User ratings in Music are temporarily disabled. More info
  • Record Label:
  • Release Date:
1989 (Taylor's Version) Image

Universal acclaim - based on 15 Critic Reviews What's this?

User Score

No user score yet- Be the first to review!

  • Summary: The re-recording of Taylor Swift's 2014 album 1989 includes five unreleased tracks.
Buy Now
Buy on
Score distribution:
  1. Positive: 14 out of 15
  2. Negative: 0 out of 15
  1. 100
    ‘Now That We Don’t Talk’ is the Vault firecracker. Not only does it fizz with ‘80s influence, but Swift’s versatile, honeyed vocals are stellar. .... The sweeping, evocative storytelling of ‘Suburban Legends’, meanwhile, calls back to the evocative detail of Swift’s previous eras, including mentions of mismatched star signs, class reunions and a ’50s gymnasium. ‘1989 (Taylor’s Version)’ feels more symbolic than her previous re-releases.
  2. Oct 26, 2023
    Swift’s remake is astonishing in its exactitude, another reminder that she is a star of a different magnitude with a mastery of her own talents and a bold business acumen. .... All of the new songs are satisfyingly deft and clever, replete with sinuous melodies, burbling synths and agitated percussion that correspond with the updated eighties stylings of the original. .... The one new song that really punches its weight with Swift’s original 1989 singles is the razor sharp Is It Over Now?
  3. Oct 27, 2023
    These subtle, interesting songs lost out to brasher, more basic tracks – Welcome to New York, Style – on the original 1989 tracklist, but who’s to say whether their inclusion would have affected Swift’s trajectory? Clearly she made a pretty good call on that front. This carbon copy of her blockbuster album doesn’t rewrite history but adds some instantly treasurable footnotes.
  4. Oct 27, 2023
    Overall, ‘1989 (Taylor’s Version)’ is excellent. The praise the original album received for its composition, songwriting and overall curation is still absolutely worthy, and will hopefully serve as a reminder of how and why Taylor Swift became one of the greatest solo artists of her generation. The tracks from the vault are exquisite and make strong additions to the album as a whole, and it would be surprising if these songs didn’t become immediate chart successes given their likeability and quality.
  5. Oct 31, 2023
    While 1989’s vault tracks aren’t necessarily as immediately attention-grabbing as those from other re-releases, they still pack an emotional punch like only Swift can deliver.
  6. Oct 30, 2023
    The album’s first half remains stronger overall, but it’s the latter half that more fully justifies the re-recording. The five new “From the Vault” tracks are all solid, though they don’t function as a true thematic and aesthetic extension of the album in the way that the additions to Red (Taylor’s Version) did.
  7. 60
    This revamp does at least serve as a reminder of the album’s untouchable greatness.

See all 15 Critic Reviews