User Score
8.4

Universal acclaim- based on 20 Ratings

User score distribution:
  1. Positive: 18 out of 20
  2. Negative: 1 out of 20
Buy Now
Buy on

Review this album

  1. Your Score
    0 out of 10
    Rate this:
    • 10
    • 9
    • 8
    • 7
    • 6
    • 5
    • 4
    • 3
    • 2
    • 1
    • 0
    • 0
  1. Submit
  2. Check Spelling
  1. May 6, 2022
    10
    Darkish and beautiful. Switch out the lights and enjoy this gorgeous album.
  2. May 6, 2022
    6
    A beautiful delicate record reminiscent of Laura Marlings 2020 release, " songs for our daughter ". It's a gentle force propelled by the sheer power of her voice that always manages to convey any agony that she's willing to share. The opener is a potential song of the year,it's so big with it's despair that you can't help but be pulled in with her. "Home to Me" is a more gradual balladA beautiful delicate record reminiscent of Laura Marlings 2020 release, " songs for our daughter ". It's a gentle force propelled by the sheer power of her voice that always manages to convey any agony that she's willing to share. The opener is a potential song of the year,it's so big with it's despair that you can't help but be pulled in with her. "Home to Me" is a more gradual ballad that is more intrested in amending than separating. Expand
  3. May 14, 2022
    10
    Another masterpiece Sharon gave us! This is - like all her albums - amazing from start to finish!
  4. May 8, 2022
    8
    I expected no less after Remind Me Tomorrow. Although I would have liked more variety and textures in the instrumentation, Van Etten's voice delivers.
  5. May 10, 2022
    8
    The musics are catchy, and I can't still define which ones are the best, except from "Born" - is certainly the unquestionable greatest one! Maybe "far away", "headspace", "home to me", or "darkness fades". But, i still think "Tramp" or "Are We There"
Metascore
80

Generally favorable reviews - based on 19 Critic Reviews

Critic score distribution:
  1. Positive: 16 out of 19
  2. Negative: 0 out of 19
  1. May 16, 2022
    80
    With a voice as powerful as hers, it is a wise choice, as is listening to this album. At only 10 tracks and 39 minutes, it leaves you wanting more, so the logical choice is just to play it again and be mesmerized another time.
  2. May 11, 2022
    80
    Van Etten took the risk of not releasing any singles beforehand so audiences could more fully understand the full scope of the story. She holds a little bit of control before charging ahead, unlocking the connection she craves after experiencing a ceaseless stream of negativity. It's the kind of emotional catharsis all of us can relate to during these uncertian times.
  3. 70
    On the album, the dark, haunting sound and intimate atmosphere of her early work and the muscular '80s inspired synth-pop of Remind Me Tomorrow sit side by side.