• Record Label: RCA
  • Release Date: Apr 10, 2020
User Score
9.1

Universal acclaim- based on 421 Ratings

User score distribution:
  1. Negative: 8 out of 421
Buy On

Review this album

  1. Your Score
    0 out of 10
    Rate this:
    • 10
    • 9
    • 8
    • 7
    • 6
    • 5
    • 4
    • 3
    • 2
    • 1
    • 0
    • 0
  1. Submit
  2. Check Spelling
  1. Apr 10, 2020
    10
    78 metascore for this album is a disgrace. Majority of music critics are just another arm of the fake news media. Were talking about greatest rock band of the indie era with their best album since Room on Fire and First impressions. Their singles are actually the weakest on the record and are still immensely playable. Best album of 2020 so far by a landslide. Long live the strokes!
  2. Apr 10, 2020
    10
    Easily one of The Strokes best works to date. This album is superb. Very glad to see that they still know what they're doing. Every track is great and with powerful vocals from Julian it really brings everything together
  3. Apr 10, 2020
    10
    Incredible return from The Strokes. I was a latecomer to them but grew to love them very fast and this album is an excellent addition to their discography. I've had it on repeat all day, my favourite tracks at the moment are: Endless Summer, Selfless and Ode to the Mets though there's not one bad track on the record.
  4. Apr 10, 2020
    9
    They managed to use a lot of the 80's vibe and still being The Strokes. Loved it.
  5. Apr 12, 2020
    10
    The strokes, the band that has struggled with all the hype for almost 7 years, has released an album that is a sound delight for the most critical ears, with some eighties touches, vibes to pink floyd, sinatra. It's a rollercoaster of emotions, ode to the mets is a masterpiece.
  6. Apr 10, 2020
    10
    This review contains spoilers, click expand to view. This album is thier best since Room On Fire.
    Souns like Julian tried to make things different this time and it came out amazing. It's new and different from thier other albums. better lyrics so far
    Expand
  7. Apr 10, 2020
    10
    Incredible consistent, fun album that perfectly mixes the classic sound with something new and exciting. The Strokes’ best album in a decade and a half, with not a bad song on it, but opened and closed with two of their very best songs.
  8. Apr 11, 2020
    10
    I can't articulate just how much I needed this record at this moment in time. So I'm just gonna say...that muthafuka slaps.
  9. Apr 10, 2020
    10
    Ode to chaos and beauty. It's a 20 years long story, the adults are talking now and in front of us a part of our life. Julian's voice has never been so majestic, nuanced and each piece of the album is emotionally powerful. There is probably not the passion of the first times but it shows with splendor that the Strokes mark once again history of rock music with a new chapter opens to us.Ode to chaos and beauty. It's a 20 years long story, the adults are talking now and in front of us a part of our life. Julian's voice has never been so majestic, nuanced and each piece of the album is emotionally powerful. There is probably not the passion of the first times but it shows with splendor that the Strokes mark once again history of rock music with a new chapter opens to us. And we need this in the strange times we live. Old friends, long forgotten. Expand
  10. Apr 19, 2020
    10
    The Strokes are back, and this time they have brought along the best album they have put out since the release of Room on Fire. While each member of the Strokes has their own side project or solo act that are all great in their own way, The New Abnormal proves that they are at their very best when their powers are combined. Selfless and Ode to the Mets are two personal favorites. Check outThe Strokes are back, and this time they have brought along the best album they have put out since the release of Room on Fire. While each member of the Strokes has their own side project or solo act that are all great in their own way, The New Abnormal proves that they are at their very best when their powers are combined. Selfless and Ode to the Mets are two personal favorites. Check out this album, you will not be disappointed! Expand
  11. Apr 17, 2020
    9
    I did not see this one coming... wow! This is the best album I’ve heard all year, such a wonderful reinvention of their sound.
  12. Apr 10, 2020
    10
    Honestly I’ve been waiting for this album ever since they performed The Adults Are Talking live for the first time back in may. It didn’t disappoint! Al the songs sound so different yet fit together perfectly as a whole. No momentum is lost throughout the album. You can definitely hear some “Voidz” sounds in there but in the end they’re just Strokes trying something new, yet staying trueHonestly I’ve been waiting for this album ever since they performed The Adults Are Talking live for the first time back in may. It didn’t disappoint! Al the songs sound so different yet fit together perfectly as a whole. No momentum is lost throughout the album. You can definitely hear some “Voidz” sounds in there but in the end they’re just Strokes trying something new, yet staying true to themselves. It’s amazing what a band can do even 20 years after they formed. Thank you The Strokes for this, I think we all needed it. Expand
  13. Apr 12, 2020
    10
    A triumphant return from The Strokes, every song in The New Abnormal has its magic! Fans will be right at home with this LP, the guys deliver with great passion here.
  14. Apr 17, 2020
    10
    This is the TRUE third album of The Strokes. I'm glad they finally reeled one in; it's been a long time waiting. 'Selfless' and 'Ode to Mets' are now among the Strokes' best hits. So satisfying to say the least.
  15. Apr 10, 2020
    10
    Amazing. Not a single dud on this album. These guys didn't miss a beat after seven years. Just finished my first listen and I already think this might go on to be one of my favorite Strokes albums
  16. Apr 10, 2020
    10
    Their best album in years. Julian Casablancas’ voice never sounded better. Every track flows into the next track. Album production is also top notch.. Thank you The Strokes for this amazing album.
  17. Apr 14, 2020
    10
    Amazing, this is what i call a comeback! All the people who can’t see that might be considered **** IMO.
  18. Apr 11, 2020
    10
    The Strokes new album is truly abnormal but in an entirely good way. The strokes have truly innovated their sound in this album. By incorporating synth and other effects into their sound it shows innovation to their sound. The past is over its time to accept change and innovate like the strokes.
  19. Apr 16, 2020
    10
    Just the absolute best. Heartbreaking, heartfelt, more clever than people seem to give it credit. This is The Strokes at their most comfortable, and the weirdness plays so well together. It's a perfect album for this uncertain time.
  20. Apr 18, 2020
    10
    A delightful one-piece album. I do not want to miss any of the songs - a rarity at the present time. Melodious, thoughtful, with a great sound (thanks, Rick Rubin!). The best album of the group after 2001.
  21. Apr 10, 2020
    10
    Their best album since Room on Fire. Julian Casablancas prints his trademark synthpop mixed with traditional Strokes sound perfectly and ends up on a great album.
  22. Apr 17, 2020
    10
    The Strokes are back with more excellent music, throwbacks and new styles together in one fantastic album. I love it.
  23. Apr 15, 2020
    10
    The best album I have heard in years. And easily The Strokes best since Is This It.
  24. Apr 10, 2020
    9
    Love me some Strokes baby. Some really great songs here but my personal favorites are Ode To The Mets and The Adults Are Talking. Of course Selfless and their single Bad Decisions were also great listens. An underrated song might be Brooklyn Bridge To Chorus. Such amazing lyrics in this album. Their flow is as good as ever. It’s honestly amazing how consistent The Strokes have been sinceLove me some Strokes baby. Some really great songs here but my personal favorites are Ode To The Mets and The Adults Are Talking. Of course Selfless and their single Bad Decisions were also great listens. An underrated song might be Brooklyn Bridge To Chorus. Such amazing lyrics in this album. Their flow is as good as ever. It’s honestly amazing how consistent The Strokes have been since their debut in 2001 Expand
  25. Apr 10, 2020
    9
    I love the whay that they mix de álbum, Crazy and awesome instrumentals, Julien voices sound better than ever, one of the best albuns in 2020 far.
  26. Apr 14, 2020
    8
    Un álbum sólido y bien trabajado. Cada canción es única, con una sensación de frescura, aún conservando el sello caracteristico de la banda. Grandes vocales de Julian Casablancas y también considero un acierto la introducción de sintetizadores y efectos de audio que no les habíamos visto tan común a los neoyorkinos
  27. Apr 10, 2020
    8
    On first listen, I thought that The New Abnormal was a 6 out of 10; a fairly underwhelming return after seven years. 


    Then I listened to it again, whilst looking at the track listings on Angles and Comedown Machine. These two previous albums got better with every listen and made me realise that The Strokes are the kings of making an album that grows on you.
 The New Abnormal doesn't
    On first listen, I thought that The New Abnormal was a 6 out of 10; a fairly underwhelming return after seven years. 


    Then I listened to it again, whilst looking at the track listings on Angles and Comedown Machine. These two previous albums got better with every listen and made me realise that The Strokes are the kings of making an album that grows on you.


    The New Abnormal doesn't kick down the doors or blow any minds, but it does make for a very enjoyable 45 minutes.
    Expand
  28. Apr 10, 2020
    9
    Bands chemistry is on point for most of the album, feels fresh and much needed in these times
  29. Apr 11, 2020
    10
    The Strokes managed to deliver a fantastic album. it's been 7 years since Comedown Machine, which have been very worthwhile. In this abnormal moment "The New Abnormal" came at the right time and this album is one of, if not, for now, the best of 2020!
  30. Apr 11, 2020
    10
    Candidate for album of the decade (yet). What makes this album stand out from previous works such as Angles or Comedown machine, is the desire to come back to making high quality music as a collective, and the endeavour to craft each track as its own little technical and melodical universe. This combined with the indisputable talent of each band member, and the progressive mind of itsCandidate for album of the decade (yet). What makes this album stand out from previous works such as Angles or Comedown machine, is the desire to come back to making high quality music as a collective, and the endeavour to craft each track as its own little technical and melodical universe. This combined with the indisputable talent of each band member, and the progressive mind of its leader, who proved once again to “think music” with a 10 year advantage over the industry. A real gem Expand
  31. May 17, 2020
    9
    I love this album. Somehow the album has a nostalgic feel to it while still feeling completely fresh and new. There are no songs that I dislike on the album, however I do think that some of the songs can sound similar. This album feels like it came at just the right time to save Indie Rock. "The Adults Are Talking" is one of my favorite songs of the year so far. Other favorites on theI love this album. Somehow the album has a nostalgic feel to it while still feeling completely fresh and new. There are no songs that I dislike on the album, however I do think that some of the songs can sound similar. This album feels like it came at just the right time to save Indie Rock. "The Adults Are Talking" is one of my favorite songs of the year so far. Other favorites on the album include: "Bad Decisions" and "At The Door." I definitely recommend people to listen to this album. It won't disappoint! Expand
  32. Apr 10, 2020
    10
    Casablancas’ performances on every song are amazing. Certainly their best album since Is This It. Totally worth the long wait. Best tracks: The Adults Are Talking, Not The Same Anymore, At The Door and Eternal Summer.
  33. Apr 10, 2020
    10
    Fresh ideas, a newfound energy and the feeling that the band is finally having fun again.

    Instant classics such as Eternal Summer, Selfless and At the Door are the cherry on top of an album that will surely be divisive for a musical scene (and critics) that is still attached to the young and fresh band of the 00's, while the band has clearly moved on. Great music should be judged as
    Fresh ideas, a newfound energy and the feeling that the band is finally having fun again.

    Instant classics such as Eternal Summer, Selfless and At the Door are the cherry on top of an album that will surely be divisive for a musical scene (and critics) that is still attached to the young and fresh band of the 00's, while the band has clearly moved on.

    Great music should be judged as such, and this is it.
    Expand
  34. Apr 13, 2020
    10
    Great album. The best album they made, since their debute.
    More mature and better songs than their precedents.
  35. Apr 20, 2020
    10
    This is most definitely the best album of 2020 so far, it makes you emotional, excited and happy to just love music. Blissful.
  36. Apr 11, 2020
    10
    Freaking awesome album! Great from start to finish, lots of good new stuff but throwbacks to their older work too. Love.
  37. Apr 12, 2020
    10
    I love this album. I love this album. I love this album . I love this album. I love this album. I love this album
  38. Apr 11, 2020
    10
    This is way better that almost every album they release since is this it. This is truly art, it’s innegable.
  39. Apr 10, 2020
    10
    It really does not matter what the critics say. They don’t understand us. They are just like the teachers back in the day, trying to convince us that we are silly and lazy when in reality we just care so much. And that takes time. And it’s just fine!
  40. Apr 11, 2020
    9
    Great album and a real return to form. I am not a huge strokes fan but the low scores from the critics reflect how out of touch and snobbish they are. If someone else had made this it would be one of their top albums of the year.
  41. Apr 10, 2020
    10
    wasn't even the biggest fan of their past work (albeit they have some great work, I just wasn't personally a huge strokes fan). This album is HEAT.
  42. Apr 11, 2020
    9
    With Rick Rubin as their producer they still remain the same with of course some subtle changes. This has defined them over the years their sound and will continue. A great album overall and they show no sign of just becoming a mainstream band and changing their entire image.
  43. Jun 17, 2020
    4
    This is not an enjoyable album to listen to, for me at least. The Adults Are Talking is the first track and probably the best, even if the drumming beat does become slightly too repetitive by the end as the lead guitars really give the song some life. That life is then sucker-punched by the bland ballad Selfless. The next few tracks are examples of wasted potential. Brooklyn Bridge couldThis is not an enjoyable album to listen to, for me at least. The Adults Are Talking is the first track and probably the best, even if the drumming beat does become slightly too repetitive by the end as the lead guitars really give the song some life. That life is then sucker-punched by the bland ballad Selfless. The next few tracks are examples of wasted potential. Brooklyn Bridge could have been a classic Strokes song without the grating 80s synthesiser that opens the track and continues throughout, while Bad Decisions and At The Door would both have been better off being 2 minutes long rather than close to 5. Eternal Summer sounds like a neglected B-side from one of the new disco-style Two Door Cinema Club records, and even the A-sides to those aren't good. The whiney guitar on 'Sundays' is unpleasant while Not The Same Anymore repeats the same ideas as Selfless but for 5 1/2 minutes rather than 3. Ode to the Mets is annoying as the synthesiser that opens the track is quickly replaced after 8 seconds by a guitar following a completely different tempo. There are elements to some tracks which are good, but overall this album is poor. It gives the impression of an experimental that lacks ideas, direction or charm. Expand
  44. Apr 10, 2020
    6
    This review contains spoilers, click expand to view. Not bad, but, come on, there is only one or two songs that have the real 'Strokes' spirit. Expected a little less electronic artifacts in the whole album. Expand
  45. Dec 5, 2020
    7
    The Adults Are Talking - 7/10
    Selfless - 6,5/10
    Brooklyn Bridge to Chorus - 8,5/10
    Bad Decisions - 7/10
    Eternal Summer - 8/10
    At the Door - 7/10
    Why Are Sundays So Depressing - 7,5/10
    Not the Same Anymore - 7,5/10
    Ode to the Mets - 7,5/10
  46. Mar 21, 2021
    0
    Mostly, they passively experiment with synth sounds as they did on Angles and Comedown Machine. At one point, they jack the melody to "Dancing With Myself". Sadly, the most intriguing parts of the record are the numerous times when Casablancas comments on the piss-poor songwriting in realtime.
  47. Apr 19, 2020
    9
    I am starting to believe that the critics are deliberately trying to kill rock music! This album deserves at least 85/100. 70something is way too low! This album is not boring enough for pretentious critics. Also it seems The Strokes are not gay enough for the critics' liking! When I listen to this album I feel ALIVE and excited!
  48. Apr 11, 2020
    10
    Such a refreshing sound from the strokes along with amazing song writing and composition.
  49. Apr 17, 2020
    9
    Best strokes album hands down. Most cohesive, everything ya need and nothing you dont. Only reason it isnt a 10 is because “bad decisions” is legit just “dancing with myself” and for as fun as brooklyn bridge is it can feel like filler at points with pointless lyrics. Other than that. Best album of 2020 so far. Strokes are still kicking almost 2 decades later. Viva la Casablancas!
  50. Apr 26, 2020
    5
    I am the odd fan of The Strokes later output. I enjoyed Angles, First Impressions and their last EP. I like but am not in love with their first two albums, mainly because I played them out when they were originally released so I'm very over them. Aywhoo, yeah I didn't really love this album. It just felt like they were experimenting with Rubin and didn't really get to any good bangers.I am the odd fan of The Strokes later output. I enjoyed Angles, First Impressions and their last EP. I like but am not in love with their first two albums, mainly because I played them out when they were originally released so I'm very over them. Aywhoo, yeah I didn't really love this album. It just felt like they were experimenting with Rubin and didn't really get to any good bangers. It's chill out, corporate rock at it's least offensive. I feel like they are unintentionally or maybe intentionally kinda going through the motions here. Meh...maybe I'll grow into it like Angles. Expand
  51. Apr 13, 2020
    8
    Most critics are way off the mark on this one. This is a solid album. The Adults Are Talking is one of the best alt. rock openers on an album in a long while. Brooklyn Bridge to Chorus and Bad Decision are 80s obsessed, but absolute bangers with some of the best melodies to jam in the year so far. At The Door is a dreamy art pop ballad that deserves to be blasted on stereos through theMost critics are way off the mark on this one. This is a solid album. The Adults Are Talking is one of the best alt. rock openers on an album in a long while. Brooklyn Bridge to Chorus and Bad Decision are 80s obsessed, but absolute bangers with some of the best melodies to jam in the year so far. At The Door is a dreamy art pop ballad that deserves to be blasted on stereos through the city streets at night. Ode To The Mets is a hell of a closer with guitar riffs that bring you back to Is This It like they never faltered. The album does have a few rough patches when it runs out of steam, but perhaps those will grow on me over time. For example, Eternal Summer seems to go on beyond its welcome a bit, and Why Are Sundays So Depressing is... well, actually a bit depressing, but not in a good way. These are some flaws that prevent me from going to a 9 or 10, but most of the album is definitely a high tier of quality. This is infectious, well-produced indie rock with some of the best hooks so far in 2020. This album is not new territory, and it's not a Renaissance. But I don't know who would expect The Strokes to do that anyway. They're doing what they do best, and if you can't enjoy it for what it is, then you're missing out on some great tunes. Expand
  52. May 10, 2020
    9
    The best album I've heard in A LONG TIME, maybe one of my favorite all time favorite albums. If you love Is This It and Room on Fire like I do, do not expect an album that sounds like those (except two songs are reminiscent). This is a true evolution of The Strokes sound while retaining everything that we love of The Strokes. Julian and the band are ON FIRE. I can't stop listening to thisThe best album I've heard in A LONG TIME, maybe one of my favorite all time favorite albums. If you love Is This It and Room on Fire like I do, do not expect an album that sounds like those (except two songs are reminiscent). This is a true evolution of The Strokes sound while retaining everything that we love of The Strokes. Julian and the band are ON FIRE. I can't stop listening to this album. The first two albums are two of my favorite going out on the town and working-out albums still to this day. The 3rd, 4th and 5th albums had some good songs, but I didn't have the desire for multiple listens, they felt a little disappointing for me personally. I wasn't sure if they would come back as an all time favorite band. This album is a completely different story. Is This It and Room on Fire showed The Strokes had what it takes to be one of the best rock bands in history. The New Abnormal proves that 17 years later after going through a patch of trying to reinvent their sound, not only have they succeeded but I would challenge this is one of the best rock albums in the past 5-10 years. I can't stop listening to this, anywhere and at any time. This is a listen to in the car, listen to with headphones, listen to while relaxing, while cooking, during date night if you know what I mean ;) Julian's voice is beyond sexy, passionate, unsurpassed, as are the lyrics and the music. Every song is good (there is one that I don't love but I appreciate the quality of the song regardless).
    "I was just bored
    Playing the guitar
    Learned all your tricks
    Wasn't too hard"
    When I hear those lyrics from "Ode to the Mets" I believe Julian when I hear Frank Sinatra, Lou Reed, Morissey, Jarvis Cocker from Pulp, Roger Waters in The Wall in a random line or a few bars in a song throughout the album. Julian is a musical genius. How is he able to replicate these artists sounds in his own way that you hear a few bars of a song and are like where the heck have I heard that?? Then a couple listens later you are like OMG that is Morissey. But which song? I'll let you find these little easter eggs yourself, don't want to ruin it for you! You hear new things with each listen.

    This is also the first time I have ever understood the concept of an album "growing on you". The first time I heard it, there were 4-5 songs that I loved. There were a few that I did not think I liked that much at first. Then on the 2nd, 3rd, 4th listens I started to love almost every single song. Now I've listened probably 40 times. Listen to it with headphones. It's worth it!!

    Thank you The Strokes for making my soul feel alive as we are trapped in our houses during this coronavirus quarantine and need some happiness to lift us out of a funk. This piece of work is brilliant and I can't wait to hear what you guys do next!! My musical bar is high. I don't listen to anything unless I love it and that is VERY hard to find. I have been listening to this album nonstop and hope this doesn't ruin all other music for me until their next album haha.

    P.S. Are the professional "music reviewers" insane? I don't think I'll ever trust music reviewers after reading their reviews for this album and then listening to the albums that were rated in the 90's. LOL it's a joke.
    Expand
  53. May 23, 2020
    8
    After 3 albums in their first 4 years, the next 3 Strokes albums were released over 15 years. I guess it is the only way the band could have maintained any of the mystique that they brought to the music industry at the turn of the century. I think it's widely agreed that the band lost it to a larage extent after their first 2 explosive albums. The rest all had something to offer existingAfter 3 albums in their first 4 years, the next 3 Strokes albums were released over 15 years. I guess it is the only way the band could have maintained any of the mystique that they brought to the music industry at the turn of the century. I think it's widely agreed that the band lost it to a larage extent after their first 2 explosive albums. The rest all had something to offer existing fans but also had so much forgettable material. For the last 3 years or so there were whispers of a Strokes album in the works. Coincidentally released bang in the middle of an unprecedented global pandemic that has changed societies everywhere, the aptly titled "The New Abnormal" finally arrives and delivers. I was 17 and starting out in Uni when the Strokes came on the scene in the Autumn of 2001, a time which marked another sea change in the global landscape due to events in New York. Although I have always been more into Interpol, The Strokes have their place in my coming of age years. Almost 20 years on, "The New Abnormal" resonates. It is the sound of a band who seem to be aware that they only have one solid album in them every 7 years. I can see similarities between The Strokes heading for middle age and those in their late 30s everywhere. We were in our physical prime in the early 00's, chasing the buzz, dreams to fulfill. Now, the days of burning the midnight oil are fewer. We can still attempt to recover the lost glories of youth but it takes more planning, more work and more recovery. We are better when we accept where we are now at, in many ways a better place. Some dreams worked out, others didn't. A mix of resignation and contentedness to let the buzz come when it comes. Patience comes with experience. "The New Abnormal" is the Strokes happy to wait for the magic to come when it comes. It is their best album in terms of tunes, vibrancy, production and honest in 17 years and is the first truly worthy follow up to those two firestarting albums that opened their career. Expand
  54. May 27, 2020
    9
    Haven’t read the critics reviews but I’m now intrigued to read what their issue is with this album having read comments below. I’ve listened to the album over a dozen times now and it is a true return to form. Not that they have released any stinkers but this is a return to legendary rock status. It’s a progressive backtrack... if that oxymoron makes any sense...

    At the time of writing
    Haven’t read the critics reviews but I’m now intrigued to read what their issue is with this album having read comments below. I’ve listened to the album over a dozen times now and it is a true return to form. Not that they have released any stinkers but this is a return to legendary rock status. It’s a progressive backtrack... if that oxymoron makes any sense...

    At the time of writing this, the track ‘At the Door’ has ear-wormed me. I woke this morning with the tune stuck in my head at it’s been with me all day.
    Expand
  55. Apr 10, 2020
    7
    Typically this album is full of incredible musical, lyrical and vocal hooks, slowing down the tempo has really let Julians voice shine and they still are one of the tightest sounding bands around at the moment. Album production is the best in a while and they really do keep sounding fresh, with the exception of Room on Fire and Is This It none of their albums sound the same. All thisTypically this album is full of incredible musical, lyrical and vocal hooks, slowing down the tempo has really let Julians voice shine and they still are one of the tightest sounding bands around at the moment. Album production is the best in a while and they really do keep sounding fresh, with the exception of Room on Fire and Is This It none of their albums sound the same. All this however doesn't quite make up for the less convincing songwriting, Selfless is one of their best songs, At The Door, Adults Are Talking and Brooklyn are beautiful songs but the rest are rather forgettable, nothing much to pull you in and not much to keep you there. Expand
  56. May 15, 2020
    8
    Amazing set of tracks, held together impeccably by sharp songwriting, amazing vocals and addicting guitar leads.
  57. Jul 15, 2020
    9
    Everything you want a Strokes album to be. Best since Room on Fire. Finally a band who delivers instead of shodily trying to reinvent themselves every album only to produce a water down version of what made them beloved in the first place.
  58. Apr 17, 2020
    8
    Actually surprised by how good this album is!
    The Adults are Talking, Selfless, Why are Sundays so depressing and Ode to the Mets are highlights
    Only less than good song is Eternal summer (and quite long)
    8/10
  59. Apr 21, 2020
    9
    That's music!

    Now I have to find words to fill out the 75 character minimum...
  60. Apr 10, 2020
    7
    I know I need to listen to it a little more, right now I would put it a 7.
    Not all the songs were notable and several got lost in the way but I liked the beginning and I liked the closing.
    Ode to the Mets was my favorite song of the record and I think is one of the best from the band. Definitely a keeper.
  61. Apr 17, 2020
    7
    somehow this feels like the most Strokes the Strokes have made in a very long time to me. it's a solid album that I definitely didn't see coming when they released the first single. the vibe and chemistry in this feels and fits really good. perhaps not all comebacks are terribly unnecessary...
  62. May 22, 2020
    9
    Their best since Room On Fire. Rarely does the album get bland, and while they're experimenting you can still feel like you're listening to The Strokes you know and love. This album is also very self aware.
  63. Dec 11, 2020
    9
    Facilmente um dos melhores álbuns do ano. Sou um grande fã do Strokes e consegui me divertir muito ouvindo um álbum que soa diferente do que se conhece como Strokes mas que mesmo assim mantém a essência e o modo de composição da banda.
  64. May 29, 2020
    10
    Are you kidding me with a 75 metacritic score? I am begging to believe that music critics must get paid off just like all other critics. Enough complaining just go listen to this album and see for yourself. For me it is already an early contender for album of the year.
  65. Apr 10, 2020
    9
    Es demasiado bueno, pensé que iba ser peor, pero de verdad sorprende mucho definitivamente
  66. Apr 12, 2020
    9
    This album sees The Strokes finding their way back to the classic sound we all love while still keeping it new and interesting. Definitely plenty of borrowed sounds here but reimagined enough for my taste. Glad to see the band that changed it all almost 20 years ago still getting together and knocking out great new rock songs after all this time.
  67. Jun 13, 2020
    8
    ( 83/100 )

    Cuando salío "Is This It" en el 2001 yo tenía 4 años, pero estaba destinado a abrazar el álbum como biberón con leche caliente para el corazón. Y me podían ver bailando al ritmo de The Strokes a los 13 años, que fue cuando los descubrí. No volví a tocar un álbum de ellos hasta ahorita y vaya que estoy casi por llorar. "The Adults Are Talking" conmovió demasiado algo en mi
    ( 83/100 )

    Cuando salío "Is This It" en el 2001 yo tenía 4 años, pero estaba destinado a abrazar el álbum como biberón con leche caliente para el corazón. Y me podían ver bailando al ritmo de The Strokes a los 13 años, que fue cuando los descubrí. No volví a tocar un álbum de ellos hasta ahorita y vaya que estoy casi por llorar. "The Adults Are Talking" conmovió demasiado algo en mi nostalgia que tuve que repetir la canción 5 veces para recordar sobre el niño y su bicicleta. La banda, junto a Rick Rubin logran rescatar su esencia, explorar su propio estilo y, definitivamente declarar que son dueños del movimiento Indie que ellos iniciaron. Este IndieRock se aprecia por la forma en la que han adoptado la actualidad a su propia temporalidad y, al menos por 45 min, podemos volver a los inicios de los 2000, cuando el hijo del Rock tocaba con juventud, rebeldía y autonomía.
    -
    When "Is This It" was released in 2001 I was 4, but I was destined to hug the album as a bottle with hot milk for the heart. You would see me dancing to The Strokes rhythm at the age of 13 when I first discovered them. I never touched another album of them until now and it almost makes me cry. "The Adults Are Talking" moved something in my nostalgia that I repeated the song 5 times to remember about the kid and his bicycle. The band, along with Rick Rubin, achieve to rescue the essence, explore their style, and definitively, stipulate that they own the Indie movement that they started. This Indie Rock it's appreciated by the way it has adopted the actuality to their own temporality and, at least for 45 min, we can go back to the early 2000s when the son of Rock would play with youth, defiance, and autonomy.
    Expand
  68. Apr 10, 2020
    9
    The Best album since Room on Fire (2003). Just amazing. The chorus from Why Are Sunday's so Depressing is incredible!
  69. Apr 14, 2020
    8
    Pitchfork Sucks, The Stokes Rock. Not their best album in the collection, but a welcoming return. This album is a fun, breezy listen.
  70. Apr 5, 2021
    10
    It’s utterly disgusting that an album as GREAT as this has a 75 score. Wtf? Its their best album to date. smh
  71. Apr 12, 2020
    8
    “The New Abnormal” é o sexto disco de estúdio da banda The Strokes, esse é o sucessor do “Comedown Machine” de 2013. Durante esse longo período, foi lançado um único EP intitulado “Future Present Past” em 2016. Esse trabalho deixou muita gente ansioso, pois marca o retorno de uma das grandes revelações dos anos 2000, considerados os salvadores do rock na década que se encerrou em 2010.“The New Abnormal” é o sexto disco de estúdio da banda The Strokes, esse é o sucessor do “Comedown Machine” de 2013. Durante esse longo período, foi lançado um único EP intitulado “Future Present Past” em 2016. Esse trabalho deixou muita gente ansioso, pois marca o retorno de uma das grandes revelações dos anos 2000, considerados os salvadores do rock na década que se encerrou em 2010.

    O álbum se inicia com uma proposta mais voltada aos antigos trabalhos com a faixa “The Adults Are Talking”, relembrando a estrutura usada no “Is This It (2001)”, e mesclando com as influências sonoras do “Comedown Machine (2013)”. Porém, ao trilhar o percurso até o final, o disco se mostra mais atual e pop. Mais uma vez, o instrumental se destaca mostrando o talento evoluído de Albert Hammond, Nikolai Fraiture, Fabrizio Moretti e Nick Valensi. Os vocais icônicos de Julian Casablancas transmitem a proposta do trabalho com perfeição.
    “The New Abnormal” vem com uma chuva de sintetizadores e alterações digitais nos vocais, chamando minha atenção para os elementos explorados como: Dream-pop, Post-Punk, Psychedelic, Dance, Synth-pop e uma variedade de gêneros já conhecidos do trabalho da banda. Com pitadas do Rock e do Indie característicos deles. A produção é feita unicamente pelo incrivel Rick Rubin, co-presidente da gravadora Columbia Records, nesse quesito o disco é impecável. Julian canta sobre relacionamentos, amor, reflexões e faz pequenas críticas nas canções. Conta com a ajuda de Billy Idol, Richard Butler, Tim Butler e outros, para compor o quadro de compositores.

    O álbum aparenta ser uma tentativa de resgatar o antigo espírito da banda implementando novas e velhas influências. Esse processo longo de criação resulta em algo agradável e cheio de paz, mas ainda tenho a impressão de que o melhor não foi apresentado, é claro que os integrantes mudam com suas outras experiências e o cenário também se apresenta de outra maneira. Com instrumentais impecáveis e letras boas, o disco deixa a desejar em alguns aspectos… nada muito grave. Acredito que “The New Abnormal” é o próximo do que os fãs queriam receber em 2013, confesso que é melhor do que eu esperava receber. Esse é um ótimo retorno da banda que salvou o rock em 2001 e que não demonstrou nenhum interesse em fazer o mesmo em 2020.
    Expand
  72. Jan 25, 2021
    9
    The 7 year wait was definitely worth it with this one. so far the strokes haven't released a bad album but the last 3 were just overshadowed by Is This It and Room on Fire, but The New Abnormal steps out of this shadow and becomes it's own thing. Like almost all other Strokes albums, there aren't any bad songs just some that are good and some that are absolute masterpieces; and in thisThe 7 year wait was definitely worth it with this one. so far the strokes haven't released a bad album but the last 3 were just overshadowed by Is This It and Room on Fire, but The New Abnormal steps out of this shadow and becomes it's own thing. Like almost all other Strokes albums, there aren't any bad songs just some that are good and some that are absolute masterpieces; and in this one, at the door, the adults are talking, ode to the mets and selfless are the masterpieces in my opinion. easily one of the best albums of 2020. I can come back to it as much as I want and it would still blows my mind. Expand
  73. Mar 14, 2021
    10
    This review contains spoilers, click expand to view. Simplemente su mejor álbum desde la this It y Room on fire, un álbum entretenido, que da una nueva y renovada imagen a la banda Expand
  74. Oct 2, 2020
    10
    Pretty good for 2020 probably my favourite album of the year. Gets better on every listening.
  75. Apr 11, 2020
    10
    This review contains spoilers, click expand to view. Este álbum se siente como una evolución por parte de The Strokes, es un sonido distinto pero conectado a su estilo habitual, los sintetizadores tienen un buen uso la mayoría de veces y todos en la banda se sienten muy naturales, quiero resaltar a Julian, su talento como vocalista queda evidenciado y fácilmente se consagra como una de las mejores voces del rock. Es un buen álbum que me llena de felicidad ya que nuestros amados Strokes están de regreso con un excelente disco. Expand
  76. Apr 10, 2020
    10
    It's hard to compare anything The Strokes put out against their game changing debut Is This It. It's true that The Strokes haven't released anything on the same level since. Though, I believe that The New Abnormal won't have the same impact in the music industry that Is This It had, it is the closest in terms of musical relevance. It may even surpass Is This It over time, due to it'sIt's hard to compare anything The Strokes put out against their game changing debut Is This It. It's true that The Strokes haven't released anything on the same level since. Though, I believe that The New Abnormal won't have the same impact in the music industry that Is This It had, it is the closest in terms of musical relevance. It may even surpass Is This It over time, due to it's uniqueness. Definitely a must listen. Expand
  77. Apr 10, 2020
    9
    The maturity of this album is heard, although it could have a well-deserved 10 but so that the voice of Julian Casablancas is lost in the melodies, it is not an album that reminds of what the band was in its beginnings. You can see the level of maturity they have reached, but they still need a little more polishing. Although, the album has influences from the 80's and synthesizers are usedThe maturity of this album is heard, although it could have a well-deserved 10 but so that the voice of Julian Casablancas is lost in the melodies, it is not an album that reminds of what the band was in its beginnings. You can see the level of maturity they have reached, but they still need a little more polishing. Although, the album has influences from the 80's and synthesizers are used that make it sound like New Wave. Love this album, because The Strokes have been my favorite band since I was 10 years old and I will have to listen to it a few more times to put it on my top. Expand
  78. Apr 10, 2020
    9
    It takes a few listens to really appreciate this album, although pretty much every strokes fan will like it from the get go, but, the great production and profound lyrics will have you revisiting this album years from now. This album is right up there with their debut album “Is This It”, surpassing all the other strokes records that came before it. Some stand out tracks are: At The Door,It takes a few listens to really appreciate this album, although pretty much every strokes fan will like it from the get go, but, the great production and profound lyrics will have you revisiting this album years from now. This album is right up there with their debut album “Is This It”, surpassing all the other strokes records that came before it. Some stand out tracks are: At The Door, The Adults Are Talking, Selfless and Bad Decisions Expand
  79. Apr 10, 2020
    9
    Beautiful. Probably the first album they really dedicated themselves since FIOE. Solid tracks. Probably takes some time getting used to but after a while it will be loved more and more. Favorite track: selfless.
  80. Apr 10, 2020
    9
    Best album this year so far. This was 100% worth the 7 year wait - if you haven't heard it already, GO AND LISTEN TO IT RIGHT NOW.
  81. Apr 10, 2020
    10
    Realmente los disfruté, es una joya, es evolución, y es inposible que no te guste.
    madures e incluso sorprende con la propuesta
  82. Apr 10, 2020
    8
    É uma pena ser tão curto... pois as músicas são ótimas e tenho certeza que haverão singles vindo ai posteriormente, a banda esta em um momento tão maduro, apenas quero mais disso! At The Door é uma pérola que eles sempre nos dão o prazer de ouvir, todo álbum possui 3 ou 4 músicas que se destacam, essa foi a música sem dúvida!
  83. Apr 10, 2020
    10
    El disco es un viaje de principio a fin, con un crecimiento y madurez notorios, destellos de nostalgia ochentera como Julian nos sabe dar en sus composiciones. De primera escuchada logre conectar con su escencia lo que lo ubica en mi top 3 de sus discos peleando claramente el 2do puesto. Larga vida a los Strokes!
  84. Apr 12, 2020
    10
    more diverse than is this it and more consistent than room on fire / fioe :)
  85. Apr 10, 2020
    9
    9 canciones que repasan todas las etapas de The Strokes se nota la madurez y evolución ven cada una
  86. Apr 11, 2020
    10
    very good. best album since is this it. A real album that resonates with the current situation.
  87. Apr 11, 2020
    10
    Oh My God! The only words which come to mind when listening the album.
    From the very first few seconds in the first song of the album - the Adults Are Talking - I knew that it would be great.
    It manages to give me the feeling you can only get while listening to music live - the concert high as I like to call it. And that is the first album which managed to achieve that at home. It is
    Oh My God! The only words which come to mind when listening the album.
    From the very first few seconds in the first song of the album - the Adults Are Talking - I knew that it would be great.
    It manages to give me the feeling you can only get while listening to music live - the concert high as I like to call it. And that is the first album which managed to achieve that at home.
    It is exceptional in every way - it has a complete vibe and corresponds with their past music - yet is varied enough to not be monotonous.
    It is without a doubt the best album of the decade.
    Expand
  88. Apr 11, 2020
    10
    Best album since room on fire.
    Julian’s vocals clearer than ever.
    Rick Rubin production is additive. The Adults Are Talking, Selfless, Brooklyn Bridge to Chorus, Why Are Sunday’s so depressing, not the same anymore. All bangers you can listen to over and over. Ode to the Mets and Eternal Summer take more focus and patience but are also phenomenal. At the door and bad decisions also
    Best album since room on fire.
    Julian’s vocals clearer than ever.
    Rick Rubin production is additive.
    The Adults Are Talking, Selfless, Brooklyn Bridge to Chorus, Why Are Sunday’s so depressing, not the same anymore. All bangers you can listen to over and over.

    Ode to the Mets and Eternal Summer take more focus and patience but are also phenomenal.

    At the door and bad decisions also great, but listened too many times in the lead up to album to fully appreciate.
    Expand
  89. Apr 11, 2020
    10
    This album is a wave. It starts at the peak with force and as you softly come down and crash into the water, it leaves you wanting more of the excitement that it leaves you. Every song is unlike the other and that's one of it's strengths.
  90. Apr 12, 2020
    10
    Simply a phenomenal Strokes album. Like a fine wine, better with time. Somehow deeper cutting and more emotional than a large majority of their discography which as a huge fan I find myself shocked saying. I have trouble naming any songs as personal favorites because I enjoy every one to some degree though I will say At the Door and Ode to the Mets for me have the greatest emotional appealSimply a phenomenal Strokes album. Like a fine wine, better with time. Somehow deeper cutting and more emotional than a large majority of their discography which as a huge fan I find myself shocked saying. I have trouble naming any songs as personal favorites because I enjoy every one to some degree though I will say At the Door and Ode to the Mets for me have the greatest emotional appeal and really dig in to your skin. If this is a sign of what’s to come I’m nothing but excited for the future. Expand
  91. Apr 12, 2020
    10
    This review contains spoilers, click expand to view. Sin duda una top 3 de the strokes, soy un súper fan de esta banda desde que tengo 4 años y ahora tengo 20, puedo decir que si piensas que todo lo viejo es bueno y lo nuevo es basura, estas muerto por dentro. Este álbum es buen ejemplo de esto, nos demuestra la evolución d esta excelente banda y demuestra que CDM no fue un bache, si no una etapa de cambio y experimentación. La banda suena mucho más madura y unida, con gran uso de sintetizadores y gran habilidad lírica de Julián. En si un álbum no perfecto para algunos pero a la vez perfecto para otros muchos, depende del concepto que tienes de the strokes y si decidiste evolucionar con ellos Expand
  92. Apr 12, 2020
    10
    As a long time fan, this felt like a true evolution of their sound. I'm very critic of their work, I am honest when I like certain songs and dislike others. I can genuinely say I am in love with every single track of this album. It feels more polished than the first two, not as tiring as the third, not as flashy as the 4th and not as confusing asthe 5th only positive surprises. I canAs a long time fan, this felt like a true evolution of their sound. I'm very critic of their work, I am honest when I like certain songs and dislike others. I can genuinely say I am in love with every single track of this album. It feels more polished than the first two, not as tiring as the third, not as flashy as the 4th and not as confusing asthe 5th only positive surprises. I can easily say this is my favorite Strokes album to date. Expand
  93. Apr 12, 2020
    10
    SO GOOD fave strokes album of all time and even maybe one of my favorites ever!
  94. Apr 13, 2020
    10
    Going out on a limb to say that this album is as great as Is This It! I’m going to use layman’s term to describe the album (NOT a musician nor a professional critic, just a genuine fan). TNA brought the best of both worlds; The Strokes’ signature sound and a splash of more matured melody.

    Usually there will be 1/2 songs in every albums that you would skip but I have to say; I love all 9
    Going out on a limb to say that this album is as great as Is This It! I’m going to use layman’s term to describe the album (NOT a musician nor a professional critic, just a genuine fan). TNA brought the best of both worlds; The Strokes’ signature sound and a splash of more matured melody.

    Usually there will be 1/2 songs in every albums that you would skip but I have to say; I love all 9 of the songs!!!
    Expand
  95. Apr 13, 2020
    10
    The New Abnormal is everything a The Strokes fan wanted, it mixes both the old sounds of 2001-2006 gigs and the maturity that time has given to them over the years, for sure their best album since First Impressions of Earth, flawless and explores much deeper the vocal expansion of Julian Casablancas (Singer). It almost feels like its 5 guys having a blast of fun in bars and talking aboutThe New Abnormal is everything a The Strokes fan wanted, it mixes both the old sounds of 2001-2006 gigs and the maturity that time has given to them over the years, for sure their best album since First Impressions of Earth, flawless and explores much deeper the vocal expansion of Julian Casablancas (Singer). It almost feels like its 5 guys having a blast of fun in bars and talking about everything that they want to do, the drums are so much nicer in this album, (more perceptible) and the guitars are just on point to remind you of is This It and Room On Fire. Expand
  96. Apr 13, 2020
    10
    possibly one of the best albuns of the decade, as good as Is This It, but different. Its like an direct evolution of Comedown Machine and Angles, wich worked very well together
  97. May 3, 2020
    10
    El mejor album de The Strokes desde el lanzamiento del Is This It, cada canción es emocionante y tiene su propia escencia Julian Casablancas transmite un sentimiento melancólico en todo el album
  98. May 6, 2020
    10
    For many, the debut "Is This It" could never be beaten by other albums. While it is not fair comparing this album to an album made 20 years ago, because of the whole nostalgia thing, I can confidently say that I like The New Abnormal more already. It does just everything I love about the genre. In addition, The Strokes are not afraid to use familiar melodies such as in Ode To The Mets. InFor many, the debut "Is This It" could never be beaten by other albums. While it is not fair comparing this album to an album made 20 years ago, because of the whole nostalgia thing, I can confidently say that I like The New Abnormal more already. It does just everything I love about the genre. In addition, The Strokes are not afraid to use familiar melodies such as in Ode To The Mets. In fact, these melodies were normal years ago. Nowadays, they have become extinct, hence The New Abnormal. A great album, and a great tribute to everything that is great about rock music. It makes you glad you know The Strokes, and feel sorry for people who don't. Expand
  99. May 19, 2020
    10
    Pure genius, top to bottom. I've been a raging Stokes fan since ITI and stuck with them through thick and thin. When this album dropped, I was well prepared to be disappointed. I haven't heard a non-disappointing full album release from any band I've loved over the years in at least a decade. Upon first listen, I was literally awe struck. Everything I've always loved about this band, butPure genius, top to bottom. I've been a raging Stokes fan since ITI and stuck with them through thick and thin. When this album dropped, I was well prepared to be disappointed. I haven't heard a non-disappointing full album release from any band I've loved over the years in at least a decade. Upon first listen, I was literally awe struck. Everything I've always loved about this band, but elevated to encompass the growth the band has experienced. Julian's voice is beautiful. Every track is substantial, hits hard, and generates a very strong emotion. In short, TNA was the record release we needed. It's given me hope for music, bands, and even life itself. Thanks for not only not disappointing, boys - but also for exceeding my wildest expectations. 10/10 - this has been on repeat since the day it was released. Magical. Expand
  100. Fnn
    Jun 5, 2020
    9
    The best strokes record since is this it. Julian soundes great and the production is really nice.
Metascore
75

Generally favorable reviews - based on 25 Critic Reviews

Critic score distribution:
  1. Positive: 17 out of 25
  2. Negative: 0 out of 25
  1. May 1, 2020
    86
    The band’s bluntest and most contagious — yet experimental — work.
  2. Apr 27, 2020
    50
    Mostly, they passively experiment with synth sounds as they did on Angles and Comedown Machine. At one point, they jack the melody to "Dancing With Myself". Sadly, the most intriguing parts of the record are the numerous times when Casablancas comments on the piss-poor songwriting in realtime.
  3. Apr 22, 2020
    60
    On their latest album, The New Abnormal, The Strokes have mirrored the career of Beck, offering a mimetic approximation of music they think people want, instead of music generated from their raw, inner demons or whatever fueled them on Is This It.