User Score
8.4

Universal acclaim- based on 75 Ratings

User score distribution:
  1. Positive: 68 out of 75
  2. Negative: 3 out of 75
Buy Now
Buy on

Review this album

  1. Your Score
    0 out of 10
    Rate this:
    • 10
    • 9
    • 8
    • 7
    • 6
    • 5
    • 4
    • 3
    • 2
    • 1
    • 0
    • 0
  1. Submit
  2. Check Spelling
  1. Sep 9, 2017
    8
    Antisocialites uses a near perfect formula for a great pop album. Gentle sounds, consistent and concise song structure, and most importantly, catchy melodies keep the album lively and colorful throughout without overfilling or oversaturating its sound. In terms of pop music, Alvvays has hit the nail on the head. My only real complaint is the lack of diversity in both sounds and reallyAntisocialites uses a near perfect formula for a great pop album. Gentle sounds, consistent and concise song structure, and most importantly, catchy melodies keep the album lively and colorful throughout without overfilling or oversaturating its sound. In terms of pop music, Alvvays has hit the nail on the head. My only real complaint is the lack of diversity in both sounds and really interesting song topics. Expand
  2. Oct 16, 2017
    10
    This album is straight up incredible. Such an improvement on their last album and there isn't one song out of place. The singer has a great voice and the music is catchy af.
  3. Nov 27, 2017
    10
    This is an album most critics have missed the mark on, probably because they didn't give it the time and attention it deserves. There have been a lot of incredible albums in 2017, but I can't think of a more tightly written selection of pop songs with as much color and detail and texture as Alvvays's Antisocialites. There are no filler tracks here. Sweet melodies crash beautifully withThis is an album most critics have missed the mark on, probably because they didn't give it the time and attention it deserves. There have been a lot of incredible albums in 2017, but I can't think of a more tightly written selection of pop songs with as much color and detail and texture as Alvvays's Antisocialites. There are no filler tracks here. Sweet melodies crash beautifully with introspective, gloomy lyrics. The album is stylistically on point with its dream pop sound but never uses it as a crutch. Solid songwriting and performances are what carry this album to be one of the best of the year. Expand
  4. Sep 12, 2017
    10
    One of the best albums of the year. Every song is beautifully crafted and the melodies are ridiculously good and catchy. I can't get enough of the album and even the more subpar tracks on the album would be great songs on other average albums.
  5. Sep 11, 2017
    10
    Awesome pop record, love it from start to finish, everything is better, the vocals, the riffs, the production, is INSANE. Definitely these guys have matured in the right direction.
  6. Oct 12, 2017
    8
    This is a complete delight in so many ways, being an example that music as an art doesn’t confine to the humanistic desires for timeliness or freshness, since the huge dependency and ultimate success on melodic shape and delivery over everything proved vital to create a very fun and memorable work. My Score: 143/180 (Solid) = 7.9/10
  7. Sep 30, 2017
    8
    (76/100) This album is really wonderful, you can see a change in the rhythms and sounds from their debut album. It has lovely sound in every song, and sweet but clever lyrics. By hearing every track you can know that this album was made with patience and an actually good vocabulary. It feel kind of like sweet futurist surrealism.
  8. Jan 29, 2018
    8
    Sticks with one theme throughout the album, like an actual album. Fantastic dream-pop.
  9. Sep 17, 2017
    7
    After listening to Alvvays first album, I didn't find it particularly interesting. It was just generic Dream Pop that wasn't anything special. I liked some of their songs, but usually, that was more due to the brilliant lyrics rather than the songs actually being very interesting. However, this album is great and has really surprised me for how good the songs are. I love 'In Undertow' andAfter listening to Alvvays first album, I didn't find it particularly interesting. It was just generic Dream Pop that wasn't anything special. I liked some of their songs, but usually, that was more due to the brilliant lyrics rather than the songs actually being very interesting. However, this album is great and has really surprised me for how good the songs are. I love 'In Undertow' and 'Plimsoll Punks' a lot, they're great songs and they have a much more interesting, cohesive sound in addition to Molly's great lyrics and vocal delivery, which I feel was missing on their début. I think that the album is one of the better albums of this year; it's fully deserving of a 7/10, maybe even an 8 after more listens. Expand
  10. Sep 9, 2017
    10
    Alvvays manage to maintain the fantastic consistency they showed in their debut album despite having a more varied sound. Great album from start to finish. More people need to know about this band.
  11. Sep 14, 2017
    10
    Keeping the same level as the first album, but this time with more dreamy pop sound, Antisocialites is one of the best albums of 2017. Alvvays is a great band.
  12. Oct 28, 2017
    9
    Their first album was really good but this one is produced better (with Molly Rankin's voice much more up front and clear) and the album is much more consistent. Each time I listen to it, a different song stands out. I love Not My Baby, Plimsoll Punks and Hey but other great songs too. This band really crafts the songs and they all have great hooks and Molly Rankin's lyrics are subversiveTheir first album was really good but this one is produced better (with Molly Rankin's voice much more up front and clear) and the album is much more consistent. Each time I listen to it, a different song stands out. I love Not My Baby, Plimsoll Punks and Hey but other great songs too. This band really crafts the songs and they all have great hooks and Molly Rankin's lyrics are subversive and fantastic. The instrumentation is excellent without any wasted efforts. More background vocals add life to the songs. They alvvays (heh) seem to want to their songs to be like Phil Spector's wall of sound production work at his heyday and that ain't bad. Expand
  13. Jun 14, 2022
    9
    I couldn't have asked for a better return from the pop band. It's a great second album. It's not as good as the first album but there are too many great songs. Highlights: "Lollipop", "Not My Baby", "Saved by a Waif".
Metascore
77

Generally favorable reviews - based on 26 Critic Reviews

Critic score distribution:
  1. Positive: 21 out of 26
  2. Negative: 0 out of 26
  1. Oct 25, 2017
    70
    Molly Rankin’s vocals throughout the record compliment the soundscapes perfectly, fanning disappointment with hope whilst exercising a great deal of control--and an admirable lack of bias--over her ponderings.
  2. Sep 25, 2017
    70
    Antisocialites may not be a manifest step forward for Alvvays. Quieter than its predecessor on many of the songs, the album sacrifices immediacy for Rankin’s occasionally mawkish but otherwise astute poetics. But the tradeoff is worth it.
  3. Magnet
    Sep 18, 2017
    80
    An exuberant, ebullient revelation, awash in the cascading guitar work of Alec O'Hanley and Rankin's sunshiney, slapback-treated vocals, for a full power-pop effect that falls somewhere between vintage Tourists and recent Camera Obscura. [No. 146, p.53]