User score distribution:
  1. Positive: 27 out of 31
  2. Negative: 2 out of 31

Review this album

  1. Your Score
    0 out of 10
    Rate this:
    • 10
    • 9
    • 8
    • 7
    • 6
    • 5
    • 4
    • 3
    • 2
    • 1
    • 0
    • 0
  1. Submit
  2. Check Spelling
  1. jamest
    May 10, 2004
    9
    i am sure i have heard this sound before from a combination of some of my all time favourites in my high school years -- a little new order perhaps mixed in with some other stuff -- very tight. love it.
  2. AliciaM.
    Aug 4, 2005
    10
    I love this album. it has ups and downs and awesome rhythm and lyrics ...i can listen to it over and over!
  3. Sam
    Apr 23, 2007
    10
    There best work to date.
  4. jonic
    Oct 4, 2003
    9
    i love it so much it reminds me of my college years when me and my boyfriend were making the most out of our allowance. the album makes me feel good now that i have to make my own living and loving. it truly has the best love songs i've ever listened to. i can't grow tired of elevator love letters. Now there's reason to love canadians after all.
  5. GrantP
    Sep 14, 2003
    6
    a solid album, more ambitiously crafted than their debut, but the results are somehow less convincing and immediate. if you can find it, check out their first album (Nightsongs) first. i prefer it.
  6. AlexandreP
    Jul 12, 2004
    9
    Wow, what else can I say about this great Canadian band i just discovered! They kick some serious ass!
  7. KyleR
    Jan 9, 2005
    9
    Brilliant. The Montreal Music Scene is gearing up.
  8. ChrisT
    Apr 26, 2006
    10
    An amazing album all around
  9. JC
    Feb 28, 2007
    10
    Easily, my favorite album of 03. Torquil Campbell and Amy Millan make one great duo together.
  10. DamienD
    Apr 8, 2007
    10
    Not quite as good as "SYOF" but still pretty damn wonderful and gets a perfect 10 from me. Simply great music here!
  11. [Anonymous]
    Jun 26, 2004
    10
    So many great songs can be found on this album. It's an album that you can listen to straight through.
  12. I'mJeff&thisismyheart
    Jul 9, 2004
    10
    Flat-out gorgeous
  13. IsaacL
    Sep 1, 2006
    10
    Heart is one of today's greatest pop albums! Lush vocals and genius and inventively simple and beautiful music. A definite album for everyone.
  14. Roco
    Apr 23, 2007
    10
    The more I listen to this album the more I realize how great it is. And it's probably one of the finest albums of this millenium.
  15. PacoE
    Apr 30, 2007
    10
    Beautiful. That pretty much sums up this amazing album.
  16. JustinT
    Oct 18, 2003
    10
    There is not one single song on this album that is anything less the completely gorgeous.
  17. ScottH
    Nov 23, 2004
    6
    There are some really, really amazing songs on this CD. There are also some really horrible ones. If you like this, you HAVE to check out their debut, Nightsongs. It is flat-out amazing, and much more solid overall than this CD.
  18. LindseyW
    May 15, 2005
    10
    I think this album is amazing, and I just can't stop listening to it.
  19. AC
    Feb 28, 2007
    10
    Stars are quickly becoming one of my favorite bands out there right now. They really know how to make great music with simple narrative lyrics, and soft but nuanced vocals. So many amazing songs to listen to over and over again. Beautiful, eloquent indie pop for anyone who truly loves music. One of the best albums I've heard in years, if not ever. I Highly recommend.
  20. TrekD
    Feb 28, 2007
    10
    A true musical achievement. Some of the best music I've ever heard.
  21. Lucky
    May 12, 2007
    10
    A classic!
  22. Logan
    May 14, 2007
    9
    Another terrific album by one of the best all around bands in the music industry! Amy Millan probably has the most beautiful voice that I've ever heard... Torquil Campbell isn't so bad himself, he's pretty good too. Both of them are fantastic together. Even though, I think SYOF is better and more consistent. Heart on the other hand is almost a flawless work of art. The only Another terrific album by one of the best all around bands in the music industry! Amy Millan probably has the most beautiful voice that I've ever heard... Torquil Campbell isn't so bad himself, he's pretty good too. Both of them are fantastic together. Even though, I think SYOF is better and more consistent. Heart on the other hand is almost a flawless work of art. The only reason it doesn't get a perfect 10 is because I think the song "The Vanishing" is there weakest effort to date, it's not a bad song. It just ruins the flow of the album abit. Besides that this album is fiiled with so many memorable gems and that's why you're going to fall in love with it. Expand
Metascore
80

Generally favorable reviews - based on 14 Critics

Critic score distribution:
  1. Positive: 13 out of 14
  2. Negative: 0 out of 14
  1. More New Order and Saint Etienne than Smiths, and with male and female vocals, the band comes across as an electro-pop Belle and Sebastian.
  2. While the orchestration and production are impeccable and finely crafted, it's not hard to pick out influences from the 1980s, ranging from brooding rock to pulsing synthetic pop.
  3. It all ends up sounding very expressive, in a blurry sort of way.