• Record Label: Merge
  • Release Date: Jul 28, 2015
User Score
7.8

Generally favorable reviews- based on 51 Ratings

User score distribution:
  1. Positive: 42 out of 51
  2. Negative: 8 out of 51
Buy On

Review this album

  1. Your Score
    0 out of 10
    Rate this:
    • 10
    • 9
    • 8
    • 7
    • 6
    • 5
    • 4
    • 3
    • 2
    • 1
    • 0
    • 0
  1. Submit
  2. Check Spelling
  1. Aug 19, 2015
    10
    A truly amazing album! Theres not a single dull moment on here (except for maybe the silent tracks). The story there trying to get across is amazing, but the best [art about this album is the drums and guitars. By far my favorite rock album of the year!
  2. Jul 31, 2015
    9
    I'm a sucker for concept albums, and this one is near-perfect. It's a rock opera that actually lives up to that name -- I could see the story being turned into an actual opera. Its themes and structures, not to mention the myriad references, create a propulsive story, both in the music and the lyrics. Owen Pallett's strings and other instrumental flourishes make it wonderfully indulgentI'm a sucker for concept albums, and this one is near-perfect. It's a rock opera that actually lives up to that name -- I could see the story being turned into an actual opera. Its themes and structures, not to mention the myriad references, create a propulsive story, both in the music and the lyrics. Owen Pallett's strings and other instrumental flourishes make it wonderfully indulgent and full. From Springsteen-esque New Jersey rock to blistering hardcore punk, this album has just about everything you could want from +@. Expand
  3. Aug 3, 2015
    10
    This is a concept album for the ages. It will never be placed on the level of Dark Side of the Moon or Sgt. Pepper, but it's close in quality. It sounds exactly like what it is: a spectacular breakthrough album from a versatile punk rock band who not only has high ambitions, but is also capable of turning those ambitions into beautiful reality. The lyrics, might I add, are an inspiringThis is a concept album for the ages. It will never be placed on the level of Dark Side of the Moon or Sgt. Pepper, but it's close in quality. It sounds exactly like what it is: a spectacular breakthrough album from a versatile punk rock band who not only has high ambitions, but is also capable of turning those ambitions into beautiful reality. The lyrics, might I add, are an inspiring manifesto on conquering the evils of mental illness and those of our corrupt society. Contrary to what reviewers have asserted, there is no "filler" on this album. Each one of this album's 93 minutes, and each of its 29 tracks, is important and necessary. The album is expertly arranged so that the enormous rock tracks–every one of which is guaranteed to melt your face off–have room to breathe. The album forces you to take it all in carefully. Of course it's long, of course it takes a while to listen to, and of course you have to spend some time poring over the lyrics to really get the message. But good art isn't supposed to be easy. The only complaint about this album that I recognize as legitimate is that some people find Patrick Stickles's vocals grating and unpleasant. I disagree, but I see why some people might think that. But if you aren't bothered by punk rock vocals in general, then it shouldn't be a problem for you. Overall, this album is a 10 for me, and easily the best album of the year so far except for Kendrick Lamar's To Pimp a Butterfly. Expand
  4. Aug 5, 2015
    10
    I've enjoyed a lot, it's probably my AOTYSF. For me it's just an adrenaline rush through and through, it makes the hour and 30 minutes feel like 45 minutes. The story line is very deep and well thought-out which gives it a lot of replay value, especially with all of the resources Patrick has put out there, but I still find myself enjoying as a pure, simple rock record. Songs like Come on,I've enjoyed a lot, it's probably my AOTYSF. For me it's just an adrenaline rush through and through, it makes the hour and 30 minutes feel like 45 minutes. The story line is very deep and well thought-out which gives it a lot of replay value, especially with all of the resources Patrick has put out there, but I still find myself enjoying as a pure, simple rock record. Songs like Come on, Siobhan, No Future Part IV, Fired Up, Lookalike, Dimed Out, and Stranded (On My Own) are super catchy and fun while also having damn good lyrics that fit in to the story. And, parts like the the stretch of (S)HE SAID (S)HE SAID to Please are just pure catharsis. This immediacy make the album work on so many levels of involvement and attention. I can put this on just to rock out to or to study carefully, following along to the story and getting a deep emotion connection. So, overall Stickles and Co have created a near perfect album in my eyes. Expand
  5. Jul 29, 2015
    10
    Album of the year. All the songs are fantastic individually but hit a whole new level as part of the greater narrative of +@. From the summer jamz of Dimed Out to the Daniel Johnston tribute closer of Stable Boy this album will take you for a ride you won't forget.
  6. Aug 1, 2015
    10
    This is the album of the year. From the structure of the album to the musicianship and the lyrics, there is a lifetime of anger, despair and hope to be uncovered in these songs. This is music played as if lives depend on every note being hit as belligerently as possible. There is a lot to absorb on the first listen, but come the second listen the album draws you in and holds you. This isThis is the album of the year. From the structure of the album to the musicianship and the lyrics, there is a lifetime of anger, despair and hope to be uncovered in these songs. This is music played as if lives depend on every note being hit as belligerently as possible. There is a lot to absorb on the first listen, but come the second listen the album draws you in and holds you. This is not only a great album, it is one of the greatest! Expand
  7. Aug 17, 2015
    2
    It's definitely not my type of music.
    Way too psychedelic, unsound and nerving.
    The storytelling is better than the music itself so it is not a pure zero.
Metascore
79

Generally favorable reviews - based on 29 Critics

Critic score distribution:
  1. Positive: 23 out of 29
  2. Negative: 0 out of 29
  1. Aug 7, 2015
    40
    Where things ought to be reduced and given more purpose, they instead stampede into goodness-knows-where. Ambition doesn’t always equal perfection. Rock operas have their place, but this isn’t the pick of the bunch.
  2. 90
    Of course The Most Lamentable Tragedy is ridiculous. It's also dumb, intelligent, heartbreaking and life-affirming.
  3. 80
    The album demands a lot from our short-attention-span culture, but it's not time you'll feel like you've wasted. [Sep 2015, p.98]