User Score
7.8

Generally favorable reviews- based on 83 Ratings

User score distribution:
  1. Positive: 70 out of 83
  2. Negative: 9 out of 83
Buy On

Review this album

  1. Your Score
    0 out of 10
    Rate this:
    • 10
    • 9
    • 8
    • 7
    • 6
    • 5
    • 4
    • 3
    • 2
    • 1
    • 0
    • 0
  1. Submit
  2. Check Spelling
  1. Aug 4, 2018
    10
    Mac has come so far since Blue Side Park, the album that nearly destroyed his career.
    This album is the perfect combination of everything he learned from GOOD A:M and Divine Feminine.
    And a result of everything he's been through.
    Beautiful album near perfect 9/10 imo
  2. Aug 4, 2018
    9
    It's funky, it's laidback, it's groovy, it's introspective. The production is immaculate.
    The beats feel so cohesive and yet they still feel like their own songs. Mac comes through with some great songs, pretty decent singing and the rapping we've come to expect.
  3. Aug 18, 2018
    6
    Mac Miller certainly always tries to sound a little difference. Rather than using drums and synth he'll experiment with horns and other such instruments. While I like Mac Miller and the effort the album as a whole falls flat. It definitely works as a guy who is working through a breakup. But as an album all the songs blend together, similar style and tempo to the point where it blends.Mac Miller certainly always tries to sound a little difference. Rather than using drums and synth he'll experiment with horns and other such instruments. While I like Mac Miller and the effort the album as a whole falls flat. It definitely works as a guy who is working through a breakup. But as an album all the songs blend together, similar style and tempo to the point where it blends. There are good songs on the album as well such as What's the Use and Ladders but the entire album overall is kind of boring. I always want more from Mac Miller because I feel that he can do better. Expand
  4. Aug 12, 2018
    5
    Mac Miller shows ambition in Swimming, with good jazzy beats that i really didn't see coming. He fits in the beat selection with a great flow, and good personal lyrics. My issue is, from the song "Small Worlds" onwards, there's a complete switch in mood. While in the first half of the album, the beats are really funky and fun to listen to, with Mac really making his flow fun, but fromMac Miller shows ambition in Swimming, with good jazzy beats that i really didn't see coming. He fits in the beat selection with a great flow, and good personal lyrics. My issue is, from the song "Small Worlds" onwards, there's a complete switch in mood. While in the first half of the album, the beats are really funky and fun to listen to, with Mac really making his flow fun, but from Small Worlds, the production slows down, emphasizing Mac's really moody and "lazy" voice.

    Favorite Songs: Hurt Feelings, What's the Use?, Self Care, Ladders
    Least Favorite Songs: Small Worlds, Conversation Pt. 1, Dunno, 2009
    Expand
  5. Aug 10, 2018
    4
    I get what Mac Miller is trying to do with this album, but in the end it's pretty poorly executed. The beats are very bland and rarely lead anywhere, with the exception of a few tracks like Self Care or Ladders. Mac Miller's voice is very soothing but for 58 minutes? no, it gets pretty boring. Fav Tracks: Self Care, Ladders, Small Worlds.
  6. Aug 6, 2018
    10
    As an avid Mac Miller fan, I am happy to say this is the best work of his career. His skills are sharper than ever on Swimming. From start to finish Mac delivers. His voice, lyricism, and beats come together for a great album.
  7. Aug 7, 2018
    9
    Mac Miller delivers a much more focused effort than usual. There is a good sense of progression from song to song. He plays with elements from previous projects but each song sounds fresh and unique. While he was once known for having some cheesy lyrics, he has developed his talents in this department considerably. Drugs don't dominate the conversation as they have in the past (not thatMac Miller delivers a much more focused effort than usual. There is a good sense of progression from song to song. He plays with elements from previous projects but each song sounds fresh and unique. While he was once known for having some cheesy lyrics, he has developed his talents in this department considerably. Drugs don't dominate the conversation as they have in the past (not that they aren't mentioned), there are moments of honesty and self-reflection. I do think 2009 should have been the last track, it felt like such a good bookend to the album. Expand
  8. Aug 11, 2018
    0
    This album is absolute GARBAGE. i have no idea how could anyone listen to this ear torture device, his music and his rap sounds atrocious.
  9. Aug 4, 2018
    10
    Mac Miller has delivered an impressive, fantastic and amazing album from start to finish. this project is way better than Divine Feminine.
  10. Aug 12, 2018
    10
    this is by far his best album. every song up here is good. stand out tracks include self care 2009 conversation pt 1 hurt feelings and jet fuel. really good album best i heard all year. nice to put out 13 songs and none are bad
  11. Aug 27, 2018
    10
    Just back to earth nd self care makes this album a 10/10 for me. It was my first mac miller album and i really enjoyed it.
  12. Aug 8, 2018
    10
    Dope album from Mac Miller. Well crafted and executed. Great production and intricate lyrics. Very well done
  13. Sep 29, 2018
    6
    A solid album with unique music and a variety of different tracks. Exploring new forms of music worked, but the album lacked consistency and a purpose. Lyrically well written and structured, the album is solid, but lacked purpose.
  14. Sep 30, 2018
    10
    Amazing album, it's crazy to see how much Mac grew as an artist from his Mixtape day to this (Swimming), it's a shame Mac had to go right as he was hitting his musical prime but he bowed out with a potential award winning album
  15. Oct 22, 2018
    9
    "Swimming" é a prova que Mac Miller reconheceu as suas fraquezas nos álbuns anteriores e decidiu transformá-los em forças... O resultado? Bem, um álbum quase perfeito.
    9/10
  16. Nov 15, 2018
    10
    Amazing work by Mac, this album is truly moving. One of my favorite albums ever. RIP to a legend
Metascore
78

Generally favorable reviews - based on 13 Critics

Critic score distribution:
  1. Positive: 12 out of 13
  2. Negative: 0 out of 13
  1. Aug 9, 2018
    80
    Swimming merges enlightening, candid rhymes over funky beats, providing a transparent look at how Mac Miller hit a personal rock bottom and his vigorous climb to save himself.
  2. Aug 9, 2018
    70
    Whether Miller is singing on those funk-inflected highlights, or rapping on them with a flow that's airtight to their irresistible rhythms, he sounds like a would-be chart-topper, not to mention one of the most versatile and accomplished hip-hop artists working today. He also clearly has pop chops to rival those of his former flame.
  3. Aug 8, 2018
    70
    Swimming captures Miller at a creative apex where he's acutely aware of where he's been and where he can go.