Angel Image

Generally favorable reviews - based on 12 Critic Reviews What's this?

User Score

No user score yet- Awaiting 2 more ratings

Your Score
0 out of 10
Rate this:
  • 10
  • 9
  • 8
  • 7
  • 6
  • 5
  • 4
  • 3
  • 2
  • 1
  • 0
  • 0
  • Summary: The third full-length release for the Austin band sees the addition of the touring guitarist Matty Tommy Davidson.
Buy On

Top Track

Livin' the Dream
looks like i fell into that dream again i put my heart into it i put my life into it and then i found out it was a dream a dream i'd been livin looks... See the rest of the song lyrics
Score distribution:
  1. Positive: 10 out of 12
  2. Negative: 0 out of 12
  1. Apr 3, 2014
    The rich, roomy tonal fidelity on display is a big part of what makes Angel click.
  2. 83
    It’s a heartfelt, narcotic odyssey through the seductive pleasures of lava lamps and black light posters, a kind of escapism that comes in the same strange, silk-screened colors as the novelty lighters and t-shirts one might find at a backwoods southwestern gas station.
  3. Q Magazine
    May 20, 2014
    Almost defiantly ramshackle the mix of classy songcraft and threadbare instrumentation nonetheless makes for a compelling listen. [Jun 2014, p.118]
  4. Apr 3, 2014
    Angel feels like a continuous, slow-motion sunset on a coastline in a dream. It's new territory for Pure X, but when the elements of '70s radio rock and Sunday-morning soul come together, it results in some of their most tuneful moments.
  5. May 21, 2014
    Angel tells a story but it's nothing you haven't heard before.
  6. 70
    Overall, Pure X’s immersive charm remains intact. Only ‘Rain’ betrays the heady sonics of old.
  7. Apr 10, 2014
    It’s a well-crafted, well-performed piece of mediocrity, and that might be the most stinging disappointment of all.

See all 12 Critic Reviews

Score distribution:
  1. Positive: 0 out of
  2. Mixed: 0 out of
  3. Negative: 0 out of