Madvillainy

User Score
8.7

Universal acclaim- based on 443 Ratings

User score distribution:
  1. Negative: 37 out of 443

Review this album

  1. Your Score
    0 out of 10
    Rate this:
    • 10
    • 9
    • 8
    • 7
    • 6
    • 5
    • 4
    • 3
    • 2
    • 1
    • 0
    • 0
  1. Submit
  2. Check Spelling
  1. Aug 19, 2010
    10
    This is one of very few albums in the rap world where I can jam to the entire album without skipping a song. Doom, being probably my personal favorite rapper, does some of his best work on this album. I heard this album being my first Madlib experience, and I was wowed. Most people don't appreciate the rap DOOM spits, but if you follow along to each spoken word, Doom is probably one ofThis is one of very few albums in the rap world where I can jam to the entire album without skipping a song. Doom, being probably my personal favorite rapper, does some of his best work on this album. I heard this album being my first Madlib experience, and I was wowed. Most people don't appreciate the rap DOOM spits, but if you follow along to each spoken word, Doom is probably one of the top ten most talented MC's of the world. Listen to this, this is BANGIN! Expand
  2. Oct 1, 2010
    10
    This review contains spoilers, click expand to view. It is strange that the album already downloaded, is different rhymes, beats different, but the sound has an incredible quality;

    A good rap underground, MF DOOM rhymes short, dark and no chorus. Already in the beats, sounds of Madlib uses film clips, cartoons and even accordion, one thing is very complex and different from what happens in the mainstream;
    Expand
  3. Nov 18, 2010
    9
    Truly the best hip-hop album ever made. Can you even imagine the amount of work they've put in to pick the samples? These weren't produced in no studio or whatever, these were hand-picked from a ceiling-high stack of vinyl.

    Kudos to them. Their efforts certainly have not been in vain.
  4. Jan 24, 2011
    10
    Some people seem just not to GET IT. I hate to phrase it in such a such a way, because everyone is entitled to their opinion, but that's the way it is. For one, both the word play of MF Doom, and the mixing of Madlib destined this album to be extremely polarizing from the get go. Not everyone is going to love it, some are going to hate it, but most just won't get it. It's intentionally aSome people seem just not to GET IT. I hate to phrase it in such a such a way, because everyone is entitled to their opinion, but that's the way it is. For one, both the word play of MF Doom, and the mixing of Madlib destined this album to be extremely polarizing from the get go. Not everyone is going to love it, some are going to hate it, but most just won't get it. It's intentionally a jumbled mess of near silliness, that switches between abstract tracks and specific concepts, but it blends the two seamlessly. It's an album that if you want to hear jaw dropping punchlines and crazy metaphors, you're not going to get until the third listen or so; if you want head nodding beats you're not going to get because the tracks are too short and all over the place. BUT if you're willing to look past the 'weird' nature of the album, you'll hear the masterpiece underneath. And if you give it a chance and listen 2,3, 4 times you'll get something different out of it every time. This album gets a 10/10 from me, because it's so out there that it's brilliant. MF Doom will never be an artist that everyone can appreciate it, but if you give him a chance he might just surprise you.

    Oh, and Accordion is EASILY one of the greatest songs ever, of any genre.
    Expand
  5. Oct 29, 2011
    10
    One of the BEST hip-hop album of all time. I'm honored that I had the opportunity to listen and own this album. The album is genius! Madlib is a awesome producer and MF Doom, is an amazing rapper (and also a producer). Because of this album, I'm a big fan of Madvillian. Can't wait for their next album together!
  6. Mar 1, 2011
    10
    Probably the best hip-hop album i have heard in my entire life, make sure you listen to it from start to finish. Very original and heaps of clever lyrics and nice beats. Absolutely quality hip-hop.
  7. Apr 27, 2011
    10
    This album took me for a long ride and on the way explained what was wrong with mainstream rap and how the glory days are long gone. the production from Madlib were topped with a combination of lyrics that were just as strange but incredibly artistic from the undergrounds most treasured lyricst MF DOOM. Losg story short, it just matched perfectly. The unorthodox flow and the mysteriousThis album took me for a long ride and on the way explained what was wrong with mainstream rap and how the glory days are long gone. the production from Madlib were topped with a combination of lyrics that were just as strange but incredibly artistic from the undergrounds most treasured lyricst MF DOOM. Losg story short, it just matched perfectly. The unorthodox flow and the mysterious melodies put my brain into pondering mode and concluded that anything unseen by the public could easily be the best thing around. Hip hop whould be briefly revived by this album and still carrys a strong position as the best hip hop album of its decade. Expand
  8. Jul 19, 2011
    10
    The best underground album of all-time. The entire album flows from beginning to end; a sequel is needed ASAP. No hooks because none are necessary when an MC as skilled as this handles the microphone
  9. j30
    Sep 28, 2011
    9
    A very entertaining, inventive Hip-Hop album with no boundaries. Like nothing you've ever heard.
  10. Jan 18, 2014
    10
    I can't believe it! Almost 10 years after this album came out, it's only recently that I finally get it! I was one of the people who was interested (in major part due to all the amazing reviews it was getting) but didn't "get it". I tried, but for whatever reason it never clicked w me. Well that's changed. It's incredible! To hear this album properly, play it through some really goodI can't believe it! Almost 10 years after this album came out, it's only recently that I finally get it! I was one of the people who was interested (in major part due to all the amazing reviews it was getting) but didn't "get it". I tried, but for whatever reason it never clicked w me. Well that's changed. It's incredible! To hear this album properly, play it through some really good headphones. Any doubt will be erased. It's an all-time classic! So check it out - it's aged really well & still sounds like nothing else. Expand
  11. Nov 6, 2011
    10
    A masterpiece. MF DOOM is one of the most talented rappers I have ever heard (and I've heard 100's of albums), and Madlib is one of the greatest and most diverse producers in the world. The combination of the two works extremely well, as the two have a very similar sound. This is a must for any hip hop fan to listen to.
  12. Jan 14, 2012
    10
    a simply mind-blowing record... DOOM lays down his signature twisted lyricism and flow over equally warped and perfectly crafted beats from the one and only Madlib. simply put, this is a landmark hip hop record. must own for all underground rap fans
  13. Jun 21, 2012
    8
    The beats are mostly good. Some of them seem out of place. DOOM has good rhymes. The low ratings seem to be from children who are expecting "gangsta rap". This has very few themes regarding violence or sexuality. It's truly poetry, over nice sounds.
    Deduct one point for some weird beats, and another for some out of place silences from DOOM.
  14. Jul 13, 2012
    10
    This is where true rap and hip-hop is. This is what most rap artists are missing. Originality. It has it's own independent style in the lyrically and production department. Perfection, literally...
  15. Sep 8, 2012
    9
    Fantastic album which has stood the testament of almost a decade. MF Doom continues to release unprecedented rhymes over classic Madlib instrumentals. A true hip-hop classic.
  16. Dec 28, 2012
    9
    I' m not big into hip-hop, but I think this, like some other albums from this genre (The Money Store, The Grey Album) is a masterpiece. The singles (like All Caps or Accordion) are delightful, and the other tracks are also great. The group relies equally on the abstract rhymes of MF Doom and Madlib's Jazz Influenced Beats. However, the feat. on Raid and MF's "singing" on Great Day aren'tI' m not big into hip-hop, but I think this, like some other albums from this genre (The Money Store, The Grey Album) is a masterpiece. The singles (like All Caps or Accordion) are delightful, and the other tracks are also great. The group relies equally on the abstract rhymes of MF Doom and Madlib's Jazz Influenced Beats. However, the feat. on Raid and MF's "singing" on Great Day aren't amazing. Overall, a great record and a great introduction to underground Hip-Hop. Expand
  17. Mar 9, 2013
    10
    this album might be great to you if you're into weird rap, but if you're a fan of all types of rap, this will just seem good, songs like all caps are gems
  18. Jun 14, 2013
    9
    I don't even know why I'm bothering to review this, everyone should know by now how great this thing is, Seriously, I've yet to hear another hip-hop album as creative (while also being consistently catchy and crisp) quite like this one
  19. Oct 24, 2013
    10
    I was going to write a review on the albums 10th anniversary, but I just couldn't wait. After almost 10 years, Madvillainy has etched itself in the history of underground hip hop and is truly a classic to hip hop listeners who appreciate very complex rhyme schemes and carefully put together production. MF DOOM (remember all caps) covers an incredibly large range of topics, and each of hisI was going to write a review on the albums 10th anniversary, but I just couldn't wait. After almost 10 years, Madvillainy has etched itself in the history of underground hip hop and is truly a classic to hip hop listeners who appreciate very complex rhyme schemes and carefully put together production. MF DOOM (remember all caps) covers an incredibly large range of topics, and each of his very clever verses are backed up perfectly by individually unique beats by Madlib. Even Madlib and his alter ego, 'Quasimoto' step in to help the Villain on the lyrics (see: America's Most Blunted, Shadows of Tomorrow). It's hard for me to put into words how great this album is, and writing a 'favourite tracks' list would be silly since this album is perfect to me, but I will name the songs that I think show both Madlib's and DOOM's skills at each their own position: Accordion, Meat Grinder, Curls, Figaro, Strange Ways, All Caps, Great Day, Rhinestone Cowboy. Expand
  20. Dec 31, 2013
    10
    This album is amazing. It's one of my favorite albums, and I am not even a big fan of hip hop. MF DOOM's imaginative rhymes and Madlib's excellent and lush production make this album one that absolutely needs to be in your collection.
  21. Nov 8, 2013
    9
    There is no doubt in my mind that 'Madvillainy' has managed to convert hipsters and musical intellectuals into avid hip-hop listeners. It is a record that has inspired underground rap in a way not seen since 'Paul's Boutique'. For those who think that this album is overrated, you're missing the point. This album was never intended to be a game-changer, so there's no irony. It just requiresThere is no doubt in my mind that 'Madvillainy' has managed to convert hipsters and musical intellectuals into avid hip-hop listeners. It is a record that has inspired underground rap in a way not seen since 'Paul's Boutique'. For those who think that this album is overrated, you're missing the point. This album was never intended to be a game-changer, so there's no irony. It just requires several listens to fully appreciate, just like any album worth its salt. Expand
  22. Apr 7, 2016
    10
    This album is a n absolute masterpiece, by the far greatest hip hop album of all time. Nothing comes close not straight outta Compton, not enter the wu-tang and not even illmatic.
  23. Apr 12, 2017
    10
    I would kill to have a tenth of the talent that these two musicians present on this album. Madvillainy is arguably the most important collaboration of all time bringing together the rhyme master himself doom, with the beat master Madlib. The album is often cited by MC's as an inspiration and I feel that many elements from To Pimp a Butterfly first make an appearance here. Spectacular albumI would kill to have a tenth of the talent that these two musicians present on this album. Madvillainy is arguably the most important collaboration of all time bringing together the rhyme master himself doom, with the beat master Madlib. The album is often cited by MC's as an inspiration and I feel that many elements from To Pimp a Butterfly first make an appearance here. Spectacular album through and through! Expand
  24. May 14, 2014
    10
    excellent album, great production by madlib great flow by doom. the best abstract hip hop in my opinion.. track after track doom stays consistent, the skits on this thing fit in well this was a game changer back in 04
  25. Mar 21, 2015
    10
    Madvillainy is one of the top five rap albums of all time, no question. Doom's wordplay is intimidatingly dense, and the album is almost entirely free of hooks. Madlib's producing is the best it's ever been and pulled from all kinds of different sources. Accordion, Meat Grinder, Raid, Curls, Shadows of Tomorrow, Figaro, Strange Ways, Fancy Clown, ALL CAPS, and Rhinestone Cowboy are allMadvillainy is one of the top five rap albums of all time, no question. Doom's wordplay is intimidatingly dense, and the album is almost entirely free of hooks. Madlib's producing is the best it's ever been and pulled from all kinds of different sources. Accordion, Meat Grinder, Raid, Curls, Shadows of Tomorrow, Figaro, Strange Ways, Fancy Clown, ALL CAPS, and Rhinestone Cowboy are all individually brilliant, but the whole album is a 46 minute long high point. Expand
  26. May 6, 2017
    10
    Legitimately perfect. There are no filler tracks. No tracks that feel redundant. There's not a single piece of half-assed production on this album. MF DOOM's vocal delivery suits Madlib's production perfectly. Highlights on this album include 'Accordion', 'Fancy Clown', 'Meat Grinder', 'Figaro', and 'All Caps'. Listen to this. Now.
  27. Apr 11, 2015
    10
    10/10 ................................................................................................................................................
  28. Jun 20, 2015
    9
    Was this made in 2004? I have a hard time believing it was. With its structure, amount of tracks, the length of those tracks, and the excessive sampling (which is not a bad thing) I wouldn't even be able to believe that if this had come out in 2015, it did. What makes Madvillainy especially special is that although it feels futuristic, it takes you through a flashback of the 20th century.Was this made in 2004? I have a hard time believing it was. With its structure, amount of tracks, the length of those tracks, and the excessive sampling (which is not a bad thing) I wouldn't even be able to believe that if this had come out in 2015, it did. What makes Madvillainy especially special is that although it feels futuristic, it takes you through a flashback of the 20th century. Though the structure, tracks, and use of sampling make it feel futuristic, the samples that they used makes Madvillainy seem like it could have been made in any year from 1900 to 2100. The originality of Madvillainy is one of the things that make it a classic. The other main thing that makes it a classic is Madlib's fantastic production. The samples are all executed brilliantly and Madlib brings his own vibe to them, which I specifically love. "Accordion" made me start banging my head instantly, and the layered production of this album reminds me of the production on My Beautiful Dark Twisted Fantasy by Kanye West. I'm pretty sure that Madlib influenced Kanye very greatly. And the final piece of the puzzle is DOOM's lyricism. DOOM always spits dope rhyme after dope rhyme, and although he should definitely try to be more energetic so he doesn't come off as a boring rapper, I still think that Madvillainy would have been incomplete without Doom. I liked every song on here, except two. "Rainbows" was very weird, and although it was not terrible, it still ended up being my least favorite on the album with Doom's singing and the incomplete production (only being a sample). I didn't care for "Eye" that much either, but it was more because of the fact that DOOM wasn't on it than because it was a bad song. Overall, Madvillainy is a classic because of its production, lyricism and originality. Grade: A. Highlights: "Accordion", "Raid", "America's Most Blunted", "All Caps". Worst song: "Rainbows" Expand
  29. Apr 9, 2015
    10
    The production is crazy. The rhymes are ill. The flows are insane. This album is sonically so different from what you're used to as a hip-hop album from the 2000's album and yet in all it's strange ways it works so well. You will find yourself rewinding to hear DOOM drop some of the most 'out there' rhyme schemes on beats filled with obscurity unmatched. I've been listening to it for yearsThe production is crazy. The rhymes are ill. The flows are insane. This album is sonically so different from what you're used to as a hip-hop album from the 2000's album and yet in all it's strange ways it works so well. You will find yourself rewinding to hear DOOM drop some of the most 'out there' rhyme schemes on beats filled with obscurity unmatched. I've been listening to it for years and still do, from start to end without skipping. Expand
  30. Jul 18, 2015
    10
    a very sophisticated piece of work by MF Doom and Madlib. both are very incredible producers. I love the chemistry between these two. the production is mind blowing and the lyrical dexterity that doom brings makes it even better. a classic album by two of hip hops kings. true hip hop at its finest.
  31. Mar 27, 2016
    10
    This album is a story of two villains who just wanna throw down the strongest beats and nastiest bars known to mankind. Or are they just a couple of misunderstood boys just happened to be on the wrong side of the law?

    I never knew of these two before a certain Anthony Fantano, but damn am I glad he brought this to my attention. This is strong from start to finish and has some memorable
    This album is a story of two villains who just wanna throw down the strongest beats and nastiest bars known to mankind. Or are they just a couple of misunderstood boys just happened to be on the wrong side of the law?

    I never knew of these two before a certain Anthony Fantano, but damn am I glad he brought this to my attention. This is strong from start to finish and has some memorable songs that song so different out of succession with the album listing. If you listen to this album all in one sitting, you will get the complete story of MF Doom and Mad Lib as they take you on this musical adventure of theirs.

    My favourite tracks off of this album are without a doubt: Rhinestone Cowboy, Fancy Clown, Bistro, and Figaro.
    Expand
  32. Aug 9, 2016
    9
    9.5
    zzzzzzzzzzzzzzzzzzzzzzzzzzzzzzzzzzzzzzzzzzzzzzzzzzzzzzzzzzzzzzzzzzzzzzzzzzzzzzzzzzzzzzzzzzzzzzzzzzzzzzzzzzzzzzzzzzzzzzzzzzzzzzzzzzzzzzzzzzzzzzzzzzzzzzzzzzzzzzzzz
  33. Apr 20, 2016
    10
    The scariest rhymer in the 2000's paired up with a trippy, unusual producer. A masterpiece that is to live for many years, which inspired many young rappers in the game.
  34. Dec 5, 2016
    10
    Truly a masterpiece, clever usage of words, witty remarks and punchlines. This can be a fuel to write poetry that features the influences that Madvillainy gave to us.
  35. Apr 14, 2017
    10
    ┬┤Top 5 rap albums ever. A real masterpiece. Brilliant production from Madlib and ofcourse mental rapping from the legendary mc MF DOOM. Best songs: All caps, Meat grinder, Figaro
Metascore
93

Universal acclaim - based on 20 Critics

Critic score distribution:
  1. Positive: 20 out of 20
  2. Mixed: 0 out of 20
  3. Negative: 0 out of 20
  1. A dizzying synergy of heavy brains and chemistry, culminating in blissfully fun, irreverent, and engaging brand of record-making magic.
  2. Mojo
    90
    The wily creativity on display here is astonishing. [Jun 2004, p.114]
  3. Not only does it capture the unstructured verse of a masked maniac within a sheer net of plausibility, it parades his inner dementia among instrumental adornments of the highest order.