User Score
8.8

Universal acclaim- based on 539 Ratings

User score distribution:
  1. Negative: 15 out of 539
Buy On

Review this album

  1. Your Score
    0 out of 10
    Rate this:
    • 10
    • 9
    • 8
    • 7
    • 6
    • 5
    • 4
    • 3
    • 2
    • 1
    • 0
    • 0
  1. Submit
  2. Check Spelling
  1. Jul 22, 2015
    10
    The funny thing with most of the nay-sayers of this record is that they say that Currents is far removed from the psych-pop/rock of the first two records and that surely Kevin Parker (KP) knew he would piss off some their hardcore fans but I personally feel that this record feels like the most natural progression of Tame Impala.

    Inner Speaker, the first record, was a pure psych-pop/rock
    The funny thing with most of the nay-sayers of this record is that they say that Currents is far removed from the psych-pop/rock of the first two records and that surely Kevin Parker (KP) knew he would piss off some their hardcore fans but I personally feel that this record feels like the most natural progression of Tame Impala.

    Inner Speaker, the first record, was a pure psych-pop/rock record but even then you could already tell that KP had a thing for pop melodies and writing catchy songs. Lonerism, their second record, already took quite a bit of the psych out but there was still enough of it to sooth the psych fans.

    Currents takes pretty much all the psych out of Tame Impala and leaves us with one of the best pop records in a long while and KP wanted that exactly. It wasn't a decision to cash in or to change direction but something he's been working towards with the two previous records.

    But KP says it best on the final track of the record itself:

    "I can just hear them now
    "How could you let us down?"
    But they don't know what I found
    Or see it from this way around
    Feeling it overtake
    All that I used to hate

    Finally taking flight
    I know you don't think it's right
    I know that you think it's fake
    Maybe fake's what I like"

    Deal with it kids!!
    Expand
  2. Jun 2, 2016
    10
    When it comes to psych, Kevin Parker is the man, this shows his grow, on all the aspects of his songwriting, instrumentally, mostly as a producer, he even mixed himself, anyway, the hole album its a blast to listen to, from masterful intro "Let It Happen" to the more poppier "The Less I Know the Better", you recognize Parker's signature sound and mixing, this album its just on some other level.
  3. Oct 9, 2016
    9
    Já no 3º álbum da banda, “Currents” traz a uma viagem psicodélica e uma riqueza de detalhes de sons que trabalham de forma a seduzir o ouvinte. O mais impressionante de tudo é saber que muito antes do Kevin Parker ter o nome mais conhecido entre o público pop por trabalhar com Rihanna e Lady Gaga, é que ele compôs, tocou os instrumentos, gravou, produziu e mixou todo o “Currents” e fazendoJá no 3º álbum da banda, “Currents” traz a uma viagem psicodélica e uma riqueza de detalhes de sons que trabalham de forma a seduzir o ouvinte. O mais impressionante de tudo é saber que muito antes do Kevin Parker ter o nome mais conhecido entre o público pop por trabalhar com Rihanna e Lady Gaga, é que ele compôs, tocou os instrumentos, gravou, produziu e mixou todo o “Currents” e fazendo isso de forma criativa e impecável.
    Um álbum com guitarras, ambientações, pop e r&b revestido com rock psicodélico e letras pessoais - mas como que fazem o ouvinte se identificar - fazem de “Currents”, sem dúvidas, ser uma das melhores gravações dessa década e que Kevin tenha todo o buzz entre o público alternativo que merece, pois é um dos artistas dessa geração que é dado como genial e não decepciona, tem o talento de fazer grandes trabalhos e manter um nível elevado de qualidade em todos.
    Expand
  4. May 15, 2016
    10
    To be very honest, I have listened many albums, many songs. But this one is really very very close to my heart. It acts as a healing thing for me. Masterpiece is a perfect word for this album, soulful is another. The beautiful lines, expressed and sung, so well delights me.
    This is an album I always wanted to hear. How soulful it is, the attitude of it, the soulful songs, the overall
    To be very honest, I have listened many albums, many songs. But this one is really very very close to my heart. It acts as a healing thing for me. Masterpiece is a perfect word for this album, soulful is another. The beautiful lines, expressed and sung, so well delights me.
    This is an album I always wanted to hear. How soulful it is, the attitude of it, the soulful songs, the overall sentiment of the album....it all makes this album a pure gem, an art. Only a true artist can make such things and express so well.
    While listening the album it feels as if I'm standing in the midst of a number of musical instruments and melodies, harmonies are coming from all the sides and I'm overjoyed.
    It's somehow quite similar to "Confessions on a Dance Floor" by Madonna. The combination of Synthesizers and Guitars is worth noting.  
    Also, the Disco portions like "The Less I Know The Better" is like listening MJ's "Thriller"and Madonna's "Lucky Star" again.
    Expand
  5. Apr 11, 2017
    9
    This is Tame Impala's loudest statement yet as to why they are the best psychedelic band in business. Kevin Parker delivers on a wide range of emotion and vocal ability that only begins to scratch the surface of the depth of Currents. This is the album that Tame Impala will be most remembered for.
  6. Jul 17, 2015
    10
    I could not imagine a better direction Parker could have taken his music in, it's like a natural change of style that was bound to happen, and it did in this album, and it's dang near perfect. Buy it and listen to it!
  7. Jul 17, 2015
    10
    although I love Lonerism, can't say I miss their guitars here. just in love with the new direction. best album of the year and totally an audiophile's wet dream.
  8. Jul 17, 2015
    10
    Seriously a fantastic album from Kevin Parker, each song sparks with diversity from Kevin's unique near perfect production. It delivers on all fronts!!
  9. Jul 17, 2015
    10
    Out with the old, in with the new. Sometimes change can be good, and this album is a fantastic example of that. It stands along with Lonerism, Innerspeaker, and everything else Tame Impala has ever done.
  10. Jul 21, 2015
    8
    It's a solid psych pop/disco record although I'm not a huge fan of Kevin's voice it does have some lush production. After listening to this album, I'm still clueless as to what all the hype is about so I'll guess I'll have to check out the previous 2 Tame Impala records which I've heard a lot of good things about
  11. Jul 17, 2015
    10
    An incredible development for Kevin, showcasing he's not afraid to take risks and step in a different direction. After the psychedelic behemoth of 2012 that was 'Lonerism', it's been a bit of a wonder as to what would be next for Kevin. This album will undoubtedly divide fans, with its focus leaning more towards the electronic wonder as opposed to the effects-heavy guitar riffs thatAn incredible development for Kevin, showcasing he's not afraid to take risks and step in a different direction. After the psychedelic behemoth of 2012 that was 'Lonerism', it's been a bit of a wonder as to what would be next for Kevin. This album will undoubtedly divide fans, with its focus leaning more towards the electronic wonder as opposed to the effects-heavy guitar riffs that spurred throughout the opening two albums. I, personally, love the new sound. Songs like 'The Moment' and 'The Less I Know The Better' show off a versatility for Kevin in a different capacity, using accented synth and whirring bass loops. Lyrically, songs like 'Let It Happen' and 'Eventually' are spot on, using clever musical quirks to match the surprising heft that Kevin has woven into the words. It's an incredible journey through all things weird and wonderful, stopping off for a few moments to remind fans of what Tame Impala are all about. Kevin isn't afraid to disappear down a rabbit hole with a sound and warp it into something interstellar, and with this album he has crafted an odyssey of trance, electronica and psychadelia. Perhaps due to sit on my album of the year for 2015, Kevin has once again crafted a sound that is wholly enjoyable and indescribably well orchestrated, and even though it will soon become evident this new sound isn't for everyone - it's definitely for me. Expand
  12. Jul 23, 2015
    10
    Loveless, Kid A, Yankee Hotel Foxtrot, Lonerism are recent cases of notable albums (between so many others) which added value, proficiency and responsiveness to break new ground and to propel the momentum towards a future of great abundance of worthwhile music albums. Now, Currents joins the elite marking what should be Tame Impala's most glorious work.
  13. Jul 17, 2015
    10
    Tame Impala's new album is a perfect showcase of Kevin Parker's psychedelic talents. The beautifully-produced Currents is awash with a heady atmosphere, which Parker punctuates with his signature fuzz guitars and a whole new smorgasbord of nostalgic 80s-synth melodies. The song-writing, both lyrically and musically, is on par with Tame Impala's previous record, Lonerism, but feels uniqueTame Impala's new album is a perfect showcase of Kevin Parker's psychedelic talents. The beautifully-produced Currents is awash with a heady atmosphere, which Parker punctuates with his signature fuzz guitars and a whole new smorgasbord of nostalgic 80s-synth melodies. The song-writing, both lyrically and musically, is on par with Tame Impala's previous record, Lonerism, but feels unique and fresh in a way that one wouldn't expect from the band. Yet this all makes sense. It feels like a step in the right direction for these guys. Will it divide? Oh, undoubtedly. The best thing to do when you approach this album is simply let your inhibitions go, take a deep breath, and relax. Expand
  14. Jul 17, 2015
    10
    Tame Impala takes their signature psychedelic rock into different territories on "Currents" and I couldn't imagine them doing it any better. It's a beautiful record overall, all thanks to the genius mind of Kevin Parker, it really is a journey into his mind, and I love when artists fully express themselves in their music, Parker successfully does that. One of the best albums of the year!!!
  15. Jul 19, 2015
    9
    A phenomenal album in terms of both production and songwriting; Tame Impala prove to progress psychedelic rock/pop forward with each release. Currents is a record that takes the best aspects from several genres and seamlessly fuses them under a meticulously crafted layer of production. Tame Impala's signature driving basslines, dreamy vocals and breathtaking melodies are present as ever onA phenomenal album in terms of both production and songwriting; Tame Impala prove to progress psychedelic rock/pop forward with each release. Currents is a record that takes the best aspects from several genres and seamlessly fuses them under a meticulously crafted layer of production. Tame Impala's signature driving basslines, dreamy vocals and breathtaking melodies are present as ever on Currents, while gorgeously layered synths more or less take the place of fuzzed-out guitars. Like Tame Impala's discography itself, most of these tracks hook from the start and evolve into an unexpected beauty by the end. "Let It Happen" and "The Less I Know the Better" particularly culminate into melodic masterpieces in their final minute, while "Yes I'm Changing" contains a tension build-and-release around the 2:40 mark that must be one of Kevin Parker's greatest musical moments yet. Lyrically, the album doesn't disappoint and is a continuation of Parker's introspective delve into his psyche, focusing particularly on change and relationships. Currents is not perfect, but it is a fantastic work of art. On the current trajectory, Kevin Parker will successfully create a masterpiece that joins the ranks of rock's most revered albums (Revolver, Dark Side of the Moon); until then, we have Currents to remind us that innovative rock albums are still being made. Expand
  16. Jul 17, 2015
    10
    This album is marvelous. Just like Lonerism, Kevin Parker's lyricism & production and the band's composition are once again at the very core. With this album, Tame Impala have raised the bar one more time, fusing psychedelic rock, R&B, disco, synthpop, psychedelic pop and indie rock into one perfect album. At the end of the album, you might think that by the time this journey ends, it's asThis album is marvelous. Just like Lonerism, Kevin Parker's lyricism & production and the band's composition are once again at the very core. With this album, Tame Impala have raised the bar one more time, fusing psychedelic rock, R&B, disco, synthpop, psychedelic pop and indie rock into one perfect album. At the end of the album, you might think that by the time this journey ends, it's as if the songs have come full circle. The only songs I didn't like (but still fit) were "Nangs" and "Disciples" because they were a bit too short, but nevertheless... I'm still giving this album a 10/10.

    Anyways, enough said. GO BUY THIS ALBUM NOW!
    Expand
  17. Oct 5, 2015
    10
    Wow!
    First record in several years that's truly "jaw dropping" good.
    Been listening to this record last week. It is, simply put, AMAZING. Had listened the other two studio albums from Tame Impala for a while, and despite both also being fantastic, this one is a real masterpiece. I just can't stop listening to it. Which is odd, since I always stick with guitar driven albums. Somehow
    Wow!
    First record in several years that's truly "jaw dropping" good.
    Been listening to this record last week. It is, simply put, AMAZING.
    Had listened the other two studio albums from Tame Impala for a while, and despite both also being fantastic, this one is a real masterpiece.
    I just can't stop listening to it.
    Which is odd, since I always stick with guitar driven albums. Somehow this one is absolutely perfect with almost no guitars in it.
    Since they'll come to lollapalooza I thought, let's check the new release on apple music.
    Now I cant get enough of it.
    Superb first track 'Let It Happen' will hook you, and the rest just flows.

    This band just rocketed to my top priority as a must-see live act.
    Expand
  18. Jan 18, 2016
    8
    Contrary to what you might hear about a change of direction to be a dance record or EDM, "Currents" is not that far removed from "Lonerism". There are some more synths than before in the mix but the Tame Impala sound you know and love is found in every minute of the album. For every beat and sample, you've got a naturally played drum beat, bass line or guitar lick. They've moved fromContrary to what you might hear about a change of direction to be a dance record or EDM, "Currents" is not that far removed from "Lonerism". There are some more synths than before in the mix but the Tame Impala sound you know and love is found in every minute of the album. For every beat and sample, you've got a naturally played drum beat, bass line or guitar lick. They've moved from psychedelic rock to a more psychedelic pop sound but the change is very smooth and logical rather than a leap to the left. No one is doing the psychedelic thing on a level anywhere near them at the moment. An excellent follow up to one of the albums of 2012 in "Lonerism". The album is best listened to as a whole and Kevin Parker has clearly put much thought into the sequencing of the record - the songs slip into one another fairly seamlessly. If I were to pick one highlight, "The Moment", which comes along relatively early in the album, steals the show. Expand
  19. Sep 5, 2015
    10
    Well done, a welcome change of pace. Please try out other stuff too and try some of your old stuff next time, as both types of your music is great. .
  20. Aug 8, 2015
    9
    At first listen I didn't dig this album as much has the previous two efforts. However, after many listens it rivals Lonerism as Parker's best. Also a brave move by Parker and shows he is fearless like the very best songwriters. This album is a consummate grower :)
  21. Feb 11, 2019
    9
    Currents is eclectic, although being psychedelic music. Elements as R&B, pop, soft rock, electronic and disco were added and are very welcome, since the majority of musics are good and the album is generally consistent, despite some forgettable musics, but nothing that blows grandiose moments.
  22. Aug 7, 2015
    9
    Tame Impala's vocalist, producer, and songwriter Kevin Parker takes his music to a whole new level of synth-pop, disco, and R&B. My favorite tracks in the album are Let It Happen, The Moment, Eventually, The Less I Know the Better, and New Person, Same Old Mistakes.

    SCORE: 9/10
  23. Oct 29, 2015
    8
    One of the greatest albums of the year with a nice adition of electronic drums and less heavier synths it has really good songs in it like: the less i know the better , nangs,yes im changing just to name a few...
  24. Jan 5, 2016
    9
    I was delighted to come across this album right after New Years. Tame Impala's soft vocals mixed in with his futuristic synth sound creates a sonic dream land. Overall this album is excellent.
  25. Sep 16, 2015
    7
    Although I still prefer Innerspeaker and Lonerism to this new record, I think the shift in sound worked remarkably well. Currents is full of dreamy, hazy production and bittersweet melodies. The songwriting, for the most part, is absolutely infectious and superbly well-written. My biggest gripe with this album is the disparity between tracks. Some fail to impress nearly as much as theAlthough I still prefer Innerspeaker and Lonerism to this new record, I think the shift in sound worked remarkably well. Currents is full of dreamy, hazy production and bittersweet melodies. The songwriting, for the most part, is absolutely infectious and superbly well-written. My biggest gripe with this album is the disparity between tracks. Some fail to impress nearly as much as the highlights. I would definitely not place this album among the best of all time, but where it hits, it hits hard. Expand
  26. Dec 19, 2015
    9
    Riding off of the massive critical success that was "Lonerism," it's pretty safe to say that Perth's rollicking sons had quite a stunt to pull off to create another classic. And it's also pretty safe to say that "Currents" did just that. Whether it's the brilliant 8 minute epic opener & first single 'Let It Happen' with a 2 minute long looping segment, or the Beatles-esce 'Disciples,' theRiding off of the massive critical success that was "Lonerism," it's pretty safe to say that Perth's rollicking sons had quite a stunt to pull off to create another classic. And it's also pretty safe to say that "Currents" did just that. Whether it's the brilliant 8 minute epic opener & first single 'Let It Happen' with a 2 minute long looping segment, or the Beatles-esce 'Disciples,' the album has everything for everyone... or at least.... Non-Pre Currents T.I. fans.
    This is because of the album experimental nature, with it wanting to fuse EDM & Neo-Psychadelia together. It's not that suprising if you consider that frontman Kevin Parker teamed up with British-American producer Mark Ronson for "Uptown Special." But the album can still please loyal fans with ''Cause I'm A Man,' a Psycadelic-Slowjam that takes you through a surrealist world in which logic is defied, finely illustrated in the music video.
    "Currents" proved to be an Australian chart-topping, Grammy nominated Art-rock masterpeice that shows that Tame Impala maybe praised like The Beatles or Pink Floyd in the near future. Give this album a listen & say for yourself!
    Expand
  27. Jul 26, 2015
    10
    This is the best album of the year (so far). I know what I just said is a bold statement, but I'll stick to it. Kevin Parker's new work is better than its last, 2012's Elephant, and totally different, something that doesn't rub a lot of Tame Impala fans well. Kevin Parker has moved from the guitar-heavy sound of previous albums and uses synthesizers to drive the album's 13 superb tracks.
  28. Dec 24, 2017
    8
    After creating two of the best modern psychedelic rock albums of modern times a change of direction was a good move for Parker, if not a necessary one. Perhaps not as consistent "song for song" but a success certainly which adds a different flavour their or should I say his discography. 'Let it Happen' a definite highlight.
  29. Aug 12, 2015
    9
    Another great album by this band! The sound is great and the lyrics are just as depressing as a bad romance. Smoke a blunt, dim the lights, sip a cold one and let this album take over your mind.
  30. Jul 21, 2015
    7
    After a cracking opener with Let it Happen, I found the second half of the album a little washed out by comparison, lacking the definitive pop hooks that make Tame Impala unique. It sounded like the spaced out noodling of Pond; maybe Kev has been spending too much time hanging with his mates!
  31. Aug 4, 2015
    10
    Well, definitely this is Kevin Parker's best album. Sound has been perfected (he says he's closer to the music he wants to make o how he wants it to sound), music composition has improved and he goes more direct to what he wants to tell in each song, being more personal in his messages. Indeed, this was the logical thing to happen. Going to a different genre by giving more importance toWell, definitely this is Kevin Parker's best album. Sound has been perfected (he says he's closer to the music he wants to make o how he wants it to sound), music composition has improved and he goes more direct to what he wants to tell in each song, being more personal in his messages. Indeed, this was the logical thing to happen. Going to a different genre by giving more importance to keyboards than to guitars, playing minimalistic drums and playing a more attractive bass groove. Songs like Let it Happen, Eventually, The Less I Know the Better and 'Cause I'm a Man are the clue. Although some say the album is slower or that songs don't have something special... Well, InnerSpeaker had songs with simple guitar riffs, no complexity and still it sounded great. That's the same thing that happens in Currents. And please, it is obvious that Lonerism was and is better than InnerSpeaker. This new sound of Parker's solo-project is good and I hope he does something as good at this or better, but I think it would be pretty difficult to surpass.

    And no, Past Life isn't the worst song on Currents, I believe is one of the best of the album.
    Expand
  32. Aug 16, 2015
    9
    Though Kevin Parker might be "just another disco revivalist" in the eyes of many after hearing his new record Currents, he polishes the style to a high level of listening bliss. 8.6/10
  33. Sep 12, 2015
    10
    Different from the previous albums, unexpected but actually a logic progression from Lonerism, and probably their best work so far. It's extremely catchy, has a retro-feeling but still sounds surprisingly fresh to the ears, the lyrics are probably much deeper than in their previous works, some songs need more time to be appreciated at their just value than others. So much bands did failDifferent from the previous albums, unexpected but actually a logic progression from Lonerism, and probably their best work so far. It's extremely catchy, has a retro-feeling but still sounds surprisingly fresh to the ears, the lyrics are probably much deeper than in their previous works, some songs need more time to be appreciated at their just value than others. So much bands did fail their transition from rock to electro-pop sound, what is different and great here is that it sounds completely sincere. Expand
  34. Sep 3, 2015
    10
    Beautiful & Refreshing. Kevin Parker, as we all know is a total musical genius, and that is reflected in every song on this album. Each song is vibrant and synth-filled, and they also include a dance element.

    As many have pointed out, it is quite a change from his previous guitar filled albums Innerspeaker and Lonerism. But, change is a great thing, it's awesome that Kevin Parker is
    Beautiful & Refreshing. Kevin Parker, as we all know is a total musical genius, and that is reflected in every song on this album. Each song is vibrant and synth-filled, and they also include a dance element.

    As many have pointed out, it is quite a change from his previous guitar filled albums Innerspeaker and Lonerism. But, change is a great thing, it's awesome that Kevin Parker is branching out and evolving his musical style.

    Overall, this album is perfect, it's a beautiful new style that I've come to very much enjoy.
    Expand
  35. Jan 28, 2016
    9
    Tame Impala is awesome. Period. The part when the music was stuttering in the middle of the first track was epic. This record is simply a joy to listen to, especially when using earphones or headphones.
  36. Sep 28, 2015
    10
    This is the best album of 2015 no argue there,the album is a masterpiece created by Kevin Parker.

    Every song is a true masterpiece and was brilliantly crafted by the band Tame Impala. first of all we have The lyrics ,the lyrics are just beautiful and makes you want to listen to every song they have because you Cant have enough,after that comes the massive bass guitar that makes you
    This is the best album of 2015 no argue there,the album is a masterpiece created by Kevin Parker.

    Every song is a true masterpiece and was brilliantly crafted by the band Tame Impala. first of all we have The lyrics ,the lyrics are just beautiful and makes you want to listen to every song they have because you Cant have enough,after that comes the massive bass guitar that makes you speechless,the bass is one of The most important instruments in this album,it creates an entire atmosphere of the psychedelic sound And sounds so catchy and cool.after that comes the keyboard,the keyboard sounds like going on a trip Inside your mind,which makes you feel completely euphoric ,and than there's the drums ,the drummer is So great and connects all the instruments together to create the entire song,than there's the guitar ,the Guitar is a little hard to notice because it makes an appearance once in a while but when it does,you will Already know whats going on ,to summaries it all,Kevin Parker is a genius and this album is absolutely Perfect ,enjoy it now because in 10 years people will say this was one of the greatest albums of our time.
    Expand
  37. Nov 22, 2015
    7
    Being a huge Tame Impala fan, I wasn't too thrilled about this new electric pop sound. I was in love with how they were bring back psych rock and was expecting more greatness. Ofcourse I understand Kevin Parker has always loved 80's and 70's pop, I just feel as if he didn't put out something that was too different from what is already popular. Its hard to doubt that this albums sound andBeing a huge Tame Impala fan, I wasn't too thrilled about this new electric pop sound. I was in love with how they were bring back psych rock and was expecting more greatness. Ofcourse I understand Kevin Parker has always loved 80's and 70's pop, I just feel as if he didn't put out something that was too different from what is already popular. Its hard to doubt that this albums sound and theme came from his break up with Melody Prochet (Melody's Echo Chamber). I still had fun listening to it. I think it would have been an amazing album if the Spice Girls did it instead. Expand
  38. Feb 13, 2016
    9
    Tame Impala's third full-length album 'Currents' is one of the most enjoyable albums of the past year. It's synthpop style is excellent and the lyrics are very well written actually. The first half of the album is excellent, not a single problem with it. The songs are catchy, with good melody and fun lyrics.

    Opener 'Let It Happen' is a fantastic 7 minute track that doesn't get boring at
    Tame Impala's third full-length album 'Currents' is one of the most enjoyable albums of the past year. It's synthpop style is excellent and the lyrics are very well written actually. The first half of the album is excellent, not a single problem with it. The songs are catchy, with good melody and fun lyrics.

    Opener 'Let It Happen' is a fantastic 7 minute track that doesn't get boring at any second, followed by interlude 'Nangs' and 'The Moment' into a bunch of awesome songs.

    However I do have problems with some songs such as 'Past Life' wich, even if it's a song that I enjoy, it doesn't offer much to it. Also, main single 'Cause I'm a Man never really hooked me up and felt to popy for the record. Last couple of tracks are nothing special and the ending 'New Person, Same Old Mistakes' finishes in an OK note.

    All in all, 'Currents' is most of the time an enjoyable album: first 9 tracks are amazing and the last couple of songs are just a bit tiring and not as great as the first half.

    Stand-outs: Let It Happen, The Moment, Yes I'm Changing, Eventually, The Less I Know the Better
    Weaker tracks: 'Cause I'm a Man, Love / Paranoia
    Expand
  39. Mar 27, 2016
    9
    Believe the hype of the otherworldly disco-psychedelia that is Tame Impala's Currents. This is a clever change in direction for Kevin Parker and co. following on from Lonerism. It's the kind of album that attracts non-fans as much as it does fans, and it certainly got me into the group. You don't need to be a stoner or substance user to enjoy this; it succeeds enough on its own merits thatBelieve the hype of the otherworldly disco-psychedelia that is Tame Impala's Currents. This is a clever change in direction for Kevin Parker and co. following on from Lonerism. It's the kind of album that attracts non-fans as much as it does fans, and it certainly got me into the group. You don't need to be a stoner or substance user to enjoy this; it succeeds enough on its own merits that it grants the listener a high by just listening to it. Expand
  40. Mar 20, 2016
    9
    First review of an album and I almost felt compelled to do this album because the way it opens with Let It Happen and then I just become fully hypnotized in this record. Only issue is the verse's in Past Life the deep vocals are not really necessary.
    The Hip Flick Rating: 94/100 (A)
  41. Aug 9, 2016
    9
    9.5 nine point five
    zzzzzzzzzzzzzzzzzzzzzzzzzzzzzzzzzzzzzzzzzzzzzzzzzzzzzzzzzzzzzzzzzzzzzzzzzzzzzzzzzzzzzzzzzzzzzzzzzzzzzzzzzzzzzzzzzzzzzzzzzzzzzzzzzzz
  42. Apr 21, 2017
    9
    From the first few notes of Let It Happen, you know this album is going to be something great. Let It Happen alone is an amazing album opener and grabs your attention like nothing else. After that, you have an awesome album. The album balances out really nicely two, there's enough drama to make it interesting, the instrumentals great, the production nails it, the lyrics are o.k, but theyFrom the first few notes of Let It Happen, you know this album is going to be something great. Let It Happen alone is an amazing album opener and grabs your attention like nothing else. After that, you have an awesome album. The album balances out really nicely two, there's enough drama to make it interesting, the instrumentals great, the production nails it, the lyrics are o.k, but they definitely fit the song and the album is cohesive without the songs sounding the same. There are some more radio- friendly poppy songs and artier tracks on here.

    This album was singlehandedly made by Kevin Parker, but the product sounds like an entire studio effort.
    I salute you KP.
    Expand
  43. Jan 6, 2017
    7
    The good thing about this album is that it seems that Kevin Parker learnt some grooves when recording Daffodils with Mark Ronson - the obvious change in the basslines is the best improvement when comparing to Innerspeaker and Lonerism.

    The bad thing about this album is that you can find its vaporwave edge everywhere nowadays - and a lot of real vaporwave artists are exceeded Currents in
    The good thing about this album is that it seems that Kevin Parker learnt some grooves when recording Daffodils with Mark Ronson - the obvious change in the basslines is the best improvement when comparing to Innerspeaker and Lonerism.

    The bad thing about this album is that you can find its vaporwave edge everywhere nowadays - and a lot of real vaporwave artists are exceeded Currents in terms of mixing some experimentalism with pop influences.

    Still, KP is a bizarre creative genius. Even though some songs were ditched later on by the own Kevin himself (like when he said that "The Less I Know The Better" shouldn't even belong to Currents, despite it's one of the best songs in it), it's a pretty decent album.
    Expand
  44. Feb 28, 2017
    9
    This album is a good experiment by Kevin Parker. It's essentially the same as their other stuff, just more airy, and it has disco and soft rock flavours. It's not worse, I just don't like it as much. It's completely a matter of opinion as to what Tame Impala album is your favourite.
  45. Feb 19, 2020
    10
    There is a lot to love here. The bass lines the drums, crazy. Currents might be my favorite tame impala record
  46. Jun 10, 2017
    9
    Hands down, one of my favorite albums of all time. The psychedelic influence + the modern pop-isms make for such a beautiful, hard-hitting album. Kevin Parker's performances and musicianship are some of the best he's ever done.
  47. Jul 25, 2017
    10
    There is something magical about Currents that is not on any other album of this generation. Sure, Kevin's Parker voice is not the best, but keeps getting better in every album.
  48. Nov 4, 2017
    10
    A phenomenal tour de force of music. Every element of the sound is calibrated to aural perfection, from the drums, to the synths, to the vocals, etc. Its groovy, sad, sexy, mature, and beautiful. And still it comes across as pure, honest music without the false sheen of over-production. The first 8 tracks follow a general narrative arch which almost puts it in concept album territory andA phenomenal tour de force of music. Every element of the sound is calibrated to aural perfection, from the drums, to the synths, to the vocals, etc. Its groovy, sad, sexy, mature, and beautiful. And still it comes across as pure, honest music without the false sheen of over-production. The first 8 tracks follow a general narrative arch which almost puts it in concept album territory and I can't think of another album that when listened to in order, rates as closely too Dark Side of the Moon as Currents. The tracks after the first 8 are good in and of themselves but seem like a bit of an afterthought. If I could, I'd rate the first 8 tracks as a 12 and the remaining in a firm 8 territory. Expand
  49. Feb 27, 2019
    10
    I like every single song on this album. Not every song is a complete 10 but they are all rated high. Can't wait for next album.
  50. Jan 26, 2018
    10
    Most of the songs are top hits for me, with this albums the band is now on a brand new level.
  51. Jul 9, 2018
    9
    Currents is an album I can't escape, in a good way. When recently asked about the slow burning growth of Currents from 2015-2018, Parker said something along the lines of "I hope to write music that gets under your skin." Currents does exactly this. His lyrics are frank, relatable, and at times filled with a sardonic wisdom that reaches into your psyche with sincere profundity. However,Currents is an album I can't escape, in a good way. When recently asked about the slow burning growth of Currents from 2015-2018, Parker said something along the lines of "I hope to write music that gets under your skin." Currents does exactly this. His lyrics are frank, relatable, and at times filled with a sardonic wisdom that reaches into your psyche with sincere profundity. However, the production on this album is the real cake. The floating synths, catchy melodies, stereo depth, crescendos, and exploratory instrumental breaks are not meant to be a challenging listen, but rather an introspective and blissful dive into true ear candy. I only give this album a 9 instead of a 10 because some tracks on the latter half lack the immersive quality of the first half. Despite this, Currents has proved itself to be well worthy of countless replays. Expand
  52. Sep 29, 2018
    10
    Embora muitos fãs da banda não achem isso, "Currents" não seguiu a estratégia da produção anterior, "Lonerism" (infelizmente) e aventurou-se no disco e no soft rock. Ainda assim, este álbum é um projeto quase perfeito, sem falhas ("Gossip" e "Past Life" desiludiram um pouco).
  53. Feb 13, 2020
    10
    this album is just so perfect. there’s nothing i would change at all. nobody else sounds like this.
  54. Sep 16, 2019
    7
    This review contains spoilers, click expand to view. I like it,but I feel like it wasn't on the same level of their previous albums. Expand
  55. Nov 14, 2019
    10
    so amazing and good thanks i'm crying! hihi haha ne boistya oi! Thanks again!
  56. Apr 2, 2020
    9
    Even my "everything not mainstream is sh-t" version of me in 2015 liked some of the songs on this spectacular album. I had a science teacher routinely play songs off of this album in 2015-2017, and I never knew it was Tame Impala until 2020. Revisiting it in 2020, this is still great. It can drag in the back half, but the outstanding production makes this album even better. Kevin Parker isEven my "everything not mainstream is sh-t" version of me in 2015 liked some of the songs on this spectacular album. I had a science teacher routinely play songs off of this album in 2015-2017, and I never knew it was Tame Impala until 2020. Revisiting it in 2020, this is still great. It can drag in the back half, but the outstanding production makes this album even better. Kevin Parker is a musical genius. This is already becoming an "indie" classic, check it out. I'd suggest some very good headphones, no lights on, lying down. This is an experience. Expand
  57. Apr 27, 2020
    10
    This is like the dark side of the moon for tame impala, the top of his career in short words.
  58. Jun 17, 2020
    9
    What an experience! This is the best of the best when it comes to psych music. It does drag a bit in the back half though.

    Best Tracks: Let It Happen, The Less I Know The Better, The Moment, Eventually
    Worst Tracks: Past Life
  59. Jul 24, 2020
    10
    THIS ALBUM IS A COMPLETE MASTERPIECE OF POP/ROCK AND IF ANYONE THINK IS NOT THAT GOOD PLESE LISTEN AGAIN
Metascore
84

Universal acclaim - based on 38 Critic Reviews

Critic score distribution:
  1. Positive: 33 out of 38
  2. Negative: 0 out of 38
  1. Jul 30, 2015
    89
    Danceable grooves and R&B beats heighten the disc's eclectic imagination.
  2. Jul 27, 2015
    80
    It is sparkling and wistful, and it's quite lovely.
  3. Jul 27, 2015
    90
    His synth work on this record is nothing short of remarkable, and his ability as a producer is further enhanced to a level at which he has no contemporaries. Parker is a once-in-a-generation talent, and this album is conclusive evidence of it.