• Record Label: Redline
  • Release Date: Oct 22, 2002
User Score
8.6

Universal acclaim- based on 11 Ratings

User score distribution:
  1. Positive: 10 out of 11
  2. Mixed: 0 out of 11
  3. Negative: 1 out of 11

Review this album

  1. Your Score
    0 out of 10
    Rate this:
    • 10
    • 9
    • 8
    • 7
    • 6
    • 5
    • 4
    • 3
    • 2
    • 1
    • 0
    • 0
  1. Submit
  2. Check Spelling
  1. KevinB
    Dec 10, 2002
    8
    This album is evidence that the front man for the World's Most rock and roll Rock and Roll band has a very soulful side as well.
  2. Pete
    Nov 6, 2003
    10
    Stellar work. Does take a little time to grow on you as it's pretty mellow. Beautiful songwriting.
  3. Andrea
    Jul 30, 2003
    10
    New Earth Mud is the best CD I've heard in a while. It's a CD I will never get tired of. I've seen Chris solo 3 times and the songs are even better live.
  4. DebD
    Jan 15, 2003
    10
    Who cares about the Critics! This record-New Earth Mud- is a masterpiece. As a 10 year Black Crowes fan, I'll give all these songs a 10. Long live rock and roll. ( C.R. is a genius) " I don't believe in Fables anymore"
  5. Corinne
    Nov 20, 2002
    10
    Robinson has soul as with the Black Crows only moreso on New Earth Mud. The lyrics are heartfelt throughout this album (I live in a 70's world) and I can't help but listen over and over as there are songs that are so relative with life....check it out, it's worth it...different and diverse to any new music that's out right now...I must say, every song is a Robinson has soul as with the Black Crows only moreso on New Earth Mud. The lyrics are heartfelt throughout this album (I live in a 70's world) and I can't help but listen over and over as there are songs that are so relative with life....check it out, it's worth it...different and diverse to any new music that's out right now...I must say, every song is a 10....can't wait for the next solo album... Expand
  6. waynep
    Dec 16, 2002
    8
    I like it! i take the songs for what they mean to one person who created it . the dude did this album for himself remember that lets all share the ride man
  7. johns
    Dec 5, 2002
    10
    Song writing and musicianship have lost their place in society today. With all th crap and manufactured generic bullshit that is played on the radio, MTV and all that other media influence shit, it is great to hear someone express themselves in a prolific manner and step outside the norm. Chris Robinson has definutely redifined himself and has shown where the talent of the Crowes is Song writing and musicianship have lost their place in society today. With all th crap and manufactured generic bullshit that is played on the radio, MTV and all that other media influence shit, it is great to hear someone express themselves in a prolific manner and step outside the norm. Chris Robinson has definutely redifined himself and has shown where the talent of the Crowes is retained. God Bless Chris! Expand
  8. laloc
    Feb 16, 2004
    10
    Este disco está muy bien hecho, sonidos muy finos y arreglos excelentes hacen de este disco un imprecindible . Grande Chris Robinson, mantiene vivo el espiritu de los Crowes en esta producción.
Metascore
55

Mixed or average reviews - based on 8 Critics

Critic score distribution:
  1. Positive: 1 out of 8
  2. Negative: 0 out of 8
  1. With too many half-baked songs, he ultimately comes off like a generic amalgam of a bunch of Seventies singer-songwriters.
  2. Q Magazine
    60
    Some rubbishy funk aside, Robinson sounds more energised than he has in ages. [Nov 2002, p.113]
  3. Mojo
    80
    A very fine record. [Feb 2003, p.86]