User Score
8.6

Universal acclaim- based on 47 Ratings

User score distribution:
  1. Positive: 40 out of 47
  2. Negative: 4 out of 47

Review this album

  1. Your Score
    0 out of 10
    Rate this:
    • 10
    • 9
    • 8
    • 7
    • 6
    • 5
    • 4
    • 3
    • 2
    • 1
    • 0
    • 0
  1. Submit
  2. Check Spelling
  1. aarong
    Oct 28, 2004
    3
    ladies and gentlemen, a horrible joke was played on us all with the release of this album.
  2. TylerA
    Mar 30, 2006
    0
    Emo trash!
  3. AlexK
    Oct 21, 2004
    10
    This album is totally kick ass
  4. mikea
    Oct 22, 2004
    10
    for their second album, NOT third as stated, a great blend of rage and beauty.
  5. DesC
    Apr 16, 2005
    10
    this album rocks love : take it away i caught fire all that ive got & listening
  6. Amanda
    Jun 13, 2005
    9
    One of the best albums and one of the best groups ever!
  7. LauraM
    Apr 12, 2006
    9
    In Love and Death is definitely a great follow up to their debut album. It's first single was the perfect choice with its gunshot at the start giving the effect the whole song is one big explosion with the heavy guitars and dark, yet somehow, relative lyrics. The starting riff alone at the start of 'I Caught Fire' is enough to make you want to blast it off rooftops so In Love and Death is definitely a great follow up to their debut album. It's first single was the perfect choice with its gunshot at the start giving the effect the whole song is one big explosion with the heavy guitars and dark, yet somehow, relative lyrics. The starting riff alone at the start of 'I Caught Fire' is enough to make you want to blast it off rooftops so everybody can hear the pure genius of it. Berts voice just expands and you can see this on 'Hard to Say', which is about his late girlfriend who died carrying his child. It will bring a tear to the eye of the strongest. The passionate speech at the start of 'I'm a Fake' truly proves that Bert McCracken can be classed as a poet. The reason i didn't give this album a ten was the let down of the song 'Light With a Sharpened Edge'. I'd go far enough to say its boring and will make you want to skip almost straight away. Overall, its a beautiful album. Expand
  8. NICOLES
    Feb 6, 2007
    9
    This album was awsome, especailly "Hard to Say", i feel for Bert and his lost.
  9. MarkM
    Nov 12, 2004
    9
    I enjoyed every minute of this album. my only complaint is that it wasn't long enough. the used rocks!
  10. Libby
    Nov 15, 2004
    9
    This is great cd. They manage to not sound whiney, which is a plus. I Caught Fire is the best!
  11. reis_la_reis
    Nov 3, 2004
    7
    Great Cd, however, dissappointing compared to their wonderful self-titled debut album. That was incredible...
  12. JeoffD
    Oct 23, 2004
    10
    A different sound then the previous album. A little softer and slower with the exception of a couple of songs. Without a doubt an impressive follow to their first album. It comes close, but doesn't quite top it.
  13. danielaa
    Oct 23, 2004
    10
    i fuckin' love this group!!! i love bert mccracken with all my soul & i want him to fuck me!! mmm!!
  14. AmyS
    Oct 31, 2004
    10
    This album flipping rocks!!!
  15. DevinS
    Oct 13, 2005
    10
    This is one of my two favorite cds ever! The other cd is The Used's self titled first album. I can't get enough of The Used! I listen to them every night when I sleep, and I am not sick of them yet. I won't ever get sick of The Used! Buy this album!!!
  16. I-love-bert
    Feb 1, 2005
    9
    This is an amazing cd. The first time I herd it, I fell in love with it. There are so many songs that are unbelievably catchy and can get stuck in your head for days. I love The Used, and I have since thier first song was released. This band is the best band ever and you have to own this cd.
  17. Jimbo
    Feb 5, 2005
    5
    I was expecting good things after hearing some of their earlier stuff. This new album just sounds like a cliche to me.
  18. MarignyA
    Mar 16, 2005
    10
    This is the best album that I have ever heard. Nothing makes me happier than rocking out to The Used. i get so lost in the music.
  19. Faye
    Jul 19, 2005
    10
    The best cd ever! I love the music and the lyrics! The songs listening, lunacy fringe, and let it bleed rock! the whole album just ROCKS!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!
  20. tz
    Aug 14, 2005
    9
    its really good
  21. AdrinaA
    Aug 14, 2005
    10
    the best album i ever had!
  22. MattH
    Jun 14, 2006
    9
    (Directed at the review from 'New Musical Express') Self-loathing, self-pitying, self-centered and bad tempred IS american rock
  23. Rhi
    Apr 5, 2007
    9
    In Love and Death is a good second album, the songs vary more than in the first album and Bert's vocal talents are really shown to their best. The mixture of melody and chords are brilliant, The Used have done their fans proud with this album and I highly recommend it You can definitely see that The Used has grown up as a band and some of the stronger songs include: Cut Up Angels In Love and Death is a good second album, the songs vary more than in the first album and Bert's vocal talents are really shown to their best. The mixture of melody and chords are brilliant, The Used have done their fans proud with this album and I highly recommend it You can definitely see that The Used has grown up as a band and some of the stronger songs include: Cut Up Angels I'm a fake On fire (in your eyes) I also recommend you watching the videos for the singles released from this album, they are definitely worth a watch. Well done The Used Expand
  24. TylerD
    Nov 20, 2004
    10
    Man, their first CD was amazing. This one is also. Its an absolute masterpiece. Bert is such a good singer. Way to go, Used.
  25. JJ
    Dec 30, 2004
    10
    This Album is great, almost as outstanding as the first. It has some thrashing screaming songs, and some slow, melodic songs. It brings every side of punk onto one cd. Thanks Bert for bringing it.
  26. JonT
    Nov 28, 2005
    9
    This album did not live up to their first, but was very close. It is perfect for long car rides.
  27. NicholeK
    Apr 12, 2005
    10
    This band is an open minded, heart felt, down to earth trip! Their words are incredibly moving and very easy to relate too. They make you feel like you are right there watching them kick it from the mosh pit!
  28. AdamH
    Apr 23, 2007
    10
    God Made Humans...... God Made The Used
  29. ashleys
    Nov 15, 2004
    10
    this album is an amazing peice...it's not a disappointment at all, they've taken it to another level.
  30. Sep 21, 2011
    10
    The Used have been my favorite band for a long time now, and I can honestly say they are without a doubt the most talented song writers ever. Their lyrics are incredible and have helped me get through some of my bad days. I think every album they have done is great (I know all of them by heart) and I will always cherish any music they do.
  31. Feb 20, 2012
    6
    Simultaneously both an ugly and pretty album. Whilst In Love and Death is drenched in overbearing emotions and metaphors with its lyrical silliness, there remains something poetic and melancholic about the experience. Easily the bands lightest release, these pop-rock tunes manage to stand on their own reasonably well with the choruses of 'Take It Away', 'Listening' and 'Lunacy Fringe'Simultaneously both an ugly and pretty album. Whilst In Love and Death is drenched in overbearing emotions and metaphors with its lyrical silliness, there remains something poetic and melancholic about the experience. Easily the bands lightest release, these pop-rock tunes manage to stand on their own reasonably well with the choruses of 'Take It Away', 'Listening' and 'Lunacy Fringe' which for all their tear-inducing substance work well in the concept of the album. Expand
  32. Dec 19, 2015
    10
    In my opinion, this album gains the title of the best album by The Used. I enjoy basically every song on this album (which makes it higher than The Used's self-titled debut because I didn't enjoy Poetic Tragedy). That is all I have to say.
Metascore
64

Generally favorable reviews - based on 10 Critics

Critic score distribution:
  1. Positive: 5 out of 10
  2. Negative: 0 out of 10
  1. Continues to straddle the line between street credibility and mainstream success.
  2. The New York Times
    80
    Weird and catchy and unexpectedly funny. [11 Oct 2004]
  3. Q Magazine
    60
    For the most part, it's standard shouty punk designed to appeal to white male American virgins... Yet, they surprise. [Dec 2004, p.147]