User Score
8.7

Universal acclaim- based on 27 Ratings

User score distribution:
  1. Positive: 24 out of 27
  2. Negative: 2 out of 27

Review this album

  1. Your Score
    0 out of 10
    Rate this:
    • 10
    • 9
    • 8
    • 7
    • 6
    • 5
    • 4
    • 3
    • 2
    • 1
    • 0
    • 0
  1. Submit
  2. Check Spelling
  1. CamK
    Oct 12, 2002
    9
    While it's not as fresh or original as their debut, it's still a great hip-hop album that should not be overlooked.
  2. DrewE
    Oct 14, 2002
    10
    Cop it...J-5 is flawless hip-hop at its finest.
  3. NickieI
    Apr 10, 2003
    10
    10 this is one of my favorite albums. There's nothing else to say but J5 is awesome!! Even better in concert.
  4. JasonL
    Aug 8, 2004
    10
    this is hot,whats golden is the dopest song ever made by J5.
  5. CMACK
    Feb 7, 2005
    10
    It's absolute class! Funniest and most intelligent rap album out there!
  6. Ben
    Jul 10, 2005
    8
    Pretty good album A Day At The Races by far the best track, got to have one of the best bass lines ever
  7. daniela
    Jan 19, 2007
    10
    excellent hip hop record, a breath of fresh air from the usual rap bollocks we hear these days talking about their rims, thei b*tches and their jesus piece
  8. marc-o
    Nov 11, 2003
    10
    Can you belive that some a**hole from Q magazine said J5's lyrics were there downfall. What a f**king idiot what the hell does a 40 year old in a knitted jumper at Q Magazine know about good Hip-Hop anyway shit thta dude need to get his Phil Collins Lp out a dissapear. P.s This album is fantastic, Chali 2 na is one of the best rappers ever.
  9. mikek
    Mar 12, 2003
    8
    J5 has put out a banger if you were lucky enough to get the bonus dvd then it was definitly a good purchase yet I was really suprised at the sub par guest apperance of Kool Keith he trys so hard to be different that he just sounds retarded on this album, and yes i do have Dr. Octagon and Dr. Doom. But Nelly furtado was defininitly a plesant suprise over all the album doesnt dissapoint
  10. nickp
    Sep 4, 2004
    10
    i listen to this cd evry day it couldnt be better.
  11. Mdub
    Jun 14, 2005
    9
    A terrific hip hop album with positive lyrics and consistency. Chali 2na's heavy, baritone rapping is awesome, and cut chemist and nu mark are great DJs. Every track is solid, but some fantastic standouts include "A Day at the Races(feat. Big Daddy Kane and Percy P)", big hit "What's Golden", and the meaningful "Sum of Us". Nelly Furtado's appearance on "Thin Line" is also A terrific hip hop album with positive lyrics and consistency. Chali 2na's heavy, baritone rapping is awesome, and cut chemist and nu mark are great DJs. Every track is solid, but some fantastic standouts include "A Day at the Races(feat. Big Daddy Kane and Percy P)", big hit "What's Golden", and the meaningful "Sum of Us". Nelly Furtado's appearance on "Thin Line" is also great. Overall, a really solid hip hop album from a great group. Expand
  12. shaneh
    Jan 16, 2006
    10
    BEST ALBUM EVER I HAvent put it down for 3 years now im not ubsessed cuz every track is good !!!!!!!!!!!!!! buy it if your sick of rap on radio youll love this album no gangsta rap
  13. tylertyler
    Oct 22, 2002
    9
    swizeet
  14. RacileN
    Jul 15, 2003
    10
    NOW DIS IS HIPHOP!!one of the most ifluencial hiphop ever.THIS IS NOW MAINSTREAM FAKE SHIT!!this is real hiphop!best shit youll ever hear from hiphop. see the video whats golden
  15. ChandlerW
    Oct 15, 2006
    10
    What can I say about PIN. I think it's an absolute classic. I listen to at least some of this album every day. I can't imagine what J5 could've possibly done to make this album any better. "A Day At The Races", "High Fidelity", and "Sum of Us" are particularly sick. Nu-mark and Cut Chemist spin some of the most bitchinest beats I've ever heard. Cut Chemist is very What can I say about PIN. I think it's an absolute classic. I listen to at least some of this album every day. I can't imagine what J5 could've possibly done to make this album any better. "A Day At The Races", "High Fidelity", and "Sum of Us" are particularly sick. Nu-mark and Cut Chemist spin some of the most bitchinest beats I've ever heard. Cut Chemist is very missed. Great Album. Expand
  16. j30
    Dec 7, 2011
    7
    Solid album from Jurassic 5. My only complaint is Power In Numbers doesn't feel like a progression from their previous work, just a reaffirmation of their sound.
Metascore
76

Generally favorable reviews - based on 20 Critics

Critic score distribution:
  1. Positive: 16 out of 20
  2. Negative: 0 out of 20
  1. It's a dubious album whose chief innovation is a guest appearance by Nelly Furtado.
  2. J5 is hard enough to sample Public Enemy on the standout single "What's Golden" and features two of the best turntablists working today, Cut Chemist and DJ Nu-Mark.
  3. As spiritual as Talib Kweli, as musically complex as Mos Def, as joyfully syncopated as the Roots, Power in Numbers sets the standard for intelligent hip hop.