• Record Label: Virgin
  • Release Date: May 18, 2004
User Score
8.7

Universal acclaim- based on 15 Ratings

User score distribution:
  1. Positive: 13 out of 15
  2. Negative: 1 out of 15

Review this album

  1. Your Score
    0 out of 10
    Rate this:
    • 10
    • 9
    • 8
    • 7
    • 6
    • 5
    • 4
    • 3
    • 2
    • 1
    • 0
    • 0
  1. Submit
  2. Check Spelling
  1. cinthyag
    Jun 21, 2004
    10
    sheer brilliance!
  2. RodB
    Jun 9, 2004
    6
    The effects were as original as always. The tunes were mainly non exsistent, with only a couple I want to here again. Sounded like a album of B sides from Beck or maybe Pavement.
  3. JasonS
    Aug 9, 2004
    10
    Superb Album. with such musical variation, a band with three songwriters with different vision create a musical event that cannot be missed. a must have.
  4. RobPep
    Mar 20, 2006
    10
    Amazing album that just keeps on getting better with every listen!
  5. AshB
    Apr 6, 2006
    10
    Gomez at their best. Dig these songs... Catch Me Up, Do One, These 3 Sins
  6. JillB
    May 20, 2004
    9
    Gomez never seem to disappoint, and this is no exception. The level of maturity just seems to elevate as the band produces new music. The album lacks the electronic-dub-experemental feel that "In Our Gun" had, and stands as a return to what Gomez are known for: strong melodies, well-blended sounds, and Ben Ottewell's voice. Hardcore Gomez fans will not be disappointed; newcomers will Gomez never seem to disappoint, and this is no exception. The level of maturity just seems to elevate as the band produces new music. The album lacks the electronic-dub-experemental feel that "In Our Gun" had, and stands as a return to what Gomez are known for: strong melodies, well-blended sounds, and Ben Ottewell's voice. Hardcore Gomez fans will not be disappointed; newcomers will be suprised to hear these sounds coming from a release of 2004. Expand
  7. LoisB
    May 23, 2004
    9
    Superb on first listen!!!!!!!! Not many albums do that for me!
  8. AmandaP
    Jun 8, 2004
    10
    this is the best cd ever!! i love it so so so much! my favorite songs are number 6 and 11!
  9. RimmerRimmer
    Jul 1, 2005
    10
    Gomez is the only band I have consistently listened to for around 3 year now.. In the hope of not sounding too gushing... They are simply the most creative bunch of string plucking individuals I have heard for year... In Our Gun got a bit of a roasting by the press but it's much more of an album than so many blinkered reviewers could have found themselves listening too..
  10. time
    Aug 9, 2006
    10
    Their finest work to date. One of the best albums of the decade. :-)
  11. ToddB
    Aug 25, 2004
    9
    If you want the truth on this album then just notice that the lower the score given by the critics, the more superficial the review. I actually didn't like this album the first time I heard it but it just gets better and better with each listen. Gomez continues to lay absolute claim to the title of the world's best unknown band.
  12. Apr 15, 2011
    7
    Album is actually a lot of fun. A must-buy if only for the songs "Sweet Virginia" and "We Don't Know Where We're Going". MIssing some of the elements that made Liquid Skin so great, but overall an awesome listen
Metascore
71

Generally favorable reviews - based on 19 Critics

Critic score distribution:
  1. Positive: 13 out of 19
  2. Negative: 1 out of 19
  1. Think of it as more of a mix tape because the British quintet's jam-band explorations dip into everything from Beatles-esque pop and Delta-blues-influenced ballads.
  2. Rolling Stone
    70
    On most of Split The Difference... Gomez pour on the punch that makes their live shows such a gas. [27 May 2004, p.82]
  3. In looking beyond pure innovation, Gomez have poured some heart into their blues.