Modern Vampires of the City

  • Record Label: XL
  • Release Date: May 14, 2013
User Score
8.8

Universal acclaim- based on 334 Ratings

User score distribution:
  1. Negative: 7 out of 334

Review this album

  1. Your Score
    0 out of 10
    Rate this:
    • 10
    • 9
    • 8
    • 7
    • 6
    • 5
    • 4
    • 3
    • 2
    • 1
    • 0
    • 0
  1. Submit
  2. Check Spelling
  1. May 14, 2013
    9
    This is one of the most beautiful album of 2013. Unique and really interesting lyrics with a beautiful rhythms. These rhythms are really catch the human's soul and don't release until song is ending. Unquestioningly that's a catchy album. Love it.
  2. May 14, 2013
    8
    Modern Vampires Of The City is Vampire Weekend's evolution in sound yet again, providing a more chilled, eerie vibe than their past two albums. While die-hard fans of Contra and the debut may find it harder to get into, it's destined to grow on you after spinning it a few times.
  3. Jul 28, 2013
    10
    One of the best albums of 2013. I found myself listening to it over and over again. The lyrics are deep and meaningful and the songs range from hauntingly beautiful to fun and catchy. I wasn't a fan of Vampire Weekend before this album but Modern Vampires of the City has made me a believer. Do yourself a favor and listen to this fantastic album!
  4. May 14, 2013
    9
    Their best work yet.

    If "Vampire Weekend" was their freshman year, and "Contra" a sophomore effort, "Modern Vampires of the City" is an upperclassman affair. Punctuated by both pop-centric tunes and deep cuts, the album is nearly faultless in its diversity.

    Stand out tracks: Unbelievers, Everlasting Arms, Ya Hey
  5. May 15, 2013
    10
    amazing record, really more quiet sound but vampire weekend pull it off, the lyrical content is really deep and metaphorical on this record really more grown up sound overall, the records sounds pretty perfect to me
  6. May 16, 2013
    9
    MVOTC is an album that throws almost everything you know about Vampire Weekend out the window and starts fresh. It's inviting, creative, and overall unlike anything I've heard this year. Koenig's songwriting remains my favorite part of the band, especially with songs like Step and my favorite track Hannah Hunt. There is something so mysteriously beautiful about Hannah Hunt that I can'tMVOTC is an album that throws almost everything you know about Vampire Weekend out the window and starts fresh. It's inviting, creative, and overall unlike anything I've heard this year. Koenig's songwriting remains my favorite part of the band, especially with songs like Step and my favorite track Hannah Hunt. There is something so mysteriously beautiful about Hannah Hunt that I can't quite put my finger on but the emotion it forces you to experience is almost heavenly and leaves you numb. The first half of the album is better than the second half but overall it is an LP you can't afford not to listen to. Hats off to Vampire Weekend for experimenting with a feel they have not yet done and their resulting accomplishment is fantastic. Expand
  7. May 16, 2013
    10
    Any band that can produce three great albums in a row deserves respect. Modern Vampires of the City is a testament to Vampire Weekend's continued relevance in today's ever changing music industry. I believe that future generations will remember them as one of the most notable bands of this generation. Poppy but not annoying. Catchy but not saccharine. This album is an evolution for VampireAny band that can produce three great albums in a row deserves respect. Modern Vampires of the City is a testament to Vampire Weekend's continued relevance in today's ever changing music industry. I believe that future generations will remember them as one of the most notable bands of this generation. Poppy but not annoying. Catchy but not saccharine. This album is an evolution for Vampire Weekend, and it is their most varied album to date. Still, there is an underlying cohesion that effortlessly ties the varied songs together. It is an early contender for album of the year, but there are other great releases to anticipate in what remains of the year. This is just one music lover's opinion. Take a listen and make your own judgment. Expand
  8. May 19, 2013
    10
    This is, seriously, Vampire Weekend's best album to date!! At 12 songs, the album is altogether catchy, thought-provoking, and even at times, disturbing. Lyrically, the album is ingeniously made and all the tunes are expertly crafted. I've been waiting for this album for some time now, and after finally hearing it, I can safely say that this is the group's best album and one of my favoriteThis is, seriously, Vampire Weekend's best album to date!! At 12 songs, the album is altogether catchy, thought-provoking, and even at times, disturbing. Lyrically, the album is ingeniously made and all the tunes are expertly crafted. I've been waiting for this album for some time now, and after finally hearing it, I can safely say that this is the group's best album and one of my favorite albums ever!! Expand
  9. May 22, 2013
    10
    Before Modern Vampires, these guys were a guilty pleasure. Fun and catchy as hell, but phony and often shallow. All that's gone now. What we get is essential, beautiful and adventurous indie pop, sophisticated songwriting and emotional lyrics. Can't get enough of it.
  10. May 14, 2013
    9
    Awesome effort by VW. They manage to keep things fresh, while still maintaining their charm. Album highlights include: Obvious Bicycle, Diane Young, and Ya hey.
  11. May 14, 2013
    8
    A brilliantly thought out and meticulously detailed and executed album. From beginning to end, Vampire Weekend never cease to impress with perfectly crafted songs, taking you through a calming yet exhilarating album; definitely their best effort.
  12. May 16, 2013
    9
    Modern Vampires of the City is an explosive third record by Vampire Weekend. It's easily some of the smartest, ambitious, and catchiest pop music I've heard in quite some time. Vampire Weekend went from preppy, polo-wearing self-indulgent young men that really enjoyed their afro-pop records to now older gentlemen that can't seem to shake off the feeling of death at every corner. It's aModern Vampires of the City is an explosive third record by Vampire Weekend. It's easily some of the smartest, ambitious, and catchiest pop music I've heard in quite some time. Vampire Weekend went from preppy, polo-wearing self-indulgent young men that really enjoyed their afro-pop records to now older gentlemen that can't seem to shake off the feeling of death at every corner. It's a huge maturation that they hinted at with Contra, but now seem to fully embrace with this new record. The production this time around is much more ambitious, and Ezra's lyrics and vocals have matured as well to even more bliss.

    All In All, Vampire Weekend craft their biggest record yet, and is so far my favorite of 2013. A-
    Expand
  13. May 16, 2013
    10
    Vampire Weekend's latest effort epitomizes everything that a rock album should be in the year 2013: energetic, moving, and feeling fresh, while undoubtably showcasing a plethora of influences. From "Tusk" era Fleetwood Mac ("Finger Back") and "Remain in Light" era Talking Heads ("Everlasting Arms") to a sound that's uniquely Vampire Weekend ("Unbelievers"), the group of former ColumbiaVampire Weekend's latest effort epitomizes everything that a rock album should be in the year 2013: energetic, moving, and feeling fresh, while undoubtably showcasing a plethora of influences. From "Tusk" era Fleetwood Mac ("Finger Back") and "Remain in Light" era Talking Heads ("Everlasting Arms") to a sound that's uniquely Vampire Weekend ("Unbelievers"), the group of former Columbia students have become experts of their craft on "Modern Vampires of the City." Without a doubt, Ezra and co's newest album came perfectly in time for the summer and will definitely stand the test of time. A must-have. Expand
  14. Jun 2, 2013
    9
    One of two best release of this May release. Vampire Weekend shed their Afrobeat signature and replace it with something totally different. If you really into Contra and their debut album, it might take some spin to swallow it through. Highlight tracks: Step, Diane Young, Worship You
  15. Jun 19, 2013
    10
    There are just so many things I can say about this album. But for the life of me I just cant figure out how to say them. All I can really express is how this album may be the most important piece of music I have ever listened to. There is so much beauty in the minds of Ezra, Rostam, CT, and Baio. The four of them plus additional producer Ariel Rechtscaid have created a spectacular recordThere are just so many things I can say about this album. But for the life of me I just cant figure out how to say them. All I can really express is how this album may be the most important piece of music I have ever listened to. There is so much beauty in the minds of Ezra, Rostam, CT, and Baio. The four of them plus additional producer Ariel Rechtscaid have created a spectacular record that I believe will never be forgot. Expand
  16. May 24, 2015
    10
    Vampire Weekend have often referred to MVOTC as being the last instalment in the 'trilogy' of their first three albums. Although its sound wildly differs from their first album, MVOTC still somehow retains a strange similarity to its previous counterparts. This album feels more raw, organic, and simplistic, with much less utilisation of electronic sounds. The theme of MVOTC is a lotVampire Weekend have often referred to MVOTC as being the last instalment in the 'trilogy' of their first three albums. Although its sound wildly differs from their first album, MVOTC still somehow retains a strange similarity to its previous counterparts. This album feels more raw, organic, and simplistic, with much less utilisation of electronic sounds. The theme of MVOTC is a lot darker, and feels more mature, with many lines relating to mortality, and religious questioning being entwined into the lyrics. However, this album does not leave us craving upbeat, catchy songs, which can still be found. Stand out tracks include Young Lion, Ya Hey, Everlasting Arms, and Step. Expand
  17. May 14, 2013
    10
    Haters beware. This is the album that change your entire outlook on Vampire Weekend. Gone are the peppy, Afrobeats and Synths that dominated the first two records. Gone (for the most part) are the ivy-leaguer lyrical references. Instead Vampire Weekend gives us their most concise, beautiful, and varied album. Difficult without actually challenging the listener, because the pop hooks are soHaters beware. This is the album that change your entire outlook on Vampire Weekend. Gone are the peppy, Afrobeats and Synths that dominated the first two records. Gone (for the most part) are the ivy-leaguer lyrical references. Instead Vampire Weekend gives us their most concise, beautiful, and varied album. Difficult without actually challenging the listener, because the pop hooks are so good. Through and Through it's still a Vampire Weekend album; you can hear it in the "M79" strings of "Don't Lie" or the up-tempo "a-Punk" beat of "Unbelievers," but this album takes those ideas found in previous albums and takes them in interesting directions. There is never a dull moment on the record; the songs continually shift and distort until their conclusion. I can't think of a better album or direction Vampire Weekend could have taken. Easily their best work yet, and quite possibly the album of the year already for 2013. Expand
  18. May 14, 2013
    6
    After the masterpiece, "Contra", Vampire Weekend has stopped innovating on "Modern Vampires of the City". Instead, they mostly just rehash their previous songs or other people's styles/songs. "Diane Young" sounds like an Elvis song that has a punk edge, and it's first chorus is annoying with the voice affects. "Everlasting Arms" sounds like the song "Giving Up The Gun" from "Contra".After the masterpiece, "Contra", Vampire Weekend has stopped innovating on "Modern Vampires of the City". Instead, they mostly just rehash their previous songs or other people's styles/songs. "Diane Young" sounds like an Elvis song that has a punk edge, and it's first chorus is annoying with the voice affects. "Everlasting Arms" sounds like the song "Giving Up The Gun" from "Contra". "Worship You" sounds like an Irish jig. "Step" uses the same song as a common wedding song. "Unbelievers" reminds me of the song "Gimme Some Lovin'" by the Spencer Davis Group.

    Now there are some good songs here: "Don't Lie", "Hanna Hunt", and "Ya Hey". The latter one though suffers from some annoying squeaky sounds in the chorus, but the emotions in the song are top notch.

    "Obvious Bicycle", "Hudson", and "Young Lion" are all just slow, boring songs in my opinion.
    Expand
  19. BKM
    May 14, 2013
    6
    Vampire Weekend's third album finds the indie-rockers making a deliberate effort to push their music in new directions. After two hugely entertaining gems full of irresistible ear candy, Modern Vampires of the City puts the catchy hooks on the back burner in favor of dense arrangements, sonic experimentation, electronic elements and a darker vibe overall. The result is an album that isVampire Weekend's third album finds the indie-rockers making a deliberate effort to push their music in new directions. After two hugely entertaining gems full of irresistible ear candy, Modern Vampires of the City puts the catchy hooks on the back burner in favor of dense arrangements, sonic experimentation, electronic elements and a darker vibe overall. The result is an album that is ambitious but a little bit boring. VW clearly don't want to stay in the comfort zone they carved out on their first two outings, but album number three is the sound of a group in transition and not quite the masterwork that they are capable of. Hopefully they will pull everything together next time out. Expand
  20. May 20, 2013
    6
    The production is top notch, that's for sure. Yet, their sound doesn't really go anywhere. By all accounts, it's another Vampire Weekend album, which are generally good, but leave something more substantial to be desired.
  21. Jun 15, 2013
    0
    I love the first 2 albums of Vampire Weekend. They are energetic and spontaneously played! Almost every song makes me move and believe me I am not a dancer. I was looking forward for their 3rd album, the critics were positive... To be honest: it was a great disappointment the first time. I tried a 2nd time; let it rest for 2 weeks and tried a 3rd time. No improvement in my experience.I love the first 2 albums of Vampire Weekend. They are energetic and spontaneously played! Almost every song makes me move and believe me I am not a dancer. I was looking forward for their 3rd album, the critics were positive... To be honest: it was a great disappointment the first time. I tried a 2nd time; let it rest for 2 weeks and tried a 3rd time. No improvement in my experience. Probably the album has been over produced/thought and the music does not embrace me as the first 2 albums.
    I will continue listening the first 2 albums and try to forget this bad experience. It was such a disappointment that I created a account on this fantastic site to share the thoughts of Vampire Weekend lover with you.
    Expand
  22. May 15, 2013
    10
    They say you shouldn’t judge a book by its cover, and I’ve always assumed the same to be true for albums. Really cool album art doesn’t necessarily ensure that the album within will be good, and vice versa. That’s seems like a simple fact. I’ve always tried to let musicians’ visual imagery take a backseat to their music. But Vampire Weekend is a different story because their visualsThey say you shouldn’t judge a book by its cover, and I’ve always assumed the same to be true for albums. Really cool album art doesn’t necessarily ensure that the album within will be good, and vice versa. That’s seems like a simple fact. I’ve always tried to let musicians’ visual imagery take a backseat to their music. But Vampire Weekend is a different story because their visuals are so inviting. As a band, Vampire Weekend has always been obsessed with the thematic aesthetics that surround their music. Each of their album covers feature the same block letter font and white trim, giving their catalogue a visually cohesive, instantly collectible look. Additionally, each cover captures the mood of the album it represents. The image of the blurry chandelier hanging above what looks like a college party that served as the cover to the band’s debut spoke to the restless youthfulness at play on that record. The confused looking (and in the end, litigious) model on Contra’s cover reflected the band’s progression into a slightly darker, more complex sound, both lyrically and musically....

    Read More at: http://www.recomedia.net/music/vampire-weekend-modern-vampires-of-the-city-review/
    Expand
  23. May 16, 2013
    10
    This review contains spoilers, click expand to view. Wow! Vampire Weekend is a new discovery for me and I don't know why I never listen to this group before!! Their songs are all unique and in each song there is something special and different than the others Great album! Love it! Expand
  24. May 18, 2013
    9
    A bold and confident album. The guys sound like they're making exactly the music they want to make and having fun while doing so. A bit more mellow on balance than their first two albums, so if you're craving the up-tempo pop that dominated their first two albums, this won't scratch your itch. But if you're looking for well-crafted music that'll make you stop what you're doing and payA bold and confident album. The guys sound like they're making exactly the music they want to make and having fun while doing so. A bit more mellow on balance than their first two albums, so if you're craving the up-tempo pop that dominated their first two albums, this won't scratch your itch. But if you're looking for well-crafted music that'll make you stop what you're doing and pay close attention, it will. Expand
  25. May 20, 2013
    10
    What an amazing album, an engrossing 3rd chapter that makes for an enjoyable listen along with the past two albums. It's a concrete step forward for Vampire Weekend that has already managed to get me excited for whatever the band is gonna do next! but thankfully I have 3 incredible albums to listen to while I wait.
  26. May 25, 2013
    9
    A fantastic record from start to finish. Modern Vampires is a solid, confident and intelligent album from a band that finally is starting to show some maturity and breadth. Their best effort to date.
  27. May 26, 2013
    7
    Very good album, though for me not as good as there previous two albums. It starts out really well with three top notch songs, and then Diane Young(which sounds like Elvis, Billy Joel, and George Michael had a baby) which is a little annoying, but enjoyable enough. Don't Lie, Worship You, and Everlasting Arms are all worthy songs but don't really go anywhere in particular. Hannah Hunt isVery good album, though for me not as good as there previous two albums. It starts out really well with three top notch songs, and then Diane Young(which sounds like Elvis, Billy Joel, and George Michael had a baby) which is a little annoying, but enjoyable enough. Don't Lie, Worship You, and Everlasting Arms are all worthy songs but don't really go anywhere in particular. Hannah Hunt is one of the albums best, as is Step. The song Ya hey is possibly the least engaging on the album, with a lilting melody and the most annoying chorus sounds I have heard in a long time (a little like Fozzy Bear on Helium or something). Overall there is more to like than dislike, which is a good thing if you like Vampire Weekend as the third album usually is the stick in the mud for many groups. Expand
  28. May 26, 2013
    7
    Like most indie bands that acquire success early on, Vampire Weekend made the classic beginner mistake of using every effect in the studio on their sophomore album. They created a bouncy, colorful album with a lot of pop and in a strange way, lacked the spontaneity and originality of the debut. With their latest attempt, Vampire Weekend take a step back from this neon world in favor of aLike most indie bands that acquire success early on, Vampire Weekend made the classic beginner mistake of using every effect in the studio on their sophomore album. They created a bouncy, colorful album with a lot of pop and in a strange way, lacked the spontaneity and originality of the debut. With their latest attempt, Vampire Weekend take a step back from this neon world in favor of a much darker, more mature sound. Sonically, it sounds much more similar to the sounds on the debut, but lyrically it steps away from collegiate themes for philosophy. Ezra Koenig is wise beyond his years with almost every lyric sounding like some long lost proverb, "Wisdom's a gift but you'd trade it for youth," "Stale conversation deserves but a bread knife." The album is also not only a collection of songs but truly an album experience. Overall, it is near flawless. The only downside is that every time Vampire Weekend do try to use an effect, they do so at the sacrifice of the song. The pitch shifting is annoying, disappointing, and cheesy. Hannah Hunt is a beautiful song that can change you, but at the most moving part of the song, they pitch shift Ezra for the worse. It feels like a mistake. And then there is Ya Hey. A song that is insanely catchy but sounds like Vampire Weekend featuring Alvin & the Chipmunks. Rather than an existential, ironic pop masterpiece it feels more like Fish Heads by Barnes & Barnes. Expand
  29. May 27, 2013
    9
    Its been 17 days since "Modern Vampires of the City" was released. I don't know about you but i've been giving this record a whole lot of attention and i have got to say i am impressed. Vampire Weekend has been releasing great music since their debut self titled album dropped in 2008. The band also took a huge step forward by truly forming a unique sound with their sophomore albumIts been 17 days since "Modern Vampires of the City" was released. I don't know about you but i've been giving this record a whole lot of attention and i have got to say i am impressed. Vampire Weekend has been releasing great music since their debut self titled album dropped in 2008. The band also took a huge step forward by truly forming a unique sound with their sophomore album "Contra". With this new record it's clear that they knew what they had to do to perfect a sound that no other band has. LP3 opens with "Obvious Bicycle" a great way to begin this album this track is full of cool harmonies and awesome synthesized effects with some great lyrics. The second track is Unbelievers" and this is one of my favorite songs that Vampire Weekend has released. its rememberable, catchy, and just hands down amazing. Track Three is titled "Step" which is one of the tracks they released first. This track might be my favorite track Vampire Weekend song to date. it is just beautiful from start to finish. it has amazing instrumentals and perfect lyrics, definitely a highlight of the album. Track four Diane Young" another single they dropped. This track is another perfect track with really funky creative fun instrumentation and crazy cool lyrics. Track number five "Don't Lie" is another track that has phenomenal lyrics and a fun melody. Along with tracks Unbelievers" and Worship You", Don't lie is a track where you can tell the lyrics that seem like they have to do with personal religious beliefs. you can really tell they put all their heart into making these songs which is what i believe is the most important thing in making music. track six "Hannah Hunt" this is song has a phenomenal breakdown which just makes this track so much more incredible then it already was before the breakdown. Another perfect track from this album. Track seven Everlasting Arms" my personal favorite from this album it's just so fun and so inspirational it shows that not all songs have to be super complex. i also love the way they use vocoder on this song. Track eight Finger Back" this track starts off with a very poppy fun rhythm and to me feels most like their older music. i also love the chorus. However the bridge i am not to fond of but besides that i really enjoyed this track. Track nine my least favorite track on this record i like the lyrics and i don't think it's a bad song it's just not my favorite. Track 10 Ya Hey" i really like this song and it's funny because i have heard people say they don't like the chorus but i actually think it's my favorite part of this song. Track 11 "Hudson" this song has a spooky feel to it and i love it. In my opinion it's the best way they could've ended the album i actually think this song should've been the last song on this album. The final track on this album is called "Young Lion" this song has a really nice classical piano feel to it what i enjoy i just think it could have been better, but i don't get me wrong i do like this track. This album is amazing and very close to perfect if this album had maybe a couple more songs like "Unbelievers" and "Diane Young" it would've been a perfect 10. I give Vampire Weekend's third full length album "Modern Vampires of the City" a solid 9 out of 10. Expand
  30. Jun 13, 2013
    9
    For a band that made its name by being the refreshingly unique, Afro-pop-influenced group that birthed the rambunctiously catchy single “A-Punk,” you’d think Vampire Weekend would have run out of ways to continue evolving.

    You might think that, but you’d be wrong. On 2013’s “Modern Vampires of the City,” the quartet of fresh-faced East Coast rockers have perfected their
    For a band that made its name by being the refreshingly unique, Afro-pop-influenced group that birthed the rambunctiously catchy single “A-Punk,” you’d think Vampire Weekend would have run out of ways to continue evolving.

    You might think that, but you’d be wrong.

    On 2013’s “Modern Vampires of the City,” the quartet of fresh-faced East Coast rockers have perfected their almost-purposefully imperfect sound and created what is the band’s most mature album to date.

    Don’t be fooled, though; the record is still filled with frontman Ezra Koenig’s classic pseudo-nonsensical lyrics, rhythms that will have you tapping your feet and musical motifs that sound like they’ve been lifted from a 17th-century baroque piece.

    Still, the group whose prior releases embodied the sheer liberty of youth seems to have taken a large step forward into the realization that as life goes on, drinking horchata in a balaclava and gazing out the window into an Ivy League courtyard start to seem less and less important.

    On “Step,” the restrained, introspective first half of the album’s dual-lead singles, Koenig sings of youth but from an entirely different perspective than on prior releases. “Wisdom's a gift, but you’d trade it for youth,” he croons.

    Similarly, on the dreamlike, borderline-stream-of-consciousness track “Hudson,” the singer again takes a stab at Father Time. “The time has come, the clock is such a drag All you who change your stripes can wrap me in the flag,” he chants all before transitioning seamlessly into the piano-laden “Young Lion,” where Koenig, in a hushed tone, repeatedly sings the line, “You take your time, young lion.”

    The album isn’t entirely filled with coming-of-age mantras about getting older, though. “Finger Back” has all the bounce of tracks like “Cousins” and “Walcott” (multi-instrumentalist Rostam Batmanglij absolutely shines on the album) and “Diane Young” (a not-so-veiled play on the words “dyin’ young”), is the perfect summer anthem especially if your summer is spent cruising with the top down of your dad’s old ’92 Saab 900 on your way to Montauk.

    For all its quirks and oddities, Vampire Weekend has gone from the tongue-in-cheek, wanderlust-obsessed band you fell in love with and finally found a home while still managing to remain true to who they’ve been all along.

    Full of heart and not afraid to take chances, “Modern Vampires of the City” proves that the band’s fleeting sound is absolutely permanent.

    Rating: 9/10
    Expand
Metascore
84

Universal acclaim - based on 51 Critics

Critic score distribution:
  1. Positive: 45 out of 51
  2. Negative: 1 out of 51
  1. Oct 4, 2013
    67
    If Modern Vampires of the City makes one thing clear, it's that Vampire Weekend's just getting started here.
  2. 80
    Overall, Modern Vampires of The City sounds fantastic, but not overproduced.
  3. Jun 4, 2013
    60
    While MVOTC doesn’t represent a seismic leap from their earlier material, the general feeling is of a much more considered collection, with greater emphasis on song craft.