• Record Label: Atlantic
  • Release Date: May 8, 2020
User Score
9.3

Universal acclaim- based on 316 Ratings

User score distribution:
  1. Negative: 8 out of 316
Buy On

Review this album

  1. Your Score
    0 out of 10
    Rate this:
    • 10
    • 9
    • 8
    • 7
    • 6
    • 5
    • 4
    • 3
    • 2
    • 1
    • 0
    • 0
  1. Submit
  2. Check Spelling
  1. May 8, 2020
    10
    It’s awesome to hear that beautiful masterpiece called petals for armor, I’m so proud of her as a fan. Give a chance to hear it.
  2. May 13, 2020
    10
    the way she misconstructed and redefined what it meant to convey and obtain the concupiscent anomalistic clearance showing us that idiosyncratic is ebulliently inevitable while simultaneously substantiating the superiority of women
  3. May 10, 2020
    10
    Perfection. It’s hard to say anything else about this masterpiece. Hayley Williams’s stunning vocals, which have been known to Paramore fans for the past 15 years, are given a chance to stand alone and shine. Epic production from Taylor York shows off his incredible talent and his long friendship with Williams is evident as she bares her soul completely in a way that only an artist whoPerfection. It’s hard to say anything else about this masterpiece. Hayley Williams’s stunning vocals, which have been known to Paramore fans for the past 15 years, are given a chance to stand alone and shine. Epic production from Taylor York shows off his incredible talent and his long friendship with Williams is evident as she bares her soul completely in a way that only an artist who completely trusts her producer can do. Always conscious of the spotlight Williams has devoted time to making sure every creative is properly credited on this album, but ultimately, this moment is all hers and she has finally allowed herself the opportunity to shine, to speak frankly and honestly and allow her raw, unbelievable talent to shine. My personal highlights are ‘Dead Horse’ which has been on a semi-permanent loop in my head for the past two weeks. Early favourite Sudden Desire and from the final EP release Crystal Clear has lifted me to a whole other dimension. Ask me what I’m listening to over the next 12 months, 9 out of 10 times I’ll reply Petals for Armor. Expand
  4. May 8, 2020
    10
    Paramore fans, attention. On Hayley's debut album, you won't find that teen hardcore stamina from Paramore's early career. It's easier to approach the solo album with the tracks from the band's last album, especially when Hayley lets out her colorful pop influence from the 1980s and 1990s, like a juice from Madonna and Cindy Lauper. But the predominant tone here is the minimalist soundParamore fans, attention. On Hayley's debut album, you won't find that teen hardcore stamina from Paramore's early career. It's easier to approach the solo album with the tracks from the band's last album, especially when Hayley lets out her colorful pop influence from the 1980s and 1990s, like a juice from Madonna and Cindy Lauper. But the predominant tone here is the minimalist sound like The XX and Lorde. The singer allows herself to play with different movements, textures of vocal sounds and, at the time of the chorus, embraces herself tightly in the pop she knows well. Expand
  5. May 8, 2020
    10
    In love with this album, it is as incredible as each song has such a strong and different melody, Hayley definitely knew how to accommodate these songs and make this album wonderful.
  6. May 8, 2020
    10
    Incrível a capacidade que a Hayley tem em lançar músicas autênticas de forma que demonstra todo seu potencial artístico e entregando excelentes vocais desde seus trabalhos junto ao Paramore. Falando nisso, o álbum vem acompanhado de uma magnífica parte instrumental onde fica claro que seu amigo e parceiro de banda Taylor York contribuiu profundamente com a produção de uma verdadeira obraIncrível a capacidade que a Hayley tem em lançar músicas autênticas de forma que demonstra todo seu potencial artístico e entregando excelentes vocais desde seus trabalhos junto ao Paramore. Falando nisso, o álbum vem acompanhado de uma magnífica parte instrumental onde fica claro que seu amigo e parceiro de banda Taylor York contribuiu profundamente com a produção de uma verdadeira obra prima. Sem dúvidas é um dos melhores álbuns do ano. Expand
  7. May 8, 2020
    10
    It's been an incredible journey for Hayley Williams and it's been a pleasure to watch her growth. This album is very mature and it's her freedom. Perfect from the first to the last song!
  8. May 8, 2020
    10
    Íntimo, sencillo y real, es un álbum completo en el que Williams explora una música distinta y casi perfecta.
  9. May 8, 2020
    10
    This review contains spoilers, click expand to view. The album is amazing, a work of art from beginning to end. My favorite one is "Pure Love". Expand
  10. May 8, 2020
    10
    I'm so proud of Hayley, how strong she is to show us the most vulnerable side of her, to be true to herself, she's an example of perseverance even in hard times.
  11. May 8, 2020
    10
    In the debut album "Petals for Armor" Hayley Williams reveals her soul, revealing her fears, doubts, but also a vulnerability that will show real resistance to the heartbreaking feelings that tear the singer apart. A better start to the album which you can imagine, "Simmer" immediately immerses us in the album, forcing us to reflect on love, loss, pain, suffering, happiness. TheIn the debut album "Petals for Armor" Hayley Williams reveals her soul, revealing her fears, doubts, but also a vulnerability that will show real resistance to the heartbreaking feelings that tear the singer apart. A better start to the album which you can imagine, "Simmer" immediately immerses us in the album, forcing us to reflect on love, loss, pain, suffering, happiness. The performer’s vocals open well, showing real, genuine emotions that she experiences. The whole album is made in atmospheric instrumental sound, which makes time stop and just enjoy. this work can be considered the best debut album this year. Expand
  12. May 8, 2020
    10
    Honestly, the whole album is a masterpiece! I also appreciate the way Hayley split the album into 3 separate sections as it gave us time to digest each song as there was so many topics/subjects to understand and listen to. For me its really hard to pick a favourite as each song holds a special place in my heart, there is honestly not one song i can say that i dont like. Wholeheartedly soHonestly, the whole album is a masterpiece! I also appreciate the way Hayley split the album into 3 separate sections as it gave us time to digest each song as there was so many topics/subjects to understand and listen to. For me its really hard to pick a favourite as each song holds a special place in my heart, there is honestly not one song i can say that i dont like. Wholeheartedly so proud of the art that she is creating and it just makes me so happy that she was able to do this project because its just outstanding. Expand
  13. May 8, 2020
    10
    Hayley has always been known for her raw and honest lyrics in Paramore songs, specially on their 2017 retro pop synth record After Laughter. This album goes even deeper and even more honest in its lyrical content. She's dug deeper and opens up even more about her depression, failed marriage, suicidal thoughts. Specially crafted album and well organized in 3 parts (every 5 songs form 1Hayley has always been known for her raw and honest lyrics in Paramore songs, specially on their 2017 retro pop synth record After Laughter. This album goes even deeper and even more honest in its lyrical content. She's dug deeper and opens up even more about her depression, failed marriage, suicidal thoughts. Specially crafted album and well organized in 3 parts (every 5 songs form 1 part) going from rage and lust and loneliness to opening up about her past and how it has affected her, to now shining bright and holding hands with her internal turmoil, m Expand
  14. May 8, 2020
    10
    The lyrics, the sound, this history behind this, all is so perfect, hayley you safe this 2020
  15. May 8, 2020
    10
    This review contains spoilers, click expand to view. This is like sunlight beaming through a dark room. Being at your ebb never sounded this so emancipating! A bold progression for a pop-rock fusion. INTENSE. And surprisingly, some tracks are dancefloor worthy! Fave tracks: “Dead Horse”, “My Friend”, “Pure Love” & “Watch Me While I Bloom”. Expand
  16. May 8, 2020
    10
    Simplesmente maravilhoso, dividido em três partes, com várias fases diferentes entre elas é uma aventura escutar esse álbum, toca nosso corações, a parte 3 é simplesmente dançante!
  17. May 8, 2020
    10
    An incredible solo debut for Hayley Williams. This is definitely some of her best work to date. You will find yourself loving each song more with every listen.
  18. May 8, 2020
    10
    bruto e polido do início ao fim. hayley williams coloca seu coração em todas as faixas e o resultado é um retrato íntimo do desejo de si e da coragem de viver suas dores e continuar.
  19. May 8, 2020
    10
    This review contains spoilers, click expand to view. Hayley Williams shows up in here her full body of work, with great melodies and lyrics and also wise produced( which is mostly from the other Paramore members). The tracks never look the same, and it seems to be so experimental but also so familar. Love the alternative rock indie sounds such as Roses//violet ... and Why we ever and love the pop 80's inspired such as Sugar on the rim and Over yet. Anyway, great album, totally worth the listen!!! Expand
  20. May 8, 2020
    10
    This review contains spoilers, click expand to view. Every song on this album was hypnotic and always wanted you to listen more and more.. and that makes the album so good! It never bores the listener..! Expand
  21. May 8, 2020
    10
    SHE DID EVERYTHING! OMGGGGGG HAYLEY IS A **** GENIUS. THIS ALBUM IS PERFECTTT AAAAAAAAAAAAAA I LOVE U, 10/10. aaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaa
  22. May 8, 2020
    10
    1000000000000/10. Incredible. Amazing. Perfection. Everything to me. Ugh her mind.
  23. May 8, 2020
    10
    One of the best albums ever. Talks about rage, and pain and growing and leaving yourself be okay with Loving. Definitely, Hayley is one of the best artist alive. Very very talented band putting on the tablet conversations that really matters.
  24. May 8, 2020
    10
    petals for armor is a bold, authentic and unique alternative record. hayley and her team worked hard and gave one of the year’s best album
  25. May 8, 2020
    10
    This album is a whole masterpiece, an emotional and beautiful ride, completly on the next level
  26. May 8, 2020
    10
    A perfeição de “Petals for Amor” não apenas consagra Williams como a maior compositora da música alternativa, como também deixa seus fans ansiosos pelo que ainda está por vir com essa nova fase da cantora.
  27. May 8, 2020
    10
    The album "Petals For Armor" demonstrates an incredible maturity of the singer Hayley Williams on her first solo album, "removed" from the band Paramore. The album is mysterious and somewhat bleak in many ways, but it is clear that the songs are like that thanks to the strong emotions of Mrs. Williams who have been depressed for a long time.
    Williams is to be congratulated for her
    The album "Petals For Armor" demonstrates an incredible maturity of the singer Hayley Williams on her first solo album, "removed" from the band Paramore. The album is mysterious and somewhat bleak in many ways, but it is clear that the songs are like that thanks to the strong emotions of Mrs. Williams who have been depressed for a long time.
    Williams is to be congratulated for her strength, courage and exquisite talent as a singer and songwriter. Thanks for Petals For Armor, Miss Hayley Williams.
    Expand
  28. May 8, 2020
    10
    Hayley Williams has crafted the perfect and released the best album of the year.
  29. May 8, 2020
    10
    This review contains spoilers, click expand to view. a hayley fez tudooo que album completo, incrível, todas as músicas são profundas, eu não tenho palavras Expand
  30. May 8, 2020
    10
    A honest, intimate, innovative and creative album. It tells us a history with vocals used in a creative way. Hayley showed us what she has and a lot more. I loved it.
  31. May 8, 2020
    10
    Not what i expected, but totally what i needed. Its amazing and nearly every song is a hit im just happy that her solo debut turned out so well.
  32. May 8, 2020
    0
    Boring and uninspired and a lot less interesting than her other works from her band Paramore. Not worth listening to, better off skipping this one
  33. May 17, 2020
    0
    Petals for Armor is up there with Childish Gambino in terms of not making any sense at all but the albums are labeled as being lyrical masterpieces anyway for the dumbest reasons I have heard. I personally can't understand how this music evokes maturity in the artist. I still hear the same Hayley from Paramore but now shes mopey, boring & uninspired. She's also been a very judgmentalPetals for Armor is up there with Childish Gambino in terms of not making any sense at all but the albums are labeled as being lyrical masterpieces anyway for the dumbest reasons I have heard. I personally can't understand how this music evokes maturity in the artist. I still hear the same Hayley from Paramore but now shes mopey, boring & uninspired. She's also been a very judgmental artist and for what? I don't see the hype and I never will. She was awful and Paramore and she's even worse here. Expand
  34. May 10, 2020
    6
    Only Dead Horse appealed to me in this album. Rest of it was very mediocre, repetitive and forgetful. A very honest album, but she has written better.
  35. May 9, 2020
    4
    Boring with a few decent tracks but overall still disappointing to listen to,
  36. May 8, 2020
    9
    [9,2]
    Hayley Williams é uma cantora e compositora, vocalista da banda de rock americana Paramore. No início do ano de 2020, Hayley lançou alguns singles reunidos em EPs, que logo se uniriam no seu primeiro álbum solo. “Petals for Armor” foi lançado no dia 8 de maio, chamando atenção de muita gente, inclusive dos especialistas da música ao redor do mundo.
    O álbum é dividido em três
    [9,2]
    Hayley Williams é uma cantora e compositora, vocalista da banda de rock americana Paramore. No início do ano de 2020, Hayley lançou alguns singles reunidos em EPs, que logo se uniriam no seu primeiro álbum solo. “Petals for Armor” foi lançado no dia 8 de maio, chamando atenção de muita gente, inclusive dos especialistas da música ao redor do mundo.

    O álbum é dividido em três partes que são classificadas por mim como: o semear, germinar e o florescer. Em seu primeiro momento, Hayley se apresenta mais sombria, em busca de autoconhecimento, de liberdade, quebrando suas paredes e enfim, pronta para crescer. Depois se mostra um pouco mais confiante, já detém sabedoria para perceber o que acontece ao seu redor. Por fim, desfila suas pétalas fortes, se apresentando destemida e completamente lapidada diante das situações que ela foi colocada a prova.
    Esse ciclo é semeado por instantes nebulosos e ensolarados. É uma jornada onde ela fala da sua vida e rotina, fazendo referências a maternidade, família, solidão, feminismo e seus momentos mais difíceis. Hayley transmite um crescimento pessoal e sentimental em suas letras, fazendo das composições únicas.
    As faixas estão interligadas entre si por conta da incrível produção que é norteada por Taylor York, guitarrista da Paramore, ele conseguiu dar uma identidade específica e característica para o disco, utilizando da perfeita junção do alternativo com o pop-rock e acrescentando elementos experimentais na última parte do trabalho, o que transmite ainda mais a confiança da Hayley. Além de Taylor, Joey Howard, baixista da banda, também aparece com frequência no processo geral de criação do álbum.

    “Petals for Armor” resume toda a essência de Hayley, é notável a dedicação e o trabalho duro da artista para entregar algo tão intenso e desafiador para o cenário do pop. A força dela é o maior destaque, uma mensagem muito bem transmitida para todas as mulheres. O desabrochar retratado ao decorrer das faixas revela a alma de uma das vocalistas mais icônicas dessa geração, é muito bom ver o desenvolvimento artístico dentro da própria obra.

    Anty.
    Expand
  37. May 8, 2020
    10
    This is the best one yet. This debut is really emotional and pure, I love her music.
  38. May 8, 2020
    9
    As a lyricist and vocalist, Hayley shines once again. Her debut album provides the listener with overwhelming amounts of emotion, and after listening, we learn more about Hayley than we ever have with Paramore (though the brutal honesty of "After Laughter" comes close). The production is rather minimal and sometimes repetitive, but there's often these great, unexpected production decisionsAs a lyricist and vocalist, Hayley shines once again. Her debut album provides the listener with overwhelming amounts of emotion, and after listening, we learn more about Hayley than we ever have with Paramore (though the brutal honesty of "After Laughter" comes close). The production is rather minimal and sometimes repetitive, but there's often these great, unexpected production decisions to make up for it and really make the album stand out. Relaxing yet moving, "Petals For Armor" is a solid debut album that certainly deserves attention. Expand
  39. May 8, 2020
    9
    This review contains spoilers, click expand to view. While some parts of the album are a bit rough, the overall experience of listening at the whole album was worth the wait.

    Best tracks are: -Simmer
    -Dead Horse
    -Pure Love
    -Sugar on The Rim
    -Sudden Desire
    -Over Yet
    -Taken
    Expand
  40. May 8, 2020
    10
    Petals For Armor is every feeling you can relate to during quarentine. More current than anything
  41. May 8, 2020
    10
    Melodia envolvente, letras penetrantes e sinceras, tudo o que se precisar para se ter um som incrível
  42. May 8, 2020
    10
    This album is too much! I hope he gets all the credit because he deserves so much!
  43. May 8, 2020
    10
    Extremamente perfeita em tudo que se propõe a fazer, Hayley conseguiu mais uma vez e choca riot fãs.
  44. May 8, 2020
    10
    This album shows Williams' power and resilience through beautiful melodies and interesting experimental noises never done by her before. Highlights of the album include "Pure Love" and "Dead Horse". Easily the best album put out this year thus far.
  45. May 9, 2020
    10
    Goddamn what a good album! Everything from the roll out to the music was perfect. Hayley's musical range really shines through here. Outstanding tracks in my opinion include Dead Horse, Cinnamon, and Simmer.
  46. May 14, 2020
    10
    It's Hayley's inner emotions on tracks

    Ya'll should watch her interview with Zane Lowe on youtube about this album. She went through a lot of crap growing up and this album is putting up a mirror to some of the reflecting she had to do in therapy. It's a pretty musically honest presentation of a side of her she hasn't felt comfortable sharing in the past. An eclectic and real project.
  47. May 10, 2020
    7
    Minimal but lively production by Taylor. Almost reminescent of Radiohead and St. Vincent in spots. Hayley's voice is great as usual yet it seems it has taken a back seat. The records' main source of catharsis is from her lyrics, much more cryptic and vulnerable than she's ever been before. Although I feel she had evoked more emotion vocally in the previous two Paramore albums, I appreciateMinimal but lively production by Taylor. Almost reminescent of Radiohead and St. Vincent in spots. Hayley's voice is great as usual yet it seems it has taken a back seat. The records' main source of catharsis is from her lyrics, much more cryptic and vulnerable than she's ever been before. Although I feel she had evoked more emotion vocally in the previous two Paramore albums, I appreciate that this is a new project and style. The experimental nature of this album is strong, yet not all of it pays off. Example being Cinnamon; it has alot to like, but Hayley's warped vocals driving the track definitely can be slightly jarring. Creepin' and Sudden Desire follow right after, which are both moody and well paced tunes. Poppier tracks like Dead Horse and Pure Love will attract the After Laughter crowd and Watch Me Bloom will kick your ass to move. This is well worth a listen; you'll definitely have your favourites on it! Expand
  48. May 9, 2020
    10
    Fantastically ambitious - epically split into three separate acts - Petals for Armor is the impressive solo debut album of Hayley Williams. In this new musical effort, she builds off of the pop-punk cynicism of Riot! and Paramore, as well as the glittery 80’s retro-pop of After Laughter. The album is a brilliant and engaging potpourri of: understated, dreamy art-rock reminiscent ofFantastically ambitious - epically split into three separate acts - Petals for Armor is the impressive solo debut album of Hayley Williams. In this new musical effort, she builds off of the pop-punk cynicism of Riot! and Paramore, as well as the glittery 80’s retro-pop of After Laughter. The album is a brilliant and engaging potpourri of: understated, dreamy art-rock reminiscent of Radiohead’s In Rainbows (“Simmer,” “Leave it Alone”); deliciously nostalgic yacht rock reminiscent of Lionel Ritchie (“Pure Love”); and assertively eruptive vocals reminiscent of Bjork (“Sudden Desire,” “Watch Me While I Bloom”). Additionally, there’s some Bossa Nova sprinkled in (“Taken”), some new jack swing (“Watch Me While I Bloom”), as well as hints of Gwen Stefani ska-pop (“Dead Horse”), and Confessions on the Dance Floor Madonna (“Sugar on the Rims”). The album is full of subtle moments, innovation, pleasant surprises, and truly joyful music. Expand
  49. May 12, 2020
    10
    Roses lotus violet íris is amazing and my favourite song of this perfect album
  50. May 8, 2020
    10
    Best album of 2020 so far! It's sort of a jazz-funk album with bits of pop and rock mixed in.
  51. May 11, 2020
    10
    Iconic Iconic Iconic Iconic Iconic Iconic Iconic Iconic Iconic Iconic Iconic IconicIconic Iconic Iconic Iconic Iconic IconicIconic Iconic Iconic Iconic Iconic IconicIconic Iconic Iconic Iconic Iconic Iconic
  52. May 8, 2020
    10
    Perfect! Extremely consistent album, showed the great maturity of Hayley Williams.
  53. May 9, 2020
    10
    El mejor álbum de una artista en solitario de este año, su fuerza en cada una de las canciones li hace magnífico, las melodías y el concepto en general del album demuestras la excelente calidad musical de Hayley
  54. May 8, 2020
    10
    This album is litteraly perfect. From beginning to end Hayley constantly surprised me and my personal favourites are Sugar on the rim, Simmer and Dead Horse! The lyrics are spot on. I cried during the first listen
  55. May 10, 2020
    8
    ‎‎‎‎‎‎‎‎‎‎‎‎‎‎‎‎‎‎‎‎‎‎‎‎‎‎‎‎‎‎‎‎‎‎‎‎‎‎‎‎‎‎‎‎‎‎‎‎‎‎‎‎‎‎‎‎‎‎‎‎‎‎‎‎‎‎‎‎‎‎‎‎‎‎‎
  56. May 28, 2020
    8
    Hayley Williams coats thoughts in metaphors of blooming garden and wilting flowers that symbolizes her highs and lows. Though the record seems repetitive at times, the experimentation and introduction of new genres on her growing plethora made the record at least interesting… but like any garden, Petals for Armor needs a bit of trimming.
  57. May 9, 2020
    10
    Esse não é um álbum de paramore porque Hayley se expressa de maneira diferente. É mais pessoal, mais livre musicalmente, é feminino e MUITO sincero. Nesse álbum ela até fala sobre coisas que eram segredos para ela, como isso poderia não ser um álbum só dela? TEVE que ser só dela, e ficou lindo, coeso e perfeito.
  58. Jun 3, 2020
    8
    I'm very biased as a longtime Paramore fan to like almost everything they, or Hayley or Zac (and whenever Taylor York does I'm joining) put out, but whatever. It's a great album, at least for my taste. Reminds me of all the influences I've seen on Hayley through the years, mewhithoutyou, Talking Heads, The Strokes, Björk and of course Radiohead. Some may say that's a bad thing but I foundI'm very biased as a longtime Paramore fan to like almost everything they, or Hayley or Zac (and whenever Taylor York does I'm joining) put out, but whatever. It's a great album, at least for my taste. Reminds me of all the influences I've seen on Hayley through the years, mewhithoutyou, Talking Heads, The Strokes, Björk and of course Radiohead. Some may say that's a bad thing but I found that enjoyable, seeing as is her trademark record, it's even better, you get to know a Hayley you wouldn't know in Paramore.
    Apart from the music, the lyrics are beautiful, powerful, special, very evoking and poetic. The whole flower theme about femininity and redemption is kept in the album. The lyrics are truthfully what makes this a beautiful and especial album, and also, a very raw and honest one.
    Expand
  59. May 8, 2020
    10
    Totalmente perfeito , emocionante , as músicas conseguem passar uma mensagem importante
  60. Jun 24, 2020
    8
    ( 80/100 )

    La vocalista de la totalmente popular banda Paramore que nos conmovió con "The Only Exception" en el 2009 y mucha música más, presenta "Petals For Armor" producido por su colega y guitarrista de la banda Taylor York. Esta iniciativa de Williams sorprende de varias formas sin ser realmente espectacular. WIlliams se muestra joven, enérgica, creativa y con una visión interesante
    ( 80/100 )

    La vocalista de la totalmente popular banda Paramore que nos conmovió con "The Only Exception" en el 2009 y mucha música más, presenta "Petals For Armor" producido por su colega y guitarrista de la banda Taylor York. Esta iniciativa de Williams sorprende de varias formas sin ser realmente espectacular. WIlliams se muestra joven, enérgica, creativa y con una visión interesante sobre su música. Demuestra ser consciente al nivelar los humores de su narrativa y creativa con la forma en la que expresa esos humores e intercambia energías en la composición. Su voz, preciosa y fuerte, la usa a favor de la música y, a su vez, la música evidencía el estilo y autenticidad personal de la artista. Este álbum logra ser una buena, interesante y entretenida primera impresión de la cantante que promete un futuro intrigante para la juventud.
    -
    The vocalist of the totally popular band Paramore that move us with "The Only Exception" in 2009 and more music presents "Petals For Armor" produced by her colleague and guitarist of the band, Taylor York. This initiative of Williams surprises in several ways without being spectacular. Williams shows herself young, energetic, creative, and with an interesting vision of her music. Proves to be conscious by leveling the moods of her narrative and creative with the way she expresses those moods and exchanges the energies in the composition. She uses her voice, beautiful and strong, in favor of the music and, in turn, the music shows the style and authentic personality of the artist. This album achieves to be a good, interesting, and entertaining first impression of the singer that promises an intriguing future for young people.
    Expand
  61. May 10, 2020
    10
    Waoo Hayley you never disappoint, this album is everything, simmer, dead horse, why we ever, my friend, This are just of my fav but is very hard when you love the full album, when u like every single track of an album just know that, that’s your artist, that’s your style and Hayley represents mine perfectly, thank you!!!!!
  62. May 29, 2020
    4
    Haylye debuta con un álbum poco dinámico e interesante, haciéndose monótono no llega a tocar un ápice del alma, pero lo intenta.
  63. May 8, 2020
    10
    Lyrically raw, honest and emotional. Layered and beautifully produced. Simply amazing
  64. May 10, 2020
    10
    this isn’t and album. this is a Masterpiece Hayley did THAT! talented, brilliant, incredible, amazing, show-stopping, spectacular, never-the-same, totally unique.
  65. May 10, 2020
    10
    amei demais, letras profundas e produção impecável, um debut perfeito para uma artista tão talentosa.
  66. May 11, 2020
    9
    Comparable to Brandon Flowers' 2015 effort "The Desired Effect" in being an exquisite showcase of songwriting auteurship, Williams' debut record is a complement to and further natural evolution from the spunky pop rock of 2017's Paramore effort "After Laughter", with her quietly mounting rage, desperation, and sadness taking on a palpably sexual charge that plays beautifully off of theComparable to Brandon Flowers' 2015 effort "The Desired Effect" in being an exquisite showcase of songwriting auteurship, Williams' debut record is a complement to and further natural evolution from the spunky pop rock of 2017's Paramore effort "After Laughter", with her quietly mounting rage, desperation, and sadness taking on a palpably sexual charge that plays beautifully off of the slinky guitars and funky bass grooves forming the basis of the record's xx-ish indie/bedroom pop sound.

    Choice Cuts: "Simmer", "Sudden Desire", "Roses/Lotus/Violet/Iris", "Watch Me While I Bloom"
    Expand
  67. May 8, 2020
    10
    This album is amazingly amazing I love every single song of it ♥️♥️♥️♥️♥️♥️♥️♥️
  68. May 13, 2020
    7
    Worthies (11/15):
    - Simmer
    - Leave It Alone
    - Cinnamon
    - Creepin'
    - Dead Horse
    - My Friend
    - Roses/Lotus/Violet/Iris
    - Pure Love
    - Sugar On The Rim
    - Watch Me While I Bloom
    - Crystal Clear
  69. May 9, 2020
    10
    perfeito, coerente, lindo, a hayley nunca erra.
    todas as músicas coesas e profundas.
  70. May 8, 2020
    10
    Melhor album de 2020 por enquanto. Entregou tudo de forma equilibrada: vocais impecáveis e não explorados em Paramore, agora evidenciados. Composições intimistas e autênticas. Album sem intenções comerciais e isso fica nítido pela produção focada em qualidade musical e conceito ao passar uma mensagem com as músicas. Nota 11
  71. May 9, 2020
    10
    I feel I'm going to be a little biased on my review, the reason is I've been a fan of paramore since the beginning of time, but I'm gonna try to be as real as I can. The album is so cohesive, poetic, the vocab in every song is out of this universe. I love how the album has so many influences which you can actually hear (I'm going to let this for you to figure). I couldn't be more satisfiedI feel I'm going to be a little biased on my review, the reason is I've been a fan of paramore since the beginning of time, but I'm gonna try to be as real as I can. The album is so cohesive, poetic, the vocab in every song is out of this universe. I love how the album has so many influences which you can actually hear (I'm going to let this for you to figure). I couldn't be more satisfied for an album. Hayley did a magnificent job & with the help of her band members and friends which makes the work even genuine. Expand
  72. May 9, 2020
    10
    I like first part of this album a lot, but rest of the album is good though
  73. May 9, 2020
    10
    Great album! Hayley is the best! Great voice and sound! Every song is unique and special. The vibe is so good
  74. May 9, 2020
    9
    Such a fun album to listen to!!! Hayley really delivers some of her best vocals and lyrics in this album, and the production by Taylor York is fantastic. My favorite tracks are Simmer, Sudden Desire, Roses/Lotus/Violet/Iris, Why We Ever, Pure Love and Crystal Clear.
  75. May 9, 2020
    8
    I love Hayley Williams, but some portions of the album definitely required a couple listens before I got to really enjoy them.
  76. May 9, 2020
    10
    In my opinion this is much better as whole when the songs feel the most in context. hayley has gone through a lot more than anyone could’ve known and she’s since wielded her pain and apprehension into a beautiful expression of recovery and affirmation. she discovers herself and thanks to the layout of the album this is a process we get to witness in real time. also hi kazi.
  77. May 10, 2020
    10
    Hayley has been trailblazing since she smashed onto the scene in the early 2000s. This album marks the biggest quality leap in both artisty and daring experimentalism, catapulting Hayley from the little Paramore emo rocker to today's Stevie Nick's! The wide breadth of genres and artists she melded into stgis hyper personal and cohesive album is truly genius. Even with it being a criticalHayley has been trailblazing since she smashed onto the scene in the early 2000s. This album marks the biggest quality leap in both artisty and daring experimentalism, catapulting Hayley from the little Paramore emo rocker to today's Stevie Nick's! The wide breadth of genres and artists she melded into stgis hyper personal and cohesive album is truly genius. Even with it being a critical success, I don't believe it's impact will be truly understood until sometime has passed. What Hayley, Taylor, and her team have done here is make music history. Period. Expand
  78. May 10, 2020
    10
    Hayley Williams and producer Taylor York take you on a rollercoaster ride of emotions, paralleled to Williams’ own experience after her divorce in 2017. Ranging from anger and loss (“Simmer”, “Leave It Alone”), the album takes its most interesting twist when rays of hope and acceptance begin to appear (“Roses/Lotus/Violet/Iris”, “Dead Horse”, “Pure Love”). It’s not until the last trackHayley Williams and producer Taylor York take you on a rollercoaster ride of emotions, paralleled to Williams’ own experience after her divorce in 2017. Ranging from anger and loss (“Simmer”, “Leave It Alone”), the album takes its most interesting twist when rays of hope and acceptance begin to appear (“Roses/Lotus/Violet/Iris”, “Dead Horse”, “Pure Love”). It’s not until the last track (“Crystal Clear”) that we see a fearless Williams, hopeful of the new love she has found, brought back to live with air-filled lungs and a horizon of possibilities. It also features a subtle sample of her own grandfather playing an original song he wrote for his wife (Williams’ grandmother), “Friends or Lovers”.

    The track-list follows the different stages Williams went through, and can be heard and felt in the melodies, tone, lyrics and even volume of her vocals. The first part of the album greets us with a quiet, vocally-reserved, familiar-yet-new Hayley. As she sings of rage, loss, loneliness or depression, we hear a eerily-calmed, soft-toned Williams. However, as the storyline goes on, we start to notice more playful melodies. You can feel her excitement and joy in finding hope, dreaming of love and achieving acceptance. These feelings translate in the rhythm, lyrics, music, and most of all, Williams' vocals. She takes greater risks, taking us higher than before, toying with a mix of references that not everyone is familiar with, but delivers a final product that anyone can enjoy. Her journey of self-discovery surely led her to channel her inner Björk, and I love that for her (and for us, too).
    Expand
  79. May 10, 2020
    10
    The Paramore singer’s excellent solo debut is full of feminine imagery and dance music textures that evoke diverse influences from Björk and Janet Jackson
  80. May 10, 2020
    10
    ‘Petals For Armor’ is a surprising listen, and not regarding the quality of the songs, Williams, and co. have proven their worth time and time again in that regard, rather in its scope and confidence.
  81. May 10, 2020
    10
    a classic. a literal classic. hayley williams is a cultural icon who has been slept on for far too long. let’s give her the noise she deserves.
  82. May 10, 2020
    10
    A journey from her failed marriage to her actual sentimental situation. Writing mature and defines her own style as an artist.
  83. May 10, 2020
    9
    A deeply personal passion project. A lot to draw from for those familiar with Hayley and Paramore, though the versality showcased opens this up to new fans. 9.5
  84. May 10, 2020
    10
    A beautiful album with themes/symbolism of womanhood, depression, past marriage, flowers, love and a direct focus towards an unknown yet exciting future.
  85. May 10, 2020
    10
    Hayley delivers a powerful blend of sounds that feel as experimental as introspective, along with lyrics that could hit personally to any listener due to their conscious and easy-to-relate content about mental health, love and rage. Her vocal range hits a new high, but not because she is trying to hit impossible notes or introduce herself as power vocal singer (which she can be, if sheHayley delivers a powerful blend of sounds that feel as experimental as introspective, along with lyrics that could hit personally to any listener due to their conscious and easy-to-relate content about mental health, love and rage. Her vocal range hits a new high, but not because she is trying to hit impossible notes or introduce herself as power vocal singer (which she can be, if she wants to). Instead, Hayley Williams is using it as a tool to not only tell a story, but make you feel it and believe it, which is hard to achieve for any artist.
    Petals for Armor is an album that doesn't fall into a certain music genre formula. Instead, it respectfully looks back at what other alternative, pop, ethnic and rock artists have done in the past; taking the lessons that they've unconsciously taught her to offer a unique vision about the topics mentioned above, under the wise perspective of a woman whom have grown in the music scene for, mostly, her entire life and feels finally comfortable to try new things by her own... and with a little help from her friends. A future classic.
    Expand
  86. May 10, 2020
    10
    Excellent different tunes on each song, and lyrics that cut to the down. Just wow!
  87. May 10, 2020
    10
    sonically, lyrically, the most impressive work the music industry has seen in a minute.
  88. May 10, 2020
    10
    perfeira em tudo que faz! álbum super gostosinho de ouvir, com letras maduras e instrumentais perfeitos! hayley williams e equipe se superam a cada lançamento. parabéns loirinha, minha versão física do álbum já foi encomendada.
  89. May 10, 2020
    10
    This review contains spoilers, click expand to view. We're getting the best of Hayley Williams in here. Powerful vocals and melodies, lots of whispers, amazing low notes and stunning high notes. Mature lyrics that shows how grown up she is now Expand
  90. May 10, 2020
    10
    Pretty much perfection throughout. From the stellar production from Taylor York and the incredible writing and vocals from Ms. Williams herself that rivets throughout every beautiful and catchy track it's hard not to love this. If you're a paramore fan, pop fan, or music fan you'll love this record.
  91. May 10, 2020
    10
    Es increíble como lograr pasmar cada uno de sus sentimientos. Taylor York un excelente productor
  92. May 11, 2020
    9
    Amazing record. I almost think of it as a concept album with the rollout and the way it’s sectioned by “Fire, Earth, and Water” - parts 1, 2, and 3, respectively. There are some songs on here that are going to be new mainstays in my favorite songs, much like “Pool.” And I appreciate being able to see a different side of someone I’ve looked up to. There are some songs that, while good, justAmazing record. I almost think of it as a concept album with the rollout and the way it’s sectioned by “Fire, Earth, and Water” - parts 1, 2, and 3, respectively. There are some songs on here that are going to be new mainstays in my favorite songs, much like “Pool.” And I appreciate being able to see a different side of someone I’ve looked up to. There are some songs that, while good, just don’t hit as hard as others. And that’s bound to happen. You can’t have an album with 15-certified-bangers. Petals for Armor got pretty f***ing close though. Expand
  93. May 11, 2020
    10
    An absolute triumph for Williams’ first go at a solo project. This album is a major departure from Paramore’s signature sound, but Hayley Williams has never been so vulnerable and raw with each and every song being a window into her most personal moments. Paramore fans and non-Paramore fans will find something in this album and it is one that will last a lifetime.
  94. May 12, 2020
    10
    album lindo e bem emocional, Hayley se expressou perfeitamente nas musicas, com batidas envolventes e linhas de baixo muito bem construídas. Uma performance vocal digna de Hayley Williams. Que debut!!! album do ano.
  95. May 15, 2020
    10
    so good, so honest, all dongs are cohesively added up. miss williams setting bars and being a artist for herself and not for industry.
  96. May 16, 2020
    10
    Best album of 2020 and it is love at first sight.
    There are just perfect songs in this one
  97. May 16, 2020
    10
    melhor album do ano juntamente com o how im feeling now e sawayama
  98. May 16, 2020
    10
    Known for her history in Paramore, Hayley Williams presents her audience with a brand new style of music. It is true, something similar began happening in the last 2 albuns of Paramore but now, more than ever, we trully see the potential Hayley carries. Masterpiece.
  99. May 17, 2020
    10
    Great album which really portrays the reality of healing and the process and growth! Following from after laughter which is about the struggle the pain and going through it. There doesn’t seem to be any element of hope it’s the emotions for what they are and how they feel.The emotions laid out into the songs whole hearted-ly. However this album has a element of hope as Hayley Wants to getGreat album which really portrays the reality of healing and the process and growth! Following from after laughter which is about the struggle the pain and going through it. There doesn’t seem to be any element of hope it’s the emotions for what they are and how they feel.The emotions laid out into the songs whole hearted-ly. However this album has a element of hope as Hayley Wants to get better she’s welcoming the healing process she’s ready to heal and to learn. In this album Hayley is growing and blooming from her pain! She showcases the different stages from themes like simmer which is anger, leave it alone which is grief and then moving onto elements in Other songs Such as ‘watch me while I bloom‘ or ‘rolo’ where she is growing and flourishing, she may not be 100% there but she understands and is not going to hold herself back anymore! Expand
Metascore
84

Universal acclaim - based on 21 Critic Reviews

Critic score distribution:
  1. Positive: 20 out of 21
  2. Negative: 0 out of 21
  1. May 15, 2020
    70
    This is a record which feels familiar and safely experimental, while Williams reveals more of herself than ever before. Just exactly who that is isn’t yet certain, and where she’ll go from here is anyone’s guess, but it’s sure to be interesting.
  2. May 13, 2020
    80
    Petals for Armor succeeds best at sustaining a mood throughout, capturing the chaotic ups and downs of depression. Some moments are sugary sweet, while others are biting and angry, but the album keeps things healthy by switching between infectious pop tunes and mellow art-pop parts.
  3. May 12, 2020
    72
    Though the strength of Petals for Armor is derived from the complexities inherent in self-actualization, it is, at times, weakened by its musical and lyrical scope.