Bangerz - Miley Cyrus
User Score
6.2

Generally favorable reviews- based on 361 Ratings

User score distribution:
  1. Negative: 96 out of 361

Review this album

  1. Your Score
    0 out of 10
    Rate this:
    • 10
    • 9
    • 8
    • 7
    • 6
    • 5
    • 4
    • 3
    • 2
    • 1
    • 0
    • 0
  1. Submit
  2. Check Spelling
  1. Oct 8, 2013
    0
    It adds nothing new to the genre. Some beats are okay but the lyrics in general are laughable. I am losing faith in humanity if songs like "Wrecking Ball" and "We Cant Stop" have more than one hundred million clicks on Youtube.
  2. Oct 8, 2013
    10
    Bangerz is an amazing cd arrangements, melodies lyrics definitely best album POP 2013 independende extravagance of Miley Miley knew that with the anticipated launchings of Lady Gaga and Katy Perry this would be a year very hard for a singer targeted by the public showing a teen getting mature work and earn the spotlight all she is doing is attacking people for the people to giveBangerz is an amazing cd arrangements, melodies lyrics definitely best album POP 2013 independende extravagance of Miley Miley knew that with the anticipated launchings of Lady Gaga and Katy Perry this would be a year very hard for a singer targeted by the public showing a teen getting mature work and earn the spotlight all she is doing is attacking people for the people to give attention to her and she can show she is a complete artist are not hypocrites n if she did all this fuss for sure Bangerz be heard but not receive due recognition see the latest albums of Selena Gomez and Demi Lovato If Madonna was certainly starting today you guys would be here saying the same thing after all she simulated masturbation on the counter kissed a Jesus black mouth made ​​an erotic book among many other controversies The same people who venerate today certainly prevent the rise of the biggest female pop artist of all time The most ironic of all this is to criticize criticize and criticize and have to admit that she is talented Miley still going too far Expand
  3. Oct 8, 2013
    4
    Miley Cyrus is back with a new image and a new sound but the results are strange. Cyrus' new outing Bangerz is mess and rather strange the vocals are overproduced and the lyrics are goofy at best. This album may seem to be an all typical mainstream album but not all of this album is some of the songs do sound rather different and somewhat refreshing. The production of the album is messyMiley Cyrus is back with a new image and a new sound but the results are strange. Cyrus' new outing Bangerz is mess and rather strange the vocals are overproduced and the lyrics are goofy at best. This album may seem to be an all typical mainstream album but not all of this album is some of the songs do sound rather different and somewhat refreshing. The production of the album is messy as well some songs have a glossy, nice Hollywood sound (pretty strings and slick and gritty synths) to them whilst others sound incredibly cheap and dated. Speaking of songs, some songs aren't bad and but some are really bad (SMS (Bangerz) being the worst track). Overall, this album isn't very good Miley Cyrus fans and pop music fans with like this but it will come off as mediocre to others. Expand
  4. Oct 8, 2013
    8
    The only reason that people hate her is because she used to be a Disney princess, this album is like Miley's mirror, we can see the real her on these amazing songs. Mix of hip hop, pop, r&b, and the most amazing thing is that she didn't forgot her roots by doing country on "4x4" with hip hop star "Nelly
  5. Oct 8, 2013
    7
    Cyrus want to find herself. I don't like her new attitude but I have to admit... the album sounds very good. Some songs are powerful and some sounds unnecessary (SMS). Anyway, she can be better and she is in the right way.
  6. Oct 8, 2013
    0
    I can't understand why she is acting so just to have a few weeks of fame. Since the video of We Can't stop she does everything for the attention. Honestly, the songs are crappy and with no meaning. The lyrics don't mean anything at all. "LA da da di we like to party dancing with miley" Seriously? Garbage. Burn it!
  7. Oct 8, 2013
    10
    Adorei o álbum, com certeza o melhor que ela já fez!! Cada musica que vai passando uma nova sensação que você vai sentindo, as vibrações são as melhores possíveis e a voz dela está maravilhosa!
    Miley está vindo e mostrando que quer encarar os grandes nomes da musica com esse cd, parabéns vc ganhou mais uma fã
  8. Oct 8, 2013
    10
    The album is really very good I dont understand why many do not accept it. The album is more mature, and by far the best of it! People are judging the artist, not the album!
  9. Oct 8, 2013
    10
    Miley Cyrus' fourth album comes with a non-stop originality though all the album. There are probably two or three inferior tracks on the album, but the rest is a masterpiece. Mileys voice sounds so pure and non autotuned at all. Her voice is so personal and odd, in a awesome way. People dont take her seriously because she comes from Disney, but i can see her rockin it out at 50 likeMiley Cyrus' fourth album comes with a non-stop originality though all the album. There are probably two or three inferior tracks on the album, but the rest is a masterpiece. Mileys voice sounds so pure and non autotuned at all. Her voice is so personal and odd, in a awesome way. People dont take her seriously because she comes from Disney, but i can see her rockin it out at 50 like Madonna is doing. Her originialyty and her powerful voice is awesome in this. With a bad artwork, and a bad malbum name, it's the best album of the year. with out a doubt. It could be here 8 top five singles on here. Best tracks are Adore You, We Can't Stop, SMS, Wrecking Ball, Get It Right, Drive and Hands in the Air and Do My Thang. Brillantly album. perfectly produced by Mike WIll Made It. THey are all bangerz. Album of the year. Expand
  10. Oct 8, 2013
    10
    Bangerz um CD perfeito com músicas de todos os estilos! Nele Miley prova que realmente está num patamar maior que as lixos da mamutona e da megamente, Miley resto da Disney. Beijocas gente
    um beijo exclusivo pra diva, allan, trix, junior bff, quione, felipe, todos os gabrieis, britta e luis e pro povo do fixo
    xau
  11. Oct 8, 2013
    7
    The hype of the album was caused by Miley Cyrus' new controversial image that most people dislike.
    Honestly, listening to this album was like listening to an album released by Disney, only with Miley having a racy image. Only that is that Disney is not involved with Miley's new image, it was RCA, the label responsible of making many artists popular.
    Comparing to Selena Gomez's album,
    The hype of the album was caused by Miley Cyrus' new controversial image that most people dislike.
    Honestly, listening to this album was like listening to an album released by Disney, only with Miley having a racy image. Only that is that Disney is not involved with Miley's new image, it was RCA, the label responsible of making many artists popular.
    Comparing to Selena Gomez's album, 'Stars Dance', 'Bangerz' has diversity in its songs with a mix of hip hop, pop and country, sticking to Miley's roots while 'Stars Dance' clearly only sticks to Electronic.
    The arrangement of the tracklist is okay. The pop ballad 'Adore You' is a good song choice to open this 'hip-hop' influenced album. The closing song, 'Someone Else', should not have been the closing song at all because it does not have the emotional factor in the song even though the song addresses Miley's new image. If I were Miley, I should have chosen the second to the last song in the album, 'Maybe You're Right', to close this album which is more appropriate because the song could be about Miley and Liam Hemsworth's ended relationship, which is emotional on its own terms.
    The album tries not to be sad at all, with some upbeat songs that might be addressing to Hemsworth, which the only songs that are emotional are 'Wrecking Ball' and 'Maybe You're Right'.
    Some of the highlights of the album were 'We Can't Stop', '4x4', a country/hip hop collaboration with Nelly, with him dropping the 'N' word with his verse, 'Wrecking Ball' and '#GETITRIGHT', which has a catchy potential to be a single from the album.
    The best highlight from the album was 'SMS Bangerz', a collaboration with Britney Spears, which also has a potential to be a single as well.
    The album may have its hits and misses, but Miley Cyrus shows us that she is 'Hannah Montana no more' and she has a place in the music industry despite her raunchy image for Bangerz.
    Expand
  12. Oct 8, 2013
    7
    Miley Cyrus, just saying the name makes you think of the words "tweak" and "foam finger" and if you don't know what I'm talking about, just watch this year's Video Music Awards on MTV and you'll get the idea. But we all have to remember that Cyrus can sing, the former Disney star releases her coming out album that she is grown up and she's gonna do whatever she wants. "Bangerz" is an albumMiley Cyrus, just saying the name makes you think of the words "tweak" and "foam finger" and if you don't know what I'm talking about, just watch this year's Video Music Awards on MTV and you'll get the idea. But we all have to remember that Cyrus can sing, the former Disney star releases her coming out album that she is grown up and she's gonna do whatever she wants. "Bangerz" is an album that at first listen you hate, but as you get the idea and listen again, you get what Cyrus is doing here. As an album "Bangerz" is good and better than I thought, but it won't appeal to everyone and it has some really bad song. The opening song "Adore You" is so heartfelt, true, and honest, it's also a showcase for Cyrus's vocals. Next it continues on with "We Can't Stop" and moves on with more tunes you'll be surprised are different from other music, and that I can appreciate. Cyrus goes by her own style and avoids conventional pop music, and Cyrus really shines with songs like "Wrecking Ball" and of course "Adore You" but she also stumbles on songs like "SMS (Bangerz)" and "Love Money Party" that it reminds you that Miley may be taking some Molly (Hope you get the Pun). The album is decently paced at around 50 minutes and only feels slow on the forgettable duet with Future "My Darlin'" which feels unnecessary and I wished it was cut out. Certain songs like "Do My Thang", "Get it Right", and "4x4" all sound fun, catchy, and helps you get use to Miley's behavior. Some things I wished weren't here are the parts where Miley raps, please don't it sounds laughable. Also this album is tonally all over the place, it seems like this album is trying to be everything and sometimes it doesn't work. The album won't appeal to everyone, parent's will certainly hate this album. But in the end this album does prove many things, but one of them is that Hannah Montana is officially dead. Expand
  13. Oct 8, 2013
    1
    I actually can't stand Miley as a person, but I gave the album a chance. Some of the songs were just "okay" but others are so bad they sound like something anyone with Fruity Studios could make!
    People giving this a 10 are definitely trolls.
  14. Oct 8, 2013
    0
    I actually can't stand Miley as a person, but I gave the album a chance. Some of the songs were just "okay" but others are so bad they sound like something anyone with Fruity Studios could make!
    People giving this a 10 are definitely trolls.
  15. Oct 8, 2013
    10
    Best ALBUM EVER !
    twitter @DILEYvatic

    ☺☺☺☺☺☺☺☺☺BUY BANGERZ ON ITUNES, ON STORES #NOW ☺☺☺☺☺☺☺☺☺☺

    THE IS BACK
  16. Oct 8, 2013
    10
    Surprisingly.. Cyrus didn't disappoint. Sick beats, vocals and producers make a killer album.. and she made a killer album. Possibly my favorite release this year.
  17. Oct 8, 2013
    9
    Honestly i wasn't really looking forward to this album because i really dislike Miley these days but her latest singles We Cant Stop and Wrecking Ball were pretty good and surprisingly Bangerz isn't bad either. Its very different from her previous albums and though Miley doesnt have an amazing voice like her fellow Disney starlet, Demi, and some of the songs sound very generic and similarHonestly i wasn't really looking forward to this album because i really dislike Miley these days but her latest singles We Cant Stop and Wrecking Ball were pretty good and surprisingly Bangerz isn't bad either. Its very different from her previous albums and though Miley doesnt have an amazing voice like her fellow Disney starlet, Demi, and some of the songs sound very generic and similar Bangerz is a praise worthy effort from her with a touch of rnb, pop and even country. I like her collaboration with Britney but the ones with the rappers seem pretty unnecessary. As a whole i like Bangerz and all her antics aside i'm impressed with Miley. She has finally found her place in the music industry and this is definitely the path she should pursue. My favorite tracks include 4x4, SMS, Adore You, FU and #GETITRIGHT. Expand
  18. Oct 11, 2013
    6
    Bangerz is a disillusioned collection of pop and hip-hop tracks that seems like a jumble and a mess. Though Miley's voice shines through on some tracks, most are unoriginal pop and run-of-the-mill.
  19. Oct 11, 2013
    0
    Mediocre at best. All this untalented girl wants is attention, and everyone is giving her that. Her songs are weak, her performances are miserable, basically she's almost as bad as Rhianna.
  20. Oct 8, 2013
    7
    There are more good songs then bad songs.. The good ones are really good and the bad ones are really bad. But its a solid album of an artist trying to find her own identity and her own sound.
  21. Oct 8, 2013
    8
    Bangerz is an album you need to "get" to appreciate. And I "get" it. It is supposed to be dark, glimmering pop that celebrates life but also reflects on its more difficult moments. Miley has never sounded better vocally. The production is top-notch. What really makes the record is not only the strength of every single song (from the "bangers" to the ballads), but the artistic chances MileyBangerz is an album you need to "get" to appreciate. And I "get" it. It is supposed to be dark, glimmering pop that celebrates life but also reflects on its more difficult moments. Miley has never sounded better vocally. The production is top-notch. What really makes the record is not only the strength of every single song (from the "bangers" to the ballads), but the artistic chances Miley takes and the amount of conviction she has. This is an artistic statement like no other from the former teen-idol. It is strangely brilliant, diverse, and at times beautiful. Expand
  22. Oct 8, 2013
    10
    The album is POP perfection, everything is perfect about it from the production to the lyrics...
    Miley & her team did a good job, FU, Do My Thang & drive are everything !!!
    I enjoyed it every minute i've been listening to it
  23. Oct 8, 2013
    10
    Bangerz is amazing. Show her real voice and talent! This is definitely the best album of 2013. Cyrus want to find herself and I admire it. Go ahead Miley!
  24. Oct 8, 2013
    0
    Bad and catastrophic, as a young man can be damaged this way.
    Miley composed with a lot of guys, and made an album of very poor quality. A little more ATTENTION PLEASE
  25. Oct 8, 2013
    10
    Bangerz álbum perfeito feat. maravilhoso que mostrou que a Miley uma diva de verdade & adulta, diferente das ex-colegas Bila Bulu e Jimmy Neutron, enterrou as wannabes e colocou a Miley num patamar de diva pop adulta de verdade. O resto só escória.
    Anabella, September, Dhivanna, Larissa, Sunshade, Guilherme, Wonderful, Katsopolis, Vinny,Yugito, José e Charmr rainhas da Pan.
  26. Oct 10, 2013
    0
    Not her best album. The only track that surprised was "Wrecking Ball", without that, I'd delete like 10 tracks from Bangerz before buying it, if I ever could.
  27. Oct 8, 2013
    0
    This is one of the worst pop albums ever made. It brings nothing new to the table. The production is weak, the lyrics are laughable, the guest features don't do anything, the delivery sucks, the tracks are overly proccessed and full of Auto-Tune, there's no redeeming quality to it. Miley's another untalented former kid star trying to rebel and make people take her seriously. If you takeThis is one of the worst pop albums ever made. It brings nothing new to the table. The production is weak, the lyrics are laughable, the guest features don't do anything, the delivery sucks, the tracks are overly proccessed and full of Auto-Tune, there's no redeeming quality to it. Miley's another untalented former kid star trying to rebel and make people take her seriously. If you take away all of the desperate publicity stunts and attention-seeking behavior, all you have is a pile of forgettable turd that fails at trying to be edgy and brings the quality of music down another low. The fact that anyone with a brain would like this is scary because there's nothing good about it. Expand
  28. Oct 15, 2013
    0
    I found the music on this album to be banal and completely unmemorable, this album seems like its only purpose is for Miley to shed her "wholesome Disney star" image.
  29. Oct 8, 2013
    10
    I bought this album expecting it to be okay. I was pleasantly surprised. This album has songs that reminds me of Hannah Montana, Old Miley, New Miley, Ke$ha, Rihanna, and Nicki Minaj. The only thing that was surprising was that she raps better than Rihanna and Ke$ha.
  30. Oct 8, 2013
    8
    Miley Cyrus did an great job promoting this album. Everything from the; haircut, to the twerking viral video, the controversial VMA performances, the music videos, and racy photos has come down to this one moment the official release of Miley Cyrus' album, "BANGERZ". It's time for the music to speak for itself.

    The first listen I was not digging this album. There was only one song I
    Miley Cyrus did an great job promoting this album. Everything from the; haircut, to the twerking viral video, the controversial VMA performances, the music videos, and racy photos has come down to this one moment the official release of Miley Cyrus' album, "BANGERZ". It's time for the music to speak for itself.

    The first listen I was not digging this album. There was only one song I really liked and that was, "FU" ft. French Montana. Once I saw the reactions through social media upon the release date (which were overwhelmingly positive) I decided to take another listen to this album and I am glad I did not dismiss this project as a, "Failed" album. To put this simply, Miley Cyrus should be proud of this project. All of the publicity stunts were worth it.

    The production on this album (which was handled mostly by Mike Will Made It) is great. I would like to take a second and say, "I was impressed" I never thought Miley Cyrus was a amazing vocalist, but she proved me wrong on this album. Some of the songs on, "BANGERZ" sent chills up my spine and gave me goosebumps which I never thought I would say about a Miley Cyrus project. The lyrical content resolved mostly around relationships and partying, but the lyrics themselves are not much to be desired for. I found them to be mediocre, repetitive, with not much complexity in them. I also didn't see much use for the features either. They did nothing to enhance the album or songs they were on. Believe it or not, I believe Miley Cyrus could have carried this entire project herself, yet, another thing I thought I would never say about a Miley Cyrus project. Miley Cyrus also experimented some with this album as well mixing her racy side and country side together to make a interesting sound. A reminder that the country still exists within her.

    Overall, I liked this album. There's a lot of bangers (no pun intended) within this project and Miley also shows that she is more than just a rebellious twenty year old woman twerking to get by. She has talent, she has an ear for music, and through her promotion she has proven to be the smartest young musician in the business today. Even if you don't buy this album I would strongly recommend listening to it. Miley worked really hard and made a successful project that should be given a chance.
    Expand
  31. Oct 19, 2013
    10
    This is one of the best albums of 2013. Bangerz has smash hits like "We Can't Stop" and "Wrecking Ball" amongst the best songs released this year. The album is a mix of Pop/rap and country. John Shanks is also back with writing credits on one of the best ballads "Maybe You're Right". And let's not forget Dr.Luke who made PARTY IN THE USA back in 2009.
    The album is amazing and won't
    This is one of the best albums of 2013. Bangerz has smash hits like "We Can't Stop" and "Wrecking Ball" amongst the best songs released this year. The album is a mix of Pop/rap and country. John Shanks is also back with writing credits on one of the best ballads "Maybe You're Right". And let's not forget Dr.Luke who made PARTY IN THE USA back in 2009.
    The album is amazing and won't disappoint you!
    Expand
  32. Oct 8, 2013
    10
    I am very proud of Miley, this cd exceeded my expectations. This album is catchy and Miley's voice sounds great. I love all the songs on the CD but my favorite songs have to be FU, Drive, Wrecking Ball, and Maybe You're Right.
  33. Oct 8, 2013
    10
    Bangerz is such a good album, it shows a side of Miley that the general public doesn't know, she's really talented. It's one of the few albums that I enjoy listening to all of the songs.
  34. Oct 8, 2013
    10
    Bangerz is an Amazing album with great lyrics and we can see the Miley Cyrus' musical evolution. Would love to buy it and I already did. ALBUM OF THE YEAR. Peace
  35. Oct 9, 2013
    10
    perfect, best album of tge worldddddddddddddddddddddddddddddddddddddddddddddddddddddddddddddddddddddddddddddddddddddddddddddddddddddddddddddddddddddddddddddddddddddd
  36. Oct 9, 2013
    10
    Miley Cyrus' new studio album, that can be considered her debut by many of her fans (due to the fact that there is a huge creative growth and music shift), 'Bangerz' is nothing more than a fabulous pop extravaganza. Whether you like Cyrus or not, it's impossible to deny her outstanding vocal talent.
  37. Oct 11, 2013
    10
    Bangerz is a refreshing album with too many genres to count. It appeals to every audience and shows the greatness that is Miley Cyrus's mentality and emotions. Unlike Rihanna, Katy etc. who remain the same throughout their career Miley has a made huge (and successful) transition from her previous album. Not only does this album deserve a Grammy for Best Pop Vocal Album, it also deservesBangerz is a refreshing album with too many genres to count. It appeals to every audience and shows the greatness that is Miley Cyrus's mentality and emotions. Unlike Rihanna, Katy etc. who remain the same throughout their career Miley has a made huge (and successful) transition from her previous album. Not only does this album deserve a Grammy for Best Pop Vocal Album, it also deserves Album of the Year. Well done Ms. Cyrus, you've proved talent can really overshadow your (bad ass) image. Expand
  38. Oct 11, 2013
    10
    She has great vocals and originality. You can't choose the best track. Sometimes the lyrics are funny, and sometimes has such emotional melody. One word: Unique
  39. Oct 12, 2013
    1
    This album is absolutely contrived and manufactured. This album was just as much produced and written by a bunch of staunchy old white men sitting in a board room as it was by Miley's production team. There are absolutely no chances taken on this album. Every cliche pop music move was put into this album in full. When things like this come through the pipeline you have to ask a fewThis album is absolutely contrived and manufactured. This album was just as much produced and written by a bunch of staunchy old white men sitting in a board room as it was by Miley's production team. There are absolutely no chances taken on this album. Every cliche pop music move was put into this album in full. When things like this come through the pipeline you have to ask a few questions. There have been other pop projects that have come down the pipe in recent years that are just as polished and spit shined and totally devoid of art as this one. The last Lady Gaga projects for example just as much cliche and non real risk taking as this one but here's the difference, Lady Gaga or better yet her handlers pick better written songs and she can actually sing her ass off and that is the reason her projects will probably be remembered for much longer than Miley's. She must be absolutely surrounded with people that do nothing but tell her everything she does is great. This album is just as much created in a test tube by disney types with just as little soul as was given to her in the disney lab. People need to wake up and demand that thier artist actually create art of this decade will be just as unremarkable for music as the last decade. Demand better of the industry....... Expand
  40. Nov 17, 2013
    0
    The new generation is terrible. The only things they like are fortune and fame. It's just like diamonds. IN Albums like this offer no progress to music.
  41. Nov 11, 2013
    8
    A mature catchy album that will surely be one of her best efforts to date. Her publicity stints may be distracting but it's the album that deserves all the buzz.
  42. Nov 12, 2013
    4
    As an album all about Youth, Love, and Rebellion, Bangerz has a lot of missed potential. The ballad-esque tracks "Adore You" and "Wrecking Ball" show some of Miley's more human side, while tracks like "Love Money Party", "Do My Thang", "FU" (and a myriad of others) show that Miley has a long way to go before she musically matures. Some tracks like "4x4" or, more debatable, "SMS (Bangerz)"As an album all about Youth, Love, and Rebellion, Bangerz has a lot of missed potential. The ballad-esque tracks "Adore You" and "Wrecking Ball" show some of Miley's more human side, while tracks like "Love Money Party", "Do My Thang", "FU" (and a myriad of others) show that Miley has a long way to go before she musically matures. Some tracks like "4x4" or, more debatable, "SMS (Bangerz)" are fun as long as you don't take them too seriously. Miley's voice is her greatest asset, bringing both power and contemporary country twang in a few of her tracks. "Drive" is a simple, yet listenable, track that captures her voice well (albeit being very "produced").

    Ultimately, Bangerz isn't a total failure. There is good sprinkled in this album, but had Miley and her collaborators spent less time trying to force this whole "bad girl" image and instead continued working in the direction of "Wrecking Ball" and "Adore you" then it could have soared higher. Hopefully her future albums sincerely encompass her eccentric youthfulness and rebellion, while also tackling those topics with more maturity.
    Expand
  43. Oct 26, 2013
    10
    BANGERZ is the ultimate pop craze for those who embrace multi-genre crossovers. The album has 16 tracks on it and at least 14/16 are pure perfection. Lyrically, it comes to prove Cyrus' maturity, while musically its versatile production and writing show a clear evolution in the pop star's artistry.

    Clear masterpieces on the album include ballads "Adore You" and "Wrecking Ball" and also
    BANGERZ is the ultimate pop craze for those who embrace multi-genre crossovers. The album has 16 tracks on it and at least 14/16 are pure perfection. Lyrically, it comes to prove Cyrus' maturity, while musically its versatile production and writing show a clear evolution in the pop star's artistry.

    Clear masterpieces on the album include ballads "Adore You" and "Wrecking Ball" and also rock-y tunes like "Drive" or "Someone Else" and also r&b-influenced "Rooting for My Baby" or "FU".

    10/10
    Expand
  44. Oct 24, 2013
    9
    This is the reborn of Miley Cyrus and she did it all too well! She wanted to leave the Hannah Montana image in the past and now she's trying "new" things. With this album she let us know she's not like their contemporaries Demi Lovato and Selena Gomez, she's better than they. With the anticipation of her single "We Can't Stop" Cyrus made clear they more-mature image. We should admit she'sThis is the reborn of Miley Cyrus and she did it all too well! She wanted to leave the Hannah Montana image in the past and now she's trying "new" things. With this album she let us know she's not like their contemporaries Demi Lovato and Selena Gomez, she's better than they. With the anticipation of her single "We Can't Stop" Cyrus made clear they more-mature image. We should admit she's trying to "rap", but she's doing wrong. Songs like "FU", "Drive" and "4x4" have the potential to be a very good singles, even she can compete with more mature artist like Lady Gaga and Katy Perry in the charts. Expand
  45. Oct 8, 2013
    10
    Every song adds something different to the album but at the end every little part comes together to form a big puzzle, you can see Miley starting in love with "Adore you" the first track in the album and ending with "Someone Else" which is about a broken heart and changing to the point that she doesnt know who she is.

    My favorite songs are the ones in which she speaks about her broken
    Every song adds something different to the album but at the end every little part comes together to form a big puzzle, you can see Miley starting in love with "Adore you" the first track in the album and ending with "Someone Else" which is about a broken heart and changing to the point that she doesnt know who she is.

    My favorite songs are the ones in which she speaks about her broken heart
    Drive
    FU
    Someone Else
    Maybe You're Right
    Wrecking Ball
    On my Own

    Miley also provides party anthems for those who like an upbeat song

    SMS
    4x4
    We Can't Stop
    #GetitRight

    They are all great songs i think she delivered what was so famously promoted, a solid pop album.
    Expand
  46. Oct 8, 2013
    5
    Bangerz is an irregular bunch of songs arranged in a perhaps arbitrary way ,more raunchy and ridiculous than emotional. Beside the only good song in the album, "Wreckin' ball", and no video can ruin it, we can rescue some catchy tracks like "#Getitright" (written by Pharrel) and "Rooting for my baby", this last one included in the Deluxe edition. But I almost fell asleep listen to thatBangerz is an irregular bunch of songs arranged in a perhaps arbitrary way ,more raunchy and ridiculous than emotional. Beside the only good song in the album, "Wreckin' ball", and no video can ruin it, we can rescue some catchy tracks like "#Getitright" (written by Pharrel) and "Rooting for my baby", this last one included in the Deluxe edition. But I almost fell asleep listen to that rendition to Stand By Me called "My Darlin'" and there's no words to qualify epic failures like "SMS" and "Love Money Party". Plus, 4x4 is Nelly at his weakest, and "We can't stop" lyrics are infamous without needing a video helping to prove it. In summary, Miley tries to show a grown up image, but a disrespectful and fake rebel one. In the side of production, maybe if RCA or any responsible executive (and Miley is listed as executive producer) would taken out some songs of the regular edition and replace them by "Rooting for my baby" and "On my own" from the Deluxe one, it could have been a more balance album, but it's not the case. Listen to the whole product, the standard Bangerz is clearly below of average pop releases this year. I have to say that, simply, Mike Will didn't make it this time, and i give it the standard a 4, but the Deluxe deserves a 6, so I'll give this a 5, despite all the misbehaving and recent foul statements from Miley, because that has nothing to do with this. Expand
  47. Oct 18, 2013
    7
    Bangerz is the Teenage Dream (Katy Perry, 2010) of 2013. A masterfully crafted pop album, Bangerz brings out the finest in teenage pop. From start to end, Miley Cyrus offers the listener a mix of powerful synths, beats, and vocals. We Can’t Stop You is the club banger of the album, while other outstanding upbeat tracks like SMS (Bangerz) and Love Money Party keep the energy pumping.Bangerz is the Teenage Dream (Katy Perry, 2010) of 2013. A masterfully crafted pop album, Bangerz brings out the finest in teenage pop. From start to end, Miley Cyrus offers the listener a mix of powerful synths, beats, and vocals. We Can’t Stop You is the club banger of the album, while other outstanding upbeat tracks like SMS (Bangerz) and Love Money Party keep the energy pumping. Bangerz is an album written with songs perfectly suited to Miley’s southern accent, as each song manages to bring out the best in Miley’s vocals. The tune in 4x4 works to Miley’s vocal advantage, while the smooth vocal flows in My Darlin’ gels Future’s and Miley’s vocals into a beautiful synthesis. In areas where Miley’s vocals are found wanting, background vocals and instrumentals are brought in to fill in the gaps. Wrecking Ball, the masterpiece of this album, is the epitome of such musical engineering. The chorus hits strongly with an opening powered by drums, while the ending chorus, enriched by a swathe of background vocalists, ends with a climatic peak at the words ‘blazing’ in the line ‘left me crouching in a blazing fall’. While haters may use this exact statement to argue that Bangerz is a product of business rather than art, I argue that good music regardless of its source of success is good music. The merits of Bangerz cannot be ignored.

    However, while the first half of the album, if taken on its own, is easily a 10-point worthy record, the second half dies down in its sophistication. Perhaps the greatest barrier to perfection for Bangerz, then, is that it is ultimately a teenage pop album, and the extent to which this genre can move, provoke, and inspire is limited. Nevertheless, Bangerz is definitely worth a listen. With its huge popularity and controversy, I would not be surprised if Miley lands major Grammy nominations with this outstanding record.
    Expand
  48. Oct 12, 2013
    10
    Bangerz shows what Disney has always tried to hide the'' dark side'' of Miley. Dance songs, ballads powerful provocative lyrics. Bangerz came to renew the sweet Miley.
  49. Oct 15, 2013
    8
    for one, this is way better than the Can't Be Tamed record she did. Way better. as with almost all pop tarts there is, i find the music change almost expected. It did pay off for working with such writers and producers by the way.

    im just not sure about the variety of music she offers. but it sounds fresh on her track lists. We know she cant sing the way Christina Aguilera or Alicia
    for one, this is way better than the Can't Be Tamed record she did. Way better. as with almost all pop tarts there is, i find the music change almost expected. It did pay off for working with such writers and producers by the way.

    im just not sure about the variety of music she offers. but it sounds fresh on her track lists.

    We know she cant sing the way Christina Aguilera or Alicia Keys does but the arrangements somehow did justice to what voice quality she has.

    bottom line is, she is misunderstood. i just wish she can transcend that to be more than just a joke.
    Expand
  50. Oct 17, 2013
    0
    Man, I don't know what she was thinking when she made this album, like, it is a mess and a failed attempt to be mainstream. The only song that is a least good is "We Can't Stop" although the lyrics are really really bad... I WANNA SEE THE REAL MILEY!!
  51. Oct 17, 2013
    6
    The feats damaged some songs like My Darlin, overall, the album is generic and very cartoonish, but not all bad, have good songs, especially Wrecking Ball which is the best music made by Miley. As a whole, Bangerz disappointed to have good singles and give us the idea that we could expect something really big, but still has a picture of a singer who wants to do everything to stay in theThe feats damaged some songs like My Darlin, overall, the album is generic and very cartoonish, but not all bad, have good songs, especially Wrecking Ball which is the best music made by Miley. As a whole, Bangerz disappointed to have good singles and give us the idea that we could expect something really big, but still has a picture of a singer who wants to do everything to stay in the spotlight without doing songs with a depth and resonance striking. I hope that she finds her personality and her music style. Collapse
  52. Oct 22, 2013
    10
    This review contains spoilers, click expand to view. The best Miley's album... Bangerz is so fantastic She is like a Rihanna, Lady Gaga, Adele ,Katy Perry, Madonna and more pop divas in just one person!! Expand
  53. Oct 23, 2013
    8
    Brilliant! Her best album to date, and i'm not a fan of Miley but I have to admit it. "Adore You", "We Can't Stop", "Wrecking Ball", "#GETITRIGHT", "Do My Thang", "Someone Else" and "Rooting For My Baby" are definitely the higlights of the album.
  54. Oct 24, 2013
    10
    This review contains spoilers, click expand to view. Bangerz is an amazing album. It's an very beautiful gift for SMILERS. All the tracks are amazing
    Adore You, Drive, Wrecking Ball Is very power full Ballad.
    All the collobs. are amazing. My Darlin' Love, Money, Party, Hands In The Air, 4x4, SMS(Bangerz) are loveable.
    Her rapping skills are amazing in love, money, party, and Do My Thang
    Maybe you're right, On My Own, Someone Else, Rooting for My Baby are also gr8.
    In FU(feat. French Montana) Cyrus's Vocal are amazing.
    Drive is power full Ballad.. Hope She makes it her 3rd Single
    Overall It's a Best album 10/10
    Expand
  55. Apr 15, 2014
    4
    Most of the songs were quite boring and Dunbar. There were a few ones I did like such as adore you, we can't stop and wrecking ball. Aside from that it was useless garbage
  56. May 20, 2014
    0
    How can someone do an album like that? It's just... horrible. The album sounds like **** I Thout she was going to do somehting amazing, and she did the worst of her career.
  57. Oct 28, 2014
    10
    The only reason that people hate her is because she used to be a Disney princess, forget what Miley uesd to be, and take this album as a first album of an new artist, you will find this album amazing.
  58. Feb 2, 2014
    4
    This album is tricky to rate. Some tracks here can be considered good (Adore You, Wrecking Ball) or at least okay (Someone Else); others are boring and forgettable (Drive) or even incredibly annoying (4x4).

    I believe the best word to describe this album is 'Average'. Maybe also a bit below that.
  59. Jul 15, 2014
    9
    Look back at my review history and you'll see that this really isn't my genre. I just decided to listen to it in order to see if Miley's new songs were as shocking as her new personality. In a sense they are, but not for the reasons you would expect. While her personality has yet to find a good fit with people her new music definitely should. Cyrus swings back into the pop genre and provesLook back at my review history and you'll see that this really isn't my genre. I just decided to listen to it in order to see if Miley's new songs were as shocking as her new personality. In a sense they are, but not for the reasons you would expect. While her personality has yet to find a good fit with people her new music definitely should. Cyrus swings back into the pop genre and proves that there's still a place for her there.

    Thankfully her songs are trashy like her new shock-based personality, but excellently crafted and a heck of a lot of fun to listen to. Even when she's experimenting with some bizarre country rap hybrid her beautiful voice and the great beats keep things enjoyable. While the songs "Adore You" and "My Darlin" fall short in my opinion the overall album is really one of the best pop records currently out there. Don't let who she's become detract you from enjoying her fantastic music. Even as someone who's not into the genre much at all, I found plenty to love here.
    Expand
  60. Nov 22, 2013
    9
    A great piece of work that her fans will appreciate. I like almost every track on the album and, surprisingly, the one I do not like is the one with Britney. Miley, way to do it!
  61. Jun 13, 2014
    9
    This album marks a new phase in Miley's career, she's entered her 20s and now she's assuming creative control over all her career aspects, including her image and her music. Bangerz is a very solid album, influenced by hip hop and R&B while incorporating other genres as well. I think critics and the public have been unfair with Miley, they're reviewing the image rather than the musicThis album marks a new phase in Miley's career, she's entered her 20s and now she's assuming creative control over all her career aspects, including her image and her music. Bangerz is a very solid album, influenced by hip hop and R&B while incorporating other genres as well. I think critics and the public have been unfair with Miley, they're reviewing the image rather than the music itself, maybe her public image has been over the top but this is one of her best albums, the songs are great and well-produced and many of them have hit-potential. Best songs: We Can't Stop, 4x4, My Darlin', Wrecking Ball, Drive, FU, Maybe You're Right, Rooting For My Baby (bonus track on Deluxe version). Expand
  62. Dec 2, 2013
    10
    All the songs are amazing, especially We Can't Stop and Wrecking Ball. Miley honestly doesn't deserve nearly as much criticize as she's been getting. She has a lot of talent, this album proves it.
  63. Dec 14, 2013
    9
    After living up to the hype with ''We Can't Stop'', Miley continues to surprise & catch everyone's attention, musically,image wise & through videos. ''Bangerz'' is Miley's third studio album, although she herself calls it her ''Real debut''. The first track on the album ''Adore You'', is a very boring start to an album named Bangerz, maybe it would've fitted better around 12/13 withAfter living up to the hype with ''We Can't Stop'', Miley continues to surprise & catch everyone's attention, musically,image wise & through videos. ''Bangerz'' is Miley's third studio album, although she herself calls it her ''Real debut''. The first track on the album ''Adore You'', is a very boring start to an album named Bangerz, maybe it would've fitted better around 12/13 with Someone Else & Maybe You're Right. As of now it's the third Bangerz single, which won against SMS (Bangerz), a bad decision in my opinion but anyways the song is good itself but not for an album opener to be honest. Track 2 is also the lead single ''We Can't Stop'', a great summer anthem and just overall fun song. Track 3 is one of the best in my opinion ''SMS (Bangerz)'', which features Britney Spears. The song is very original and different to anything Miley has done before and it really stands out on the album, definitely single worthy, maybe Miley's Summer 2014 anthem? Track 4 is ''4X4'' featuring Nelly, it's another different song, I can't put a certain genre on it but it's very country/pop, wouldn't put it out as a single although a really good thought out video could help the song. Track 5 is My Darlin', the worst song on the album, nothing wrong with Miley's vocals or lyrics, it's Future. Future has ruined a lot of songs with good potential (example Loveeee Song with Rihanna), so personally Miley should release this without Future as if this becomes a single with Future, it would be career-damaging. Track 6 is the highlight vocally & lyrically of the album & the second single from Bangerz, ''Wrecking Ball''. Wrecking Ball is amazing on all levels and something I wouldn't have expected from Miley's Bangerz era, never mind for something like this to serve as the second single. Track 7 ''Love Money Party'' is one of the stand outs and features Big Sean which adds to the song. Although the title may be deceiving as you'd expect from Miley after hearing We Can't Stop, lyrically it's actually very good. The beat & vocals are on spot and I think Big Sean really adds to the song, unlike Future who demolishes a song with potential. Track 8 is ''#GETITRIGHT'' another highlight, has high single potential. I can tell it would do well in the charts and in general. Track 9 ''Drive'' is where the album goes breakup/relationship talk lyrically, but sonically more dubstep. Drive is definitely single worthy and production wise is really good, everything about it is excellent. Track 10 is another dubstep anthem, although less emotional but stronger lyrically, ''FU'' is still an anthem. French Montana features on this track and doesn't add much, but I think it's good to have him on the record. FU should definitely be considered as a future single. Track 11 is one of my personal favourites ''Do My Thang'', an anthem that Miley tells off the haters & people who don't take her seriously. A highlight on Bangerz for sure and has good summer time single potential. Track 12 & 13 ''Maybe You're Right'',''Someone Else'' aren't my personal favourites but I have to complement them both lyrically. If you buy the deluxe version of ''Bangerz'', you get a special cover & some stickers, but the best part is you also get 3 extra songs. ''Rooting For My Baby'' comes in as track 14 and personally should've replaced track 12, but oh well. It's a very chilled song and Mileys vocals are great in this. I don't know if it'll be a single since it's on the deluxe because not many people release songs from the deluxe as singles but Miley's breaking all rules so who knows? Track 15 ''On My Own'' is one of the first I heard and I still like it. It kind of reminds me of a more modern 80's song. The last track is track 16, ''Hands In The Air'' which features Ludacris. It's a more hip-hop song than anything and is a good end to the album. Now of course i bought Bangerz when it came out (Oct. 4th in my country) and I've had it on repeat since along with Katy Perry's PRISM and i have to say Miley is doing no wrong and is by far one of the best albums of 2013. I also hope the rumours are true about ''Bangerz: Reloaded'' in 2014,but if you haven't bought Bangerz yet, i suggest you do! Expand
  64. Nov 14, 2013
    6
    To say Miley has made a splash this year is an understatement. Like most child stars before her, her proclamation that she is now an adult came accompanied with a massive image turn around, hypersexualisation and bad language and drugs references in her songs in a bid to prove her maturity. Unfortunately, this is more of a child's view of what it means to be an adult which hardly aids inTo say Miley has made a splash this year is an understatement. Like most child stars before her, her proclamation that she is now an adult came accompanied with a massive image turn around, hypersexualisation and bad language and drugs references in her songs in a bid to prove her maturity. Unfortunately, this is more of a child's view of what it means to be an adult which hardly aids in the credibility that she's so desperate to achieve. In fact, her overly sexual antics have raised much concern among the public who sense that she doesn't have anyone guiding her through her misguided rebelllion and that a Britney-esque breakdown could be on the cards if she doesn't calm down. This concern is all very valid, but for a moment, let's try to forget the whole circus surrounding Miley and just focus on her new album, her first in over three years and her first since she stopped being Hannah Montana.
    And it is surprisingly good. Prior to the album, I had found We Can't Stop to be a real guilty pleasure song and Wrecking Ball to be a surprisingly heartfelt pop ballad. It was a shame both had to be ruined by their music videos. I am pleased to say that much of Bangerz is good to above average. Aside from the crazy SMS (Bangerz) which takes a long time to grow on you if it does at all and the snooze that is #GETITRIGHT, the album is pretty solid. There's much to be said about Miley's apparent appropriation of black culture but she carries it off surprisingly well and it didn't come off as forced as I expected. We get a lovey dovey ballads like Adore You and My Darlin', which samples a little bit of Stand By Me. We get the country/hiphop mix that is 4x4 that will have you clicking your fingers and tapping your foot and this will make a great video. Then there's the emotional ballad, Drive. And the sassy, venegeful track, FU, which has more than a heavy inspiration of O Put A Spell On You in its production. Added on to We Can't Stop and Wrecking Ball and the acceptable other tracks, Miley turns out something above average, which is more than I can say of a lot of teen stars transition into adulthood. It's unclear where Miley's career will go when the public's over her twerking shenanigans and maybe this success is just a big fluke. But even if this is the case, the public did go nuts over a girl who, at the time, made a pretty decent album.
    Expand
  65. Nov 1, 2013
    4
    This album really could have been better. In all honesty this is not the style she should go with. She isn't a good rapper (or singer for that matter). The songs are generally boring. The album artwork is bland and boring. Let's start by saying she can't sing very well that's why she probably needs the sex appeal to drag people in (i.e. Rihanna, Britney Spears,).

    Adore You: Is good
    This album really could have been better. In all honesty this is not the style she should go with. She isn't a good rapper (or singer for that matter). The songs are generally boring. The album artwork is bland and boring. Let's start by saying she can't sing very well that's why she probably needs the sex appeal to drag people in (i.e. Rihanna, Britney Spears,).

    Adore You: Is good lyrics but vocals/production on the song were bad/boring. It does have lyrically meaning though but no wear near the best ballad of the year. (3/5)

    We Can't Stop: Is boring still, terrible lyrics, vocals, and production. (1.5/5)

    SMS (BANGERZ): Is a fun track if you like pop could've done more especially with the addition of Britney Spears, but the song is still okay. (4.5/5)

    4x4: Is completely terrible nothing good whatsoever (0/5) that is the second time I've ever given a song a 0 the first is Rebecca Black "Fryday".

    My Darlin': Is a pretty bland and boring ballad featuring the addition of more terrible vocals from Future. The lyrics are okay but nothing else. (2/5)

    Wrecking Ball: Is probably the only good ballad on this album. Good lyrics, production, edited vocals, catchy. (4/5)

    Love Money Party: This is one of the very few songs to hear if you like urban music. Decent vocals, good verse from Big Sean, catchy, fun, but also unoriginal and pointless lyrics. (4/5)

    #GETITRIGHT: Is pretty good production and okay lyrics but not much to keep someone listening past 20 seconds. (2.5/5)

    Drive: Is a try-hard song wanting to make everyone stop and listening, but you only get about 1 minute in. The production is overdone, the lyrics are good, the vocals are bad, it's somewhat catchy. (3/5)

    FU: Here we go something interesting on the album. The song sounds generally good probably on of the top 5 on this album. The production is good and simple, good fun lyrics, they have edited her vocals clearly but in a good way, its catchy especially the chorus. (4.5/5)

    Do My Thang: I was starting to believe will.I.am produced boring songs that weren't interesting (i.e. Check It Out, #ThatPower, Fall Down). The production on this song is absolutely amazing, enough to actually be a BANGER. The lyrics are retarded but at the same time interesting. Decent vocals. Catchy, fun, and dare I say a little original. (4.5/5)

    Maybe You're Right: This song was produced by John Shanks (i.e. Scars, My Heart Beats for Love, Stay). The production is solid and the lyrics are good. That's about it though the vocals are annoying. It's not catchy and/or creative. (3/5)

    Someone Else: Like "Drive" this is also a try-hard song, but does a better job at it with better production, lyrics, and vocals. It's catch and fun. (4/5)

    Rooting for My Baby: Is okay nothing special it's not bad but it's not good. Decent lyrics, boring vocals, okay production, not that catchy. (3/5)

    On My Own: Is pretty good same as "Rooting for My Baby" though. (3/5)

    Hands in the Air: If there's any song on the album to hear, it's going to be this one. Perfect productions, okay vocals, probably one of the best rap verses in a good minute. The lyrics are beautiful. It's catchy, fun, and might have actually hit #1 on Billboard without a music video or Miley getting naked and doing trashy things. Ludacris had a perfect verse with actual meaning. (5/5)

    Top Tracks: SMS, Love Money Party, FU, Wrecking Ball, Do My Thang, Someone Else.
    Worst Tracks: 4x4, #GETITRIGHT, We Can't Stop, My Darlin'.
    Best Track: Hands In The Air
    Expand
  66. Dec 17, 2014
    5
    Durante el 2013, Miley fue el punto de atracción al rededor del mundo en cada uno de los aspectos de su vida, ya fuese vida personal, publica e incluso musical, y aunque saco hits bastante pegadizos como "We Can't Stop" y referentes pop como "Wrecking Ball", se queda corta a la hora de volver su música relevante a mediano plazo (si no fuese por los videos musicales).
  67. Nov 23, 2014
    6
    Bangerz was one of the most anticipated pop albums releases in recent years—unfortunately because of Cyrus' widely dubbed "controversial" behavior at her televised live performances and not because of the former Disney starlet herself. But overall, Bangerz doesn't have a lot to talk about because it's neither musically a major success or a failure. Despite her self-indulgent dive intoBangerz was one of the most anticipated pop albums releases in recent years—unfortunately because of Cyrus' widely dubbed "controversial" behavior at her televised live performances and not because of the former Disney starlet herself. But overall, Bangerz doesn't have a lot to talk about because it's neither musically a major success or a failure. Despite her self-indulgent dive into genres her former Disney contemporaries, Selena Gomez and Demi Lovato, didn't even hesitate to make a jump for in their respective releases of 2013, Bangerz has a hit-or-miss quality to it many experimental pop records tend to have, except none of Ms. Cyrus' work sounds adventurous enough to be considered experimental—let alone like "the next Thriller", as Cyrus herself said while discussing her intentions with the album.

    What's more disappointing about Bangerz than its average at best quality? The overall consistency—or inconsistency. Whereas moments like lead single "We Can't Stop" or the Britney Spears-featured "SMS (Bangerz)" explore Cyrus' desire to make more urban-oriented 'bangers' and emulate her current public image, listeners have to re-experience her previous album Can't Be Tamed all over again: party on the surface, completely heartbroken teeny-bop-esque ballads all over the inside. The mood largely suffers from separating the party from the teary-eyed Tennessean that's constantly telling us "everything's okay" before breaking into ex-fiancé-induced tears on the couch again.

    But on the otherhand, Bangerz musically sounds safer and more satisfying when it comes to ballads and truth be told, it sounds more sincere on the singer's part. Even in an industry latched on by manufacturers where the songwriting has probably already been in conception by music executives since before the album's conception itself, Cyrus has one of the most naturally beautiful voices in that industry today, especially when she's closer to her country roots. The opener "Adore You", Mike WILL Made-It-produced "Drive", and of course, one of the most memorable guilty pleasures of 2013, "Wrecking Ball", are only half as solid as they are not because of the stories told by their songwriters, but because of the voice of the storyteller herself.

    And then on cringeworthy courses like "Love Money Party" and will.i.am's already unwanted appearance on the production and co-writing credits of "Do My Thang", Miley Cyrus' 'so-southern belle/crazier than hell' alter ego comes out to rap and to be honest, she's just not that fun—or fun to listen to. And neither are her friends—collaborators. Nobody needs Nelly in this newer generation of music, let alone toward the end of an overall okay job at southern hip-hop courtesy of Cyrus and Pharrell Williams. Future and Cyrus' duet on "My Darlin'" turns Ben E. King's 1961 classic "Stand By Me" into an Auto-Tune clad mountain of murmering about making a sex-tape—in 3D! Though Britney Spears and Big Sean deserve honorable mentions for making some sort of use of their signature vocal stylings—yes, Spears still has those when she herself is clad in computer-enhancements—they're not appearances we'll remember in the long run.

    Unless frequent uses of the f-bomb and references to cannabis use are actually still considered "racy" in this day and age, Bangerz never warrants the kind of talk Cyrus constantly calls upon all of us to do. It's not failure by any means and there are minor successes like "We Can't Stop" and "Wrecking Ball". But ten years after the Bangerz era, it's not the music that we'll be talking about. Though Cyrus has insisted that she despises the idea of her being labeled a pop star, everything we'll remember from this time in her career represents everything despicable about the genre and that's when a musician's celebrity becomes more important than the musician herself or rather, the music itself. Like Lady Gaga and her meat dress or Britney, Christina Aguilera, and Madonna's on-stage make-out session, Cyrus lighting up a joint at the EMAs is no different. It's a career-highlight that's there for the sake of shock value more than it is to promote that singer's latest single or record.
    Expand
  68. Oct 25, 2013
    4
    Ignoring Miley's "new image" this album just feels forced. She doesn't sound comfortable rapping and her trying to be "bad-ass" just makes this whole album kind of pathetic. This album adds nothing new to pop music, everything on this album has already been done before. Not very likable, doesn't sound all that great (Miley's southern "twang" in her voice makes some sound completelyIgnoring Miley's "new image" this album just feels forced. She doesn't sound comfortable rapping and her trying to be "bad-ass" just makes this whole album kind of pathetic. This album adds nothing new to pop music, everything on this album has already been done before. Not very likable, doesn't sound all that great (Miley's southern "twang" in her voice makes some sound completely awkward) and a complete re-hash of things that have already been done. We get it, Miley. You're not Hannah Montana anymore. But completely alienating your fan base in order to promote this...then it's just not all that good...it's gonna be hard to come back from this disaster. Expand
  69. May 25, 2014
    4
    This album was really unappealing. I really struggled to listen to every track on the album without skipping to the next. The "Mike Will Made It" mantra got irritating after a while, since you hear it throughout a majority of the album. Of an entire 30 minutes (or however long the album was) Wrecking Ball and We Can't Stop are the only 2 decent track, despite them being overplayed.This album was really unappealing. I really struggled to listen to every track on the album without skipping to the next. The "Mike Will Made It" mantra got irritating after a while, since you hear it throughout a majority of the album. Of an entire 30 minutes (or however long the album was) Wrecking Ball and We Can't Stop are the only 2 decent track, despite them being overplayed. "Scissorz" would have been a better title, for there was nothing about it that "Bangz" Expand
  70. Mar 19, 2014
    7
    This review is based on production value and not on any sort of my music taste level. Honestly, it's not the worst to come out of modern pop "crap." This "stomachable" album proves that Miley may have what it takes to win over the hearts of millions, in both an overwhelmingly negative light, and a bright positive one. Based on her success, this album achieved what it needed to. A ratherThis review is based on production value and not on any sort of my music taste level. Honestly, it's not the worst to come out of modern pop "crap." This "stomachable" album proves that Miley may have what it takes to win over the hearts of millions, in both an overwhelmingly negative light, and a bright positive one. Based on her success, this album achieved what it needed to. A rather catchy listen is tracks such as "Wrecking Ball" and "We Can't Stop." The only song in my opinion that truly drops the albums value is "Do My Thang." Other than that, a worthy pop entry. Expand
  71. AGK
    Jan 2, 2014
    3
    I might not like her music but she's pretty smart, she moved on from being a child's entertainer and now look where she is, she is being hated on by hannah montana fans and others and she is making more money. she might be a terrible singer but she's smart.
  72. Oct 8, 2013
    5
    It has stranges sounds, it is very diferent to the other Miley we had met, but is a good one. I was waiting for more because the singles are very strong, but the rest of the album is very diferent, there are songs that are good, but there are other ones that the lyrics and the melodies are totally failures, the combination of hip-hop and pop she could do it good, in others was awfull. IIt has stranges sounds, it is very diferent to the other Miley we had met, but is a good one. I was waiting for more because the singles are very strong, but the rest of the album is very diferent, there are songs that are good, but there are other ones that the lyrics and the melodies are totally failures, the combination of hip-hop and pop she could do it good, in others was awfull. I think it is a 50% of a good álbum, and another 50% of an awful one. Expand
  73. Oct 12, 2013
    9
    Miley is back with a new image and a new sound. Leave aside the atrocious cover, her album serves just what we can expect from a pop girl and maybe a bit more with some influences from R&B, hip-hop and country. It's not something you hear a lot from this industry and it represents Cyrus's vision. Out of 16 songs, Pharell-produced tracks are probably the best.
  74. Dec 6, 2013
    10
    is new is good is the best album pop of this year everyone thing in this album make you think about the life about your relationship about your family friends and your way
  75. Oct 24, 2013
    4
    On the follow-up to 2010's 'Can't Be Tamed', Cyrus is able to portray to listeners the fact that she has obviously left behind her Disney Channel image for a more provocative and post-adolescent image; which is in some ways mature and in other ways immature. 'Bangerz' has some strong moments: "We Can't Stop", "Wrecking Ball", "#GetItRight", "FU", and "Someone Else" are album highlights;On the follow-up to 2010's 'Can't Be Tamed', Cyrus is able to portray to listeners the fact that she has obviously left behind her Disney Channel image for a more provocative and post-adolescent image; which is in some ways mature and in other ways immature. 'Bangerz' has some strong moments: "We Can't Stop", "Wrecking Ball", "#GetItRight", "FU", and "Someone Else" are album highlights; however songs like the country-rap disaster "4x4" and the pop rap mess "SMS (Bangerz)" show that Cyrus' vocal talent is still developing and that she is obviously still trying to find the right sound.

    'Bangerz', as expected, contains a lot of upbeat hip-pop tracks that at times are great but at times extremely annoying; but also contains some slower ballads that again are at times great but at times very cheesy and milquetoast. It would be nice to say that songs like the galloping, banging, dub-pop-hop masterpiece "FU" and the super-fun single "We Can't Stop" make up for the album's more lackluster tracks; but after listening to 'Bangerz' in its entirety; the bad largely overshadows the good. In conclusion, 'Bangerz' is nowhere near a good album but its not horrible either. 'Bangerz' probably contains enough hits to keep Cyrus musically relevant until the end of its album cycle, but the majority of its sixteen tracks quickly become tiresome and forgettable.
    Expand
  76. Nov 1, 2013
    6
    It's fun. While the songs are generic, the songs are at the same time fun. I just wish all the auto tune muck wasn't all over everything on this album.
  77. Nov 3, 2013
    10
    Sink or swim, Miley swims like a champ...love her or hate her, how or why would anyone do the latter? A star is born with "Bangerz" being an exotic mesmerizing mix of musical styles with stellar & very soulful Miley vocals front and center, now it's apparent Hanna Montana has left the building for good, or as Miley reported on a "Saturday Night Live" update recently, she was murdered!Sink or swim, Miley swims like a champ...love her or hate her, how or why would anyone do the latter? A star is born with "Bangerz" being an exotic mesmerizing mix of musical styles with stellar & very soulful Miley vocals front and center, now it's apparent Hanna Montana has left the building for good, or as Miley reported on a "Saturday Night Live" update recently, she was murdered!
    Listening throughout this amazing versatile set, clearly this captivating artist found her musical direction, delivering a fascinating collection that is highly entertaining being filled with enthralling heart & soulful vocals that one can't stop listening to...who knew little Hanna Montana would hit such lofty musical heights as a spectacular mature young artist who is also something else on the world stage...welcome Miley Cyrus, your time is now & and sweetheart it is clear you have made it BIG TIME! This jammin' set full of credible artistry is going to go through the roof...
    Expand
  78. Nov 4, 2013
    2
    The only reason this album is talked about is the fact that she does provocative things. The only song i can use is Sms Bangerz due to the Britney collaboration.
  79. Nov 5, 2013
    5
    Con tanta controversia que vi en la televisión y con los singles de Miley We Can't Stop y Wrecking Ball dije wooow esta chica viene con todo, pero que paso cuando salio Bangerz? Decepción total, solo son rescatables como 4 canciones del album y ni siquiera son las mejores canciones, fue muy frustrante.
  80. Nov 16, 2013
    7
    A very fun, catchy, and vocally impressive album. After a big change in her life, this album proves that Miley still got it, except brings it to a higher and more mature level. However, some song such as "Do My Thang" and the title track lack substance and create an album with unnecessary fillers.
  81. Nov 11, 2013
    10
    New reviewer reviewing my top cd's of 2013 this cd is so fun, cheecky, romantic, dramatic, intense, and I think she will be around a long time love it!
  82. Nov 14, 2013
    1
    Few listenable songs. Each song is similar to another. Predictable lyrics. We can all admit that she is just a singer who can only release two good singles. The rest of the album is trashy
  83. Dec 3, 2013
    10
    THE NEW LOOK OF MILEY MAKES THIS ALBUM IS PERFECT WITH MANY ELECTRONIC BOOM, POP TRUE IF THESE ALSO NOTING THAT WHEN HIP HOP AND RAP IS MILEY IS THE BEST, AND SO heartbreaking BALADAS THAT MAKE YOU A TRANSPORT ANOTHER WORLD EVER HEAR THAT
  84. Feb 18, 2014
    7
    As much as I hate to say this, the album is actually not that bad. I was expecting an album full of explicit lyrics and all the tweaks that are just seeking for attention, but it's quite different. Yeah, there's a few swear words here and there but not that much as I imagined. The album has some good songs. No song is better than 'We Can't Stop', but they complement it very well!
  85. Dec 13, 2013
    0
    How many changes is up to a Miley Cyrus for a hit? Miley is the perfect way to see that #1 is NOT all that matters. She was a gorgeous and cute teenage girl, but now, just an attwh*re.
    Sincerely, Party In The U.S.A. is better than this whole album.
  86. Dec 21, 2013
    4
    I think this album could have been better. Save a few really good songs, what remains is a wannabe rapper. To me, you did not come as a wrecking ball, because even with all marketing strategy, you are unable to have an excellent performance with his album, which means it really is not good! I love you Miley, but not this time!
  87. Dec 27, 2013
    0
    Este disco realmente no me provoca nada, debería de ser usado como metodo de tortura... Tiene los peores videos del año y las canciones ni siquiera se te quedan en la cabeza.
  88. Jan 2, 2014
    10
    This album is definitely a milestone from her last album. Her new mature sound really shows how much Miley Cyrus has progressed as an artist. With "We Can't Stop" and "Wrecking Ball" as the first two singles, Cyrus clearly can do no wrong with this album.
  89. Jan 7, 2014
    10
    This album is as annoying and insignificant as pricking the sole of your naked foot on an old toenail clipping embedded in the carpet.
    The consistant droning abuse of electronic drum tracks throughout the album as well as Miley's everlasting need to prove her carefree, "I don't give a reputation slaughters all stray inklings of musicality and creativity.
    As much as it pains me, Miley
    This album is as annoying and insignificant as pricking the sole of your naked foot on an old toenail clipping embedded in the carpet.
    The consistant droning abuse of electronic drum tracks throughout the album as well as Miley's everlasting need to prove her carefree, "I don't give a reputation slaughters all stray inklings of musicality and creativity.
    As much as it pains me, Miley Cyrus has caught the 5 second attention span of our nation, and, I will admit...her music is catchy as hell.
    We all cringe and crinkle up our noses in disgust as we see her small, pale ass twerking across our television screens, but when we hear one of her trashy anthems, we jokingly sing along. And you know what America? We know all the words.
    How do we react? We chastise her. We point and laugh. We exploit her ridiculousness throughout the internet, creating forums and memes and parody videos. As the ever-analytical American public, we all reach out and connect over the most ridiculous celebrity of 2013. Miley is a fool. Instant friendships created, creative feedback brainstormed, all of this hype and excitement distracting and entertaining us from the bowels of our own mundane lives. All of this achievable over one celebrity.
    In the midst of this hysteria, Miley herself sits back in her Plumebanche sofa--joint in one hand, a slim-fast shake in the other-- and smirks as every teenage American spends their allowance money on her album and hollywood reporters line up at her door. And as she purchases another set of diamod encrusted brass knuckles to wear in her next video, young Americans can barely afford an outfit from their local mall. Now ask yourself; who's the fool now?
    Expand
  90. Jan 26, 2014
    10
    Miley Is BACK WITH A VENGEANCE! The world better look out! I am a true smiler. Ive been obsessed with her since with 2006, and ive stuck with her through the good and the bad. And I don't give a crap what scandalous, provocative things she does, a fan is a fan. This album is THE BOMB! Leaving Hollywood Records was the best thing she ever did. Bangerz really shows a side of her never beforeMiley Is BACK WITH A VENGEANCE! The world better look out! I am a true smiler. Ive been obsessed with her since with 2006, and ive stuck with her through the good and the bad. And I don't give a crap what scandalous, provocative things she does, a fan is a fan. This album is THE BOMB! Leaving Hollywood Records was the best thing she ever did. Bangerz really shows a side of her never before seen by the general public. Disney was trying to mold her into something she not, so i don't blame her for rebelling. All that aside, i am OBSESSED with Hands In The Air. Not to mention #getitright and FU. A definite 10 Expand
  91. Feb 16, 2014
    0
    This album is not what she used to produce and in fact nothing close to that. Miley has changed, which is fine, however not in the way people would have expected. Overall not great.
  92. Feb 22, 2014
    9
    This album is proof that Hannah Montana is well and truly dead. I've never been a particularly big fan of Cyrus' music, nor of hip-hop in general, but Cyrus' authoritative and talented voice makes up for the more inferior songs, however few they may be, as when Bangerz hits the heights, it's awe-inspiring stuff with catchy hooks and a fresh fuse of Miley's new love - hip-hop - and herThis album is proof that Hannah Montana is well and truly dead. I've never been a particularly big fan of Cyrus' music, nor of hip-hop in general, but Cyrus' authoritative and talented voice makes up for the more inferior songs, however few they may be, as when Bangerz hits the heights, it's awe-inspiring stuff with catchy hooks and a fresh fuse of Miley's new love - hip-hop - and her country roots. Expand
  93. Oct 16, 2014
    0
    There is one word to describe this album: BORING

    All the songs on this album have really uninteresting ideas and a lack of creativity.I also really dislike the album due to the amount of variety put into it, making me confused with what Miley wants to do with her album... The only song that I liked for being unique is "#GETITRIGHT", a very catchy song and an otherwise good song to use
    There is one word to describe this album: BORING

    All the songs on this album have really uninteresting ideas and a lack of creativity.I also really dislike the album due to the amount of variety put into it, making me confused with what Miley wants to do with her album... The only song that I liked for being unique is "#GETITRIGHT", a very catchy song and an otherwise good song to use as a single, otherwise, it's nothing special. Imagine if Miley talk to some business men to write songs and it's her that decides what she wants for those songs, that's....lazy.

    In the end, I don't really want to be listening to this album. I would be happy to demolish it if I could because this album just bores me to death and disgusts me with the raunchy and wrong lyrics...
    Expand
  94. Feb 27, 2014
    10
    I didn't really expect much of "Bangerz", looking at MiCy's new image and the titles of the tracks, "FU" and "Love Money Party". What's with all the hashtags and abbreviations? But wow, Miley really surprised me! This is like, one of the best albums I've ever heard. "4x4", "Rooting For My Baby" and the similar "On My Own" and "FU" are my favorites.
  95. Mar 15, 2014
    10
    It's a perfect album, so crazy and so amazing. SOOO BANGERZ.It's a perfect album, so crazy and so amazing. SOOO BANGERZ. ♥♥♥♥♥♥♥♥♥♥♥♥♥♥♥♥♥♥♥♥♥♥♥♥♥♥♥♥♥♥♥♥♥♥♥♥♥♥♥♥♥♥♥♥♥♥♥♥♥♥♥♥♥♥♥♥♥♥♥♥♥♥♥♥♥♥♥♥♥♥♥♥♥♥♥♥♥♥♥♥♥♥♥♥♥♥♥♥♥♥♥♥♥♥♥♥♥♥♥♥♥♥♥♥♥♥♥♥♥♥♥♥♥♥♥♥♥♥♥♥♥♥♥♥♥♥♥♥♥♥♥♥♥♥♥♥♥♥♥♥♥♥♥♥♥♥♥♥♥♥♥♥♥♥♥♥♥♥♥♥♥♥♥♥♥♥♥♥♥♥♥♥♥♥♥♥♥♥♥♥♥♥♥♥♥♥♥♥♥♥♥♥♥♥♥♥♥♥♥♥♥♥♥♥♥♥♥♥♥♥♥♥♥♥♥♥♥♥♥♥♥♥♥♥♥♥♥♥♥♥♥♥♥♥♥♥♥♥♥♥♥♥♥♥♥♥♥♥♥♥♥♥♥♥♥♥♥♥♥♥♥♥♥♥♥♥♥♥♥♥♥♥♥♥♥♥♥♥♥♥♥♥♥♥♥♥♥♥♥♥♥♥♥♥♥♥♥♥♥♥♥♥♥♥♥♥♥♥♥♥♥♥♥♥♥♥♥♥♥♥♥♥♥♥♥♥♥♥♥♥♥♥♥♥♥♥♥♥♥♥♥♥♥♥♥♥♥♥♥♥♥♥♥♥♥♥♥♥♥♥♥♥♥♥♥♥♥♥♥♥♥♥♥♥♥♥♥♥♥♥♥♥♥♥♥♥♥♥♥♥♥♥♥♥♥♥♥♥♥♥♥♥♥♥♥♥♥♥♥♥♥♥♥♥♥♥♥♥♥♥♥♥♥♥♥♥♥♥♥♥♥♥♥♥♥♥♥♥♥♥♥♥♥♥♥♥♥♥♥♥♥♥♥♥♥♥♥♥♥♥♥♥♥♥♥♥♥♥♥♥♥♥♥♥♥♥♥♥♥♥♥♥♥♥♥♥♥♥♥♥♥♥♥♥♥♥♥♥♥♥♥♥♥♥♥♥♥♥♥♥♥♥♥♥♥♥♥♥♥♥♥♥♥♥♥♥♥♥♥♥♥♥♥♥♥♥♥♥♥♥♥♥♥ Expand
  96. Apr 12, 2014
    7
    This album is carefree, I can tell you that.

    Miley Cyrus' new outing, Bangerz, is a solid album and is different from her Pop/Country albums. It introduces more genres and each song is different from each other. When you listen near the end of the album though, it feels dragged along and rushed. The first half of the album would have been fine on its own, as the other half is full of
    This album is carefree, I can tell you that.

    Miley Cyrus' new outing, Bangerz, is a solid album and is different from her Pop/Country albums. It introduces more genres and each song is different from each other.

    When you listen near the end of the album though, it feels dragged along and rushed. The first half of the album would have been fine on its own, as the other half is full of awkward songs with terrible production.
    Expand
  97. May 24, 2014
    10
    This Album is so perfect !! F**nking Bangerz, featuring with Britney Spears, Nelly, French Montana. This vocal is amazing, only e powerfull, I love Miley Cyrus, she's a best teen singer in the world
  98. Jul 10, 2014
    8
    This is my favorite Miley album. Love R&B sounds, more urban than popish, that's what I really love about the album. She's exploring new sounds and that's amazing.
  99. Oct 26, 2014
    0
    album meio bosta ela querendo atenção com as letras de baixo calão a unica que presta é é WB porem teve um clipe desesperado por atenção e nao teve nada aver com a musica e vulgar
  100. Nov 12, 2014
    5
    1. Adore You - ✩✩✩
    2. We Can't Stop - ✩✩✩✩
    3. SMS (Bangerz) [feat. Britney Spears] - ✩✩✩✩✩ 4. 4X4 (feat. Nelly) - ✩✩✩✩ 5. My Darlin' (feat. Future) - ✩✩✩ 6. Wrecking Ball - ✩✩✩ 7. Love Money Party - ✩✩ 8. #GETITRIGHT - ✩✩✩✩ 9. Drive - ✩✩✩ 10. FU (feat. French Montana) - ✩✩✩ 11. Do My Thang - ✩✩✩✩ 12. Maybe You're Right - ✩✩✩✩ 13.Someone Else - ✩✩✩
    1. Adore You - ✩✩✩
    2. We Can't Stop - ✩✩✩✩
    3. SMS (Bangerz) [feat. Britney Spears] - ✩✩✩✩✩
    4. 4X4 (feat. Nelly) - ✩✩✩✩
    5. My Darlin' (feat. Future) - ✩✩✩
    6. Wrecking Ball - ✩✩✩
    7. Love Money Party - ✩✩
    8. #GETITRIGHT - ✩✩✩✩
    9. Drive - ✩✩✩
    10. FU (feat. French Montana) - ✩✩✩
    11. Do My Thang - ✩✩✩✩
    12. Maybe You're Right - ✩✩✩✩
    13.Someone Else - ✩✩✩
Metascore
61

Generally favorable reviews - based on 21 Critics

Critic score distribution:
  1. Positive: 9 out of 21
  2. Negative: 3 out of 21
  1. Oct 24, 2013
    20
    We get a record that is surprisingly dull, which alternates between syrupy, unremarkable ballads and uptempo tracks that sound like they’ve been assembled by a committee of consultants.
  2. 40
    It's full of timid electropop anthems.
  3. Oct 10, 2013
    30
    Sometimes, like on the outstanding "Wrecking Ball," the emotion calcifies into catchy, mature hooks, propelled forth by Cyrus' oft-underestimated vocal heft. Then again, the breakup also produced "FU," a dismally adolescent electro-soul duet with French Montana.