User Score
7.1

Generally favorable reviews- based on 41 Ratings

User score distribution:
  1. Positive: 32 out of 41
  2. Negative: 6 out of 41

Review this album

  1. Your Score
    0 out of 10
    Rate this:
    • 10
    • 9
    • 8
    • 7
    • 6
    • 5
    • 4
    • 3
    • 2
    • 1
    • 0
    • 0
  1. Submit
  2. Check Spelling
  1. Dec 21, 2011
    10
    Fantastic flow, and tight lyrics... but that is what you expect with Common. The only downside one could say about this album is that it sounds somewhat like his old albums... he treads familiar waters you could say... but i sure as hell don't mind that at all. Its not revolutionary or a career best or classic. Its just good wholesome rap... and sadly we don't see a lot of that these days.
  2. Dec 21, 2011
    5
    I like Common, and I have for a long time, that's why this cd was just "ok" for me. I like his flow, the beats are fine, but there's something missing for me. I think my expectations for his are so high, a conventional album just won't cut it from him anymore. It's very similar to Finding Forever for me. I did not like Universal Mind Control, but liked the idea of stepping outside of his box and trying something new. Expand
  3. Dec 22, 2011
    9
    This album is definitely the best of 2011. The production is incredible. I had no idea that No ID could create on this level. He and Kanye definitely have influenced each other in the last few years. Common lyrically played it safe, not a lot of Oooh Aaahh moments lyrically but nothing corny either. This album is definitely for the 30 something crowd.
  4. Dec 20, 2011
    10
    Best album of 2011. There is not a track on here that I didn't enjoy. Yes I will admit that I am a sucker for albums with only 1 producer, but the cohesive sound of the album should be noted. Common delivers lyrically as always. Really Really enjoy this album.
  5. Jan 9, 2012
    10
    It's a solid album that is significantly better than his experimental effort with UMC. Definitely strengthens his overall catalog, especially with songs like "The Dreamer", "Ghetto Dreams", "Blue Sky", "Sweet", "Raw", "Love I Lost" & "Cloth" all being on one disc. Solid 12 track LP, definitely worth of being in the 70's meta-score.
  6. Dec 26, 2011
    8
    This album is great, i love the beats on the album, and commons flow is just awesome.No I.D. did an amazing job, as well did common the combination of these two was a good idea now it should be a collab with common and kanye 10.
  7. Apr 3, 2012
    9
    Good album. This is probably one of his best albums. He was hungry and aggressive. I felt his anger on some tracks, but I also felt peace with the song "Celebrate". Keep up the good work Common.
  8. Feb 13, 2012
    7
    Before the release I was expecting a classic record from an artist like Common experience, expectations were correct. Overall its a good album, great performance by Common and very interesting collaboration with Maya Angelou. The best track is definitely "Ghetto Dreams" in collaboration with Nas. The sound level meeting between No.I.D. and Common is somewhat disastrous and this is perhaps the main problem of the album. Certainly will not have an impact on the standings, but the result is decent. Expand
  9. Dec 29, 2011
    7
    This album was aight but it wasnt as good as Be & Universal Mind Control. It doesnt have does that special feeling that the other albums has. If he had put more time than it could of had been better. But common disappointed me with this album i still bought but the next album better be better than this one
  10. Jan 10, 2012
    9
    Common definitely doesn't produce usual rap, as his name could suggest: he never did. Even with his 2008 effort, Universal mind control, though delivering to the ear of the hip hop lover a much more electronic sound than in the past, he tried something truly different: this new album is somehow similar in its soul, renewing the classic and retro sound that has made Common so appreciated, but winking, this time, at old school beat lovers and conscious rappers. Which is, if you ask me, a brave and truly appreciated choice. Expand
  11. Jan 26, 2012
    8
    Every song is just great and the collaborations work so well, one of the best albums I have bought. The album doesn't seem to repeat it's self in term of songs as they are all varied and interesting, Ghetto Dreams, Blue Sky and Celebrate are my personal favourites.
  12. Feb 3, 2012
    7
    What I like about this album is that it sounds like the old ones and that it's what I don't like too, changing styles (going for some other styles without forgeting who we are and what kind of music we do) for a rapper in this type of period has to be primordial if he wants people to buy his album because we are in epoch where people cannot feel the difference between bad music and REAL music... I suggest this album for people who want to relax while listening to some good rap. Expand
  13. Jun 28, 2012
    6
    I liked Common since he was called Common Sense, but thru this time his music has morphed into something I don't really like anymore. Although his rhyming skill is very tight and his subject matter is something other than the normal "rap type" stuff, I didn't like this album as it didn't seem to have a direction-sort of speak. I did like "ghetto dreams (with nas)" , "raw" and "the cloth." Worth a listen if you want to get in touch with something outside the "box." Expand
Metascore
74

Generally favorable reviews - based on 26 Critics

Critic score distribution:
  1. Positive: 19 out of 26
  2. Negative: 0 out of 26
  1. Mar 22, 2012
    80
    The fire is back in his belly. [Apr 2012, p.88]
  2. Mar 14, 2012
    80
    [Common] delivers something fresh and vibrant by applying his seasoned skills to old-school breaks, classic hooks and a measure of eclecticism. [April 2012, p.104]
  3. It's a shame the God-bothering pomp of John Legend collaboration "The Believer" spoils it all at the end.