• Record Label:
  • Release Date:
The Black Parade Image
Metascore
79

Generally favorable reviews - based on 24 Critics What's this?

User Score
8.6

Universal acclaim- based on 568 Ratings

Your Score
0 out of 10
Rate this:
  • 10
  • 9
  • 8
  • 7
  • 6
  • 5
  • 4
  • 3
  • 2
  • 1
  • 0
  • 0
  • Summary: This highly-anticipated and highly-theatrical concept album follow's the New Jersey band's 2004 breakthrough hit 'Three Cheers For Sweet Revenge.'
Score distribution:
  1. Positive: 17 out of 24
  2. Negative: 1 out of 24
  1. The Black Parade is MCR's whole raison d'etre rolled up into one mega-decibel calling card. [Nov 2006, p.179]
  2. For the first time in what seems like a long time, here is an album that is going to be deservedly huge.
  3. This is one to file alongside 'American Idiot', 'Doolittle' and 'Nevermind' on your greatest US rock albums shelf.
  4. As with many concept albums, the concept itself gets buried beneath the show-off virtuosity, the band's ringing need to not only impress but bedazzle the listener.
  5. 80
    [It] sees them break out of the subculture in spectacular style. [Nov 2006, p.123]
  6. Tight as a unit, and apparently determined to create music that will, in one way or another, appeal to everyone, My Chemical Romance are in danger of forgetting that hooks, riffs, and yes, aggression, are also needed to stay on top of their game.
  7. It reeks of a band with ideas above their station.

See all 24 Critic Reviews

Score distribution:
  1. Negative: 39 out of 243
  1. Jul 13, 2012
    10
    Every song here stands out on its own merit and has a wonderful, catchy, theatrical sound without compromising a very raw, real feel. MyEvery song here stands out on its own merit and has a wonderful, catchy, theatrical sound without compromising a very raw, real feel. My Chemical Romance have refined and matured their sound and channelled their talent into something that seems to be able to punch you right in the stomach (in the most amazing way) again and again everytime you listen to it. 'The Black Parade' probably isn't the most inclusive album but I think anyone can appreciate "Welcome To The Black Parade", "Famous Last Words", "I Don't Love You", "Teenagers" and "The Sharpest Lives". Buying this album is definitely a risk worth taking! Collapse
  2. ShainaB
    Jan 20, 2007
    10
    The Black Parade is a great CD! I love how there is a story told throughout the CD. I can listen to the CD all day!
  3. ArielleH
    Oct 23, 2006
    10
    Download: House of Wolves you better run like the devel cuz theyre never gonna leave you alone...
  4. JessW
    Aug 8, 2007
    10
    This is the singlemost greatest album I've ever heard. I don't know how anyone can call it a "rip off" of Greenday, Sgt This is the singlemost greatest album I've ever heard. I don't know how anyone can call it a "rip off" of Greenday, Sgt Pepper's, Queen etc. The only thing connecting The Black Parade to any other band would be lyrics. The day The Black Parade came out was the day i bought it. It was a gamble to do this sort of thing and it paid off. The different genres of rock expressed in this album are a first for My Chemical Romance as Three Cheers and Bullets didn't do, but were still great albums btw. This wold be my second favourite album of 06/forever Expand
  5. DG
    Nov 24, 2006
    9
    Surprsingly original for the current day. It is melodic and echoes of wall-of-sound recordings from the sixties and seventies.
  6. PeteS
    Oct 30, 2006
    8
    Not as good as "Three Cheers for Sweet Revenge", but still a great album once it gets stuck in your head. Best tracks: "How I Disappear" and Not as good as "Three Cheers for Sweet Revenge", but still a great album once it gets stuck in your head. Best tracks: "How I Disappear" and "House of Wolves". Expand
  7. GuyH
    Oct 24, 2006
    0
    Ok - I'm only reviewing the single but if that is any indication of the 'quality' to be found on this disc then it deserves a Ok - I'm only reviewing the single but if that is any indication of the 'quality' to be found on this disc then it deserves a screeching, flouncy, unimaginative, soulless ZERO! Expand

See all 243 User Reviews