User Score
8.9

Universal acclaim- based on 422 Ratings

User score distribution:
  1. Negative: 19 out of 422

Review this album

  1. Your Score
    0 out of 10
    Rate this:
    • 10
    • 9
    • 8
    • 7
    • 6
    • 5
    • 4
    • 3
    • 2
    • 1
    • 0
    • 0
  1. Submit
  2. Check Spelling
  1. TimmyL
    Oct 1, 2002
    10
    Best album ever....just plain great
  2. BobS.
    Aug 28, 2002
    10
    Wow.
  3. BobS.
    Aug 28, 2002
    10
    Wow.
  4. Chillman
    Jan 5, 2003
    10
    This is the album of the year and mayby next year, hard to ignore this band.
  5. brianchikerdoodle
    Apr 3, 2003
    10
    Thi is undoubtebly the best album I have heard in the past 3 years the mellow stoned out chords that drive the record are phenominal. The simplicity of no one knows is a welcome change to the music that is so intense you cant understand anything
  6. chrisg
    Feb 5, 2004
    10
    i loved this cd, i dont know if i like R more or songs for the deaf... but both are awesome and i havent heard there selftitle, but i dont understand how all the critics seem to like the strokes and white stripes more than qotsa. i mean the suck in comparison to me. so eveyone go and but this cd now, and if u like qotsa then kyuss is the band for u because they kick ass. So smoke a bowl i loved this cd, i dont know if i like R more or songs for the deaf... but both are awesome and i havent heard there selftitle, but i dont understand how all the critics seem to like the strokes and white stripes more than qotsa. i mean the suck in comparison to me. so eveyone go and but this cd now, and if u like qotsa then kyuss is the band for u because they kick ass. So smoke a bowl and enjoy. Expand
  7. Hein
    Apr 30, 2006
    10
    Intense rock with a perfect desert-atmosphere and strong songs full of alternation. Best rock-record in 25 years!
  8. conorbo
    Jun 26, 2006
    10
    buy thats all buy it
  9. alalabebebe
    Jul 5, 2006
    10
    The best QOTSA album for me...
  10. FatbirdsDontfly
    Dec 20, 2008
    10
    This is the summer I've always wanted.
  11. DanielW
    Jan 20, 2010
    10
    Classic album. Better than any of their other stuff I've heard. Admittedly its one of those albums that takes a while to get into, bet your into it, its absolutely fantastic. It seems its a love it or leave it album x.
  12. DaveI.
    Jul 9, 2003
    10
    Actually, if you are into true rock n' roll art with good rock musicianship, then this is the album for you. I enjoy it alot, and most rock fans of today should enjoy it too. There are not alot of good bands out there now (Good Charlotte, Avril, New found glory..etc = thumbs down). Luckily, this band was still able to stick around to create more good old-time rock tunes. I think this Actually, if you are into true rock n' roll art with good rock musicianship, then this is the album for you. I enjoy it alot, and most rock fans of today should enjoy it too. There are not alot of good bands out there now (Good Charlotte, Avril, New found glory..etc = thumbs down). Luckily, this band was still able to stick around to create more good old-time rock tunes. I think this band have some true potentials to their music, and I admired that, and hopefully will continue to do so in the future to come. And for those who rated this album as way below average, you guys failed to give your descriptive and valid points on why this album should not be live up to expectation (not just a small paragraph or one sentence to prove your point; that's not a review, people). Expand
  13. BenW
    Sep 7, 2003
    10
    Metal with a brain, and a soul as well.
  14. JJuneau
    Oct 1, 2004
    10
    Amazing! Best rock album of the year!
  15. JamesH
    Nov 5, 2004
    10
    phsycidelic stoner rock at its absolute best, every song a different jouney through the dark ages
  16. PeterC
    Jun 11, 2004
    10
    I completely agree with Jason C, this album has changed my views on rock altogether, after the one hundredth listen i became completely immersed in its tripped out, drug induced and beautifully atmospheric tones. Incredible.
  17. TomasZ
    Jun 3, 2004
    10
    Great Album! 'Nuff said...
  18. genes
    Jan 20, 2005
    10
    best eva album!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!
  19. MB
    Dec 6, 2005
    10
    Totally kicks ass
  20. RichardL
    Sep 4, 2005
    10
    Simple. The best CD I have ever had the pleasure of listening to.
  21. Mithyus
    Apr 5, 2007
    10
    No One Knows just how good this album is. Dave Grohl and his magic.
  22. BenjaminG.
    May 19, 2007
    10
    Great from start to finish
  23. CraigL
    Aug 12, 2008
    10
    One of my favourite albums ever and I've listened to many great albums. This is the album which first got me interested in rock music and ive never looked back. A bit sad theres no Kyuss reviews on here.
  24. StevieC
    Sep 21, 2009
    10
    Definitely the best rock album of the decade and possibly one of the best albums of all time. When i first listened to it, i thought it was a bit repetitive, i liked a few songs; but within a month i started to realize how different and colorful each track was. There is not a single bad song on this album and i love the concept of the album being set in the Californian desert. It will Definitely the best rock album of the decade and possibly one of the best albums of all time. When i first listened to it, i thought it was a bit repetitive, i liked a few songs; but within a month i started to realize how different and colorful each track was. There is not a single bad song on this album and i love the concept of the album being set in the Californian desert. It will take a while to grasp how brilliant it is but have patience. Anyone who gives this album a negative review has not really listened to it as far as i'm concerned. This album deserves to (AND HOPEFULLY WILL BE) be looked back upon in 10-20 years as one of the all time classics. Expand
  25. Vatishi7
    Jan 4, 2010
    10
    The beginning of a life long love affair. Better than brilliant.
  26. mattc
    Nov 26, 2002
    10
    This damn thing has taken up residence in my CD player and will bloody-well not leave. My ears are bleeding and I'm grinning like a horny gibbon. It's very very good. Punk most cerainly ain't dead, it just learnt to play it's instruments!!
  27. MikeC
    Oct 5, 2002
    10
    Great album. What the world needs today is a kick in the nuts.
  28. KenS.
    Aug 21, 2002
    10
    This album has the sonic force of Fear of A Black Planet, Nevermind, or Appetite For Destruction. The writhing humanism of Go With The Flow, the darkness of Song For The Deaf, the power of Millionaire... every song has its own identity and the album can still stay cohesive. Put it in the top ten easily. This is rock and roll the way it is meant to be.
  29. calez1q
    Aug 29, 2002
    10
    Compared to the rest of the hard rock garbage out there, this album stands out like a beacon of welcome light.
  30. Erraietatik
    Apr 14, 2003
    10
    Feel Good Hit Of Our Life !
  31. DirkThrasher
    Apr 24, 2003
    10
    I never heard a better cd from a rock band then these fellows. They know how to play, they know what theyre doing and they keep doing it.
  32. davidk
    Oct 13, 2004
    10
    it just rulz
  33. buzzclik
    Oct 3, 2004
    10
    "Songs For The Deaf" manages to blend balls-to-the-wall rock, mystic arty flourishes and dark sardonic humour into perfect tunes. If God and Satan copulated and spawned a child made of music, this would be the sound of its voice. Listen to this album on acid and you'll understand. I did. So did the 10ft neon cowgirls who appeared in my loungeroom.
  34. SPANJ
    Feb 8, 2004
    10
    OH MYD GOOOOODD this CD is perfect
  35. JasonD
    Mar 28, 2004
    10
    Great album from a great band. Takes a while to get into but its worth it.
  36. Skeeps
    Feb 18, 2005
    10
    One of my Fav's
  37. SebB.
    Apr 5, 2005
    10
    It's probably the most surprised i've been when the first song explodes into a crazy, infectious thing called millionaire. I've listened to this album a lot of times and I love it more and more every time.
  38. JamesT
    Jan 30, 2006
    10
    QOTSA are possibly one of the greatest rock bands ever and this album is incredible.
  39. DrewM
    Mar 18, 2006
    10
    Very, very entertaining album. Not as good as their debut album, as John stated before, but a great album nonetheless.
  40. AlexA
    Sep 13, 2006
    10
    Just perfect!
  41. DiosJ.
    Feb 17, 2007
    10
    This albums kick asses! I love it! T_T Éste album patea culos, lo amo.
  42. SteveK.
    May 24, 2007
    10
    truly life changing album
  43. IonA.
    Jun 12, 2007
    10
    Wonderful !
  44. MikeT
    Jan 23, 2008
    10
    The best hard rock album since Ozzy became incomprehensible.
  45. MarkK.
    Feb 8, 2008
    10
    Everything you could wish for in a rock album. This is the band at their best and indeed one album you must listen to before you die. Queens Of The Stone Age should be considered as one of the greatest rock bands of all time!
  46. KyleC
    Jan 1, 2009
    10
    One of the best hard rock albums that will ever grace your ears.
  47. JohnK
    Jun 30, 2009
    10
    Brutal. Melodic. Trance-inducing. Pounding rhythm. Pulsing guitars. And that is only Song for the Dead. If you listen to all the songs on this album you will discover that you no longer look at music the same way.
  48. ChrisK
    Jul 20, 2009
    10
    Quite possibly one of the greatest musical experiences ever crafted. You have to listen to the tracks in order to fully enjoy the wicked concept this album presents; tuning into various radio stations as you embark on your journey to the Mojave Desert.
  49. DennisM
    Oct 11, 2002
    10
    F+#@ing Rules!! Best ever!!!
  50. johnpassword
    Aug 21, 2002
    10
    best album ive heard since Radioheads- Kid A
  51. ventgas
    Sep 13, 2002
    10
    Insanely great band, insanely great cd.
  52. JasonC
    Nov 27, 2003
    10
    Fucking incredible album. changed the way i thought about music. Hasn't left my cd player in months
  53. AaronT
    Feb 16, 2004
    10
    great album, powerful songs, superb riffs, I new hope in heavy. thank GOD, this musical genre is in good shape, and very alive.
  54. JoriK
    Dec 29, 2005
    10
    You're left breathless.
  55. jamesr
    Mar 29, 2005
    10
    the greatest album realese in my lifetime, takes you on a magical journey from the entrancing mosquito song to the absolute brilliance of know one knows and millionaire
  56. EdDel
    Apr 12, 2005
    10
    The Best album of the band
  57. StuartV
    Nov 21, 2006
    10
    Amazing, an incredible follow up to 2002's Rated R. Almost flawless.
  58. AlL
    Jul 25, 2009
    10
    Why had I only heard the singles? Every track was given so very much love. If you like Saul Williams, you will like this.
  59. DaraghL.
    Nov 13, 2007
    10
    Rocked my socks off...
  60. BrydenS.
    Nov 26, 2007
    10
    Best metal album of the 00's. Even Dave Grohl admitted it was the best album he had ever played on. The fact that it is a loose concept album and flows cohesively is the icing on top of the fact that it rocks harder than any of the other crap currently plaguing modern rock radio. Anyone who doesn't give this album at least an 8 doesn't know anything about hard rock and Best metal album of the 00's. Even Dave Grohl admitted it was the best album he had ever played on. The fact that it is a loose concept album and flows cohesively is the icing on top of the fact that it rocks harder than any of the other crap currently plaguing modern rock radio. Anyone who doesn't give this album at least an 8 doesn't know anything about hard rock and should stick to the Adult Alternative section of the record store. Expand
  61. snolarbear
    Dec 17, 2007
    10
    A slick and powerful album. music doesn't get much better than this!
  62. May 10, 2011
    10
    One of the best albums I've heard from the 2000s. A lot of classic material here with a lot of diversity and quality musicianship. Probably the best album of this bands career along with R.
  63. Jan 15, 2011
    10
    You like good rock, you like good music? How about a trip- how about a rolling, thundering blast of grit and rock- shot into your skull, still yeah? Then, do this album! Do it now!
  64. Apr 22, 2012
    10
    If God and Satan copulated to spawn a child made of music, Homme, Oliveri and Lanegan (on this album) would be the sound of its voice. A genre-defying - and career-defining - LP. A must-have for any rock fan. Find it, buy it and listen to it - again and again.
  65. Jun 17, 2014
    10
    Excellent album, one of the best I've listened to.
    The album starts with a bang, with 5 awesome tracks. It follows with the weak "Six Shooter" (IMO, of course), but then enter awesome tracks like Go With the Flow, Hangin' Tree, and one of the best tracks of the album, A Song for the Deaf.
  66. Jun 17, 2013
    10
    There is not one weak song on this album, being QOTSA's finest effort to this day, and still a classic hard rock album that any music lover should have in their collection.

    I can pick out 11 songs that are just awesome on this record. The combination of Grohl's excellent drumming and Homme's genius songwriting is a testament to the QOTSA we all know and love.
  67. Jul 10, 2018
    10
    The good, pointless and old rock and roll. The best QOTSA album, among with Rated R (2000). Josh Homme isn't a virtuoso guitar player, but this fact doesn't prevent that he compose many of his best songs. Another goal is the marvelous band that accompanies Homme. Mark Lanegan that lend his powerful voice, Nick Oliveri always offering amazing bass lines and finally the sacred rock'sThe good, pointless and old rock and roll. The best QOTSA album, among with Rated R (2000). Josh Homme isn't a virtuoso guitar player, but this fact doesn't prevent that he compose many of his best songs. Another goal is the marvelous band that accompanies Homme. Mark Lanegan that lend his powerful voice, Nick Oliveri always offering amazing bass lines and finally the sacred rock's monstrer Dave Grohl that occupies the drumsticks masterfully. Materpiece. Expand
  68. Nov 15, 2013
    10
    Anyone who says this album is bad is obviously an idiot. There is not a metal band that exists that can dish out these riffs and vocals. No One Knows has one of the greatest guitar riffs of all time. Maybe the best metal riff ever.
  69. Nov 22, 2013
    10
    My favourite album (very, very closely followed by their Self-titled), every song is just brilliant. I would recommend this album to anyone, and have bought it for countless people. Please, if you haven't already, buy this album and all of QOTSA's discography.
  70. Feb 4, 2014
    10
    this is rock .my favorite album. this album has its own feel. every song is important to the album. the intro of the album will stay in my head forever.
  71. Aug 5, 2014
    10
    This is the most powerful record ever made. In Songs For The Deaf, Queens Of The Stone Age are at their best. There are just two or three songs that aren't unforgettable, but all the others are fists to your hears. An album for those interested in heavy guitars, low chords and intense strong drumming.
    This record is a **** masterpiece of contemporary music.
  72. Aug 17, 2014
    10
    This is an amazing album. Probably one of the best of the 2000s (but in my personal opinion, White Blood Cells by the White Stripes is the best of that decade). If you like Stoner Rock, Alternative Rock or just wanna hear so good music of the new millennium, buy this album. It's on Vinyl, Cassette, CD & Digital Download. I plan to buy it on all 4.
  73. Oct 27, 2014
    10
    Do I even need to tell you why this album is great? It's been praised to no end and rightfully so. Some of Queens's best work is just this album heard front to back. The little things are what make this album go from great to masterful. The satirical radio interludes go hand in hand with the songs that follow or come before not only in theme, but in tone. The guitar tones and playing styleDo I even need to tell you why this album is great? It's been praised to no end and rightfully so. Some of Queens's best work is just this album heard front to back. The little things are what make this album go from great to masterful. The satirical radio interludes go hand in hand with the songs that follow or come before not only in theme, but in tone. The guitar tones and playing style were some of the most original and bold for the time. The use of 3 lead singers. The shift in musical styles to fit each singer. This album kicks ass. Expand
  74. Nov 27, 2014
    10
    It goes without saying that damn near anything Dave Grohl touches turns to gold, and his presence on this album is no exception. This is a classic QOTSA album from start to finish. The bass is aggressive and chunky, guitars are haunting, the vocal delivery from Hommes is drawly and sleazy as always, the drums are kickin', and the riffs are instant classics.
  75. Apr 26, 2017
    10
    A full throttle ride through the deserts of California that never slows down. Every riff from this masterpiece has managed to establish itself as an instant classic. The album always seemed a bit under-appreciated because of its besettling nature, so it was nice to see it recognized and praised like it deserves to be. One of the best albums of the century for me.
  76. Feb 11, 2019
    10
    A masterpiece.

    The concept is ideal for an album. Every song explores its individual theme perfectly (remember when you're reviewing not to impose your expectations upon a song/album -- insofar as baseline sound, musical expectations and song titles are concerned, this album delivers 10/10). The vocals are superb, as is the instrumentation -- the only thing a critic could pick on
    A masterpiece.

    The concept is ideal for an album.

    Every song explores its individual theme perfectly (remember when you're reviewing not to impose your expectations upon a song/album -- insofar as baseline sound, musical expectations and song titles are concerned, this album delivers 10/10).

    The vocals are superb, as is the instrumentation -- the only thing a critic could pick on is the lack of pop sensibility, but this album isn't about pop; moreover, it had a smash hit with "No One Knows".

    If you want to critique it in terms of artistic advancement, this album delivers: here we encounter the Palm Springs rock-aesthetic of the 90s for the first time on a broad scale (not Kyuss, but on a mainstream scale) in its most accessible and irresistible form -- beyond driving out to a generator concert.

    Chiefly, the songwriting on this QOTSA jaunt is immaculate. Josh Homme is molten on every cylinder, and where Nick Oliveri takes over, his contributions are unforgettable and add to the broader flavour of the album -- insofar as it would ruin SFTD if you took them away.

    *** Need I say it? Dave Grohl smacks the drums into ten-dozen dimensions during playthrough.

    If you want to hear the left-wing of rock in the 00s, you must listen to this tour-de-force of an album, otherwise you'll look like a hack.
    Expand
  77. GregB.
    Aug 30, 2002
    9
    Absolutely superb. Is rare nowadays to hear such enthusiasm, creativity and sheer attitude [that is not purely market driven].
  78. AngelO.
    Sep 17, 2002
    9
    Fucking blow me away group ...
  79. novacaine
    Sep 7, 2002
    9
    The best rock album since.....well, their last album.
  80. GarryL
    Jun 30, 2005
    9
    Thay `kick` arse, when we get the records ,down here in `AUSTRALIA`thay cost $30 clams in oz this sucks. Keep on Slamming.Thank `u`red white & blue.....
  81. DavidH.
    Apr 5, 2008
    9
    Without a doubt one of my favourite albums ever made. Queens of the Stone Age absolutely rock! Hard! The best rock album ever! Track rating- millionaire 8.9/10, no one knows 9.5/10, first it giveth 8.3/10, song for the deaf 8.0/10, sky is falling 9.1/10, six shooter 7.6/10, hanging tree 8.7/10, go with the flow 9.3/10, i'm gonna leave you 7.6/10, do it again 9.0/10, god is in the Without a doubt one of my favourite albums ever made. Queens of the Stone Age absolutely rock! Hard! The best rock album ever! Track rating- millionaire 8.9/10, no one knows 9.5/10, first it giveth 8.3/10, song for the deaf 8.0/10, sky is falling 9.1/10, six shooter 7.6/10, hanging tree 8.7/10, go with the flow 9.3/10, i'm gonna leave you 7.6/10, do it again 9.0/10, god is in the radio 9.6/10, another love song 9.3/10, song for the dead 8.1/10, mosquito song 9.7/10, lost art of keeping a secret 8.7/10, everybody gonna be happy 8.9/10. a very high 8.8/10 Expand
  82. graemer
    Jun 23, 2006
    9
    Infinitely better than anything Maynard Keenan could ever conceive of, despite what the idiot M-Stylez claims. Let's not even talk about System of a Down; they're not really musicians--and definitely not artists.
  83. DimitriV.
    Dec 6, 2007
    9
    This is a great album and was the first album I got to know by QOTSA. This is, in my opinion, one of their best albums because its a mix of diverse rock songs though not one of them is bad. In fact, they are all good and some have even made it already as classics you just want to hear if you go to a concert of QOTSA. It has a nice groove only Oliveri could have laid down and the drums are This is a great album and was the first album I got to know by QOTSA. This is, in my opinion, one of their best albums because its a mix of diverse rock songs though not one of them is bad. In fact, they are all good and some have even made it already as classics you just want to hear if you go to a concert of QOTSA. It has a nice groove only Oliveri could have laid down and the drums are magnificent. Josh Homme performs vocally at his best reaching from the bottom end of his voice to a decent falsetto. The reason i did not give this album a clear 10 is that, though the interludes are sometimes really funny, they sometimes get the drive out of the album. Maybe a few cuts here and there would make this album perfect. Expand
  84. Ikarus14
    Dec 5, 2009
    9
    Simply awesome!
  85. JakeM
    Nov 27, 2005
    9
    If you were to douse your head in gasoline, light it on fire and slam your face repeatedly onto your keyboard right this very second... maybe, just MAYBE, you would catch a small glimpse of what it is to hear these songs for the deaf. Possibly one of the finest albums of the new mellennium... though, since the new mellennium in music generally sucks a righteous set of polo socks at the If you were to douse your head in gasoline, light it on fire and slam your face repeatedly onto your keyboard right this very second... maybe, just MAYBE, you would catch a small glimpse of what it is to hear these songs for the deaf. Possibly one of the finest albums of the new mellennium... though, since the new mellennium in music generally sucks a righteous set of polo socks at the moment, I suppose that isn't the greatest compliment of all time. But, it IS a large achievement nonetheless, and deserves your ownership. Pick it up or pick your NOSE! Expand
  86. Aug 11, 2010
    9
    There is a lot to like in this album, and it is by far the best work of the band. The guitar riffs are simple but cool, and the drums are just awesome. Most of the songs sound similar to your standard grunge rock, but the lyrics are self-aware and smart, making it more than simple head-banging music.
    On a side note, Mosquito Song is probably the most musically ambitious of the tracks here.
    There is a lot to like in this album, and it is by far the best work of the band. The guitar riffs are simple but cool, and the drums are just awesome. Most of the songs sound similar to your standard grunge rock, but the lyrics are self-aware and smart, making it more than simple head-banging music.
    On a side note, Mosquito Song is probably the most musically ambitious of the tracks here. I was pleasantly surprised by the inclusion of the different instruments used on it.
    Expand
  87. Sep 7, 2010
    9
    this is queens of the stone age at there absolute best. almost every song is a revolution of modern hard rock; the key songs from their career: No one Knows, Go with the flow, Songs for the dead, the sky is falling, millionaire, are all found on this incredible album. Anyone wanting to get into QOTSA, this is the album to listen to...
  88. Feb 16, 2011
    9
    Couldnt help but enjoy this album, with its flawless riffs and kick ass drums. The sarcastic radio parts only add to this wonderfull album that is sure to be heard still in thirty years. The guitar was put to good use in songs like 'gonna leave you' and 'go with the flow' . Another album that manages tp be commercialy successful and a rock marvel at the same time, dave ghrol really toar upCouldnt help but enjoy this album, with its flawless riffs and kick ass drums. The sarcastic radio parts only add to this wonderfull album that is sure to be heard still in thirty years. The guitar was put to good use in songs like 'gonna leave you' and 'go with the flow' . Another album that manages tp be commercialy successful and a rock marvel at the same time, dave ghrol really toar up his set on this one and it payed off Expand
  89. j30
    Sep 4, 2011
    9
    Rock god's of a **** era of music. Rap-metal? Really? What the hell were we thinking. QOTSA, from this point, made everything from that time look like a high school's battle of the bands competition.
  90. Nov 23, 2011
    9
    It was hard decide weather on not I should give this album a 10 or a 9, I going to go with a nine because the last few songs arn't that good. However what is here is some of the best hard rock you can listen to with a song for the dead being my personal pick, of possibly one of the best songs EVER. Not to metion the classic QUOTSA material. Pure excellence.
  91. Jan 2, 2014
    9
    Really good album by Queens of the Stone Age, more or less on the same level of their previous, Rated R. No One Knows and Go With The Flow are great, and there many other good songs.
  92. Jan 31, 2016
    9
    Outstanding album through and through, the entire thing was a pleasure to listen to. From melodic songs like go with the flow, or the incredible drumming by dave grohl in no one knows.
  93. Jul 1, 2013
    9
    A song for the deaf, that is for you.
    Hell, that is for all of us. This album just kicks all kinds of ass. Really, as far as hard rock goes, this is probably one of the best albums out there. Every song is interesting, unique, and bad ass.
    Also, if you ever feel like driving down the highway in the most intense way possible, put on "You think I ain't worth a dollar, but I feel like a
    A song for the deaf, that is for you.
    Hell, that is for all of us. This album just kicks all kinds of ass. Really, as far as hard rock goes, this is probably one of the best albums out there. Every song is interesting, unique, and bad ass.

    Also, if you ever feel like driving down the highway in the most intense way possible, put on "You think I ain't worth a dollar, but I feel like a millionaire".
    Expand
  94. Jun 22, 2017
    9
    That's one of my favourite album ever made.

    The opening with "You think I ain't worth a dollar" is like being shot right in the ears. The concept of the Radio stations is well executed, they explore different types of songs to match hypothetic stations.
    Like "Another love song" is their take on pop and catchy lovesongs.

    The album featured Dave Grohl playing drums and is a blast.
  95. Mar 26, 2018
    9
    I was kid, confused and didn't know what I should listen. I was searching something new. I my music taste didn't form yet and I found what I want, I found many new albums, music ,singer and one of the albums was this. Thank for the memories. If you like rock, metal, if you brain can take loud music, this album will be treasure for you.
  96. Dec 27, 2018
    9
    Un album pesado, de gran sonido stoner, mezclado con sonidos de la musica en espaƱol, grandes canciones del rock, un impredicidble
  97. Apr 19, 2019
    9
    A soundscape of experimental and conceptual depth, impressive creative dimensions and unforgettable riffs and lyrics.
  98. Jul 2, 2021
    9
    Easily one of the best rock albums ever released and considered to be one of the greatest albums of all time, Songs for The Deaf sees Queens of The Stone Age at the height of their creativity, as they take us to a high-octane road trip to the desert. Everything about this album kicks ass, from the guitar riffs, to Dave Grohl's drumming to the vocals of Josh Homme, Mark Lanegan and NickEasily one of the best rock albums ever released and considered to be one of the greatest albums of all time, Songs for The Deaf sees Queens of The Stone Age at the height of their creativity, as they take us to a high-octane road trip to the desert. Everything about this album kicks ass, from the guitar riffs, to Dave Grohl's drumming to the vocals of Josh Homme, Mark Lanegan and Nick Oliveri. From the hard blues rock of No One Knows to the slower, acoustic jam of Mosquito Song, the band is able to showcase their diversity musically, while delivering self-aware and intelligent lyricism. The radio station interludes also manage to keep the listener hooked on the trip. It's astonishing the band are able to make a great concept record while giving us a great record packed with great tunes, If you're a fan of hard rock and stoner rock, this album is for you. Expand
  99. MichaelE.
    Sep 1, 2002
    8
    A few missteps here and there, and the radio spots can be more annoying than funny, but overall this is as good a hard rock as you're going to hear this year, or have heard in years.
  100. [Anonymous]
    Jan 27, 2005
    8
    Some of the songs drag, and the radio skits are annoying, but nothing can better the drum into to Song For The Dead; the pop nous of Go With The Flow and No One Knows manage to mask their heaviness, and Mosquito (only available on some editions) is hauntingly brilliant, in the vein of Aerials by SOAD. Mark Lanegan could never better In The Fade (from Rated R), but he is well up to scratch here.
Metascore
89

Universal acclaim - based on 23 Critic Reviews

Critic score distribution:
  1. Positive: 21 out of 23
  2. Negative: 0 out of 23
  1. 'The Sky Is Fallin' is a beast.... 'God Is In The Radio' has got just such an awesome riff, like the Lord himself hotwired to a Marshall amp.
  2. Blender
    80
    While cliches abound... this huge music is delivered with panache. [#9, p.154]
  3. 'Songs For The Deaf' is a triumph, a record forged with fire and sweat in the pits of Valhalla... It is the very essence of Rock.