User Score
6.6

Generally favorable reviews- based on 5 Ratings

User score distribution:
  1. Positive: 3 out of 5
  2. Negative: 1 out of 5
Buy Now
Buy on

Review this album

  1. Your Score
    0 out of 10
    Rate this:
    • 10
    • 9
    • 8
    • 7
    • 6
    • 5
    • 4
    • 3
    • 2
    • 1
    • 0
    • 0
  1. Submit
  2. Check Spelling
  1. Jan 22, 2023
    3
    "Time's Arrow" (Ladytron, 10 songs, 41 mins, rel 1/20/23) is primarily for licensing and maybe for "I'll buy anything Ladytron" fans. I love Ladytron's 3-5 albums but this one, ugh. First, every song sounds the same or nearly so. Second, the vocals, whenever they occur, are backgrounded to the instrumentals, they always sound far off in some chamber. Finally, this album is most definitely"Time's Arrow" (Ladytron, 10 songs, 41 mins, rel 1/20/23) is primarily for licensing and maybe for "I'll buy anything Ladytron" fans. I love Ladytron's 3-5 albums but this one, ugh. First, every song sounds the same or nearly so. Second, the vocals, whenever they occur, are backgrounded to the instrumentals, they always sound far off in some chamber. Finally, this album is most definitely not for traditional music enjoyment. I really think it's intended to be licensed by Hollywood studios as closing theme music to drama shows or as activity accompaniment for scenic drone footage or for those snow or water skiing. Maybe the Ladytron of albums 3-5 is gone and we're doomed for attempts like this till their time ends. Expand
  2. Jan 22, 2023
    9
    Fantastic album! It's perhaps less immediate and more of a slow grower than some of their work, so give it a bit of time – at least 3 to 4 full listens – before making snap judgements. Once the hooks sink in, it's a pretty dazzling set! The standout track for me right now is definitely California...love that it incorporates a nod to the Joni classic of the same name in its chorus, and sortFantastic album! It's perhaps less immediate and more of a slow grower than some of their work, so give it a bit of time – at least 3 to 4 full listens – before making snap judgements. Once the hooks sink in, it's a pretty dazzling set! The standout track for me right now is definitely California...love that it incorporates a nod to the Joni classic of the same name in its chorus, and sort of flips the earnest sentiment of the former on its head with a dark, clever lyrical twist...some awesome guitar work as well! Yes, there is a cinematic feel to it in places (a good thing in my book), and with the mixing they were clearly looking to capture an early 80's warm analogue tape sound. It's also a very wet with generous reverb, which pairs up nicely with the overall mix. I dig the sonic vibe they were going for, and I'm really enjoying the result! Glad they're still driven to try new things with each album. Previous reviewer projects his view that this album is "most definitely not for traditional music enjoyment". What is traditional music enjoyment? Sounds like a drag. Expand
  3. Jan 23, 2023
    7
    Agreeing with most reviews. It’s about 7 of 10. The first half of album is a 9, the second half not so much. Marnie, although I love her music and style independently, has her fingerprints as a solo act on too much, particularly side B. Some of this feels like a Marnie album, which would have been great for a Marnie album. This all being said, it’s a fine piece of work.
  4. Jan 23, 2023
    6
    this feels like an autopilot album for ladytron, other than the occasional electrifying highlight (the night, faces). some songs however feel like they're too closely channeling other artists - misery remember me sounds like a blend of chvrches-esque vocal manipulation partnered with a fleetwood mac melody and we never went away bears jarring similarity to pet shop boys. the bigger issuethis feels like an autopilot album for ladytron, other than the occasional electrifying highlight (the night, faces). some songs however feel like they're too closely channeling other artists - misery remember me sounds like a blend of chvrches-esque vocal manipulation partnered with a fleetwood mac melody and we never went away bears jarring similarity to pet shop boys. the bigger issue here though is that most of these tracks don't do enough to make you sit up and listen. Expand
Metascore
77

Generally favorable reviews - based on 10 Critic Reviews

Critic score distribution:
  1. Positive: 8 out of 10
  2. Negative: 0 out of 10
  1. Jan 24, 2023
    70
    Even with its perceived flaws, it offers some real moments of beauty to get swept away in if you're looking for an escape from the world around you.
  2. Jan 23, 2023
    69
    Evocative images recur throughout Time’s Arrow, which is full of flashing lights, water, and dreams that offer mesmerizing spaces for getting lost. ... Time’s Arrow’s consistency also works against it. The record’s more placid songs bleed together.
  3. Jan 20, 2023
    80
    With Ladytron, the band proved they could more than hold their own with the like minded acts who sprang up in their wake. The thought and skill they put into Time's Arrow, however, could only come from years of perspective and experience.